Calpurnia

2022-04-27 19:30 2022-05-07 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Calpurnia

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/25457

In-person event

An NAC English Theatre/Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre (Winnipeg)/Black Theatre Workshop (Montreal) Co-production An explosive new comedy, confronting the classic To Kill a Mockingbird. Up-and-coming screenwriter Julie sees herself as a tireless warrior for the marginalized. From the safe confines of her wealthy father’s Forest Hill home, she undertakes to rewrite one of the most beloved novels of all time, To Kill a Mockingbird, from the perspective of the Finch family’s Black maid,...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
April 27 - May 7, 2022

≈ 2 hours 10 minutes · With intermission

Playwright’s Notes: Audrey Dwyer

Welcome to Calpurnia.

In 2011, back when I was an actor, I embodied a maid who was silent during a long and extreme verbal attack. When I spoke about her silence, a co-actor expressed that her silence displayed strength. Calpurnia came to be when I took stock of the maids I portrayed throughout my 15-year acting career. 

If you attended school in Canada, you most likely read Harper Lee’s classic American novel To Kill a Mockingbird.

My piece isn’t aimed as a critique of Ms. Lee’s text. She wrote a novel that is honest. Her iconic characters inspired me. The character of Calpurnia, the southern maid, is ubiquitous in that era. My play explores the mammy stereotype, American history and the Canadian experience.

As I distilled my ideas, I knew that I wanted to go directly into the home of a loving and wealthy Jamaican-Canadian family. The Gordons benefit from high levels of education and social standing and are still judged by a relentless respectability politic and racism.

Calpurnia was originally produced in Toronto in 2018. It was met with anticipation and excitement. Shows were sold out and audiences lined up around the block to attend. Audiences delighted in the power dynamics that made them uncomfortable. They raved about the complicated layers of racial awareness and social location at play. They laughed, they covered their eyes, their jaws dropped. Some returned to watch Calpurnia two or three times.

We’re all aware of how much the world has transformed since 2018. Privilege, allyship and intersectionality are terms heard in our homes, workplaces and in the news. Over the past few years, I’ve made some changes to the script that reflect how much we’ve learned. 

Even if you haven’t read Lee’s novel, you’re in for a treat. The theatre is a fun and fabulous place to laugh, examine ideas and witness dramatic action as it plays out in real time. In these seats, we’re able to ponder deep-rooted issues that are brewing in communities both here and abroad. Here, we create memories together.

Julie Gordon and Lee’s protagonist Scout Finch are similar. Both burst with vigor. Both are innocent, plucky and want things their own way. Like us, they have plenty to learn. In fact, all the characters do. I invite you to see if you recognize anyone through each character’s behaviors and values. There may be someone you recognize on this stage and they might be closer to you than you think.

Thank you for joining us! 

About the Novel To Kill a Mockingbird

Last updated: April 26, 2022

Harper Lee’s novel To Kill a Mockingbird is set in Alabama during the Great Depression, and is both a coming-of-age story, and a more complex narrative about the roots and consequences of racism and prejudice.

The novel was loosely based on an event that occurred when Lee was 10 years old, when a white woman accused Walter Lett, a Black man, of rape. Lee’s father was an editor, and his newspaper covered the trial and Lett’s eventual conviction. Lett’s death sentence was commuted to life in prison when a series of letters appeared claiming that he had been falsely accused.

The novel was published in 1960 and was a literary and commercial success. It won the Pulitzer Prize, was translated into 40 languages, and has never been out of print. Lee’s novel is cited as a factor in the success of the civil rights movements of the 1960s, but she had no direct involvement in them.

To Kill a Mockingbird has long been a widely read novel in Canadian and American schools. The novel was a source of controversy as a subject of classroom study as early as 1963, due to the racial slurs, profanity and frank discussion of rape. A shift in attitudes on race led to criticism that the overt racism in Maycomb was not condemned harshly enough. Further, that the Black characters were stereotypes, underwritten and marginalized in favour of a narrative that focuses on the white characters’ experience. 

Who is Calpurnia?

Calpurnia Aesera Coleman is the Finch family’s long-standing Black housekeeper, a mother figure to Scout and Jem. Scout describes: “Our battles were epic and one-sided. Calpurnia always won, mainly because Atticus always took her side.”

