Become Ocean

SPHERE Festival - NACO Live

2022-09-24 20:00 2022-09-24 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Become Ocean

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30522

In-person event

We honour the voice of Mother Nature with music dedicated to the critical ecological milestones our planet faces, including two works from ground-breaking female composers Anna Clyne and Outi Tarkiainen. British composer Anna Clyne wrote Restless Oceans for Marin Alsop and the all-women Taki Concordia Orchestra for performance at the World Economic Forum in Davos in 2019. In addition to playing their instruments, the musicians are called upon to use their voices in song and strong...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, September 24, 2022
8 PM EDT

Program

Last updated: September 21, 2022

OUTI TARKIAINEN Songs of the Ice
ANNA CLYNE Restless Oceans
JOHN LUTHER ADAMS Become Ocean

Program Notes

Tonight’s second NACO concert of the SPHERE Festival features music inspired by and evoking the many facets of one of nature’s fundamental elements: water. Through their compelling works, the composers Outi Tarkiainen, Anna Clyne, and John Luther Adams seek to draw our attention to environmental, social, and cultural concerns close to their hearts, such as climate change and gender and racial discrimination. As John Luther Adams has put it, “If my music can inspire people to listen more deeply to this miraculous world we inhabit, then I will have done what I can as a composer to help us navigate this perilous era of our own creation.”

Repertoire

OUTI TARKIAINEN

Songs of the Ice

Finnish composer Outi Tarkiainen says she “sees music as a force of nature, which can flood over a person and fill a person and even change entire destinies.” Her viscerally powerful music is deeply connected to her life and experience living in northernmost Finland, frequently guided by issues of environmental awareness, particularly climate change and its impacts. Recently, she has written works for large orchestra that connect these topics to that of motherhood, inspired by her own experience. These include Her Midnight Sun Variations (performed by the NAC Orchestra earlier this year in May), and the work that opens tonight’s concert, Songs of the Ice. She considers them companion pieces, though they can be performed separately.  

Tarkiainen composed Songs of the Ice in 2019, a commission for the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Iceland Symphony Orchestra. As she explains the work’s underlying themes:

Songs of the Ice is an orchestral work about ice. In the Arctic region, the ice breathes with the seasons, swelling in winter and shrinking in summer. Its age-old movement sings a song of its own: slowly surging, unrelenting and covering all beneath it. It tinkles and rumbles, squeaks and laments as our ever-warmer climate breaks Nature’s time-honoured laws, forcing the ice to give way.

When I composed the piece, I was expecting our second child, due to be born in the heart of winter when the bitter cold strengthens the ice, making it powerful and solid again, and I was physically reminded of the weeks and months after the birth of our first-born. Songs of the Ice also describes the emptiness and reclosing process that begins in a woman’s body when she parts company with the life inside her in giving birth. The piece is dedicated to the Okjökull glacier, declared dead in 2014 and Iceland’s first victim of climate change.

The work begins with the rumbling sound of ice: the orchestra attacks with waves each stronger than the last that finally break and shatter into clear crystals. Reverberating through the empty space are wailing wind solos, the soul of the ice—a big man’s lament that is gradually compressed by his anguish into warning cries from the piccolos. At last the strings bring consolation: over the landscape their warmth spreads a thick blanket that flows more and more relentlessly towards a new cycle in which everything begins again, but never the same as before.

In the second cycle, this musical material returns, more intense and urgent in character, and the consoling section reaches a climax more cataclysmic than the first. After delicate descending figures, a sparkling, twinkling soundscape evoking ice crystals closes the piece.

Anna Clyne

Restless Oceans

Anna Clyne is a British composer in demand, working extensively with orchestras, choreographers, filmmakers, and visual artists, and often collaborating on creative projects across the music industry. She has a keen fascination for the visual arts, which often inspires her music. Poetry is also a key stimulus, especially verses that conjure up strong visual imagery and emotion. To her, the orchestra is the “ultimate palette of colours” that she can use to “translate” these ideas. As she noted in a 2021 interview, “I think orchestration is like painting—you combine different instruments to create your own orchestral colours.”

