Ame Henderson & Matija Ferlin / Public Recordings

Out of Season

Arts Court - Theatre

Arts Court - Theatre

Photo: Dejan Stifanic

Photo: Dejan Stifanic

Canadian Premiere

NAC Co-production

Out of Season marks the continuation of the collaboration between Ame Henderson and Matija Ferlin.

Returning to the comfortable impossibility of their first duet The Most Together We’ve Ever Been, (presented as part of the NAC Dance ‘Face-to-Face’ series in 2013), Matija and Ame now turn their attention to each other. Within their system of working-together, every decision originates as a gift; from this premise, Out of Season discovers synchronicity as a means to survive love, privilege, the sense of home, the made-up- and the tangible body.

Committed to collaborative working structures, both aesthetically and politically, Ame Henderson is an Associate Dance Artist of the National Arts Centre and an Associate Artist of Public Recordings, an atelier for choreographic experimentation based in Toronto. She holds an MFA from the Amsterdam School for the Arts.

Croatian choreographer, performer and director Matija Ferlin is a graduate of the School for New Dance Development in Amsterdam. Matija lived and worked in Berlin before returning to his home of Pula, Croatia, where he has focused on researching and rearticulating different concepts of stage performance, film, media and exhibitions.

Out of Season is produced by Public Recordings and Matija Ferlin and co-produced by the National Arts Centre and the Zagreb Dance Centre with production support from the Canada Council for the Arts, Ontario Arts Council, Istrian National Theatre (Pula) and Ganz New Festival (Zagreb)

“Henderson is an agent provocateur of dance.”

The Globe and Mail

Credits

  • Ame Henderson Creator, performer
  • Matija Ferlin Creator, performer
  • Victoria Cheong Music

Artist Links

Menu

Ame Henderson & Matija Ferlin / Public Recordings

Out of Season

Cour des arts – Théâtre

Cour des arts – Théâtre

Photo : Dejan Stifanic

Photo : Dejan Stifanic

Première canadienne

Coproduction du CNA

Revenant sur l'improbable rencontre de leur premier duo, The Most Together We’ve Ever Been (présenté dans le cadre de la série Face à Face de Danse CNA en 2013), Matija et Ame tournent maintenant leur attention l'un vers l'autre. Dans leur démarche créatrice commune, chaque décision apparaît comme un cadeau; sur cette prémisse, Out of Season découvre la synchronicité comme moyen de survivre à l'amour, au privilège, au sentiment d'appartenance, au corps construit et tangible.

Privilégiant les collaborations, dans une perspective à la fois esthétique et politique, Ame Henderson est une artiste associée de Danse au Centre national des Art et de Public Recordings, un atelier de recherche chorégraphique établi à Toronto. Elle détient une maîtrise de l'Amsterdam School for the Arts.

Le chorégraphe, interprète et réalisateur croate Matija Ferlin est un diplômé de la School for New Dance Development d'Amsterdam. Il a vécu et travaillé à Berlin avant de rentrer dans sa ville natale de Pula, en Croatie, où il se consacre à la recherche et au remodelage de diverses notions liées à la prestation scénique, au cinéma, aux médias et aux expositions.

Out of Season est produit par Public Recordings et Matija Ferlin en coproduction avec le Centre national des Arts et le Centre de danse de Zagreb, avec un soutien à la production du Conseil des Arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de l'Ontario, du Théâtre national d'Istrie (Pula) et du Ganz New Festival (Zagreb).

« [Ame] Henderson est une agente provocatrice de la danse. »

The Globe and Mail

crédits

Liens artiste

En savoir plus :
Menu