Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

Amazing Planet Earth

NACO Family Adventures

Family programming Music Classical music Masterworks Children
  • In-person event

  • Bilingual
  • Ages 5-12

  • Approx. 1 hour
Performance options Start time Language Availability
Monday, April 22, 2024 10:00 am bilingual sold out
Monday, April 22, 2024 12:30 pm bilingual sold out

From the bottom of the ocean to the top of the highest mountain, from the tiniest insect to the mightiest elephant, from the deepest tree root to the farthest reaches of outer space—our world is full of spine-tingling wonders and incredible secrets. Join the NAC Orchestra and its special guests for a musical exploration of Amazing Planet Earth and the universe beyond!

Presented in association with the NACO Family Adventures series.

The program will include excerpts from:

  • EDVARD GRIEG Suite No. 1 from “Peer Gynt,” Opus 1: I. Morning Mood
  • NIKOLAI RIMSKY-KORSAKOV The Tale of Tsar Saltan: Flight of the Bumblebee
  • AARON COPLAND Music for Movies: Threshing Machines
  • LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 6 in F Major, Opus 68, “Pastoral”; II. Andante molto mosso
  • EDWARD ELGAR The Wand of Youth, Suite No. 2, Opus 1b
  • SAMUEL COLERIDGE-TAYLOR Reunion from Hiawatha: Suite from the Ballet, Opus 82a
  • FELIX MENDELSSOHN The Hebrides Overture, Opus 26, “Fingal’s Cave”
  • BENJAMIN BRITTEN “Four Sea Interludes” from Peter Grimes, Opus 33a: IV. Storm
  • CLAUDE DEBUSSY “Clair de lune” from the Suite Bergamasque
  • ARTURO MARQUEZ Conga de Fuego Nuevo

---------------------------

Let your students experience one of the most outstanding ensembles of its kind in the world!

The NAC Orchestra boasts many of the finest musicians in the country who enthusiastically share the common goal of bringing music to young people. Perfectly suited to both the novice student and musical apprentice, this weekday matinee is bound to delight students and teachers alike!

We hope you will enjoy the giant images on the NACOtron screen as they capture and magnify the magic of these fabulous concerts!

---------------------------

Free resources for students and teachers

In advance of attending the Amazing Planet Earth student matinee performance, join orchestras, musicians, activists, and scientists from coast to coast on a musical journey: The Great Canadian Orchestra Field Trip is a free video-on-demand learning series that explores the transformative power of music and art in the climate emergency.

Artists

  • Conductor Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser
  • Featuring NAC Orchestra
  • co-host Marie-Ève Fontaine

Join our email list for the latest updates!

Learning and engagement at Canada’s National Arts Centre is made possible through the support of many generous individuals and organizations from across the country. Arts Alive is generously supported by the Azrieli Foundation, the Government of Nunavut, Canadian North, Calm Air, The River Philip Foundation, The Turnbull Family Community Building Foundation, and The Thomas Sill Foundation. Thank you also to Grant and Alice Burton, Canada Life, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, Donors to the NAC Foundation's Future Fund, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Fantastique planète Terre (matinée scolaire)

Aventures familiales avec l’Orchestre du CNA

Famille Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Enfance
  • Événement en personne

  • Bilingue
  • 5 à 12 ans

  • Durée 1 heure
Performances Heure de début Langue Disponibilité
lundi 22 avril 2024 10 h 00 bilingue Sièges disponibles
lundi 22 avril 2024 12 h 30 bilingue Sièges disponibles

Du fond des océans au sommet de la plus haute montagne, du plus petit insecte à l'éléphant le plus puissant, de la racine d'arbre la plus profonde aux confins de l'espace, notre monde regorge de merveilles et de secrets incroyables. Joignez-vous à l'Orchestre du CNA et à ses invités spéciaux pour une exploration musicale de l'incroyable planète Terre et de tout l'univers!

Présenté en association avec la série Aventures familiales avec l'Orchestre du CNA.

---------------------------

Ressources gratuites pour les élèves et enseignants

Avant de venir voir la matinée scolaire Fantastique planète Terre, partez à l’aventure en compagnie d’orchestres, d’artistes de la musique, d’activistes et de scientifiques : La grande excursion orchestrale canadienne est une série de vidéos didactiques sur demande qui explore le pouvoir transformateur de la musique et des arts dans le contexte de l’urgence climatique.

---------------------------

Permettez à vos élèves de se laisser enchanter par l’un des ensembles les plus impressionnants du monde.

L’Orchestre du CNA regroupe nombre des musiciens les plus talentueux du pays, qui partagent avec enthousiasme l’objectif commun de rendre la musique accessible aux jeunes. Ces matinées présentées en semaine conviendront tant aux élèves qui en sont à leurs débuts musicaux qu’aux apprentis, et saura plaire tant aux enseignants qu’aux élèves!

Les images diffusées sur l'écran géant OCNAtron pour amplifier la magie du spectacle vous permettront d’apprécier encore plus ces fabuleux concerts.

Artistes

  • {image:fiel:2} ©
    Chef d'orchestre Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser
  • {image:fiel:2} ©
    Avec Orchestre du CNA

Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir les nouvelles de nos programmes pour la classe et la maison

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

La Médiation culturelle est rendue possible grâce aux généreuses contributions de particuliers et d’organisations de partout au pays. Arts Vivants bénéficie du soutien la Fondation Azrieli, du gouvernement du Nunavut, de Canada North, de Calm Air, de la Fondation de la famille Turnbull pour la communauté, et de la Fondation Thomas Sill. Merci également à Grant et Alice Burton, à Canada Vie, à un fonds orienté par le donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, aux Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, aux donatrices et donateurs du Fonds de l’Avenir de la Fondation du CNA, au Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique, ainsi qu’aux donatrices, donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale source de financement des programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.