JP Longboat and Byron Chief-Moon

Greed, REsolve

Photo: Nadya Kwandibens, Red Works Photography

Photo: Nadya Kwandibens, Red Works Photography

Photo: Nadya Kwandibens, Red Works Photography

Photo: Jerry Longboat

World Premiere

Commerce, greed, and disenfranchisement are key themes in this collaborative evening of two new dance works, created by Vancouver’s Byron Chief-Moon and Ottawa-based JP Longboat. Multiple narratives are drawn through these choreographies: the individual confronting society; attaining self-realization and freedom; greed and imbalance; and Traditional Knowledge and Values in the face of corporate capitalism. These performances highlight Canada’s systematic marginalization of First Peoples from the land, its resources, and their way of life.

Layering First Nations world views on the dissonance of agency that exist throughout society, Greed is an examination of today’s exploitative stock market and the crippling effects of corporate self-indulgence and exploitation.

REsolve addresses de-colonization of both self and homeland through an awakening of the individual confronting an authoritarian system, and implores all peoples to take control of their own destiny by challenging economic slavery and psychological bondage. 

Greed and REsolve are created with and performed by Byron Chief-Moon, JP Longboat, Luglio Romero and Olivia C. Davies.

 

Jerry Longboat is Mohawk-Cayuga, Turtle clan, from Six Nations of the Grand River in Southern Ontario. Jerry has a BFA degree in Visual Arts from the University of Michigan and Ontario College of Art and has worked as a visual artist, graphic designer, actor, storyteller dancer and choreographer. He has performed, danced and collaborated with many professional performing companies across Canada. Jerry’s performance work is rooted in his personal history and experience and embodies a vision rooted in understanding and honouring the diversity of indigenous culture.

Byron Chief-Moon is a member of the Kainai Nation of the Blackfoot Confederacy in southern Alberta. He is an actor, choreographer, dancer, playwright, and founder of the Coyote Arts Percussive Performance Association (CAPPA), a dance theatre company. Chief-Moon found CAPPA to explore dance, incorporating nuances of storytelling and his blood memory; encompassing a respect for and appreciation of Aboriginal Peoples’ intergenerational culture, heritage, art, music, dance and oral history.  Some of his dance theatre pieces have included Possessed, Dancing voices and Voices, as well as Jonesing, an experimental video dance piece. He is also known for his choreography work on the documentary Echoes of the Sisters and the dance film Quest. Chief-Moon is perhaps best known as the Quileute chief Taha Aki in the Twilight Saga: Eclipse.

Enhance your dance – Stay in your seats following the performance to participate in an illuminating post-show chat with Ottawa-based arts writer and Canadian dance aficionado Lys Stevens.

“... a blend of native and contemporary dance […] the premise behind Greed is clever.”

Paula Citron, Globe & Mail

Credits

  • Jerry Longboat Choreographer, performer
  • Byron Chief-Moon Choreographer, performer
  • Olivia C. Davies Performer
  • Luglio Romero Performer
Menu

JP Longboat and Byron Chief-Moon

Greed, REsolve

Studio du CNA

Studio du CNA

photo : Nadya Kwandibens, Red Works Photography

photo : Nadya Kwandibens, Red Works Photography

photo : Nadya Kwandibens, Red Works Photography

Photo : Jerry Longboat

Première mondiale

Le commerce, la cupidité et la privation des droits sont les thèmes au cœur de cette soirée regroupant deux nouvelles pièces de danse, œuvres de Byron Chief-Moon de Vancouver et de JP Longboat d'Ottawa. De multiples trames narratives se croisent à travers ces chorégraphies : l'individu face à la société; l'épanouissement personnel et la liberté; la cupidité et le déséquilibre; et les valeurs et savoirs traditionnels confrontés au capitalisme d'entreprise. Ces prestations mettent en lumière la spoliation systématique de leurs terres, de leurs ressources et de leurs modes de vie que le Canada a fait subir aux Premières Nations.

Aux dissonances qui traversent la société, Greed superpose différentes perspectives sur le monde tel que le conçoivent les Premières Nations, examinant les abus du marché boursier actuel, et les effets dévastateurs de la complaisance des entreprises envers elles-mêmes et de l'exploitation effrénée.

REsolve se penche sur la décolonisation, tant personnelle que territoriale, à travers un réveil de l'individu face à un régime autoritaire, et conjure tous les peuples de prendre leurs destinées en main en refusant l'esclavage économique et psychologique. 

Les pièces Greed et REsolve ont été créées avec la participation active de leurs interprètes – Byron Chief-Moon, JP Longboat, Luglio Romero et Olivia C. Davies .

 

Jerry Longboat est un Mohawk-Cayuga du clan de la Tortue de la bande Six Nations de Grand River, dans le sud de l’Ontario. Détenteur d’un baccalauréat ès arts en arts visuels de l’Université du Michigan et de l’Université de l’École d’art et design de l’Ontario, il œuvre comme artiste visuel, graphiste, acteur, conteur, danseur et chorégraphe. Il s’est produit, a dansé et a collaboré avec de nombreuses compagnies professionnelles à travers le Canada. Sa démarche artistique prend racine dans son histoire et ses expériences personnelles, et incarne une vision indissolublement liée à sa compréhension et à son amour de la diversité des cultures autochtones.

Byron Chief-Moon est membre de la nation Blood de la Confédération des Pieds-Noirs du sud de l’Alberta. Acteur, chorégraphe, danseur et dramaturge, il est le fondateur de la Coyote Arts Percussive Performance Association (CAPPA), une compagnie de danse-théâtre. Chief-Moon a fondé la CAPPA pour explorer les possibilités de la danse en y intégrant des éléments empruntés au conte et à son héritage blood, dans le respect et l’appréciation de la culture intergénérationnelle des peuples autochtones, de leur patrimoine, de leurs arts, de leurs musiques, de leurs danses et de leurs traditions orales.  Parmi ses pièces de danse-théâtre, mentionnons Possessed, Dancing Voices and Voices, ainsi que Jonesing, une vidéo de danse expérimentale. Il est aussi connu pour son apport chorégraphique au documentaire Echoes of the Sisters et au film de danse Quest. Mais le rôle qui l’a fait connaître d’un plus vaste public est sans doute le personnage du chef quileute Taha Aki dans le film Twilight : Éclipse.

Danse et connaissances – Ne quittez pas votre siège à la fin de la représentation et participez à une discussion d’après-spectacle instructive avec l’Ottavienne Lys Stevens, rédactrice artistique et passionnée de danse canadienne.

« (...) mélange de danse autochtone et contemporaine (…) la prémisse de Greed est incisive.”

Paula Citron, Globe & Mail

crédits

  • Jerry Longboat Choreographe, interprète
  • Byron Chief-Moon Choreographe, interprète
  • Olivia C. Davies Interprète
  • Luglio Romero Interprète
En savoir plus :
Menu