January 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Oundjian Conducts Dvořák

NAC Orchestra

Reflection

As a school kid growing up in England, my ears were naturally saturated with British music; Vaughan Williams, Britten and Elgar in particular. The Elgar cello concerto stands in its own particular echelon of musical power. Enhanced by the irresistible performances at that time by Jacqueline du Pré, who grew up just a few blocks from my home in the little town of Purley, the piece represents a pivotal moment in the history of England and English music. Written in the agonizing backdrop of the First World War, it conjures with every note an earnest account of living through such a tragic time and a profound need for spiritual healing. It is Elgar at the height of his powers, and it will always be one of the great musical masterpieces.

After I left England, I got the chance to witness du Pré playing trios on several occasions with a young phenomenon named Pinchas Zukerman. In fact it was the 26-year-old Pinchas who, after giving a master class in Brighton, implored my father to send me to New York to study. He promised my father that he would help nurture me and he has fulfilled that promise a hundred fold. There will never be a way to thank him enough, but at least I can share that story with all of you!

Reflection

As a young child, I vividly remember hearing a recording of the Elgar Cello Concerto played by Jacqueline du Pré that left a bombastic impression on me, just like it did on the rest of the world. Perhaps subconsciously because of the massive shadow that she cast, I didn’t tackle this piece until I turned twenty. Fortunately though, this meant that I took the time to realize that the key to this incredible pillar of the cello repertoire is in treating every note as a totally integral part of the piece’s massive architecture.

When I first performed “the Elgar” (as we cellists call it) in public, I was completely drained – physically, emotionally and spiritually. Only when we as performers give absolutely everything within us to bring the notes to life do we serve the music justice; as my former teacher Yuli Turovsky used to say, “Play every concert as if it’s your last.” Thus I hope that this masterwork’s raw emotion grips you just as profoundly as it first did me.


This is the first time the NAC Orchestra has played Anna Clyne’s Within Her Arms.

Zara Nelsova was soloist for the NAC Orchestra’s first performance of Elgar’s Cello Concerto, presented in 1973 under the direction of Mario Bernardi. The ensemble’s most recent performance of this concerto was given in 2015, with Johannes Moser on the cello and Alexander Shelley on the podium.

In 1980, Mario Bernardi led the NAC Orchestra in their first performance of Dvořák’s Symphony No. 6. In 2016, Nikolaj Znaider was conductor for the Orchestra’s most recent interpretation of this work.


Anna Clyne

Within Her Arms

Born in London, March 9, 1980

London-born Anna Clyne is a GRAMMY-nominated composer of acoustic and electro-acoustic music. Described as a “composer of uncommon gifts and unusual methods” in a New York Times profile and as “dazzlingly inventive” by Time Out New York, Clyne’s work often includes collaborations with cutting-edge choreographers, visual artists, filmmakers and musicians.

Last fall, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and Pekka Kuusisto premiered Clyne’s Sound and Fury in Edinburgh. Recent premieres include her Rumi-inspired cello concerto, DANCE, premiered with Inbal Segev at the 2019 Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music, led by Cristian Măcelaru; and Snake and Ladder, a work for saxophone and electronics premiered by Jess Gillam at the 2019 Cheltenham Music Festival. In July 2019, Clyne wrote and arranged music from Nico’s Marble Index for The Nico Project, a theatrical work presented by the Manchester International Festival.

Anna Clyne served as Composer-in-Residence for the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, L’Orchestre national d’Île-de-France and Berkeley Symphony. She currently serves as The Scottish Chamber Orchestra’s Associate Composer through the 2020–21 season, with a series of works commissioned over three years. Her music is published exclusively by Boosey & Hawkes.

- - -

Within Her Arms

A work for string ensemble, Within Her Arms was premiered by the Los Angeles Philharmonic under the direction of Esa‑Pekka Salonen in 2009.

The composer says:

Within Her Arms is music for my mother, with all my love.

Earth will keep you tight within her arms dear one—

So that tomorrow you will be transformed into flowers—

This flower smiling quietly in this morning field—

This morning you will weep no more dear one—

For we have gone through too deep a night.

This morning, yes, this morning, I kneel down on the green grass—

And I notice your presence.

Flowers, that speak to me in silence.

The message of love and understanding has indeed come.

—Thich Nhat Hanh

Reprinted by kind permission of Boosey & Hawkes.

