October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Ballet BC

GARDEN • The Statement • Bedroom Folk

I am delighted to welcome back Ballet BC to our dance season and to introduce you to its new Artistic Director, Medhi Walerski, who took the reins in July 2020. Medhi is an artist whose work I have admired for many years, both through his long association with Nederlands Dans Theater and his previous commissions with Ballet BC. A former dancer with Paris Opera Ballet and Ballet du Rhin, Medhi’s keen understanding of the artistic process from the inside out is impressive and inspiring. He has curated a sensational evening for this program, featuring the choreographic brilliance of Sharon Eyal and Gai Behar, Crystal Pite and Medhi himself. Ballet BC is one of Canada’s finest contemporary companies and we are proud to continue our long association with it through these performances.

Enjoy! 


We would like to recognize the Algonquin Nation, on whose traditional unceded territory the National Arts Centre is located. We gratefully acknowledge them as the past, present and future stewards of this land.

Program

Duration: Approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes
 

GARDEN

18 minutes

Previously nominated by Dance Europe for Best Production, Medhi Walerski’s GARDEN is an elegant and sophisticated work inspired by Camille Saint-Saëns’ Piano Quintet in A minor, Op. 14. While reflecting the refined dialogue between strings and piano, the dancers move fluidly through a series of duets, unison, and counterpoint, embodying the notes in a pure and organic way.

World premiere: September 2016, Nederlands Dans Theater I
Company premiere: November 2021, Ballet BC

-- Intermission: 20 minutes​ --

The Statement

20 minutes

This dance/theatre hybrid by the world-renowned Crystal Pite explores conflict of power through her distinctive and wildly inventive choreographic style. Originally created for Nederlands Dans Theater in 2016, four dancers move to a recorded script by Canadian playwright and close collaborator Jonathon Young. Locked in a battle for control, the characters have been tasked with fuelling a conflict in a distant country. Tensions rise when they are asked to take responsibility for their actions.

World premiere: February 2016, Zuiderstrandtheater, The Hague
Company premiere: November 2021, National Arts Centre

-- Pause​ --

Bedroom Folk

23 minutes

Choreographed by esteemed collaborative duo Sharon Eyal and Gai Behar and set to a hypnotic house beat, Bedroom Folk combines music, movement and light to act as equal protagonists in this visually mesmerizing piece. Originally introduced to North American audiences in 2019, Bedroom Folk has become a highlight in Ballet BC’s global touring repertoire.

World premiere: April 2015, Nederlands Dans Theatre I
North American premiere: May 2019, Ballet BC

About Ballet BC

Founded in 1986 by David Y. H. Lui, Jean Orr and Sheila Begg, with Annette av Paul as first Artistic Director, the company has been under the artistic direction of Reid Anderson, Patricia Neary and Barry Ingham, followed by John Alleyne for 17 years and Emily Molnar for 11. As of July 2020, the company is proudly under the directorship of Medhi Walerski.

Ballet BC is an internationally acclaimed collaborative and creation-based contemporary ballet company that is a leader and resource in the creation, production and education of contemporary dance in Canada. Bold and innovative, the Company’s distinctive style and approach has made a unique and valuable national contribution to the development of dance. In 2019, the Company was nominated for an Olivier Award for Best New Dance Production for their tour to Sadler’s Wells in London.

Ballet BC’s dancers are a group of open-minded and curious artists, each unique for their dynamic movement while sharing an intuitive passion for dance. Ballet BC is committed to its role as a leader in the community through dancer training opportunities, community and audience outreach, and professional development activities.

