April 8, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Ersatz

Le problème avec le rose

The colour of chaos

“This is no time for playing. Everyone’s staring at us.”
Alix, in Le problème avec le rose​ (translated)

The trouble with pink is that it’s everywhere! Just open your mouth—see what we mean? So if people think pink is just for girls, things get complicated, right? 

(Pink is for girls? Pffft! Nonsense! Yes, but what if?) 

In this show by Érika Tremblay-Roy and Christophe Garcia, this is the subject that divides four friends, who have never known a minute’s worry in their comfortable and... pink play space. 

By the way...

Theatre is for reading, too! Have a look at Érika Tremblay-Roy’s script and—friendly tip—keep the fun going by exploring the playwright’s entire body of work!


Credits
Written and directed by: Érika Tremblay-Roy / Choreographed and directed by: Christophe Garcia / With Maria Cargnelli, Maxime Lepage, Marc-André Poliquin and Alexandre Tondolo / Coproduction: Le Petit Théâtre de Sherbrooke and La [parenthèse] / Christophe Garcia

A whole universe inside a carpet

The story goes that the play Le problème avec le rose (“the trouble with pink”) was inspired by a huge pink carpet the artists saw in a store and bought on the spot, convinced that they had to create a show about it.

Of course, a stage show requires a lot of work, and it develops in several steps, each of which allows us to go deeper into the subject—what we want to say—and the form—how we want to say it. But it takes a trigger, a starting spark that sets the imagination in motion; and sometimes, that spark can be an object!

Julia Morlot is the set designer who created the show’s all-pink environment. She shares with us a few tips about her job as a set designer to inspire you to create your own moodboard.

Making an inspiration board

And now, over to you! Pretend you’re getting ready to design the set or costumes for a show whose theme is a colour of your choice, and start making your own personalized inspiration board, also called a mood board. With the help of images of all kinds, the inspiration board lets you gather your ideas and put together the elements of your imaginary universe.

Three pro tips for creating your inspiration board:

1. Collect images that you like, that inspire you (in magazines, on the Internet, etc.). For example, see here a board on Pinterest that brings together the images that Julia Morlot collected at the very beginning of her research for the scenography of the show Le problème avec le rose.

2. Find materials that interest you and collect them! You can also create a color chart of the chosen color.

3. Make some sketches to visualize your ideas. Julia Morlot shows us for example some sketches/collages made at the beginning of her work. 

Psst! Don’t forget to give your show a title… and send us photos of your creations!

Pink from every angle  

Five surprising or little-known facts about pink: 

  • According to Michel Pastoureau, a leading colour historian (yes, there is such a thing!), “For a long time, pink as such didn’t exist.” People used to talk about incarnate, which means “flesh”; or skin tone; or light red. Like Sasha’s character in the show, who, wanting to distance himself from pink for fear of what people will think, prefers to say “Light Red”.  
  • Originally, pink was considered a masculine colour. If you look at medieval or Renaissance paintings, you’ll see that kings or noblemen often wear an article of pink clothing. Women, on the other hand, are most often dressed in blue, the colour of the Virgin Mary.  
  • You may be surprised to learn that among all the pinks in the Pantone* colour chart, there’s one quite special one: Pantone 219C, or Barbie Doll Pink, has been registered by the Mattel toy company! It’s absolutely true. (*Universal colour code used in graphic design and printing)
  • Though pink has long been associated in the West with gentleness and tenderness, it also has a wilder side! Pink has punch, and can be found as much in political demonstrations as in music aimed at rebellious youth, from punk to hip-hop. (Source: Online exhibition on the history of pink). 
  • Another colour specialist, Jean-Gabriel Causse, tells us: “Research has shown that if you paint the walls of a kindergarten classroom pink, the children’s drawings are more upbeat and joyful. The suns are bigger, the clouds are fewer, the smiles are wider. Children see life through rose-coloured glasses! It’s very real, and that expression takes on its full meaning.” (Translated from an interview in La Presse).   

Finally, take a look at these very different versions of what a rose-coloured life could be: 

  • The Pink Phink, an animated short starring the Pink Panther that won an Oscar in 1965
  • Pink Balls, a public art installation by Claude Cormier that brightened up a section of Sainte-Catherine Street in Montreal for many years
  • Strange but true: In 2019, a tiny house perched atop an abandoned Montreal factory was painted pink by a person or persons unknown

Photo below: To learn more about these very special pink hats, click here.

What about you? What’s your favourite colour?

What colour do you feel like on the inside?

Practicing philosophy

Stéphanie Boyer collects questions: both big and small. Echoing three young people who also ask themselves quite a lot of interrogations, she explains the basics of a philosophical discussion.

*In French only

Ready to approach the question of gender identity from a philosophical angle? As Stéphanie Boyer says, all subjects lend themselves to this approach. She can even guide you to do it, with En orbite dans la Philosphère (workshop offered in French)

Questions of gender

Everyone is born with the attributes of a sex (a penis, a vulva, sometimes neither, sometimes both... did you know?). Depending on our sex at birth, we are identified as either a boy or a girl. Gender identity is more about how we feel: male, female, or neither...

