Workshops & Masterclasses

Teachers and students can learn about and register for these exciting events.

  • Dance

    The Nutcracker Auditions

    Auditions for the childrens' roles in Alberta Ballet's The Nutcracker will take place on September 30, 2018 at The School of Dance.

  • English Theatre

    Swap Shop: Student Workshops with Arts Professionnals

    NAC English Theatre is pleased to offer inspiring and innovative student workshops led by professional teaching artists. These workshops are offered at the elementary, secondary or post-secondary level, either in-school or at the NAC, and can always be tailored to meet your needs.

  • French Theatre

    Visits by creative artists!

    May we suggest that you welcome into your classroom some of the creative artists who will be coming to the NAC's French Theatre. It is a fantastic way to familiarize your students with the performing arts before they come to the theatre. In French only

  • Indigenous Theatre

    Learning From The Land

    Explore Indigenous stories through their connection with the arts. Discover how the territory around us has informed the art and culture of the Algonquin Anishinabe Peoples. Inclusive and instructional workshops, including dance, theatre, music and traditional arts for elementary, secondary or post-secondary levels. 

  • Music

    Band/Orchestra Coaching Sessions

    A musician from the NAC Orchestra or a professional from the community will lead a workshop tailored to your needs.

  • Dance

    Dance Masterclasses

    NAC Dance is thrilled to offer masterclasses and workshops—often exclusively in Ottawa—by some of the dance world's most renowned artists performing at the NAC. Dance teachers, dance students, pre-professional and professional dancers can take advantage of these fantastic opportunities throughout the 2018-19 season. Teachers may ask to watch NAC dance workshops and masterclasses for free.

  • English Theatre

    Backstage visits

    Backstage is a different world from onstage. These visits, led by professional stage managers, allow students to see how production elements come together. The itinerary may include a visit to the “shops” (props, scenery and wardrobe), tours of the four stages at the NAC, and/or a look at the vomitorium, dressing rooms and the Green Room.

  • French Theatre

    Putting your school to work

    You can have an artist-in-residence right in your classroom for a series of interactive workshops in which they can share their ideas, their sensitivities and their vision of the world!
    In French only

  • Music

    Musical Festival Preparation

    Get practical feedback on techniques about your ensemble’s performance prior to a competition.

  • Dance

    Professional development for teachers

    To enhance learning in the classroom, NAC Dance will once again be organizing a free open-level workshop for teachers.

  • Music

    Music circle workshop series for special needs students

    A unique opportunity for students with special needs to explore string, woodwind, brass or percussion instruments in a supportive and professional environment.

  • Dance

    Tea with a ballerina

    Our popular “Tea with a Ballerina” returns in 2018-19! An interactive opportunity for young people to learn about life in a professional ballet company and the journey it takes to get there. Participation in these events is limited to 12-15 students, who must register in advance. These activities are programmed once the new season begins.

  • Music

    Career exploration in arts administration

    Participants will meet a group of arts administrators from the National Arts Centre’s Music, Theatre and/or Dance departments in a casual setting.

  • Dance

    Coffee with a choreographer

    For its third year, “C with a C” returns to provide unique opportunities to have coffee and exchange ideas in an intimate setting with a renowned choreographer. Participation is limited to 10-12 emerging and aspiring artists, creators, and/or arts academics. Registration in advance is required.

  • Music

    For Teachers: Professional Development in Band / Orchestra Conducting

    This workshop aims to develop key elements of blend, balance, and tone for student ensembles. 

  • Music

    Instrumental Clinics for String, Woodwind, Brass or Percussion Sections

    Technical instruction on an instrument group.

  • Music

    Choral Workshops with Jackie Hawley

    Workshops for educators include basic conducting skills, choral/rehearsal techniques and repertoire suggestions. Workshops for students include healthy vocal technique, fun warm ups, and repertoire coaching.

Menu

Ateliers et classes de maîtres

Inscription à des classes de maître avec des artistes de renommée mondiale

  • Danse

    Auditions pour Casse-Noisette

    Les auditions pour les rôles d’enfants de Casse-Noisette de Alberta Ballet auront lieu le 30 septembre 2018 à The School of Dance. 

  • Théâtre anglais

    SWAP SHOP : Ateliers pour élèves avec des professionels des arts

    Les ateliers SWAP sur les facettes du théâtre font découvrir aux élèves différents aspects de la pratique théâtrale. L’artiste-enseignant donnant l’atelier établira au préalable avec vous un plan d’activité adapté au niveau et aux intérêts de vos élèves.

