This event has passed
© Photo: David Cooper
“…primeval movement with a hip contemporary edge… [and] willingness to push itself to extremes.” Janet Smith, the Georgia Straight

Vancouver’s Company 605 (formerly 605 Collective), known for their incredible physicality and collectively-rendered choreographies, bring their new work Vital Few to the 2016 CDF stage. Created with and for six performers, this collaborative undertaking explores mechanisms of constant co-dependence and interrelation between the dancers, building a moving sculpture in the group body that forms a whole greater than the sum of its parts.

The needs of the whole versus the individual impulse informs this hyper-connected work. Examining the struggle of coexistence within set parameters and finite space, Vital Few pushes the company into a new physical territory that explores the essence of unison and togetherness, the negotiation of group dynamics, and the preservation of self within the collective consciousness.

Vital Few is a co-production of the CanDance Network Creation Fund, The Banff Centre, Dance Victoria, DanceWorks, the Vancouver International Dance Festival, and supported by the Canada Council for the Arts.

Company 605 last appeared at the Canada Dance Festival in 2012 with the CanDance commissioned work Inheritor Album.

PRESENTING SPONSOR :

Anndraya Luui

Enhance your dance – Join dance historian, curator and Director of Collections and Research at Dance Collection Danse, Amy Bowring, for a free, informal and informative pre-show chat at the NAC Main Lobby Intermission Bar.

Light refreshments are available for purchase.

Intermission Bar opens at 5pm.

Pre-show chat begins at 6:15pm.

Duration

Performance is approximately 1 hour with no intermission.

video: Rehearsal
Rehearsal
video: Promo by Agora Danse
Promo by Agora Danse
video: In creation/residency at Dance Victoria
In creation/residency at Dance Victoria
© Photo: David Cooper
© Photo: David Cooper
© Photo: David Cooper

Artists

  • Choreographer Lisa Gelley
  • Choreographer Josh Martin
Menu

Company 605

Vital Few

Studio du CNA

Studio du CNA

[x] Fermer

Photo : David Cooper

Photo : David Cooper

Photo : David Cooper

Durée approximative de Une heure sans entracte.

Renommée pour ses prouesses athlétiques et pour ses chorégraphies découlant d'un effort collectif, la Company 605 (anciennement 605 Collective) de Vancouver présente sa plus récente création, Vital Few, sur la scène du FDC 2016. Élaborée avec et pour six interprètes, cette création collective s'intéresse aux mécanismes de constante interdépendance et aux rapports entre les danseurs, érigeant une sculpture mouvante dont l'unité de corps transcende la somme de ses parties.

L'opposition entre les nécessités communes et les pulsions individuelles est au cœur de cette œuvre hyper-connectée. Vital Few se penche sur la lutte pour la coexistence à l'intérieur de paramètres établis et d'un espace délimité, poussant la compagnie vers un nouveau territoire physique qui met au jour l'essence même des notion d'unisson et de vivre-ensemble, la négociation de la dynamique de groupe, et la préservation de soi au sein d'une conscience collective.

Vital Few est une coproduction du Fonds de création du réseau CanDanse, du Banff Centre, de Dance Victoria, de DanceWorks et du Festival international de la danse de Vancouver, avec l'appui du Conseil des Arts du Canada.

La dernière apparition de la Company 605 au Festival Danse Canada remonte à 2012 alors que la compagnie a présenté Inheritor Album – une œuvre commandée par CanDanse.

COMMANDITAIRE PRÉSENTATEUR :

Anndraya Luui  

Danse et connaissances – Joignez-vous à Amy Bowring, historienne, conservatrice et directrice des collections et de la recherche chez Dance Collection Danse à Toronto, pour une discussion d’avant-spectacle gratuite, informelle et instructive au bar du Foyer principal du CNA.

Des rafraîchissements seront disponibles.

Le bar du Foyer ouvre à 17 h.

La discussion d’avant-spectacle commence à 18 h 15.

« (…) un mouvement primordial avec une touche contemporaine d’avant-garde (…) et une volonté très nette d’atteindre l’extrême limite. »

Janet Smith, the Georgia Straight

« Un art chorégraphique dense et physiquement exigeant. La puissance du 605 Collective est extraordinaire. »

Kelsey Acton, Sound + Noise

« Un art insolemment physique qui amalgame une variété de genres, dont la danse contemporaine, le break-dancing, le ballet et la capoiera. »

Michele Trumble, American Dance Theatre

crédits

  • Lisa Gelley Choreographe
  • Josh Martin Choreographe

Liens artiste

En savoir plus :
Menu