Who decides what it means to be a guy or a girl?

Do other people’s perceptions influence who you are?

“Girls do better in school; boys are better at sports. Girls are sensitive; boys don’t cry...” Clichés? Preconceptions? From the moment we’re born, society influences us with broad generalizations about what a girl and a boy should be. When we’re too quick to assign certain character traits to genders in order to differentiate them, we lock people into expected roles and behaviours. The result? These stereotypes isolate people and contribute to their feelings of exclusion and rejection.

What happens if you don’t agree with the arbitrary differences between boys and girls?

What would help you feel better about yourself? 

Sexism is the belief that someone of the opposite sex is inferior or weaker. The impact of sexism is felt throughout our society and is the cause of many inequalities, both at home and at work. Did you know that in Canada, even today, a woman earns less than a man for work of equal value?


Further reading 

  • Issue 12 of the online magazine Le Curieux, for everything you always wanted to know about gender. In French
    (Magazine must be purchased; discount for teachers!)
  • Assigned Male: Online comic by Sophie Labelle about Stéphie, a transgendered 11-year-old.
  • Artsy Boys and Smelly Girls: Book by Élise Gravel about gender stereotyping.

Still curious?

Here are some suggestions to continue your exploration:

Additional resources

Reading list (French-language resources) 

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 2 septembre 2021.

Ersatz

Le problème avec le rose

Couleur chaos

« C’est plus le moment de jouer. Tout le monde nous regarde. »
Alix, dans Le problème avec le rose​
/fr/bio/erika-tremblay-roy

Le problème avec le rose, c’est qu’il est partout! Ouvre simplement la bouche, tu vas voir. Alors si le rose devient strictement réservé aux filles, ça complique les choses, non? 

(Le rose, c’est pour les filles? Pfff! N’importe quoi! Oui, mais si?) 

Dans ce spectacle signé Érika Tremblay-Roy et Christophe Garcia, voilà le sujet qui divise quatre amis, eux qui n’avaient pourtant jamais connu une minute d’inquiétude dans leur espace de jeu confortable et… rose! 

En passant...

Le théâtre, ça se lit aussi! Parcourez le texte d’Érika Tremblay-Roy et, conseil d’ami, faites durer le plaisir en explorant toute l’oeuvre de l’auteure!


Crédits
Texte et mise en scène : Érika Tremblay-Roy / Chorégraphie et mise en scène : Christophe Garcia / Avec Maria Cargnelli, Maxime Lepage, Marc-André Poliquin et Alexandre Tondolo / Coproduction : Le Petit Théâtre de Sherbrooke et La [parenthèse] / Christophe Garcia

Tout un univers dans une moquette

D’abord, c’est quoi une moquette? Quelqu’un le sait? C’est un autre mot pour tapis ou bien carpette. La petite histoire veut que la création du Problème avec le rose ait été inspirée par cette immense moquette rose, aperçue dans un magasin, puis achetée sur-le-champ par les artistes. Ils étaient convaincus qu’ils devaient faire un spectacle avec cet élément. 

Bien sûr, un spectacle nécessite beaucoup de travail et se réalise en plusieurs étapes, chacune permettant d’approfondir le propos - ce qu’on veut dire - et la forme - comment on veut le dire. Mais ça prend un déclencheur, une étincelle de départ qui met en branle l’imaginaire ; et il peut parfois s’agir d’un objet!

Julia Morlot est la scénographe qui a conçu l’univers entièrement rose du spectacle. Elle nous partage ici les astuces de son métier et vous met au défi de créer un tableau d’inspiration.

Concevoir un tableau d’inspiration

À vous de jouer! Laissez-vous guider par la scénographe Julia Morlot et faites comme si vous vous prépariez à réaliser le décor ou les costumes d’un spectacle ayant pour thème une couleur de votre choix, et lancez-vous dans la réalisation d’un tableau d’inspiration personnalisé, qu’on appelle aussi moodboard. À l’aide d’images de toutes sortes, le tableau d’inspiration permet de réunir vos idées, de rassembler les éléments de votre univers.

Trois conseils de pro pour réaliser votre tableau d’inspiration :

1. Récoltez des images dont l’univers vous plaît (dans des revues, sur Internet…). Par exemple, voyez ici un tableau sur Pinterest qui rassemble les images que Julia Morlot a collectées au tout début de ses recherches pour la scénographie du spectacle Le problème avec le rose.

2. Recherchez des matières qui vous intéressent et collectez-les! Vous pouvez aussi créer un nuancier de la couleur choisie.

3. Réalisez quelques croquis permettant de visualiser vos idées. Julia Morlot nous montre par exemple quelques croquis/collages réalisés au début de son travail. 

Psst! N’oubliez pas de donner un titre au spectacle que vous avez en tête… et de nous envoyer des photos de vos créations!