Calpurnia is identified in the novel as one of the few Black people in town who is literate, and has taught her own children, and Jem and Scout to read and write. When Scout and Jem attend the local Black church with Calpurnia and hear her speaking differently in her community, they realize that Calpurnia carefully balances a double life. While Calpurnia’s positive influence is significant, she is an overly simplified character, and largely silent on issues of race.

The Mammy in Popular Culture

The mammy figure, according to psychologist Chanequal Walker-Barnes, “was a largely mythical figure with little basis in the lived experiences of Black women.” It is a racial caricature, constructed during slavery, popularized through minstrel shows, and reinforced through novels, films and plays. The stereotype is of a “large, independent woman with pitch-black skin and shining white teeth.” She does domestic work and cares for the children of a white family; she is extremely devoted to them and “lived to serve her master and mistress.” The notion or trope of the “happy slave” is at the core of the mammy caricature and stereotype.

source: from mammy to miss america and beyond: cultural images and the shaping of us social policy by k. sue jewell (1992).

Calpurnia is produced by permission of the Playwright and Marquis Literary (Colin Rivers).

The world premiere of Calpurnia was co-produced by Nightwood Theatre and Sulong Theatre at Buddies in Bad Times Theatre (Toronto, ON) in January 2018.

Audrey Dwyer (the Playwright) is a member of the Playwrights Guild of Canada.

Calpurnia was developed in Obsidian Theatre’s Playwriting Unit.

The National Arts Centre, Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre and Black Theatre Workshop are members of the Professional Association of Canadian Theatres and engages, under the terms of the Canadian Theatre Agreement, professional artists who are members of Canadian Actors’ Equity Association.

Black Theatre Workshop

Entering its 51st season, Black Theatre Workshop (BTW) is Canada’s longest running theatre company dedicated to the works of Black and diasporic communities. BTW’s mission is to promote and produce outstanding theatre that educates, entertains and inspires. The company strives to create greater cross-cultural understanding by challenging its audience and the status quo. Expanding the representation of Black Canadian artists, BTW bridges cultural divides – uniting hearts, minds and communities.

Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre

The Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre (Royal MTC) is proud to partner with the National Arts Centre and Black Theatre Workshop in presenting Calpurnia

Royal MTC exists to celebrate the widest spectrum of theatre art. Deeply rooted in the province of Manitoba, which gave it life and provides for its growth, Royal MTC aspires to both reflect and inform the community it serves.

Royal MTC was Canada’s first English language regional theatre, created when two Winnipeg theatre companies merged in 1958 under Artistic Director John Hirsch and General Manager Tom Hendry. Their goal was to produce great theatre with mass appeal. Royal MTC became a model for regional theatres throughout North America, and received a royal designation from Queen Elizabeth II in 2010. Over 60 years later, we remain Manitoba’s flagship theatre.

NAC English Theatre

Managing Director: David Abel
Community Outreach Lead: Rose-Ingrid Benjamin
Marketing Strategist: Monica Bradford-Lea
Learning Coordinator: Aimee Bouchard
ASL Interpreter Consultant: Carmelle Cachero
Marketing Strategist: Bar Clement (on leave)
Communications Strategist: Sean Fitzpatrick
Artistic Director: Jillian Keiley
Senior Producer: Alexandra Lunney
Senior Marketing Manager: Bridget Mooney
Associate Producer, Artistic Projects: Judi Pearl
Company Manager: Samira Rose
Administrative Coordinator: Monika Seiler
 

Production
Assistant to the Production Director: Erin Finn
Scheduler: Stéfanie Séguin
Technical Director: Crystal L. Spicer
Technical Director: Kevin Waghorn

Theatre Stage Staff 
Head Flyman: Alex Griffore
Head Carpenter: Charles Martin
Head Sound Engineer: Doug Millar
Assistant Electrician: Martin Racette
Property Master: Michel Sanscartier
Head Electrician: Éric Tessier

Production team: Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre

Artistic Director, Kelly Thornton
Executive Director, Camilla Holland
Associate Artistic Director, Audrey Dwyer
Producer, Isabelle Ly
Company Manager, Leslie Watson
Director of Production, Russell Martin
Technical Director, Chris Coyne
Assistant Technical Director, Jacqueline Robertson
Production Associate, Christine Corthey

