Dancers of Damelahamid

Flicker

Flicker

Photo: Chris Randle

Flicker

Photo: Chris Randle

Flicker

Photo: Chris Randle

Flicker

Photo: Chris Randle

Ottawa Premiere

Approximately 70 minutes with no intermission.

Dancers of Damelahamid bring their newest work Flicker to Ottawa in their first performance at the Canada Dance Festival. Created in collaboration with multi-media artist Andy Moro, Flicker combines Northwest coast graphic designs with projected environments and performance. Vividly rich imagery, representative of the spirit world and the mystical realm, are portrayed through coastal masked dance.

The flicker - a woodpecker from the Northwest Coast – is a transcendent figure often represented in traditional masks. Just as light shimmers, it is through the cloak of the flicker that the masked dancers cross through space and time, in and out of the spirit world of their ancestors.

Flicker bridges the artistic practices of traditional First Nations and modern forms – including coastal dance, Powwow, contemporary movement vocabularies and multi-media technology – in a new and innovative work that reflects upon the complexity of contemporary Indigenous identities. Demonstrating how we can access our true potential, without limitations, Flicker guides audiences through a journey to acquire our ancestral gifts, strengthening our capacity to create change.

Vancouver-based Dancers of Damelahamid are a professional Aboriginal dance company from the northwest coast of British Columbia. The Gitxsan, ‘people of the river of mists’ are part of the coastal group of cultures with a rich history of masked dance. Through dramatic dance, captivating narrative, intricately carved masks and elaborate regalia, the Dancers of Damelahamid bridge the ancient with a living tradition.

This is the debut performance at the CDF for Dancers of Damelahamid. Flicker is a co-production of the Canada Dance Festival and the Cultch (Vancouver East Cultural Centre).

There had been such a long period in which all of these practices had been banned, so the focus was in looking at the knowledge and trying to reawaken it. There was an expression that my grandmother used to use: that the culture had been asleep and that it was time to awaken it. And what I think you’re seeing now is that more public songs and dances are being created, based on the traditional forms, in order to ensure that they can be shared.”

– Margaret Grenier, Artistic Director, Dances of Damelahamid

PRESENTING SPONSOR :

Anndraya Luui

Enhance your dance – Pre-show chat.

Join Amy Bowring, Director of Collections and Research at Toronto’s Dance Collection Danse, and First Nations artist Brittany Johnston, CDF Indigenous Programming Outreach Coordinator for a free, informal and informative pre-show chat at the NAC Main Lobby Intermission Bar.

Light refreshments are available for purchase.

Intermission Bar opens at 5pm.

Pre-show chat begins at 6:15pm.

“… as leader of the Gitxsan Nation’s Dancers of Damelahamid, Margaret Grenier is understandably conscious of her role in furthering and fostering an ancient tradition.”

The Georgia Straight

Credits

  • Margaret Grenier Choreographer
  • Andrew Grenier Music Composer
  • Andy Moro Media Design

Artist Links

Learn More:
Menu

Flicker

Photo : Chris Randle

Flicker

Photo : Chris Randle

Flicker

Photo : Chris Randle

Flicker

Photo : Chris Randle

Première à Ottawa

Durée

Durée approximative de 70 minutes sans entracte.

Les danseurs de Damelahamid présentent à Ottawa leur plus récente création, Flicker, à l'occasion de leur toute première apparition au Festival Danse Canada. Créé en collaboration avec l'artiste multimédia Andy Moro, Flicker associe une imagerie issue du nord-ouest du littoral Pacifique à des environnements projetés et à la danse. Un visuel richement évocateur, faisant écho au monde spirituel et au mysticisme, s'exprime à travers les danses des masques de la côte Ouest.

Le Flicker est une espèce de pic-bois qui niche dans le nord-ouest de la côte du Pacifique. Figure mystique, il est souvent représenté sur les masques traditionnels. De même que la lumière scintille, c'est à travers le plumage du pic-bois que les danseurs masqués traversent l'espace et le temps, allant et venant sur le territoire spirituel de leurs ancêtres.

Flicker jette un pont entre les pratiques artistiques traditionnelles des Premières Nations et les formes modernes, fusionnant danses de la côte Ouest, pow-wow, langages chorégraphiques contemporains et multimédia à l'intérieur d'une œuvre nouvelle et innovante qui propose une réflexion sur la complexité des identités autochtones à notre époque. Traçant un chemin qui mène au plein épanouissement de l'être, Flicker entraîne les auditoires dans un périple vers le recouvrement de nos dons ancestraux, pour accroître notre capacité d'imprimer le changement.

Établis à Vancouver, les danseurs de Damelahamid forment une compagnie de danse professionnelle des Premières Nations du nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. Le peuple Gitxsan (« peuple de la rivière aux brumes ») appartient à la famille culturelle des peuples de la côte Ouest, renommés pour leurs riches traditions en matière de danse des masques. À l'aide de danses expressives, de récits captivants, de masques finement sculptés et d'ornements élaborés, les danseurs de Damelahamid maintiennent bien vivante une tradition ancienne.

Cette prestation marque les débuts des danseurs de Damelahamid au FDC. Flicker est une coproduction du Festival Danse Canada et du Cultch (Vancouver East Cultural Centre).

« Toutes ces pratiques avaient été interdites pendant si longtemps que notre premier souci a été de les exhumer et de les raviver. Ma grand-mère avait coutume de dire que notre culture s'était endormie, et que l'heure était venue de la réveiller. Et comme on peut le constater à présent, il se crée de plus en plus de danses et de chants publics prenant appui sur les formes traditionnelles, afin d'en assurer le rayonnement. »

– Margaret Grenier, directrice artistique, Dancers of Damelahamid

COMMANDITAIRE PRÉSENTATEUR :

Anndraya Luui  

Danse et connaissances – Discussion d’avant-spectacle.

Joignez-vous à Amy Bowring, directrice des collections et de la recherche chez Dance Collection Danse à Toronto, et à l’artiste de Premières nations Brittany Johnston, coordonnatrice du rayonnement de la programmation autochtone du FDC, pour une discussion d’avant-spectacle gratuite, informelle et instructive au bar du Foyer principal du CNA.

Des rafraîchissements seront disponibles.

Le bar du Foyer ouvre à 17 h.

La discussion d’avant-spectacle commence à 18 h 15.

« (…) aux commandes des danseurs de Damelahamid de la nation Gitxsan, Margaret Grenier est consciente, bien sûr, du rôle qui lui incombe de perpétuer une tradition ancestrale et d’en assurer le rayonnement. »

The Georgia Straight

crédits

  • Margaret Grenier Choreographe
  • Andrew Grenier Musique originale
  • Andy Moro Conception multimédia

Liens artiste

En savoir plus :
Menu