The Company presents a diverse repertoire of Canadian and international work from the late 20th and early 21st centuries, and is a hotbed for the creation and performance of new works. Since 2009, the Company has developed a repertoire of more than 45 new works by acclaimed Canadian and international choreographers including William Forsythe, Cayetano Soto, Sharon Eyal and Gai Behar, Medhi Walerski, Ohad Naharin, Crystal Pite, Johan Inger, Adi Salant, Emanuel Gat, Gustavo Ramirez Sansano, Jacopo Godani, Company 605, Jorma Elo, Wen Wei Wang, Itzik Galili, Serge Bennathan, Walter Matteini, José Navas, Emily Molnar, Lesley Telford, Nicolo Fonte, Fernando Hernando Magadan, Kevin O’Day, Shawn Hounsell, Gioconda Barbuto, Simone Orlando, Robert Glumbek and Aszure Barton among others.

Ballet BC actively fosters collaborations that support artists, choreographers and audiences alike, furthering the boundaries of contemporary dance. The company embraces excellence in the practice of contemporary ballet, with its wide diversity of technique and style, honouring its roots and components.

Credits

GARDEN

Choreography: Medhi Walerski
Staging: Rupert Tookey

Music : Piano Quintet in A Minor, Op. 14: Allegro moderato e maestoso & Andante sostenuto
By Camille Saint-Saëns
Performed  by Cristina Ortiz, piano; Fine Arts Quartet
Courtesy of Naxos of America, Inc.

Sound Design: Pierre Pontvianne
Lighting & Stage Design: Theun Mosk
Ballet BC Associate Lighting Designer: James Proudfoot
Costume Design: Medhi Walerski, Joke Visser

Performers: Anna Bekirova, Livona Ellis, Miriam Gittens, Kiana Jung, Sarah Pippin, Justin Rapaport, Rae Srivastava, Dex van ter Meij, Jacob Williams, Zenon Zubyk

The Statement

Choreography: Crystal Pite
Music: Owen Belton
Text: Jonathon Young
Vocal Performance: Meg Roe, Colleen Wheeler, Andrew Wheeler, Jonathon Young
Lighting Design: Tom Visser
Set Design: Jay Gower Taylor
Costume Design: Crystal Pite and Joke Visser
Staging: Roger Van der Poel and Rena Narumi

Performers: Anna Bekirova, Livona Ellis, Justin Rapaport, Rae Srivastava

Bedroom Folk

Choreography: Sharon Eyal
Co-Creator: Gai Behar
Assistant to the Choreographer: Tom Weinberger
Ballet BC Rehearsal Assistants: Justin Rapaport, Lara Barclay
Music: Ori Lichtik
Lighting Designer: Thierry Dreyfus
Lighting Director: Alon Cohen
Costume Design: Rebecca Hytting
 
Performers: Anna Bekirova, Emily Chessa, Livona Ellis, Miriam Gittens, Kiana Jung, Sarah Pippin, Evan Rapaport, Justin Rapaport, Rae Srivastava, Dex van ter Meij, Jacob Williams, Zenon Zubyk


NAC Dance team

Cathy Levy, Executive Producer  
Tina Legari, Associate Producer  
Mireille Nicholas, Special Projects Coordinator and Assistant to the Executive Producer 
Sophie Anka, Company Manager 
Siôned Watkins, Education Associate and Teaching Artist 
Brian Britton, Technical Director 
Livia Belcea, Communications Strategist  
Chatelaine Rindorindo, Marketing Strategist

Menu

Ballet BC

GARDEN • The Statement • Bedroom Folk

Je suis ravie d’accueillir une fois de plus le Ballet BC à Danse CNA, et de vous présenter son nouveau directeur artistique, Medhi Walerski, entré en poste en juillet 2020. C’est un artiste que j’admire depuis de nombreuses années, notamment en raison de son association de longue date avec le Nederlands Dans Theater et de ses commandes précédentes du Ballet BC. Ancien interprète au Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris et au Ballet du Rhin, Medhi a une connaissance approfondie du processus artistique, qui est inspirante et impressionnante. Il a conçu un programme sensationnel mettant en lumière son brio chorégraphique, tout comme celui de Sharon Eyal et Gai Behar ainsi que de Crystal Pite. Le Ballet BC est l’une des compagnies de danse contemporaine les plus en vue au Canada, et nous nous réjouissons de continuer à collaborer avec lui dans le cadre de ce programme.