Clyne composed Restless Oceans in 2018 for conductor Marin Alsop and the Taki Concordia Orchestra for performance at the World Economic Forum Annual Meeting in Davos. It was premiered on January 22, 2019, at the meeting’s opening ceremony, where Alsop was presented with the Forum’s prestigious Crystal Award in recognition of her championship of diversity of music. As Clyne describes:

This work draws inspiration and its title from “A Woman Speaks”—a poem by Audre Lorde [the American self-described “black, lesbian, mother, warrior, poet” and activist] and was composed with this particular all-women orchestra in mind. In addition to playing their instruments, the musicians are also called to use their voices in song and strong vocalizations, and their feet to stomp and to bring them to stand united at the end. My intention was to write a defiant piece that embraces the power of women. Restless Oceans is dedicated with thanks to Marin Alsop.

Clyne includes the full poem in the published score; while she’s not specifically using the poem to shape the structure of her music, she perhaps intends for audiences to read it, so to provide a psychological point of connection to the sonic experience of the piece.

“A Woman Speaks” – by Audre Lorde (1984; published in 1997)

Moon marked and touched by sun
my magic is unwritten
but when the sea turns back
it will leave my shape behind.
I seek no favor
untouched by blood
unrelenting as the curse of love
permanent as my errors
or my pride
I do not mix
love with pity
nor hate with scorn
and if you would know me
look into the entrails of Uranus
where the restless oceans pound.

I do not dwell
within my birth nor my divinities
who am ageless and half-grown
and still seeking
my sisters
witches in Dahomey
wear me inside their coiled cloths
as our mother did
mourning.

I have been woman
for a long time
beware my smile
I am treacherous with old magic
and the noon's new fury
with all your wide futures
promised
I am
woman
and not white.

Restless Oceans opens “with fire and drive”, energetic all-downbow attacks in the upper strings and strong vocalizations on the syllable “Huh”. A tender but still forward-moving episode follows, with layered wave-like arpeggiations in the woodwinds, against which first violins, second violins, and violas enter in turn singing and playing an expressive melody. These single lines become a chorus, which lead back into the return of the “fire and drive” music. Later, clarinet and bassoons intone a lyrical melody that soon accelerates into a section that Clyne has marked with a line from Lorde’s poem, “where the restless oceans pound”. Beginning softly, rapid ostinato figures in the upper strings propel woodwinds and lower strings intoning a gradually ascending chromatic scale with increasingly louder swells. The figuration is picked up by the winds, and “with great force”, the piece draws to its “wild” conclusion.

JOHN LUTHER ADAMS

Become Ocean

American composer John Luther Adams’s distinctive music is “grounded in space, stillness, and elemental forces,” shaped by nearly 40 years of having lived in northern Alaska. During the 1970s and 80s, he worked as an environmental activist, but later decided to become a composer full time, believing that music can be a more powerful force for change than politics. In his view, music offers possibilities of imagining “a culture and a society in which we each feel more deeply responsible for our own place in the world,” and the transformative potential “to bring that culture and that society into being.”

Commissioned by the Seattle Symphony and their then-Music Director Ludovic Morlot, Become Ocean was composed in 2013, and won the Pulitzer Prize for Music a year later. In Adams’s words,

It is a meditation on the deep and mysterious tides of existence. Life on Earth first emerged from the sea. And as the polar ice melts and sea levels rise, we humans find ourselves facing the prospect that once again we may literally become ocean.

While the work embraces the idea that “eventually, we begin to realize that we’re part of something much larger than ourselves,” Adams notes that the title arises from a more personal source:

Back in the late ’70s, John Cage wrote a mesostic poem called “Many Happy Returns”, in honor of his dear friend—also my mentor and friend—Lou Harrison. He compares Lou’s music to a river in delta, with all these different influences and currents, coming together in a big, beautiful sweep of music. And in the last line of the poem, Cage writes,

LiStening to it
we becOme
oceaN.

I’ve always been struck by what a beautiful image that is.

Become Ocean is an immersive experience, during which the orchestra becomes an immense sonic body. The sections of the orchestra—woodwinds, brass, and strings—each play sections of music that are repeated a specific number of times. The resulting effect to the ear is of different timbres and sonorities emerging out of and receding back into the oceanic mass as the piece unfolds. Over the span of 42 minutes, these wave-like sections progress, on one level, as six seven-minute sections. On another level, these sections can be grouped as three 14-minute arcs, reaching massive climaxes at the seven-, 21-, and 35-minute marks, when the peaks of the cycles of the instrumental sections coincide. At these half-way points, the music begins to move backward, eventually subsiding. This palindromic structure also shapes the piece at its largest structural level, when, from the mid-point, the music proceeds in reverse, providing a poignant change of perspective to what came before.

