Ersatz

Petite sorcière [Little Witch] 

A contemporary fable for cat pie and super-smart witches

“Okay, you’re going to pretend you’re a witch: follow your instincts and do whatever it takes to survive”
Big Witch, in Little Witch​​

Petite Sorcière_Solo_Bande-annonce from Projet MÛ on Vimeo.

This powerful story, a blend of intrigue and goosebumps, draws upon the fairy tales of Perrault and Grimm to invent the witches of today, stubborn and tough, just the way we like them! In this theatrical adventure, after Petite Sorcière (Little Witch) loses her mother, a predatory ogre promises to watch over her, until the day the pact is broken.  

Nini Bélanger, the intrepid director, daringly creates two shows based on the same story: a hair-raising solo version for children five years and under, and a 4D version for older kids with four brilliant performers. Something for every age group!  

By the way…

You can read theatre too! Check out Pascal Brullemans’ play, and, if you really want to keep enjoying the experience, you can check out all of his plays!


Credits
Script: Pascal Brullemans / Director: Nini Bélanger / With Emmanuelle Lussier-Martinez for creative work and Maude Desrosiers for the revival (short version), along with Catherine Allard, Dany Boudreault, Myriam Gaboury and Gaétan Nadeau (long version) / Production: Projet MÛ

Podcast pathway 

Here’s a treat for the senses: there’s now a podcast version of Little Witch. Before starting, here are a few tips to enhance your listening experience:

Find a comfortable space, with just enough light.

How about keeping a blanket nearby, and maybe someone to listen along with you, and something comforting to hold onto.

Immerse yourself in this story by closing your eyes and experiencing the emotions that come and go.

Soundscapes   

Everywhere Little Witch goes, she hears sounds: so far, the forest has been moving and resonating. Near the fire, a kitten is purring. Farther away, music full of echoes and emptiness fills the ogre’s castle.  

What you are listening to was created and arranged in the lefutur studio. The people there are the sound designers for Little Witch! To learn more about how they work with sound, we asked them a couple of questions.  

- - -

What do you think the role of sound in theatre is all about?  

The reason we like theatre as a medium is that while it shares many conventions with television and movies (which makes it accessible), theatre is live, and draws even more upon our imagination and our sense of poetry.  

In theatre, sound can completely change how a play is received, which means that it’s very important for us to remain subtle. Most of the time, we try to enhance or contrast parts of the play rather than underscoring them too obviously. From another standpoint, it’s sometimes extremely useful to be able to draw attention to or even accentuate one particular aspect to give it a larger-than-life dimension.

- - -

What kinds of household or outdoor sounds can you use to make music?

At home, you can use pots partially filled with water, which you can hit and move around to get all kinds of cool sounds. We also like to use plastic plates with rubber bands around them (for a really inexpensive guitar). You can also use a hand mixer (ideally with continuously variable speeds, ha! ha!) to create tunes while cooking a meal. If you happen to have a phone or computer with a microphone, you can record sounds, giving you endless possibilities. 

- - -

What’s your favourite sound, or sound texture?  

Generally, we have a soft spot for “woody” sounds that really come from wooden objects and instruments, or that resemble these kinds of sound characteristics. For us, they evoke nature. There’s something living, warm and imperfect about them.  


Want to learn more? Read the full interview (in French only) on the lefutur website and find some bonus questions!

Spotlight on the poster

An adventurous kitten and a gloomy dungeon. Check out each of the posters...  

Do you get the same feeling?  

What are the differences between the two works?

What do they tell you about the show?

 

Artist Julie Charland created these posters for the two versions of the show. Now it’s your turn! Begin by reading the play or listening to the Little Witch podcast. Then, with the story in hand and your creativity bubbling over, come up with your own poster.  

1. Which image from the play struck you in particular? You could use it as the basis for your work! 

2. Let’s talk about colours now! Trust your intuition: based on words and sounds, what colours come to mind?

3. And where would you like to place the title? What lettering should you use? Even the style of lettering can tell you a lot about the world described in the play! 

The witch figure: Courage and resourcefulness through the ages 

Witches, who were initially worshipped, and afterwards feared and hunted, have created their own path over the centuries, one of independence, solitude and freedom, combined with laughter and energy. Here’s a short story about a witch in three flashes:

Knowledge of nature

Animals of the fields and forests, wild plants, stars: the witches of yesterday and today know everything there is to know about these wonders of nature. There’s nothing new about this expertise! In the 15th and 16th centuries, witches were indispensable to the community: they were often midwives and healers, and embodied life itself.  

