NAC Orchestra Student Matinees

Let your students experience one of the most outstanding ensembles of its kind in the world!

The NAC Orchestra boasts many of the finest musicians in the country who enthusiastically share the common goal of bringing music to young people. Perfectly suited to both the novice student and musical apprentice, this weekday matinee is bound to delight students and teachers alike!

    • Oct 22, 2019, 11:00am (French)
    • Oct 23, 2019, 10:00am (English)
    • Oct 23, 2019, 12:30pm (English)

    Corky needs help with her school project on classical music, and her eccentric Uncle Siegfried is the obvious person to help. But as she’s poking around his peculiar workshop, she accidentally combines the ingredients of a mysterious musical spell that sends her tumbling through a time she’s only read about in books. Whirling through the ages of Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Dvořák, and Shostakovich, Corky must find the secret musical formula that will bring her home. Will she make it back and finish her school work on time?  Don’t miss this magical musical adventure!

    TUESDAY OCTOBER 22, 2019 │ 11 A.M. (French)

    WEDNESDAY OCTOBER 23, 2019 │ 10 A.M. (English)

    WEDNESDAY OCTOBER 23, 2019 │ 12:30 P.M. (English)

  1. Grades 4 to 12

    • Dec 13, 2019, 11:00am (bilingual)

    Presented in association with the NAC Orchestra’s POPS series

    Rei Hotoda, conductor

    Enjoy best-loved Christmas carols in this celebration of music from Canada and around the world – fresh takes on everything from the traditional to the contemporary, but with the heart and soul you love to return to each year.

    FRIDAY DECEMBER 13, 2019 │ 11 A.M. (Bilingual)

  2. Grades 7 to 12

    • Conductor

      Stuart Chafetz

    • Vocalist

      Nicole Parker

    • Jan 10, 2020, 11:00am (bilingual)

    Presented in association with the NAC Orchestra’s POPS series

    Relive the glory days of shoulder pads, pastel suits, and big hair as guest conductor Stuart Chafetz digs deep into the vinyl vaults to present the biggest hits of the 1980s, a decade of synth-pop and breezy chart toppers like The Power of Love, Wake Me up Before You Go-Go, and 867-5309 (Jenny). After his most excellent and auspicious NAC debut in 2017, Chafetz returns to lead the NAC Orchestra through a whole new playlist of gnarly tunes that will have you moving in your seat. Don’t miss this all new performance of the music you love to love!

    FRIDAY JANUARY 10, 2020 │ 11 A.M. (Bilingual)

Menu

Matinées scolaires de l'Orchestre du CNA

Permettez à vos élèves de se laisser enchanter par l’un des ensembles les plus impressionnants du monde.

L’Orchestre du CNA regroupe nombre des musiciens les plus talentueux du pays, qui partagent avec enthousiasme l’objectif commun de rendre la musique accessible aux jeunes. Ces matinées présentées en semaine conviendront tant aux élèves qui en sont à leurs débuts musicaux qu’aux apprentis, et saura plaire tant aux enseignants qu’aux élèves!

    • 22 Oct 2019, 11 h 00 (Français)
    • 23 Oct 2019, 10 h 00 (Anglais)
    • 23 Oct 2019, 12 h 30 (Anglais)

    Corky a un devoir à faire sur la musique classique, et elle sait exactement qui pourra l’aider. En fouinant dans l’atelier farfelu de son oncle excentrique, Siegfried, elle active accidentellement un mystérieux sortilège musical qui la fait basculer dans une ère dont elle ne connaît rien, sauf ce qu’en disent les livres. Catapultée d’une époque à l’autre entre Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Dvořák et Chostakovich, Corky doit trouver la formule musicale secrète qui la ramènera à la maison. Parviendra-t-elle à revenir saine et sauve – et à terminer son travail scolaire à temps? Ne ratez pas la magie de cette aventure musicale pour tous!

    MARDI 22 OCTOBRE 2019 │ 11 H (FRANÇAIS)

    MERCREDI 23 OCTOBRE 2019 │ 10 H (ANGLAIS)

    MERCREDI 23 OCTOBRE 2019 │ 12 H 30 (ANGLAIS)

  1. 4e à la 12e année (niveau secondaire)

    4e à la 12e année (niveau secondaire)

    Réservez
    • 13 Dec 2019, 11 h 00 (bilingue)

    Présenté en association avec la série POPS de l’Orchestre du CNA

    Rei Hotoda, conductor

    Venez fredonner vos chants de Noël préférés d’ici et d’ailleurs en cette célébration où les classiques traditionnels et contemporains sont revisités, mais ne perdent rien de l’essence et du caractère qui nous donnent envie de les retrouver chaque année.

    VENDREDI 13 DÉCEMBRE 2019 │ 11 H (Bilingue)

  2. De la 7e à la 12e année (niveau secondaire)

    • Chef d’orchestre

      Stuart Chafetz

    • Chanteuse

      Nicole Parker

    De la 7e à la 12e année (niveau secondaire)

    Réservez
    • 10 Jan 2020, 11 h 00 (bilingue)

    Présenté en association avec la série POPS de l’Orchestre du CNA

    Revivez l’heure de gloire des épaulettes, des costumes pastel et des cheveux permanentés alors que le chef d’orchestre invité Stuart Chafetz dépoussière les vinyles des années 1980. Au programme : les grands succès de l’époque, une décennie marquée par la synthpop et les tubes accrocheurs comme « The Power of Love », « Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go » et « 867-5309/Jenny ». Après des débuts prometteurs et remarqués au CNA en 2017, le maestro Chafetz revient diriger l’Orchestre du CNA dans une toute nouvelle sélection d’airs irrésistibles qui vous feront danser dans votre siège. Ne manquez pas ce concert inédit consacré à des musiques dont vous ne vous lasserez jamais!

    VENDREDI 10 JANVIER 2020 │ 11 H (Bilingue)

Menu