Le rose sens dessus dessous

Cinq faits inusités ou méconnus à propos du rose :

  • Selon Michel Pastoureau, grand spécialiste de l’histoire des couleurs (oui, ça existe!), « le rose n’a pas eu d’existence bien définie pendant longtemps. » On parlait d’incarnat, qui veut dire « chair », « carnation », ou bien de « rouge clair ». Comme le personnage de Sasha dans le spectacle, qui, voulant en finir avec le rose par peur du regard des autres, préfère dire « Rouge Pâle »…
  • À l’origine, le rose est la couleur des hommes. Si vous ouvrez l’oeil, vous remarquerez que, dans les tableaux du Moyen-Âge ou de la Renaissance, les rois ou les nobles portent souvent une pièce de vêtement rose. Les femmes, elles, portent du bleu, couleur de la vierge Marie.
  • Vous serez peut-être surpris d’apprendre que parmi tous les roses du nuancier Pantone*, il en existe un bien particulier... Le Pantone 219 C, ou Rose Poupée Barbie, a été déposé par le fabricant Mattel! Vrai de vrai. (*Code de couleurs universel utilisé dans le domaine de la conception graphique et de l’imprimerie)
  • Si le rose est depuis longtemps associé à la douceur et à la tendresse en Occident, il faut aussi rappeler son versant rebelle! Le rose a du punch et se fait voir autant dans les manifestations politiques que dans la musique qui s’adresse à une jeunesse revendicatrice, allant du punk au hip-hop! (Source : Exposition en ligne sur l’histoire du rose / en anglais).
  • Un autre passionné des couleurs, Jean-Gabriel Causse, nous apprend ceci : « Des chercheurs ont démontré que si vous peignez en rose les murs des classes de maternelle, les dessins des enfants sont plus positifs et plus joyeux. Les soleils sont plus gros, les nuages moins présents, les sourires plus marqués. Les enfants voient la vie en rose! C'est bien réel et cette expression prend tout son sens. »  (Entrevue à La Presse).

Pour finir, jetez un oeil à ces incarnations bien différentes de ce que pourrait être une vie en rose :

  • The Pink Phink, court-métrage d’animation mettant en vedette la panthère rose et qui a été couronné d’un Oscar en 1965
  • Boules roses, l’oeuvre de Claude Cormier qui a égayé un tronçon de la rue Sainte-Catherine à Montréal pendant de nombreuses années
  • Fait divers : en 2019, un inconnu peinture en rose une petite maison juchée au sommet d’une usine désaffectée
     

Photo ci-dessous : Apprenez-en davantage sur ce bonnet rose bien particulier en cliquant ici.

Et vous, quelle est votre couleur préférée

De quelle couleur vous vous sentez à l’intérieur?

Pratiquer la philo

Stéphanie Boyer collectionne les questions : les petites comme les grandes. En écho à trois jeunes qui s’en posent pas mal aussi, elle explique les bases de la discussion philosophique. 

Prêt pour aborder sous l’angle philosophique les questions de l’identité de genre ou du regard de l’autre? Comme le dit Stéphanie Boyer, tous les sujets s’accordent à cette approche. Elle peut même vous guider à le faire, avec En orbite dans la Philosphère.

Questions de genre

Tout le monde naît avec les attributs d’un sexe (un pénis, une vulve, parfois aucun, parfois les deux… le saviez-vous?). En fonction du sexe à la naissance, nous sommes identifiés comme fille ou garçon. L’identité de genre, c’est plutôt la façon dont on se sent, homme, femme, ou ni l’un ni l’autre…

Qui décide de ce que ça veut dire être un gars ou être une fille?

Le regard des autres influence-t-il qui on est?

Les filles réussissent mieux à l’école, les garçons sont plus doués dans les sports. Les filles sont sensibles, les garçons ne devraient pas pleurer… Clichés? Idées toutes faites? Dès notre naissance, la société nous a inculqué de grandes généralités par rapport à ce que devrait être une fille et un garçon. Quand on généralise certains traits de caractères associés aux genres dans le but de les différencier trop rapidement, on les enferme dans des comportements et des rôles attendus. Résultat? Les stéréotypes isolent les personnes, participent à leur sentiment d’exclusion, de rejet.

Que faire si on est en désaccord avec des différences faites entre les gars et les filles?

Qu’est-ce qui t’aiderait à mieux te sentir à ta place? 

Le sexisme, c’est quand on considère que quelqu’un du sexe opposé au nôtre est inférieur, plus faible. Les répercussions du sexisme se font sentir partout dans notre société et sont à l’origine de nombreuses inégalités, tant à la maison qu’au travail. Étiez-vous au courant qu’au Canada, encore aujourd’hui, une femme gagne moins qu’un homme pour le même travail effectué? 


Pour aller plus loin… 

  • Le dossier 12 du journal numérique Le Curieux, pour TOUT savoir sur le genre. (Dossier payant, tarif préférentiel pour les enseignants!)
  • Assignée garçon : une BD en ligne de Sophie Labelle qui raconte l’histoire de Stéphie, un enfant trans de 11 ans.
  • Tu peux : un livre signé Élise Gravel sur le thème des stéréotypes de genres

Insatiables?

Étanchez votre curiosité et poursuivez l’exploration selon vos envies :

Ressources additionnelles


Liste de lecture 

Menu