To immerse yourself: listen to the whispering sounds in your backyard or garden. If the environment is right, a single trip can get you closer to this scintillating world. And yes, handbooks, like modern books of magic spells can teach you all about nature and its magic. 

“I’m definitely happy I’m a witch because
my eyes can see beyond appearances.” 

—Little Witch

Intuition 

What exactly is intuition? A modern witch, writer Fanie Demeule, said that it was “an inner spring out of which you can draw bucketfuls of inspiration.” Or again, she says that it’s her “only real compass.” Some witches make it an everyday practice. Creativity, ingenuity and handbooks… you can find it all within you.  

To immerse yourself: Before a creative activity, competition or when you have a decision to make, listen to what your inner self is telling you. Becoming aware of what we feel is already a good start! 

Connection to mystery

“We need mysteries, because they teach us humility.” These words were spoken by the grandmother of the Ojibwa people. Witches from everywhere engage in all kinds of rituals, recipes and charms to connect all these unknown people to the mystery. But sometimes, it can give you a fright! Witches have been subjected to great injustices: people wanted to get rid of them because they were imagining all kinds of things about them and did not understand their perception of the world, imbued as it is with mystery.   

To immerse yourself: What do you find mysterious? It’s easier to begin with small things, and then work towards bigger ones. Take the moon as an example: you can look at it, gradually get to know it better, and at the same time accept what is mysterious about it.   

Psst! To learn more, check out the history of witches in the podcast (in French only) entitled La puce à l’oreille

Create a magic flower  

Medicinal flower – Paper flower – Flower of remembrance, to hold in your hands!

Okay, it’s true that it’s sometimes hard to find it in the woods, but here’s a magic origami trick: all you need is a sheet of paper, and a few folds later, a flower springs to life. Put it on your night table, offer it to someone you like, or hang it secretly on a plant in the house.

Your turn to play!
Don’t forget to send us a picture of your creation! 

OGRE: You’re wrong, there’s no such thing as magic flowers.

LITTLE WITCH: You don’t have much imagination.

—Excerpt from Little Witch 

Create your little magic flower 

The younger children might want to get involved too. On a tree leaf that you can find lying on the ground, paint a magic flower or a little forest creature. Magic, you say? Invent its hidden power… in fact, why not make a whole bouquet!

Why do we love cat videos?

What can you do? A little furry thing with big eyes, a pink nose and adorable paws turns us into mush. Why is that so loveable? 

There’s a scientific explanation for this phenomenon. Our reaction to cat videos is, according to specialists, related to the protective feelings and empathy we have for children. But there’s more to it than that! You know, when we find something so cute, it almost hurts us inside… it’s because seeing something that cute gives us the same intense pleasure as winning the lottery!  

Psst! The phenomenon is analyzed in this article from La Presse. (In French only)

via GIPHY

Still curious?

Here are some suggestions to continue your exploration:

Additional resources 


Reading list

For younger children 

  • Mes contes détournés, Michaël Escoffier and Séverine Duchesne, Éditions MIC MAC, 2014 (picture book, 6-10 year-olds)
  • “Le chant qui enlève la peur”: Sarcelle, Hélène Paré, Éditions Planète rebelle, 2015 (story, 6 years and over)  

For older children  

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Ersatz

Petite sorcière

Fable d’aujourd’hui pour chat en croûte et sorcières extrarusées

« Alors tu vas agir comme une sorcière : suivre ton instinct et faire ce qu’il faut pour survivre »
Grande Sorcière, dans Petite Sorcière ​​

Petite Sorcière_Solo_Bande-annonce de Projet MÛ sur Vimeo.

Captivant mélange d’intrigues et de frissons, ce conte puise dans les racines de Perrault et de Grimm pour inventer des sorcières d’aujourd’hui, têtues et résilientes comme on les aime! Dans cette aventure théâtrale, Petite Sorcière perd sa mère, un ogre rapace promet de veiller sur elle, jusqu’au jour où le pacte est rompu.

Intrépide, la metteuse en scène Nini Bélanger ose une folle équation et crée deux spectacles à partir du même texte : une ébouriffante version solo – pour les cinq ans et plus – et une version 4D – pour les plus grands – avec quatre interprètes de feu. À chaque âge son adresse!

En passant

Le théâtre, ça se lit aussi! Parcourez le texte de Pascal Brullemans et, conseil d’ami, faites durer le plaisir en explorant toute l’œuvre de l’auteur!