Bon spectacle!


Nous reconnaissons que le Centre national des Arts est situé sur un territoire traditionnel algonquin non cédé. Nous rendons hommage à la nation algonquine, en qui nous voyons la gardienne du passé, du présent et de l'avenir de ce territoire.

Programme

Durée : environ 1 heure et 30 minutes
 

GARDEN

18 minutes

Précédemment finaliste au prix de la meilleure production décerné par Dance Europe, GARDEN de Medhi Walerski est une œuvre élégante et complexe inspirée du Quintette avec piano en la mineur, opus 14 de Camille Saint-Saëns. Faisant écho au dialogue raffiné entre les cordes et le piano, les interprètes évoluent avec fluidité dans une série de duos, d’unissons et de contrepoints, incarnant les notes d’une manière pure et organique.

Création mondiale : septembre 2016, Nederlands Dans Theater I
Première de la compagnie : novembre 2021, Ballet BC

-- Entracte: 20 minutes --

The Statement

20 minutes

Cette fusion de danse/théâtre de Crystal Pite, chorégraphe de renommée mondiale, se penche sur les luttes de pouvoir à travers son style chorégraphique distinctif à l’imagination débridée. Dans cette pièce initialement créée pour le Nederlands Dans Theater en 2016, quatre interprètes évoluent sur une narration enregistrée du dramaturge canadien Jonathon Young, proche collaborateur de Crystal Pite. Pris dans une bataille dont l’enjeu est une prise de contrôle, les personnages sont chargés d'alimenter un conflit dans un pays lointain. La tension monte lorsqu’on leur demande d’assumer la responsabilité de leurs actes.

Création mondiale : février 2016, Zuiderstrandtheater, La Haye
Première de la compagnie : novembre 2021, Centre national des Arts

-- Pause​ --

Bedroom Folk

23 minutes 

Chorégraphiée par le prestigieux duo créatif formé de Sharon Eyal et Gai Behar, et réglée sur des rythmes house hypnotiques, Bedroom Folk combine la musique, le mouvement et la lumière comme des protagonistes égaux dans cette œuvre envoûtante. Présentée au public nord-américain pour la première fois en 2019, Bedroom Folk est devenue une pièce phare du répertoire de tournée mondial du Ballet BC.

Création mondiale : avril 2015, Nederlands Dans Theatre I
Première nord-américaine : mai 2019, Ballet BC

À propos de Ballet BC

Fondé en 1986 par David Y. H. Lui, Jean Orr et Sheila Begg, avec Annette av Paul comme directrice artistique inaugurale, le Ballet BC a subséquemment été placé sous les directions artistiques de Reid Anderson, Patricia Neary et Barry Ingham, suivies de celle de John Alleyne pendant dix-sept ans et d’Emily Molnar pendant onze ans. Depuis juillet 2020, la compagnie est dirigée par Medhi Walerski.

Le Ballet BC est une compagnie de ballet contemporain de renommée mondiale, fondée sur la collaboration et la création, qui est un chef de file et une référence en matière de création, de production et d’enseignement de la danse contemporaine au Canada. Le style audacieux et novateur et l’approche distinctive de la compagnie ont apporté une contribution unique et précieuse à l’essor de la danse au pays. En 2019, la compagnie a été mise en nomination pour le prix Olivier de la meilleure création en danse pour sa tournée au Sadler’s Wells de Londres.

Les interprètes du Ballet BC forment un groupe d'artistes à l’esprit ouvert et curieux, se distinguant par un style de mouvement dynamique éminemment personnel, que réunit une passion intuitive commune pour la danse. Le Ballet BC assume son rôle de chef de file au sein de la collectivité en offrant des possibilités de formation en danse, des activités de sensibilisation auprès de la collectivité et du public, et des programmes de perfectionnement professionnel.