Master Carpenter, Brent Letain
Layout Carpenter, Louis Gagné
Scenic Carpenter, Chris Seida
Head Scenic Artist, Carla Schroeder
Assistant Scenic Artist, Melissa Smigelski
Head of Props, Jamie Plummer
Props Builder/Buyer, Zoë Leclerc-Kennedy
Props Builder, Jacko Garcia
Head of Wardrobe, Thora Lamont
Head Buyer & Accessories Coordinator, Jackie Van Winkle
Head Carpenter, Chris Thomson 
Head Electrician, Claude Robert 
Head of Sound, Gary Plouffe
Head of Wardrobe, Joan Lees-Miller

Crew provided by Local IATSE 63

Menu

Calpurnia

2022-04-27 19:30 2022-05-07 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Calpurnia

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/25457

Événement en personne

Calpurnia est présenté en anglais. Une coproduction du Théâtre anglais du CNA, du Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre (Winnipeg) et du Black Theatre Workshop (Montréal) Une nouvelle comédie explosive, qui revisite le classique To Kill a Mockingbird.

Julie, scénariste émergente, se voit défenseure infatigable des marginaux. Bien à l’aise dans la maison de son père fortuné à Forest Hill, elle...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
27 avril - 7 mai 2022

≈ 2 heures et 10 minutes · Avec entracte

Mot de la dramaturge : Audrey Dwyer  

Bienvenue à la pièce Calpurnia.

En 2011, alors que j’étais actrice, j’ai incarné une domestique qui restait muette durant une longue et violente agression verbale. Quand j’ai abordé son silence, un acteur de la troupe m’a répondu que celui-ci était une preuve de force. Calpurnia a vu le jour quand j’ai pris conscience du nombre de domestiques que j’avais interprétées au cours de mes 15 ans de carrière comme actrice. 

Si vous avez fréquenté une école canadienne, vous avez probablement lu le classique de la littérature américaine, To Kill a Mockingbird (NDLR, en traduction française, Ne tirez pas sur l’oiseau moqueur), de Harper Lee. 

Le but de ma pièce n’est pas de faire une critique du texte de Mme Harper. Elle a écrit un roman honnête. Ses personnages emblématiques m’ont inspirée. Le personnage de Calpurnia, la domestique originaire du Sud, est omniprésent à cette époque. Ma pièce de théâtre explore le stéréotype de la nourrice noire (la mammy), l’histoire américaine et l’expérience canadienne. 

Pendant ma réflexion sur la pièce, j’ai compris que je devais situer l’action dans la maison d’une famille jamaïco-canadienne riche et aimante. Les Gordons jouissent d’un niveau d’éducation et d’un statut social élevés, mais subissent toujours une respectabilité politique et un racisme sans merci. 

Calpurnia a été initialement produite à Toronto en 2018, et a été accueillie avec intérêt et enthousiasme. Le spectacle a été présenté à guichet fermé et les gens faisaient la file pour pouvoir y assister. Le public a aimé les rapports de force qui le mettait mal à l’aise, il s’est extasié devant la complexité et la profondeur de la réflexion raciale et de la situation sociale en jeu, il a ri, il s’est caché les yeux, il a été bouche bée. Certaines personnes sont venues voir Calpurnia deux ou trois fois. 

Nous savons à quel point le monde s’est transformé depuis 2018. Les termes « privilège », « alliance inclusive » et « intersectionnalité » se font maintenant entendre dans nos maisons, nos milieux de travail et aux informations. Au cours des cinq dernières années, j’ai modifié le texte de la pièce en y intégrant nos nouvelles prises de conscience.

Même si vous n’avez pas lu le roman de Harper Lee, vous allez vous régaler. Le théâtre est un lieu fabuleux et amusant, où il fait bon rire, réfléchir et suivre une intrigue dramatique en temps réel. Assis dans nos sièges, nous pouvons explorer les problèmes profonds qui touchent les communautés d’ici et d’ailleurs. Au théâtre, nous vivons des moments inoubliables, ensemble.

Julie Gordon et l’héroïne de Harper Lee, Scout Finch, se ressemblent. Elles sont toutes deux pleines de vigueur. Elles sont naïves, courageuses et n’en font qu’à leur tête. Comme nous, elles ont beaucoup à apprendre. En fait, c’est la même chose pour tous les personnages. Je vous invite à vous demander si vous reconnaissez quelqu’un dans les comportements des personnages et les valeurs qu’ils incarnent. La pièce vous fera peut-être penser à une personne que vous connaissez, et cette personne pourrait être plus proche de vous que vous ne l’imaginez.

