Anne Plamondon Productions

Counter Cantor & Only You

2022-04-21 20:00 2022-04-23 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Anne Plamondon Productions

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/25493

In-person event

Known for her versatility, supple elegance, and exquisite form as a dancer with some of the world’s greatest choreographers, Anne Plamondon is equally impressive as a creator of intelligent, fluid and deeply moving works. As star performer with Kidd Pivot and with RUBBERBANDance Group— of which she was also artistic co-director with Victor Quijada—she honed her choreographic voice while contributing to a remarkable series of artistic projects. Anne’s work is personal...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
April 21 - 23, 2022

≈ 1 hour 38 minutes · With intermission

Hailed as one of Canada’s most stunning performers, Anne Plamondon has channeled her sensitivity and grace into her choreographic compositions. First presented by NAC Dance in 2014 and having performed on our stages over many years with Kidd Pivot/Crystal Pite, Anne returns tonight with two original duets that are bursting with creativity. In Only You, performed with James Gregg¸ Anne delves into the fragility of human relationships; in Counter Cantor, conceived with the inimitable Emma Portner, performers Amara Barner and Belinda McGuire deliver a raw physicality that is both poignant and direct. Alongside these intimate duets, Anne’s artistic trajectory includes larger ensemble works for her dancers and other companies. Hers is a voice we’ll hear often over the next years. 

Enjoy!


We would like to recognize the Algonquin Nation, on whose traditional unceded territory the National Arts Centre is located. We gratefully acknowledge them as the past, present and future stewards of this land.

Program

Last updated: April 22, 2022

Counter Cantor (20 minutes)
- - - Intermission - - -
Only You (60 minutes)

Counter Cantor

Angles and sinew. Impact and grace. Fierce individuality and delicate symbiosis. A Fall for Dance North commission, this collaboration between Anne Plamondon and Emma Portner transcends the frame of a duet – and the artists’ difference in age. “Our goal is to collaborate in the most open-minded and in-forceful way, giving space to a new way of creating as solo artists,” they write. Artists, women, human beings. No rules, no preconceptions. When they dance, there is nothing else.

A Fall for Dance North Festival commission, Counter Cantor was offered creative residencies by Danse à la carte & L.A. Dance Project.

Credits

Choreography: Anne Plamondon, Emma Portner
Performers: Amara Barner, Belinda McGuire
Music: Olivier Fairfield, Dustin O’Hallora, Travis Lake
Lighting Design: Simon Rossiter, Nicolas Descôteaux
Videography: Robin Pineda Gould
Assistants to the choreographer: Paco Ziel, Alisia Pobega

Only You

Only You probes the relationship of two beings engaged in a passionate struggle: craving comfort and redemption, they engage in a touching, frantic quest for an impossible dialogue. Our incapacity to truly and deeply understand each other despite our individual needs and desires becomes the leitmotiv that guides the whole piece, making (in)communication its actual subject. The inevitable vicious circles of human misunderstandings provide Anne with a rich, universal choreographic material.

Credits

Choreography: Anne Plamondon
Performers: Anne Plamondon, James Gregg
Sound design: Olivier Fairfield, with additional music by Ezio Bosso, Ben Frost & Daniel Bjarnason, Nina Simone, Dimitri Tiomkin & Ned Washington
Lighting Design: Nicolas Descôteaux
Costume design: Marilène Bastien
Set design: Marilène Bastien & Anne Plamondon, and the work of visual artist Hua Jin
Dramaturgy: Mathieu Leroux & Anne Plamondon
Assistants to the choreographer: Paco Ziel, Alisia Pobega
Technical direction: Pierre Lavoie
Production direction: Rachel Locas

Co-productions: CanDance Creation Fund, Danse Danse, La Rotonde, National Arts Centre, Harbourfront Centre, Jacob’s Pillow, Centre Chorégraphique National de Nantes

Support: Canada Council for the Arts, Conseil des arts de Montréal, USC Glorya Kaufman School of Dance, Centre de Création O Vertigo, Maison de la Culture Notre-Dame-de-Grâce, Maison pour la danse de Québec

NAC Dance team

Cathy Levy, Executive Producer  
Tina Legari, Associate Producer  
Mireille Nicholas, Special Projects Coordinator and Assistant to the Executive Producer 
Sophie Anka, Company Manager 

Siôned Watkins, Education Associate and Teaching Artist 
Brian Britton, Technical Director 
Julie Gunville, Communications Strategist  
Chatelaine Rindorindo, Marketing Strategist

Menu

Anne Plamondon Productions

Counter Cantor et Seulement toi

2022-04-21 20:00 2022-04-23 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Anne Plamondon Productions

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/25493

Événement en personne

Reconnue pour sa polyvalence, son élégante souplesse et ses superbes mouvements comme interprète de quelques-uns des plus grands chorégraphes du monde, Anne Plamondon impressionne tout autant comme conceptrice d’œuvres réfléchies, fluides et émouvantes. Danseuse étoile avec Kidd Pivot et le Groupe RUBBERBANDance – dont elle a aussi été la codirectrice artistique avec Victor Quijada –, elle a...

