Jan Lisiecki Plays Beethoven

NACO Live

Pianist Jan Lisiecki © Christoph Köstlin
Music Classical music Masterworks Piano
  • JESSICA HUNT Climb
  • Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 3
  • DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”
  • In-person event

In recognition and thanks for invaluable donor support, NAC English Theatre and NAC Indigenous Theatre reserve a limited number of complimentary seats for designated preview performances. Often, before the evening’s preview, a member of the production’s artistic team gives insights into the creative process and invites questions from donors.

The NAC Orchestra is delighted to collaborate with guest conductor Lina Gonzalez-Granados in her National Arts Centre conducting debut. This brilliant Colombian-American artist is winner of the 2021 Sphinx Medal of Excellence, and founder and artistic director of Unitas Ensemble. Her flair for both opera and orchestral repertoire has earned Gonzalez-Granados international recognition. 

We also welcome pianist and long-time friend of the Orchestra Jan Lisiecki back to Southam Hall to perform Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3. “My journey with Beethoven’s music started, perhaps most concretely, with the third piano concerto, which I remember playing from a young age. It starts with this darkness and this emotion, and of course it goes out of bounds a lot, but it is somehow firmly planted,” says Lisiecki of this beautiful concerto. 

Jessica Hunt’s Climb, commissioned by the Philadelphia Orchestra, is an aural exploration of her physical experiences with disability and chronic illness, a fearful but exciting journey that is both haunting and hopeful. NACO is very proud to give the Canadian premiere of Climb and to welcome a brilliant voice for art and inclusion to our stage.  

To listen to Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9, From the New World, is to lose yourself in a joyful cloud of music that is not only classic but also eternal. Written by the great composer while he was director of the National Conservatory of Music of America (1892–1895), From the New World is understandably one of the most beloved symphonies of all time—so much so that Neil Armstrong took a tape recording of it on the Apollo 11 mission that first landed man on the moon.  

Menu

Jan Lisiecki joue Beethoven

L'OCNA en direct

Le pianist Jan Lisiecki © Christoph Köstlin
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Piano
  • JESSICA HUNT Climb
  • Beethoven Concerto pour piano no 3
  • DVOŘÁK Symphonie no 9, « Du Nouveau Monde »
  • Événement en personne

En guise de reconnaissance et de remerciement pour leur précieux soutien, le Théâtre anglais et le Théâtre autochtone du CNA offrent un nombre limité de billets de faveur aux donateurs pour des avant-premières désignées. Souvent, avant la représentation, un membre de l’équipe artistique de la production donne un aperçu du processus créatif et répond aux questions des donateurs.

L’Orchestre du CNA est ravi de collaborer pour une toute première fois avec la chef invitée Lina Gonzalez-Granados. Cette brillante artiste colombienne-américaine a reçu, en 2021, la médaille d’excellence Sphinx. Elle est aussi fondatrice et directrice artistique de l’ensemble Unitas. Son flair pour le répertoire de l’opéra comme pour celui de l’orchestre lui a valu une reconnaissance à l’international. 

Nous accueillons aussi le pianiste et ami de longue date de l’Orchestre Jan Lisiecki, qui est de retour dans la Salle Southam pour jouer le magnifique Concerto pour piano no 3 de Beethoven. « Mon histoire avec la musique de Beethoven a probablement débuté de façon concrète avec le troisième concerto pour piano. Je me rappelle avoir joué celui-ci assez jeune. Les premières notes sont sombres et remplies d’émotions, et l’œuvre dévie de sa trajectoire à de nombreuses reprises, mais sans jamais la perdre de vue. » 

Commandée par l’Orchestre de Philadelphie, l’œuvre Climb de Jessica Hunt se veut une exploration sonore de l’expérience physique de l’artiste en tant que personne vivant avec un handicap et une maladie chronique. Un voyage bouleversant et plein d’espoir qui évoque les craintes et l’exaltation. L’Orchestre du CNA est très fier de présenter la première canadienne de Climb et d’accueillir sur scène une voix extraordinaire qui fait briller l’art et l’inclusion. 

Écouter la Symphonie no 9, Du Nouveau Monde de Dvořák, c’est se laisser transporter par un joyeux nuage de musique non seulement classique, mais aussi éternelle. Écrit par le grand compositeur lorsqu’il était directeur du Conservatoire national de musique d’Amérique (1892-1895), Du Nouveau Monde est sans contredit l’une des symphonies les plus aimées de tous les temps. En fait, Neil Armstrong en a apporté un enregistrement audio lors de la mission Apollo 11, celle qui s’est conclue par un petit pas pour l’Homme sur la Lune. 

Menu