Merci d’être là!

À propos du livre To Kill a Mockingbird

Dernière mise à jour: 26 avril 2022

À la fois roman initiatique et récit complexe sur les causes et les conséquences du racisme et des préjugés, le roman To Kill a Mockingbird (en français, Ne tirez pas sur l’oiseau moqueur), de Harper Lee, se déroule en Alabama durant la Grande Dépression.

Harper Lee s’est librement inspirée d’un événement qui s’est produit lorsqu’elle avait dix ans : une femme blanche avait alors accusé Walter Lett, un homme noir, de l’avoir violée. À cette époque, le père de Lee travaillait comme rédacteur en chef pour un journal qui avait couvert le procès ainsi que la condamnation de l’accusé. Grâce à la publication d’une série de lettres clamant l’innocence de Walter Lett, sa sentence de mort fut commuée en une réclusion à perpétuité. 

Publié en 1960, le roman a été un réel succès critique et commercial. Il a remporté le prix Pulitzer, a été traduit dans 40 langues et a constamment été réimprimé. Le roman de Harper Lee est invoqué comme un des facteurs de réussite des mouvements des droits civils des années 1960, mais l’autrice n’y a jamais directement participé.

To Kill a Mockingbird a longtemps été étudié dans les écoles canadiennes et américaines. Toutefois, il a suscité la controverse dans une salle de classe, dès 1963,  en raison des insultes racistes, des propos vulgaires et des discussions franches sur le viol qui s’y trouvent. Un changement d’attitude sur le plan racial a aussi donné lieu à des critiques selon lesquelles le racisme manifeste dans la ville fictive de Maycomb n’était pas condamné assez sévèrement, et que les personnages noirs étaient stéréotypés, sous-développés et marginalisés au profit d’un récit centré sur la vie de personnages blancs.

Qui est Calpurnia?

Calpurnia Aesera Coleman est la domestique noire de longue date de la famille Finch, et une figure maternelle pour Scout et Jem. Scout la décrit d’ailleurs ainsi : « Nos algarades épiques s’achevaient toujours de la même manière : elle gagnait, parce qu’Atticus prenait toujours sa défense. » [trad. d’Isabelle Stoïanov, éditions Grasset, 2015] Dans le roman, Calpurnia est décrite comme l’une des rares personnes noires de la ville à savoir lire et écrire; elle a enseigné à ses propres enfants, et à Jem et Scout. Quand ces derniers l’accompagnent à l’église des personnes noires de la ville et l’entendent parler différemment dans sa communauté, ils réalisent qu’elle mène une double vie. Bien que l’influence de Calpurnia soit considérable, le personnage est stéréotypé et reste généralement muet sur les questions raciales.

La nourrice noire dans la culture populaire

Selon la psychologue Chanequal Walker-Barnes, la nourrice noire (la mammy) « est un personnage essentiellement mythique, trouvant peu de fondement dans le vécu des femmes noires » [traduction libre]. Il s’agit d’une caricature raciale, construite à l’époque de l’esclavage, popularisée par les spectacles de minstrels et renforcée au moyen de romans, de films et de pièces de théâtre. Le stéréotype est celui d’une « femme bien en chair et indépendante, à la peau noire et aux dents d’une blancheur éclatante. » Elle s’occupe de l’entretien de la maison et prend soin des enfants d’une famille blanche, à qui elle est extrêmement dévouée. Elle « vit pour servir son maître et sa maîtresse ». L’idée, ou le lieu commun, de « l’esclave heureux » est au cœur du stéréotype et de la caricature de la nourrice noire. 

Source : From Mammy to Miss America and Beyond. Cultural Images and the Shaping of US Social Policy, de K. Sue Jewell, 1992.

Calpurnia est produit avec l’autorisation du dramaturge et de Marquis Literary (Colin Rivers).

La première mondiale de Calpurnia a été coproduite par le Nightwood Theatre et le Sulong Theatre au Buddies in Bad Times Theatre (Toronto, ON) en janvier 2018.

Audrey Dwyer (la dramaturge) est membre de la Playwrights Guild of Canada.