Crédits
Texte : Pascal Brullemans / Mise en scène : Nini Bélanger / Avec Emmanuelle Lussier-Martinez à la création et Maude Desrosiers lors de la reprise (petite forme) et Catherine Allard, Dany Boudreault, Myriam Gaboury et Gaétan Nadeau (grande forme) / Production : Projet MÛ

Balado sur le sentier

Surprise pour tous les sens : Petite Sorcière existe aussi en version balado. Avant de s’y embarquer, voici quelques astuces pour accueillir l’expérience auditive : 

Se poser dans un espace confortable, avec juste ce qu’il faut de lumière.

Et près de soi, une couverture, un compagnon d’écoute, un objet qui réconforte. 

S’immerger dans l’histoire en fermant les yeux et en se permettant de ressentir les émotions qui vont et viennent.

Paysages sonores  

Partout où Petite Sorcière pose les pieds, son espace lui renvoie des sons : juste ici, la forêt grouille et résonne. Auprès du feu, un petit chat ronronne. Plus loin, une musique fabriquée d’écho et de vide remplit le château de l’ogre.

Ce que vous entendez est créé et arrangé dans le studio de lefutur. Eux, ce sont les concepteurs sonores de Petite Sorcière! Pour en savoir plus sur ce travail du son, nous leur avons posé une ou deux questions!

- - -

À quoi sert le son au théâtre pour vous?  

Pour nous, l’avantage du théâtre comme médium, c’est qu’il a beaucoup de conventions en commun avec la télé et le cinéma (ce qui le rend accessible), mais étant donné sa nature de spectacle vivant, il fait encore plus appel à notre imaginaire et à notre « sens poétique ».  

En théâtre, le son peut complètement changer la façon dont la pièce sera reçue, c'est donc important pour nous de rester sobre.  On essaie le plus souvent de nuancer ou contraster un passage de la pièce plutôt que de le souligner. D'un autre côté, c'est parfois super utile de pouvoir souligner ou même accentuer un élément pour lui donner une dimension plus grande que nature.

- - -

Avec quels sons de la maison ou de l’extérieur peut‑on faire de la musique?

À la maison, on peut utiliser des chaudrons légèrement remplis d’eau, qu'on frappe et fait bouger pour obtenir toutes sortes de sons cool. On aime aussi les plats en plastique entourés d'un élastique tendu (guitare pas cher). Sinon, un mélangeur à main (idéalement à vitesse variable continue haha!) permet de créer des mélodies tout en vous cuisinant un bon repas. À partir du moment où vous avez un téléphone/ordinateur avec un micro et que vous pouvez enregistrer ces sons, les possibilités sont infinies. 

- - -

Quel est votre son préféré, une texture sonore que vous adorez particulièrement?  

En général on a un faible pour les sons « boisés », des sons qui proviennent vraiment d’objets et instruments en bois, ou qui rappellent ses caractéristiques sonores. Pour nous, ces sons évoquent la nature. Ils ont quelque chose de vivant, de chaleureux et d’imparfait.  


Envie d’en savoir plus? Accédez à l’intégralité de l’entretien avec lefutur, et découvrez deux questions bonus!

Lumière sur l’affiche

Petit chat à l’aventure et donjon lugubre. Observez chacune des illustrations...  

Est-ce le même sentiment qui apparaît en vous?  

Quelles sont les différences entre les deux œuvres?

Qu’est-ce qu’elles vous annoncent à propos du spectacle?

 

L’artiste Julie Charland a créé ces affiches pour les deux versions du spectacle. À votre tour! D’abord, lisez la pièce ou écoutez le balado de Petite Sorcière. Puis, avec l’histoire en poche et votre créativité en ébullition, imaginez votre propre affiche.  

1. Quelle image de la pièce vous marque particulièrement? Elle peut devenir la base de votre œuvre! 

2. Au tour des couleurs! Faites confiance à votre intuition : à partir des mots et des sons, quelles couleurs surgissent? 

3. Et le titre, quel emplacement aimeriez-vous lui donner? Avec quel lettrage? Rien que par le style de ses lettres, il peut nous en dire plus sur l’univers de la pièce! 

Figure de la sorcière : Ce cœur au ventre, encore et encore

D’abord vénérée, puis crainte et chassée, la sorcière a créé son chemin à travers les siècles. Chemin d’indépendance, de solitude et de liberté, de rires et de fougue. Voici une petite histoire de la sorcière en trois éclats :

Les connaissances de la nature 

Les animaux qui peuplent forêts et champs, les plantes sauvages, les étoiles : sorcières d’hier et d’aujourd’hui cultivent les connaissances sur tous ces joyaux de la nature. Leur savoir-faire n’est pas nouveau! On considérait les sorcières du 15e et 16e siècles indispensables à la communauté : souvent sage-femmes et guérisseuses, elles appelaient la vie.  