Program notes by Hannah Chan-Hartley, PhD

NAC Orchestra

Conductor: Alexander Shelley

First Violins
Yosuke Kawasaki (concertmaster)
Jessica Linnebach (associate concertmaster)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistant concertmaster)
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Marjolaine Lambert
Manuela Milani
Emily Westell
*Zhengdong Liang
*Erica Miller
*Martine Dubé|
*Heather Schnarr
*Oleg Chelpanov
*John Corban
 

Second violins/
Mintje van Lier (principal)
Winston Webber (assistant principal)
Frédéric Moisan
Carissa Klopoushak
Mark Friedman
Karoly Sziladi
Leah Roseman
**Edvard Skerjanc
*Emily Kruspe
*Renée London
*Andréa Armijo Fortin
*Marc Djokic

Violas
Jethro Marks (principal)
David Goldblatt (assistant principal)
David Marks (associate principal)
Paul Casey
David Thies-Thompson
*Kelvin Enns
*Alexander Moroz

Cellos
Rachel Mercer (principal)
Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)
Marc-André Riberdy
Timothy McCoy
Leah Wyber
*Desiree Abbey
*Karen Kang

Double basses
*Joel Quarrington (guest principal)
**Hilda Cowie
Max Cardilli
Vincent Gendron
Marjolaine Fournier
*Travis Harrison

Flutes
Joanna G'froerer (principal)
Stephanie Morin
*Kaili Maimets

Oboes
Charles Hamann (principal)
Anna Petersen
*Melissa Scott

English Horn
Anna Petersen

Clarinets
Kimball Sykes (principal)
Sean Rice
*Juan Olivares

Bassoons
Darren Hicks (principal)
Vincent Parizeau
*Ben Glossop

Horns
Lawrence Vine (principal)
Julie Fauteux (associate principal)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron

Trumpets
Karen Donnelly (principal)
Steven van Gulik
*Paul Jeffrey

Trombones
**Donald Renshaw (principal)
*Steve Dyer (guest principal)
Colin Traquair

Bass Trombone
*Zachary Bond

Tubas
Chris Lee (principal)

Timpani
*Jonathan Rance

Percussion
Jonathan Wade
*Louis Pino
*Tim Francom

Harp
*Angela Schwarzkopf
*Alanna Ellison

Piano
*Olga Gross

Celeste
*Patrick Cashin


Principal Librarian
Nancy Elbeck

Assistant Librarian
Corey Rempel

Personnel Manager
Meiko Lydall

Assistant Personnel Manager
Laurie Shannon

*Additional musicians
**On Leave/En congé

Menu

Become Ocean

Festival SPHÈRE - L'OCNA en direct

2022-09-24 20:00 2022-09-24 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Become Ocean

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30522

Événement en personne

Avec une musique consacrée au tournant écologique décisif qui attend notre planète, dont deux œuvres des compositrices avant-gardistes Anna Clyne et Outi Tarkiainen, nous rendons hommage à notre Mère Nature. La compositrice britannique Anna Clyne a écrit Restless Oceans pour Marin Alsop et l’Orchestre Taki Concordia, une formation entièrement féminine, en vue du Forum économique mondial tenu...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 24 septembre 2022
20 h HAE

Programme

Dernière mise à jour: 21 septembre 2022

OUTI TARKIAINEN Songs of the Ice
ANNA CLYNE Restless Oceans
JOHN LUTHER ADAMS Become Ocean

Notes de programme

Le concert de ce soir, le deuxième présenté par l’OCNA dans le cadre du festival SPHÈRE, propose une musique qui s’inspire d’un des éléments fondamentaux de la nature et qui en évoque les multiples facettes : l’eau. À travers leurs passionnantes compositions, Outi Tarkiainen, Anna Clyne et John Luther Adams cherchent à attirer notre attention sur des préoccupations environnementales, sociales et culturelles qui leur tiennent à cœur, comme le changement climatique et la discrimination raciale et de genre. Ainsi que le déclare John Luther Adams, « si ma musique peut inciter les gens à écouter plus attentivement ce monde miraculeux que nous habitons, j’aurai fait ma part, comme compositeur, pour nous aider à passer à travers cette période critique de notre propre création. »