  • Théâtre français

    Accueillez les créateurs!

    Nous vous proposons d’accueillir, dans votre classe, certains des créateurs qui seront de passage au Théâtre français du CNA. Une merveilleuse manière de mettre en appétit vos élèves et de leur permettre de se familiariser avec l’univers du spectacle, avant leur venue au théâtre.

  • Théàtre autochtone

    Apprendre de la terre

    Explorez les récits autochtones par la voie des arts. Découvrez comment le territoire qui nous entoure a marqué l’art et la culture des peuples de la Nation algonquine anishinabe. Des ateliers inclusifs et pédagogiques portant notamment sur la danse, le théâtre, la musique et les arts traditionnels sont offerts aux élèves des niveaux primaire, secondaire et postsecondaire. 

  • Musique

    Séances d'encadrement pour orchestre et €™harmonie

    Le CNA propose des ateliers adaptés à vos besoins, dirigés par un musicien de l’Orchestre du CNA ou un professionnel de la collectivité.

  • Danse

    Classes de maître en danse

    Danse CNA se réjouit de pouvoir offrir des ateliers et des classes de maître — souvent en exclusivité à Ottawa — animés par certains des artistes les plus célèbres du monde de la danse, de passage au CNA. Enseignants et étudiants en danse, interprètes préprofessionnels et professionnels peuvent profiter de ces occasions fantastiques tout au long de la saison 2018-2019. Les enseignants peuvent demander à assister gratuitement aux classes de maître et ateliers de danse du CNA.

  • Théâtre anglais

    Visites de l’arrière-scène

    L’arrière-scène est un univers en soi qui diffère totalement de la scène. Organisées par des régisseurs professionnels, ces visites permettent aux élèves de comprendre comment s’imbriquent les différents éléments d’une production. La tournée peut inclure une visite de nos différents ateliers (accessoires, décors, costumes), des quatre scènes du CNA, du vomitoire, des loges et du salon Vert.

  • Théâtre français

    L'école à l'oeuvre

    Recevez un artiste en résidence dans votre classe ! Vous aurez la chance de le côtoyer au fil d’une série d’ateliers interactifs. Il partagera avec vous son univers, sa sensibilité, son regard sur le monde.

  • Musique

    Préparation à un festival de musique

    Obtenez des conseils pratiques sur la prestation de votre ensemble avant de participer à un concours.

  • Danse

    Perfectionnement professionnel pour enseignants

    Pour maximiser l’apprentissage en salle de classe, Danse CNA organise une fois de plus un atelier à l’intention des enseignants. Accessible à tous les niveaux.

  • Musique

    Ateliers du cercle musical pour élèves ayant des besoins spéciaux

    Une occasion unique, pour les élèves ayant des besoins spéciaux, de découvrir cordes, vents, cuivres et percussions dans un cadre professionnel adapté.

  • Danse

    Thé avec une ballerine

    Notre populaire « Thé avec une ballerine » est de retour pour la saison 2018-2019! Cette rencontre offre aux jeunes participants l’occasion idéale d’en apprendre davantage sur la vie et le parcours d’un membre d’une compagnie de ballet professionnelle. Il faut s'inscrire à l'avance pour participer à cette activité qui peut accueillir de 12 à 15 élèves.

  • Musique

    Carrières en gestion artistique

    Les participants rencontreront des administrateurs d’activités artistiques des services de musique, théâtre et danse du Centre national des Arts dans un cadre libre.

  • Danse

    Café avec un chorégraphe

    Cette activité, de retour pour une troisième année, donne à un petit groupe (10-12 personnes) d'artistes émergents ou en herbe, de créateurs ou de spécialistes du monde des arts la chance de discuter avec un chorégraphe de renom autour d'un café. Il faut s'inscrire à l'avance.

  • Musique

    Perfectionnement professionnel en direction d'harmonie ou d'€™orchestre

    L’atelier porte sur les éléments clés d’un ensemble musical et, en particulier, l’équilibre, la tonalité et la technique d’ensemble.

  • Musique

    Ateliers pour cordes, bois, cuivres ou percussions

    Leçons techniques portant sur un groupe d’instruments.

  • Musique

    Atelier de chant choral avec Jackie Hawley

    Au programme : de saines techniques vocales, les principes de la direction d’une chorale, l’ABC du chant choral et des répétitions, des suggestions sur la nature et le choix du répertoire.

Menu