October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Welcome to the National Arts Centre Orchestra’s 2013 Performance and Education Tour of China.

Peter Herrndorf Backed by significant public and private sector support, the Orchestra is performing eight major concerts over 17 days in seven cities including Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Chongqing, Beijing and Shanghai. Our musicians are also taking part in 80 educational activities, two interactive distance-learning events and a live webcast. As its legacy, the Tour will help establish high-definition videoconference connections at China’s leading music conservatories, linking their students to the world for teaching and mentoring.

The NAC Orchestra has a long and prestigious history of international touring. Our musicians have performed in a phenomenal 122 global communities through 30 international tours since 1969. “Canada’s Orchestra” was in fact designed for touring, with the aspiration to bring the Canadian brand to audiences around the world. Our Presenting Partner Aimia and Honorary Patron Richard Li lead the way for a host of corporate and individual supporters who have come together to make the China Tour possible as a shining example of cultural exchange through music and education.

Under Pinchas Zukerman’s leadership, our musicians are performing works by outstanding Canadian composers John Estacio and Alexina Louie, as well as masterworks by Tchaikovsky and Brahms. They are also visiting schools, teaching masterclasses and reaching out across the Pacific through our cutting-edge videoconference technology… in a way that will open doors and create a legacy of collaboration.

The 2013 China Tour is not only a milestone in the storied 44-year history of the NAC, it is cultural diplomacy at its best.

Peter A. Herrndorf, O.C.
President and CEO National Arts Centre

A message from the Government of China

H.E. Zhang JunsaiDuring Prime Minister Stephen Harper’s visit to China in 2012, leaders of the two countries agreed to announce 2013 and 2014 as Years of Cultural Series Activities in China and Canada. In that spirit, I warmly congratulate the National Arts Centre Orchestra of Canada on their upcoming visit to China, which strongly implements the consensus reached by our leaders.

Recent years have witnessed a deepened mutual understanding and trust between the peoples of China and Canada, along with the strengthened bilateral cooperation in culture, education, economic and trade areas. I am convinced that the Years of Cultural Series Activities will further enrich our bilateral relations and bring our cultural exchanges to a new high!

Travelling across long distances, the National Arts Centre Orchestra of Canada is visiting China for the first time. The beautiful blessings they bring to the Chinese people as well as the sharing of achievements in art and music education will undoubtedly make the visit an outstanding one in the bilateral history, and inject more vigor and vitality to the friendship between our two peoples.

I wish their visit and performance a great success!

H.E. Zhang Junsai
Ambassador of the People’s
Republic of China to Canada

Partner Logos
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de novembre 2020.

Bienvenue à cette Tournée de concerts et d’activités éducatives 2013 de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts en Chine.

Peter Herrndorf Avec un appui important des secteurs public et privé, l’Orchestre donne huit grands concerts en 17 jours dans sept villes, dont Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Chongqing, Beijing et Shanghai. Nos musiciens participent aussi à 80 activités éducatives, à deux séances interactives de téléapprentissage et à une webdiffusion en direct. De plus, grâce aux vidéoconférences sur large bande, qui font partie intégrante du legs de la Tournée, un monde de formation haute définition s’ouvre aux élèves des plus prestigieux conservatoires de musique en Chine.

L’Orchestre du CNA possède une feuille de route impressionnante en matière de tournées internationales. Depuis 1969, nos musiciens se sont produits dans pas moins de 122 villes du monde à la faveur de 30 tournées internationales. En fait, « l’Orchestre du Canada » a été initialement conçu pour les tournées, dans l’optique de faire connaître le Canada aux auditoires du monde entier. Notre partenaire présentateur Aimia et notre parrain d’honneur Richard Li ouvrent la marche pour les entreprises et les particuliers qui, en grand nombre, ont uni leurs efforts afin de rendre possible cette Tournée en Chine, lumineux exemple d’échange culturel par la musique et l’éducation.

Sous la conduite de Pinchas Zukerman, nos musiciens interprètent des oeuvres des remarquables compositeurs canadiens John Estacio et Alexina Louie, ainsi que des chefs-d’oeuvre de Tchaïkovsky et de Brahms. Ils visitent aussi des écoles, animent des ateliers de maître et jettent des ponts sur le Pacifique grâce à notre technologie de pointe en matière de vidéoconférence, s’attachant à ouvrir des portes et à créer un legs de collaboration durable.

La Tournée en Chine 2013 est non seulement un jalon dans la riche et prestigieuse histoire du CNA, vieille de 44 ans; c’est aussi un exemple de diplomatie culturelle à son meilleur.

Peter A. Herrndorf, O.C.
Président et chef de la direction,
Centre national des Arts

Message du gouvernement de la Chine

H.E. Zhang Junsai Durant la visite de 2012 du premier ministre Stephen Harper en Chine, les leaders des deux pays ont convenu de promulguer 2013 et 2014 Années des séries d’activités culturelles en Chine et au Canada. Dans cet esprit,
je félicite chaleureusement l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada pour sa tournée de 2013 en Chine, qui s’inscrit résolument dans le consensus établi entre nos leaders.

Au cours des dernières années, nous avons vu s’accroître la compréhension et la confiance mutuelles entre les peuples de la Chine et du Canada, et se resserrer nos liens de collaboration bilatérale dans les secteurs de la culture, de l’éducation, de l’économie et du commerce. Je suis convaincu que ces Années des séries d’activités culturelles sauront enrichir les relations entre nos deux pays et porter nos échanges culturels à de nouveaux sommets.

L’Orchestre du CNA parcourt de longues distances pour cette première tournée en Chine. Les merveilleux bienfaits que l’ensemble apporte au peuple chinois et le partage de réalisations sur le plan de l’éducation artistique et musicale marqueront assurément d’une pierre blanche l’histoire de nos relations bilatérales, et viendront nourrir l’amitié entre nos deux peuples.

Je souhaite à l’Orchestre un merveilleux séjour et beaucoup de succès dans ses concerts.

H.E. Zhang Junsai
Ambassadeur de la République populaire de Chine au Canada

Partner Logos
Menu