Répertoire

OUTI TARKIAINEN

Songs of the Ice

La compositrice finlandaise Outi Tarkiainen affirme qu’elle « considère la musique comme une force de la nature, qui peut submerger une personne, la repaître, et même changer entièrement son destin. » Puissante et viscérale, sa musique est profondément liée à ses expériences de vie dans le nord de la Finlande, souvent teintées de questions de sensibilisation à l’environnement, en particulier au changement climatique et à ses conséquences. Récemment, elle a écrit des œuvres pour grand orchestre qui relient ces thèmes à celui de la maternité, inspirées par sa propre expérience. On peut citer, notamment, ses Midnight Sun Variations (interprétées par l’Orchestre du CNA plus tôt cette année, en mai) et l’œuvre qui ouvre le concert de ce soir, Songs of the Ice (« Chants de la glace »). Elle considère ces œuvres comme des pièces complémentaires, bien qu’elles puissent être jouées séparément.  

Outi Tarkiainen a composé Songs of the Ice en 2019, une commande pour l’Orchestre symphonique de la radio finlandaise et l’Orchestre symphonique d’Islande. Elle explique comme suit les thèmes sous-jacents de l’œuvre :

Songs of the Ice est une œuvre pour orchestre qui traite de la glace. Dans la région arctique, la glace respire au gré des saisons, se dilatant en hiver et rétrécissant en été. Son mouvement immémorial possède un chant qui lui est propre : surgissant peu à peu, implacable, jusqu’à tout recouvrir. Elle tinte et gronde, grince et geint tandis que notre climat toujours plus chaud rompt les lois ancestrales de la nature, forçant la glace à se retirer.

Quand j’ai composé cette pièce, j’attendais notre deuxième enfant, qui devait naître au cœur de l’hiver, lorsque le froid glacial renforce la glace, la rendant à nouveau puissante et solide, et mon corps s’est souvenu des semaines et des mois ayant suivi la naissance de notre premier enfant. Songs of the Ice évoque également le vide ressenti et le processus par lequel se referme le corps d’une femme lorsqu’elle se sépare de la vie qui est en elle en donnant naissance. La pièce est dédiée au glacier Okjökull, première victime du changement climatique en Islande, déclaré mort en 2014.

L’œuvre s’amorce avec le grondement de la glace : l’orchestre attaque avec des vagues toujours plus fortes qui finissent par se briser et se fragmenter en cristaux clairs. Dans l’espace vide se répercutent les solos gémissants des vents, l’âme de la glace – la complainte d’un grand homme que son angoisse comprime peu à peu jusqu’à se muer en cris d’alarme des piccolos. Les cordes apportent enfin le réconfort : sur le paysage, leur chaleur étend une épaisse couverture qui s’étend irrésistiblement jusqu’à produire un nouveau cycle où tout recommence, mais jamais comme avant.

Dans le deuxième cycle, ce matériau musical revient, revêtant un caractère plus intense et urgent, et le passage réconfortant atteint un point culminant aux accents plus cataclysmiques que le précédent. Après de délicates figures descendantes, un paysage sonore étincelant et scintillant, évoquant des cristaux de glace, vient clore la pièce.

Anna Clyne

Restless Oceans

Anna Clyne est une compositrice britannique très demandée. Elle œuvre abondamment avec des orchestres, des chorégraphes, des cinéastes et des artistes visuel·les, collaborant fréquemment à des projets créatifs dans l’industrie musicale. Elle a une grande fascination pour les arts visuels, qui inspirent souvent sa musique. La poésie est également une source d’inspiration importante, en particulier les vers qui évoquent des images et des émotions fortes. Pour elle, l’orchestre est « l’ultime palette de couleurs » qu’elle utilise pour « traduire » ses idées. Comme elle l’a mentionné dans le cadre d’un entretien en 2021, « je pense que l’orchestration est comme la peinture : vous combinez différents instruments pour créer vos propres couleurs orchestrales ».

Elle a composé Restless Oceans (« Océans agités ») en 2018 pour le chef d’orchestre Marin Alsop et le Taki Concordia Orchestra, en vue d’un concert présenté lors de la réunion annuelle du Forum économique mondial à Davos. L’œuvre a été créée le 22 janvier 2019, dans le cadre de la cérémonie d’ouverture, alors que le maestro Alsop a reçu le prestigieux prix Crystal du Forum en reconnaissance de ses efforts de promotion de la diversité dans la musique. Anna Clyne décrit la pièce en ces termes :

Cette œuvre tire son inspiration et son titre du poème « A Woman Speaks » d’Audre Lorde [l’Américaine qui se décrit elle-même comme « noire, lesbienne, mère, guerrière, poète » – et activiste] et a été composée avec, en tête, cet orchestre particulier formé uniquement de femmes. En plus de jouer de leurs instruments, les interprètes doivent également utiliser leurs voix dans des chants et des vocalises fortes, et leurs pieds pour trépigner et se lever ensemble d’un seul élan à la fin. Mon intention était d’écrire une pièce provocatrice qui embrasse le pouvoir des femmes. Restless Oceans est dédié, avec gratitude, à Marin Alsop.