En plus de présenter un répertoire varié de chorégraphies canadiennes et internationales de la fin du XXe siècle et du début du XXIe siècle, la compagnie est un foyer de création et d’interprétation de nouvelles œuvres. Depuis 2009, la compagnie a enrichi son répertoire de plus de 45 nouvelles pièces de chorégraphes de renom sur la scène canadienne et internationale, dont William Forsythe, Cayetano Soto, Sharon Eyal et Gai Behar, Medhi Walerski, Ohad Naharin, Crystal Pite, Johan Inger, Adi Salant, Emanuel Gat, Gustavo Ramirez Sansano, Jacopo Godani, Company 605, Jorma Elo, Wen Wei Wang, Itzik Galili, Serge Bennathan, Walter Matteini, José Navas, Emily Molnar, Lesley Telford, Nicolo Fonte, Fernando Hernando Magadan, Kevin O’Day, Shawn Hounsell, Gioconda Barbuto, Simone Orlando, Robert Glumbek, Aszure Barton et plusieurs autres.

Le Ballet BC encourage activement les collaborations qui soutiennent les artistes, les chorégraphes et le public, en faisant reculer les frontières de la danse contemporaine. La compagnie vise l’excellence dans la pratique du ballet contemporain, avec sa grande diversité de techniques et de styles, tout en honorant les racines et les éléments constitutifs de la discipline.

Crédits

GARDEN

Chorégraphie : Medhi Walerski
Mise en scène : Rupert Tookey

MusiqueQuintette avec piano en la mineur, opus 14 : Allegro moderato e maestoso et Andante sostenuto
Compositeur : Camille Saint-Saëns
Interprètes : Cristina Ortiz, piano; Fine Arts Quartet
Avec l’aimable autorisation de Naxos of America, Inc.

Conception sonore : Pierre Pontvianne
Éclairages et scénographie : Theun Mosk
Concepteur d'éclairage associé du Ballet BC : James Proudfoot
Costumes : Medhi Walerski, Joke Visser

Interprètes : Anna Bekirova, Livona Ellis, Miriam Gittens, Kiana Jung, Sarah Pippin, Justin Rapaport, Rae Srivastava, Dex van ter Meij, Jacob Williams, Zenon Zubyk

The Statement

Chorégraphie : Crystal Pite
Musique : Owen Belton
Texte : Jonathon Young
Prestation vocale : Meg Roe, Colleen Wheeler, Andrew Wheeler, Jonathon Young
Éclairages : Tom Visser
Décor : Jay Gower Taylor
Costumes : Crystal Pite et Joke Visser
Mise en scène : Roger Van der Poel et Rena Narumi
Interprètes : Anna Bekirova, Livona Ellis, Justin Rapaport, Rae Srivastava

Bedroom Folk

Chorégraphie : Sharon Eyal
Cocréateur : Gai Behar
Assistant à la chorégraphie : Tom Weinberger
Assistant·e·s aux répétitions pour le Ballet BC : Justin Rapaport, Lara Barclay
Musique : Ori Lichtik
Éclairages : Thierry Dreyfus
Directeur d’éclairages : Alon Cohen
Costumes : Rebecca Hytting
 
Interprètes : Anna Bekirova, Emily Chessa, Livona Ellis, Miriam Gittens, Kiana Jung, Sarah Pippin, Evan Rapaport, Justin Rapaport, Rae Srivastava, Dex van ter Meij, Jacob Williams, Zenon Zubyk


Équipe de Danse CNA

Cathy Levy, Productrice générale  
Tina Legari, Productrice associée  
Mireille Nicholas, Coordonnatrice des projets spéciaux et adjointe de la productrice générale 
Sophie Anka, Chargée de compagnies 
Siôned Watkins, Associée en éducation et artiste-enseignante 
Brian Britton, Directeur technique 
Livia Belcea, Stratège communication 
Chatelaine Rindorindo, Stratège marketing

Menu