Pour aller à la rencontre : Soyez à l’écoute du plus fin bruissement, dans votre cour, votre jardin. Si l’environnement est adéquat, une balade seul.e peut vous rapprocher de ce monde qui scintille. Ah oui! Les guides pratiques, un peu comme des grimoires modernes, vous renseigneront sur la nature et sa magie. 

« Je suis bien contente d’être une sorcière 
Car j’ai des yeux qui voient au-delà des apparences » 

—Petite Sorcière

L’intuition 

C’est quoi au juste? Une sorcière moderne, l’autrice Fanie Demeule, dirait que c’est « un puits intérieur duquel [elle] remonte des chaudières d’inspiration ». Et encore, sa « seule vraie boussole ». Certaines sorcières en font une pratique de tous les jours. Créativité, ingéniosité et guide... tout ça se trouve à l’intérieur de soi.  

Pour aller à la rencontre : Avant une activité de création, une compétition ou une décision à prendre, écoutez ce qui vibre au-dedans de vous. Prendre conscience de nos ressentis, c’est déjà un début! 

La connexion au mystère 

« Nous avons besoin de mystères, ils sont les fondements de l’humilité. » Ces paroles sont celles de la grand-mère du peuple Ojibwé. Les sorcières de partout se servent d’une panoplie de rituels, de recettes et de charmes pour se lier au mystère, à tous ces inconnus. Mais parfois, ça donne la frousse! Les sorcières ont bravé de grandes injustices : on voulait s’en débarrasser parce qu’on s’imaginait plein de choses à leur sujet et qu’on ne comprenait pas leur perception du monde, empreinte de mystère.   

Pour aller à la rencontre : Qu’est-ce qui est mystérieux pour vous? C'est plus facile de commencer par de petites choses, puis d’approcher les plus grandes. Prenez la lune par exemple : on peut l’observer, la connaître de mieux en mieux, tout en acceptant sa part de mystère.   

Psst! Pour en connaître davantage, on raconte l’histoire des sorcières dans ce balado de La puce à l’oreille

Bricolez votre fleur magique  

Fleur pour soigner – Fleur de papier – Et souvenir, la fleur qu’on tournicote entre ses mains!

Bon, c’est vrai que c’est parfois compliqué de la trouver en forêt, mais voici un truc d’origami magie : il suffit d’une feuille de papier et quelques plis plus tard, voilà qu’une fleur s’éveille. À poser sur sa table de nuit, à offrir à un être cher, à accrocher, ni vu ni connu, sur une plante de la maison.

Suivez les étapes du brico ici.
N’oubliez pas de nous envoyer une photo de votre création! 

OGRE : tu te trompes, les fleurs magiques n’existent pas.

PETITE SORCIÈRE : Vous manquez peut-être d’imagination.

—Extrait de Petite Sorcière 

Bricolez votre petite fleur magique

Les plus jeunes voudront peut-être s’y mettre aussi. Sur une feuille d’arbre trouvée au sol, peignez une fleur magique ou une petite créature de la forêt. Magique, vous dites? Inventez le pouvoir qu’elle recèle... et pourquoi pas en faire tout un bouquet!

Pourquoi l’humain aime autant les vidéos de chats?

On n’y peut rien : une petite moumoute avec de grands yeux, un museau rose velouté et d’adorables pattes, ça nous fait craquer. Mais pourquoi c’est si attendrissant? 

Il y a une explication scientifique à ce phénomène! Notre réaction face aux vidéos de chats, plusieurs spécialistes la relient aux mêmes sentiments de protection et d’empathie qu’on éprouve envers les enfants. Mais il y a autre chose! Vous savez, quand on trouve ça tellement « cute » qu’on dirait que ça fait mal en-dedans... c’est parce qu’à la vue d’un truc mignon, on ressentirait le même bonheur intense qu’un gagnant à la loterie!  

Psst! On décortique ce phénomène dans cet article de La Presse.

via GIPHY

Insatiables?

Étanchez votre curiosité et poursuivez l’exploration selon vos envies :

Ressources additionnelles   

  • Entretien avec Nini Bélanger
  • L’Atelier-philo (pour les classes – en virtuel) : La comédienne Maude Desrosiers vous convie à une discussion de groupe inspirante autour des concepts philosophiques présents dans l’histoire de Petite Sorcière. 

Liste de lecture 

Pour les plus petits 

  • Mes contes détournés, Michaël Escoffier et Séverine Duchesne, Éditions MIC MAC, 2014 (album, 6-10 ans)
  • « Le chant qui enlève la peur » : Sarcelle, Hélène Paré, Éditions Planète rebelle, 2015 (conte, à partir de 6 ans)

Et pour les plus grands

Menu