Anna Clyne inclut le poème intégral dans la partition publiée; bien qu’elle n’ait pas spécialement structuré sa musique d’après le poème, elle tient peut-être à ce que le public le lise, afin de fournir un point d’ancrage psychologique à l’expérience auditive de la pièce.

« Parole de femme » – par Audre Lorde (1984; publié en 1997)

Marquée par la lune et touchée par le soleil
ma magie est non-écrite
mais quand la mer se retirera
elle laissera ma silhouette derrière elle.
Je ne cherche aucune faveur
épargnée par le sang
implacable comme la malédiction de l’amour
constante comme mes erreurs
ou ma fierté
je ne mêle pas
l’amour à la pitié
ni la haine au mépris
et si tu veux me connaître
regarde dans les entrailles d’Uranus
où battent les océans agités.

Je n’habite
ni ma naissance ni mes divinités
moi qui suis sans âge et inachevée
et cherche encore
mes sœurs
sorcières au Dahomey
me portent dans leurs tissus enroulés
comme le faisait notre mère
en deuil.

Je suis femme
depuis longtemps
méfie-toi de mon sourire
je suis traîtresse avec la vieille magie
et la nouvelle fureur de midi
et vos grandioses promesses
d’avenir
je suis
femme
et non blanche.

(Traduit de l’anglais par Pascale Cormier)

Restless Oceans s’ouvre « avec feu et dynamisme » sur des attaques énergiques dans le registre le plus grave des cordes aiguës, et des vocalises fortes sur la syllabe « Huh ». Suit un épisode tendre mais toujours en mouvement, avec des arpèges superposés en forme de vagues exécutés par les instruments à vent, sur lesquels les premiers violons, les seconds violons et les altos entrent tour à tour en interprétant une mélodie expressive. Ces lignes simples se transforment en un chœur, qui ramène le matériau musical « plein de feu et de dynamisme » du début. Plus tard, la clarinette et les bassons entonnent une mélodie lyrique qui s’accélère bientôt dans une section que la compositrice a marquée d’un vers du poème de Lorde, « où battent les océans agités ». D’abord tout doucement puis de plus en plus vite, des figures en ostinato dans les cordes aiguës propulsent les vents et les cordes graves qui entonnent une gamme chromatique graduellement ascendante, avec des houles de plus en plus puissantes. La figuration est reprise par les vents et, « avec une grande force », la pièce atteint son « indomptable » conclusion.

JOHN LUTHER ADAMS

Become Ocean

La musique distinctive du compositeur américain John Luther Adams est « ancrée dans l’espace, le calme et les forces élémentaires », façonnée par près de 40 ans de vie dans le nord de l’Alaska. Dans les années 1970 et 1980, il a œuvré comme militant écologiste, mais il a décidé, par la suite, de se faire compositeur à plein temps, convaincu que la musique peut être un moteur de changement plus puissant que la politique. À ses yeux, la musique offre la possibilité d’imaginer « une culture et une société dans lesquelles nous nous sentons plus profondément responsables de notre propre place dans le monde, » et le pouvoir transformateur de « faire exister cette culture et cette société ».

Fruit d’une commande de l’Orchestre symphonique de Seattle et de Ludovic Morlot, qui en était alors le directeur musical, Become Ocean (« Devenir océan ») a été composé en 2013, et a remporté le prix Pulitzer pour la musique l’année suivante. Le compositeur l’évoque en ces termes :

C’est une méditation sur les mystérieuses et profondes marées de l’existence. La vie sur Terre a d’abord émergé de la mer. Et à mesure que fondent les glaces polaires et que monte le niveau des mers, nous, les humains, sommes confrontés à la perspective de redevenir concrètement, une fois de plus, l’océan.

