Circa

Opus

Justin Nicholas

Justin Nicholas

Justin Nicholas

Justin Nicholas

Justin Nicholas

NAC Presentation

Testing the limits of their art form, internationally acclaimed Australian innovators Circa blur the lines between circus, dance, movement and theatre in works that are visually and emotionally arresting. In Opus, 14 astonishingly acrobatic dancers move from dislocated stillness to violent explosions, morphing into fantastic geometries of bodies soaring through space.

Russian composer Dmitri Shostakovich’s passionate and deeply moving quartets – performed live on stage by France’s internationally acclaimed Debussy String Quartet – form the musical and dramatic spine of a red-hot fusion of extreme acrobatics, lyrical movement and group choreography.
 

A Nuits de Fourvière production (department of Rhône) 

Co-producers: Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg; Barcelona Grec Festival; Cirque-Théâtre (Elbeuf); düsseldorf festival!; Barbican Theatre (London); CACCV Espace Jean Legendre (Compiègne). This project has been assisted by the Australian Government’s Major Festivals Initiative, managed by the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body, in association with the Confederation of Australian International Arts Festivals, the Brisbane Festival, the Perth International Arts Festival and the Melbourne Festival.

Circa acknowledges the assistance of the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body, and the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland. The Debussy Quartet acknowledges the support of France’s Ministry of Culture and Communication, the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region, the City of Lyon and Spedidam.

It's circus with brains, not just brawn – often witty and genuinely emotional. Circa make you gasp in awe…
Lyn Gardner, The Guardian (UK)

Credits

  • Circa
  • Yaron Lifschitz Choregraphy
  • with the Circa Ensemble and the Debussy Quartet
Menu

Circa

Opus

[x] Fermer

Justin Nicholas

Justin Nicholas

Justin Nicholas

Justin Nicholas

Justin Nicholas

Présentation du CNA

La compagnie australienne de renommée mondiale Circa met constamment à l’épreuve les limites de son art, brouillant les frontières entre le cirque, la danse, le mouvement et le théâtre avec des œuvres novatrices qui en mettent plein la vue et vont droit au cœur. Dans Opus, 14 danseurs-acrobates remarquables passent d’une immobilité désarticulée à de brusques explosions, esquissant une fabuleuse géométrie des corps qui s’élancent dans l’espace.

Les quatuors brûlants et émouvants du compositeur russe Dmitri Chostakovitch, joués sur scène par le Quatuor Debussy – ensemble français applaudi à l’échelle mondiale –, forment l’épine dorsale musicale et dramatique de cette ardente fusion d’acrobatie extrême, de lyrisme gestuel et de chorégraphie collective. 
 

Une production de Nuits de Fourvière (département du Rhône)

Coproduction : Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg; Festival Grec de Barcelone; Cirque-Théâtre (Elbeuf); düsseldorf festival!; Barbican Theatre (Londres); CACCV Espace Jean Legendre (Compiègne). Ce projet bénéficie du soutien de la Major Festival Initiative du gouvernement australien, une initiative placée sous la direction de l’Australia Council, son fonds pour les arts et comité consultatif, en association avec la Confederation of Australian International Arts Festivals, le Festival international des arts de Perth, et les festivals de Brisbane et de Melbourne.

Circa remercie de leur soutien le gouvernement de l’Australie, par l’entremise de l’Australia Council, son fonds pour les arts et comité consultatif, et le gouvernement de Queensland, par l’entremise d’Arts Queensland. Le Quatuor Debussy remercie le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication de la France, la région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, la Ville de Lyon et Spedidam. 

Un cirque qui vient du cerveau, pas seulement des muscles – souvent plein d’esprit et d’émotions vraies. Circa vous laisse bouche bée…
Lyn Gardner, The Guardian (UK)

Vidéos

  • Opus

crédits

  • Circa
  • Yaron Lifschitz Chorégraphie
  • avec l’ensemble Circa et le Quatuor Debussy
Menu