Sky Dancers

An A’nó:wara Dance Theatre Production

Sky Dancers, A’nó:wara Dance Theatre © Brian Medina & John Lauener
Sky Dancers, A’nó:wara Dance Theatre © Brian Medina & John Lauener
Sky Dancers, A’nó:wara Dance Theatre © Brian Medina & John Lauener
Indigenous arts Theatre Dance
  • In-person event

  • English
  • Ages 15-15+

  • Approx. 1 hour  and  05 minutes
Performance options Start time Language Availability
Thursday, January 19, 2023 11:00 am Without words Seats available

A visually stunning dance piece exploring the impacts of the Quebec Bridge disaster of 1907, which killed 33 Mohawk ironworkers from the community of Kahnawake. When the bridge collapsed while under construction, it caused a wave of after-effects that stretched out to the whole world. It is a universal story that touches on themes of disaster, families, community, resilience and building bridges between people and generations. Using both contemporary and traditional practices, direct descendant of this disaster Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo brings the past to the present in a way that will enthrall and resonate with audiences while deepening understanding of Indigenous people’s history. 

Wat’kathon tseriio kanon’nia kaka’enions sontons’kwenne tia’ontarikon 1907. Ahsen niwahsen ahsen kanienkehaka wahon’niheie kahnawakeronon. Nonen son’tons’kwenne sihotiiote, ohontsakwekon wa’onttoke tsina’awenne. Ohontsakwekon waont’toke nonen watkanions’kenne, kahwatsire, kanatakwekon ia’kotaska, tanon a’ions’kwaketsko tsinateiontere onkweson’a. Ioriwase tanon saoiera watston, thonitia’kotwatsirinon satewatenon’ianihte Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo iehawi tsiniiawen’en tsiniiore onwa, entiako’nikonhra’tihentho ine en’ioteroroke aieienter’hane onkwehonwe tsinition’kwenon.

Join our email list to stay up-to-date on our Schools and Home Learning programming

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Learning and engagement at Canada’s National Arts Centre is made possible through the support of many generous individuals and organizations from across the country. The Music Alive Program is made possible thanks to the leadership support of National Partner, The Azrieli Foundation, and Major Supporters, The Slaight Family Foundation and TD Bank Group. Thank you also to Grant and Alice Burton, Canada Life, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, Donors to the NAC Foundation's Future Fund, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Menu

Sky Dancers

Une production d'A’nó:wara Dance Theatre

© Brian Medina & John Lauener
© Brian Medina & John Lauener
© Brian Medina & John Lauener
Arts autochtones
  • Événement en personne

  • Durée 1 heure  et  05 minutes.
Performances Heure de début Langue Disponibilité
jeudi 19 janvier 2023 11 h 00 Sans paroles Sièges disponibles

Une chorégraphie époustouflante sur les conséquences de l’effondrement du pont de Québec en construction, en 1907, qui a coûté la vie à 33 monteurs de charpentes métalliques de la communauté mohawk de Kahnawake. Ce drame, aux répercussions désastreuses, a eu un retentissement dans le monde entier. Porté par une histoire universelle, Sky dancers s’intéresse aux liens familiaux et communautaires, ainsi qu'à la résilience et à la solidarité entre les peuples et les générations dans un contexte dramatique. Avec ce spectacle à mi-chemin entre la danse contemporaine et traditionnelle, Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo, arrière-petite-fille d’une des victimes, entend remettre le passé sur le devant de la scène pour toucher le public en plein cœur et mieux faire connaître l’histoire des peuples autochtones. 

Wat’kathon tseriio kanon’nia kaka’enions sontons’kwenne tia’ontarikon 1907. Ahsen niwahsen ahsen kanienkehaka wahon’niheie kahnawakeronon. Nonen son’tons’kwenne sihotiiote, ohontsakwekon wa’onttoke tsina’awenne. Ohontsakwekon waont’toke nonen watkanions’kenne, kahwatsire, kanatakwekon ia’kotaska, tanon a’ions’kwaketsko tsinateiontere onkweson’a. Ioriwase tanon saoiera watston, thonitia’kotwatsirinon satewatenon’ianihte Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo iehawi tsiniiawen’en tsiniiore onwa, entiako’nikonhra’tihentho ine en’ioteroroke aieienter’hane onkwehonwe tsinition’kwenon.

Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir les nouvelles de nos programmes pour la classe et la maison

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

La Médiation culturelle est rendue possible grâce aux généreuses contributions de particuliers et d’organisations de partout au pays. Le programme Vive la musique est rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation Azrieli, partenaire national, ainsi que de la Fondation de la famille Slaight et du Groupe Banque TD, souscripteurs majeurs. Merci également à Grant et Alice Burton, à Canada Vie, à un fonds orienté par le donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, aux Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, aux donatrices et donateurs du Fonds de l’Avenir de la Fondation du CNA, au Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique, ainsi qu’aux donatrices, donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale source de financement des programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.

Menu