November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Climate change

The Earth is Watching…Let’s Act.

The 2019-20 Final Cycle: Climate Change

Amid COVID-19 and Black Lives Matter, the Climate Change Cycle took a deep-dive into the facts of our climate crisis, and grappled with how the performing arts can respond. The Climate Change Cycle first launched with a gathering at the Banff Centre in April 2019, and culminated during the pandemic in June 2020. It was a grand adventure in emissions reduction and new practice, originally conceived as a digital meet-up between eight locations (six Canadian cities and two international). Over the course of the global economic shutdown, our initial IRL locations transformed into digital URL “rooms”, each bringing together artists, scientists, academics, the young and the old through a masterful hybrid online space, created from necessity, and culminating in a performative and event-based sharing of ideas with the broader theatrical community. This final performance event happened concurrently in several time zones and audiences had the option to enter through a room and participate or watch it all livestreamed wherever broadband permitted. English Theatre is proud to host recordings of The Green Rooms here (coming soon).

For more information about the Climate Change Cycle please download The Summit Report 2019, by Adrienne Wong, Chantal Bilodeau and Sarah Garton Stanley and look for I Can’t Breathe by Mieko Ouchi (Final Report from The Green Rooms).

The Summit Report Green Rooms: Carbon Emissions Report The Green Rooms Report

Part 1: The Summit

APRIL 2019 | BANFF CENTRE FOR THE ARTS

In April 2019, NAC English Theatre, in partnership with the Banff Centre and several key organizations, gathered together nine Inspirers from Canada, USA, Australia and the UK for a three-day conversation about the costs of Climate Change and how we might reimagine the footprint of Canadian theatre. This final Cycle is co-curated by Associate Artistic Director of English Theatre Sarah Garton Stanley and playwright, translator and Artistic Director of The Arctic Cycle, Chantal Bilodeau. Cultural leaders from across Canada joined the conversation. The NAC gratefully acknowledges the partnership of the Banff Centre and the collaborating support of the Stratford Festival, as well as the Canada Council for the Arts, the British Council and the Australia Council for the Arts.

Part 2: The Green Rooms

JUNE 2020 | ONLINE FROM EVERYWHERE

As part of its response to the escalating climate crisis – and in light of the current COVID-19 pandemic – NAC English Theatre in partnership with Festival of Live Digital Art (FOLDA), the Canada Council for the Arts, The City of Kingston, HowlRound Theatre Commons and The National Theatre School brought together participants for an extraordinary three-day/three-country digital experiment to re-imagine the future of theatre. Learn more

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.

Les changements climatiques

La Terre nous observe… Agissons maintenant.

Le dernier cycle 2019-2020 : les changements climatiques

Dans un contexte de COVID-19 et de Black Lives Matter, le Cycle sur les changements climatiques a plongé au fond des faits sur la crise climatique et s’est attardé à la réponse possible des arts de la scène. Le Cycle sur les changements climatiques a été lancé lors d’un rassemblement au Centre Banff en avril 2019, et s’est terminé lors de la pandémie en juin 2020. Ce fut une grande aventure de réduction d’émissions et de nouvelles pratiques, originalement conçue comme une rencontre numérique virtuelle entre huit emplacements (six villes canadiennes et deux villes internationales). En raison de la fermeture économique mondiale, nos emplacements initiaux en personne se sont transformés en « chambres » virtuelles, chacune réunissant des artistes, des scientifiques, des universitaires, des jeunes et des aînés dans un espace numérique hybride né d’un besoin, et le tout s’est terminé par un partage d’idées avec la communauté théâtrale plus large par l’entremise de prestations et d’événements. Ce dernier se déroulait simultanément dans plusieurs fuseaux horaires, et le public avait l’option d’entrer dans une chambre et de participer, ou d’observer le tout grâce à une diffusion en direct là où la connexion Internet le permettait. Le Théâtre anglais est fier d’héberger les captations de The Green Rooms ici (à venir bientôt).

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Cycle sur les changements climatiques, téléchargez le rapport sur The Summit 2019 (en anglais seulement) d’Adrienne Wong, Chantal Bilodeau et Sarah Garton Stanley, ainsi que I Can’t Breathe (en anglais seulement) de Mieko Ouchi (rapport sur The Green Rooms), à venir bientôt.

Téléchargez le rapport sur The Summit

(en anglais)

Partie 1 : The Summit

AVRIL 2019 | BANFF CENTRE

En avril 2019, le Théâtre anglais du CNA, en partenariat avec le Banff Centre et plusieurs organismes clés, a rassemblé neuf Inspirateurs du Canada, des États-Unis, de l’Australie et du Royaume-Uni pour trois jours de conversations sur les coûts des changements climatiques et comment repenser l’empreinte écologique du théâtre canadien.  Ce dernier cycle est co-programmé par la directrice artistique associée du Théâtre anglais, Sarah Garton Stanley, et la dramaturge, traductrice et directrice artistique du Arctic Cycle, Chantal Bilodeau. Des dirigeants culturels de partout au pays se sont joints à la conversation. Le CNA est reconnaissant du partenariat avec le Banff Centre et du soutien du Festival de Stratford, ainsi que de l’appui du Conseil des arts du Canada, du British Council et du Australia Council for the Arts.

Partie 2 : The Green Rooms

JUIN 2020 | DISPONIBLE EN LIGNE 

En réponse à la crise climatique grandissante, et en raison de la pandémie actuelle de COVID-19, le Théâtre anglais du CNA en partenariat avec Festival of Live Digital Art (FOLDA), le Conseil des arts du Canada, la Ville de Kingston, HowlRound Theatre Commons et l’École nationale de théâtre, ont réunit des participants pour une expérience numérique extraordinaire sur trois jours et trois pays pour repenser l’avenir du théâtre. Apprendre encore plus

Menu