Frédérick Gravel

Usually Beauty Fails

This event has passed
Usually Beauty Fails © Photo: Denis Farley
“Clearly, Gravel is heading for greatness on the Canadian dance scene.” Paula Citron, Globe & Mail

Frédérick Gravel ignites bodies and explodes the stage in Usually Beauty Fails, an audacious integration of popular culture and performance art. With six dancers and three musicians, the irreverent Montreal-based dancer, musician and choreographer creates a space where dance, performance and thunderous live concert are interwoven into a visceral experience.

Like Gravel’s previous works, Usually Beauty Fails was created in close collaboration with the dancers and musicians of Grouped’ArtGravelArtGroup. In this surrealist and unbridled metaphor on our relation to beauty, Gravel creates an intensely physical exploration of everyday movement. The dancer’s combinations of physical restraint and furious motion collide with their charming sweetness and casual bravado to produce an invigorating work that challenges our perspectives on dance, beauty and society itself.

NOTE: Contains nudity

movement

Usually Beauty Fails was co-produced by Danse Danse in collaboration with Place des Arts (Montréal), Rencontres Chorégraphiques Internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis (France), Moving in November (Helsinki), Département de danse de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, Société de la Place des Arts (Montreal), Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique (Montreal), and Centre Segal (Montreal), with the support of Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and Canada Council for the Arts.

video: Trailer
Trailer
Usually Beauty Fails © Photo: Denis Farley
Usually Beauty Fails © Photo: Denis Farley
Usually Beauty Fails © Photo: Denis Farley

Artists

  • Choreographer Frédérick Gravel
Menu

Frédérick Gravel

Usually Beauty Fails

Cet événement est passé
Usually Beauty Fails © Photo : Denis Farley
« À l’évidence, [Frédérick] Gravel est en pleine ascension sur la scène de la danse canadienne. » Paula Citron, Globe & Mail

Frédérick Gravel chauffe les corps à blanc et brûle les planches dans Usually Beauty Fails, métissage audacieux de culture populaire et d’art chorégraphique. Avec six danseurs et trois musiciens, l'irrévérencieux danseur, musicien et chorégraphe montréalais crée un espace où s’enchevêtrent les formes du concert et du spectacle chorégraphique pour produire une expérience viscérale.

Comme les œuvres précédentes de Frédérick Gravel, Usually Beauty Fails a été créée en étroite collaboration avec les danseurs et musiciens du Grouped’ArtGravelArtGroup. Dans cette métaphore surréaliste et débridée sur notre rapport à la beauté, le chorégraphe propose une exploration très physique et intense de la gestuelle quotidienne. Contrainte physique et mouvement frénétique se tamponnent, le danseur usant de charme et d'audace pour offrir une œuvre tonique qui remet en question nos vues sur la danse, la beauté et la société elle-même.

AVERTISSEMENT : Comporte des scènes de nudité

mouvement

Usually Beauty Fails est une coproduction de Danse Danse en collaboration avec la Place des Arts (Montréal), les Rencontres chorégraphiques internationales de Seine-Saint-Denis (France), Moving in November (Helsinki), le Département de danse de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, la Société de la Place des Arts (Montréal), Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique (Montréal), et le Centre Segal (Montréal), avec l'appui du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et du Conseil des Arts du Canada.

video:
Usually Beauty Fails © Photo : Denis Farley
Usually Beauty Fails © Photo : Denis Farley
Usually Beauty Fails © Photo : Denis Farley

Artistes

  • Choreographe Frédérick Gravel
Menu