Calpurnia a été développée dans l’unité d’écriture dramatique du Obsidian Theatre.

Le Centre national des Arts, Le Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre et La Black Theatre Workshop sont membres de l’Association professionnelle des théâtres canadiens et engage, en vertu de l’Accord sur le théâtre canadien, des artistes professionnels qui sont membres de la Canadian Actors' Equity Association.

Black Theatre Workshop

Le Black Theatre Workshop (BTW), qui a récemment dévoilé sa 51e saison, est la plus ancienne compagnie de théâtre se consacrant aux œuvres des communautés noires et de la diaspora toujours en activité au Canada. Il a pour mission de promouvoir et de produire un théâtre exceptionnel qui informe, divertit et inspire les auditoires. Il cherche à améliorer la compréhension interculturelle en remettant en question le statu quo et en offrant matière à réflexion. Le BTW accroît la représentation des artistes noirs canadiens et atténue les fractures culturelles – il rassemble cœurs, esprits et communautés.

Le Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre

Le Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre (Royal MTC) est fier de présenter Calpurnia en collaboration avec le Centre national des Arts et le Black Theatre Workshop.

La mission du Royal MTC est de célébrer le théâtre dans toute sa diversité. Profondément enraciné au Manitoba, qui l’a fait naître et lui permet de s’épanouir, le Royal MTC aspire autant à représenter qu’à informer sa communauté.

Le Royal MTC, plus ancien théâtre régional de langue anglaise au Canada, est né de la fusion de deux compagnies théâtrales de Winnipeg en 1958, sous la direction artistique de John Hirsch et la direction générale de Tom Hendry. Ils souhaitaient produire un théâtre de qualité destiné au grand public. Le Royal MTC est devenu un modèle pour les théâtres régionaux de partout en Amérique du Nord et a reçu la désignation royale de la reine Elizabeth II en 2010. Plus de 60 ans plus tard, il est toujours le théâtre phare du Manitoba.

Théâtre anglais du CNA

Directeur administratif * : David Abel
Responsable des relations communautaires : Rose-Ingrid Benjamin
Stratège marketing : Monica Bradford-Lea
Coordonnatrice de l’apprentissage : Aimee Bouchard
Interprète-conseil en ASL : Carmelle Cachero
Stratège marketing : Bar Clement (en congé)
Stratège communication : Sean Fitzpatrick
Directrice artistique : Jillian Keiley
Productrice principale : Alexandra Lunney
Gestionnaire principale de marketing : Bridget Mooney
Productrice associée, Projets artistiques et événements spéciaux : Judi Pearl
Chargée de compagnie : Samira Rose
Coordonnatrice administrative : Monika Seiler

Équite de production CNA
Agente des Services de production : Erin Finn
Responsable du calendrier : Stéfanie Séguin
Directrice technique : Crystal L. Spicer
Directeur technique : Kevin Waghorn

Équipe du Théâtre Babs Asper 
Chef cintrier : Alex Griffore
Chef machiniste : Charles Martin
ngénieur du son : Doug Millar
Électricien adjoint : Martin Racette
Chef accessoiriste : Michel Sanscartier
Chef électricien : Éric Tessier

Équipe de production : Le Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre

Directrice artistique, Kelly Thornton
Directrice générale, Camilla Holland
Directrice artistique associée, Audrey Dwyer
Productrice, Isabelle Ly
Gestionnaire de la compagnie, Leslie Watson

Directeur de la production, Russell Martin
Directeur technique, Chris Coyne
Assistante du directeur technique, Jacqueline Robertson
Assistante de production, Christine Corthey

Maître charpentier, Brent Letain
Charpentier de mise en page, Louis Gagné
Menuisier scénique, Chris Seida
Chef scénographe, Carla Schroeder
Assistante Scénic Artist, Melissa Smigelski
Chef des accessoires, Jamie Plummer
Constructeur/acheteur d'accessoires, Zoë Leclerc-Kennedy
Constructeur d'accessoires, Jacko Garcia
Chef des costumes, Thora Lamont
Acheteur en chef et coordinateur des accessoires, Jackie Van Winkle
Menuisier en chef, Chris Thomson 
Chef électricien, Claude Robert 
Chef du son, Gary Plouffe
Chef des costumes, Joan Lees-Miller

Équipe fournie par la section locale IATSE 63

Menu