Read more

Studio Azrieli ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
21 - 23 avril 2022

≈ 1 heure 38 minutes · Avec entracte

Saluée comme l’une des plus grandes interprètes du Canada, Anne Plamondon met toute sa sensibilité et sa grâce au profit de ses compositions chorégraphiques. Depuis sa première collaboration avec Danse CNA en 2014, elle s’est produite à de nombreuses reprises sur nos planches avec la compagnie Kidd Pivot de Crystal Pite. Elle signe ce soir son retour avec un programme double foisonnant de créativité. Dans Seulement toi, qu’elle interprète avec James Gregg¸ Anne Plamondon explore la fragilité des relations humaines. Avec Counter Cantor, fruit de sa collaboration avec l’inimitable Emma Portner, elle mise sur la présence physique brute d’Amara Barner et Belinda McGuire pour nous offrir une prestation à la fois bouleversante et percutante. En plus de ces duos intimes, elle s’est aventurée dans la création de spectacles de plus grande envergure pour ses interprètes et d’autres compagnies. Une chose est sûre, Anne Plamondon a tout pour devenir l’une des figures emblématiques de la danse ces prochaines années. 

Bon spectacle!


Nous reconnaissons que le Centre national des Arts est situé sur un territoire traditionnel algonquin non cédé. Nous rendons hommage à la nation algonquine, en qui nous voyons la gardienne du passé, du présent et de l'avenir de ce territoire.

Programme

Dernière mise à jour: 22 avril 2022

Counter Cantor (20 minutes)
- - - Entracte - - -
Seulement toi (60 minutes)

Counter Cantor

À l’invitation de Ilter Ibrahimof de Fall for Dance North, ces deux artistes canadiennes aux parcours d’exception se rassemblent le temps d’un duo d’une riche complexité.

Mêlant puissance, maîtrise technique et sensibilité, elles explorent leurs différences et leur complicité dans un rapport dépourvu de règles, d’attentes ou de rôles préconçus. Interprètes charismatiques, bourreaux de travail, créatrices prolifiques : au-delà de la différence de générations, beaucoup de choses rassemblent Anne Plamondon et Emma Portner, à commencer par leur passion du mouvement.

Une commande du Fall for Dance North Festival, Counter Cantor s’est vu offrir des résidences de création par Danse à la carte et L.A. Dance Project.

Crédits

Chorégraphie : Anne Plamondon, Emma Portner
Interprètes : Amara Barner, Belinda McGuire
Musique : Olivier Fairfield, Dustin O’Hallora, Travis Lake
Lumières : Simon Rossiter, Nicolas Descôteaux
Vidéographie : Robin Pineda Gould
Assistants à la chorégraphe : Paco Ziel, Alisia Pobega

Seulement toi

Seulement toi, ce sont deux êtres en bataille, à la recherche d'allégement et de rédemption, qui s’acharnent malgré l’épuisement à poursuivre un dialogue sans issue. Cette impossibilité inéluctable de réellement comprendre, et d’être entièrement compris de l’autre, est le leitmotiv qui rythme la pièce et guide son développement, faisant de l’(in)communication son véritable thème et offrant à Anne une riche matière chorégraphique. À bout de force seulement, les protagonistes se découvriront un besoin commun, universel : celui d’aimer et d’être aimé.

Crédits

Chorégraphie : Anne Plamondon
Interprètes : Anne Plamondon, James Gregg
Conception sonore : Olivier Fairfield, avec de la musique supplémentaire par Ezio Bosso, Ben Frost et Daniel Bjarnason, Nina Simone, Dimitri Tiomkin et Ned Washington
Lumières : Nicolas Descôteaux
Costumes : Marilène Bastien
Scénographie : Anne Plamondon et Marilène Bastien, avec le travail de l'artiste visuelle Hua Jin
Dramaturgie : Mathieu Leroux et Anne Plamondon
Assistants à la chorégraphe : Paco Ziel, Alisia Pobega
Direction technique : Pierre Lavoie
Direction de production : Rachel Locas

Coproductions : Fonds de création CanDanse, Danse Danse, La Rotonde, National Arts Centre, Harbourfront Centre, Jacob’s Pillow, Centre Chorégraphique National de Nantes

Support : Canada Council for the Arts, Conseil des arts de Montréal, USC Glorya Kaufman School of Dance, Centre de Création O Vertigo, Maison de la Culture Notre-Dame-de-Grâce, Maison pour la danse de Québec

Équipe de Danse CNA

Cathy Levy, Productrice générale  
Tina Legari, Productrice associée  
Mireille Nicholas, Coordonnatrice des projets spéciaux et adjointe de la productrice générale 
Sophie Anka, Chargée de compagnies 

Siôned Watkins, Associée en éducation et artiste-enseignante 
Brian Britton, Directeur technique 
Julie Gunville, Stratège communication 
Chatelaine Rindorindo, Stratège marketing

Menu