 

Alors que l’œuvre embrasse l’idée que « finalement, nous commençons à prendre conscience que nous faisons partie de quelque chose de beaucoup plus grand que nous-mêmes », M. Adams signale que le titre provient d’une source plus personnelle :

À la fin des années 1970, John Cage a écrit un mésostiche intitulé « Many Happy Returns » (« Tous mes vœux ») en l’honneur de son cher ami – également mon mentor et ami – Lou Harrison. Il compare la musique de Lou à un fleuve dans un delta, avec toutes ces influences et ces courants variés qui se rejoignent dans un beau et grand flot musical. Et dans la conclusion du poème, Cage écrit

Quand nouS l’écoutons
nous devenOns
océaN.

J’ai toujours été frappé par la beauté de cette image.

Become Ocean est une expérience immersive, au cours de laquelle l’orchestre devient un immense corps acoustique. Les sections de l’orchestre – les vents, les cuivres et les cordes – jouent chacune des passages musicaux qui sont répétés en nombre précis. L’oreille perçoit ainsi différents timbres et sonorités qui émergent de la masse océanique et y retournent au fur et à mesure du déroulement de la pièce. Sur une durée de 42 minutes, ces passages semblables à des vagues progressent, d’une part, sous la forme six sections de sept minutes chacune. À un autre niveau, ces sections peuvent être regroupées en trois arcs de quatorze minutes, atteignant des points culminants massifs aux septième, vingt-et-unième et trente-cinquième minutes, lorsque les sommets des cycles des sections instrumentales coïncident. À ces mi-parcours, la musique commence à battre en retraite, pour finalement s’apaiser. Cette construction palindromique façonne également la pièce à son niveau structurel le plus important, lorsque, à partir du milieu, la musique s’inverse, offrant un changement de perspective poignant par rapport à ce qui a précédé.

Notes de programme par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de l’anglais)

L'Orchestre du CNA

Conductor: Alexander Shelley

Premiers violons
Yosuke Kawasaki (violon solo)
Jessica Linnebach (violon solo associée)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistante violon solo)
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Marjolaine Lambert
Manuela Milani
Emily Westell
*Zhengdong Liang
*Erica Miller
*Martine Dubé|
*Heather Schnarr
*Oleg Chelpanov
*John Corban

Seconds violons
Mintje van Lier (solo)
Winston Webber (assistant solo)
Frédéric Moisan
Carissa Klopoushak
Mark Friedman
Karoly Sziladi
Leah Roseman
**Edvard Skerjanc
*Emily Kruspe
*Renée London
*Andréa Armijo Fortin
*Marc Djokic

Altos
Jethro Marks (solo)
David Goldblatt (assistant solo)
David Marks (solo associé)
Paul Casey
David Thies-Thompson
*Kelvin Enns
*Alexander Moroz

Violoncelles
Rachel Mercer (solo)
Julia MacLaine (assistante solo)
Marc-André Riberdy
Timothy McCoy
Leah Wyber
*Desiree Abbey
*Karen Kang

Contrebasses
*Joel Quarrington (solo invité)
**Hilda Cowie
Max Cardilli
Vincent Gendron
Marjolaine Fournier
*Travis Harrison

Flûtes
Joanna G'froerer (principal / solo)
Stephanie Morin
*Kaili Maimets

Hautbois
Charles Hamann (principal / solo)
Anna Petersen
*Melissa Scott

Cor Anglais
Anna Petersen

Clarinettes
Kimball Sykes (principal / solo)
Sean Rice
*Juan Olivares

Bassons
Darren Hicks (principal / solo)
Vincent Parizeau
*Ben Glossop

Cors
Lawrence Vine (principal / solo)
Julie Fauteux (associate principal / solo associée)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron

Trompettes
Karen Donnelly (principal / solo)
Steven van Gulik
*Paul Jeffrey

Trombones
**Donald Renshaw (principal / solo)
*Steve Dyer (guest principal / solo invité)
Colin Traquair

Bass Trombone
*Zachary Bond

Tubas
Chris Lee (principal / solo)

Timbales
*Jonathan Rance

Percussion
Jonathan Wade
*Louis Pino
*Tim Francom

Harpe

*Angela Schwarzkopf
*Alanna Ellison

Piano
*Olga Gross

Celeste
*Patrick Cashin


Musicothécaire principale
Nancy Elbeck

Musicothécaire adjoint
Corey Rempel

Chef du personnel
Meiko Lydall

Chef adjointe du personnel
Laurie Shannon

*Musiciens surnuméraires
**On Leave/En congé

Menu