Elgar

Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85

Born in Broadheath, near Worcester, June 2, 1857
Died in Worcester, February 23, 1934

The Cello Concerto was Elgar’s last important work, completed in the summer of 1919. Elgar was to live for another 15 years, but with the death in 1920 of his wife, who had been such a deep source of both personal and professional aid to the composer, inspiration to create seemed to have left Elgar. Without her he felt dejected, lost, melancholic to an even greater degree than before. Indeed, moods of despair, disillusionment and inferiority had haunted him throughout his life – lack of social status, insecurity about the popularity of his music, and especially the Great War contributed to these moods. Into his Cello Concerto, Elgar poured his most personal utterances and the sense of resignation that affects those in the autumn of their lives. The mournful, poignant tone of the cello seems to emphasize this quality, further heightened by the restraint with which Elgar uses the orchestra in this work.

Though unsuccessful at its premiere, the concerto quickly became a favourite with cellists and audiences alike, and it has remained one of the Elgar’s best-known works. The first performance took place in Queen’s Hall, London, on October 26, 1919 with the composer conducting the London Symphony. Felix Salmond was the soloist. Ten years later, the great English violist, Lionel Tertis (1876–1975), undertook to make a transcription for his instrument (at the time repertoire for solo viola was extremely scant).

The concerto is in four movements, each distinctive, each with its own hallmarks of Elgar’s inimitable style. The first opens with an Adagio, beginning with a sombre but striking passage for the soloist alone and stretching across all four strings of the instrument simultaneously. Violas pick up the theme and weave it into a quietly flowing line. “In its world-weary way,” writes Michael Kennedy, “it is the music of autumn smoke and falling leaves.” Woodwinds initiate the second theme, somewhat brighter in mood.

The second movement follows after the briefest of pauses, and is notable for the alternation of its light, scherzo-like passages of quicksilver writing and deft orchestration with a heavier, jaunty theme. Donald Francis Tovey called the movement “impish.”

The next movement stands in greatest possible contrast. Though only 60 bars in length, this Adagio is one of Elgar’s most sublime pages. To quote Kennedy again, it is “a lament for thoughts that lie too deep for tears, perfectly suited to the cello at its most songfully sustained, and ending with a dominant cadence, as if the tonic key was too positive.”

The Finale is cast in rondo form, with its swaggering, self-assured principal theme alternating with contrasting episodes. In a gesture of nostalgia, Elgar brings back the solo cello’s theme of broken chords that opened the concerto, but a strong, final recurrence of the rondo theme sweeps away the memory of things past with a grand flourish.

– Program note by Robert Markow

DVOŘÁK

Symphony No. 6 in D major, Op. 60

Born in Mühlhausen, Bohemia (today Nelahozeves, Czech Republic), September 8, 1841
Died in Prague, May 1, 1904

Dvořák was by no means the first Czech composer to write symphonies, but he remains the most important. Like Beethoven, Spohr and Schubert before him, he left a canon of nine. Also like Beethoven, his Sixth bears a special affinity with nature, not in a specifically programmatic sense (there are no subtitles), but in spirit and mood. Additionally, many listeners find points of reference with respect to Brahms’s Second Symphony, which Dvořák had heard and immediately loved shortly before beginning work on his Sixth. The D-major tonality, the themes of similar character and profile, the prevailing pastoral feeling, the sheer radiance and joyous enthusiasm that illumine the scores, the dance-like third movements, and the parallel construction of their first movements (same metre, same brief excursion to E minor shortly after the opening) all suggest the influence of the German master who remained a devoted friend of Dvořák’s until after his death in 1897.

The impulse to write this symphony originated in Dvořák’s close friendship with the conductor Hans Richter. After Richter’s great success in conducting the Viennese premiere of Dvořák’s Third Slavonic Rhapsody, the conductor asked Dvořák to write a symphony for him to premiere. Dvořák produced the score in remarkably short order. The sketches required a month and the full score just a month more; by October 1880, the symphony was ready. The first performance did not go to Richter, however. Due to politicking in the orchestral world, Adolf Čech led the premiere in Prague on March 25, 1881. The American premiere followed less than two years later, with Theodore Thomas leading the Philharmonic Society at the Academy of Music in New York. The symphony was published by Simrock (also Brahms’s publisher) as No. 1, and for many years it bore this number until the complete cycle of nine was published and the numbering was reordered.

The Sixth Symphony was written at the height of Dvořák’s “Slavonic” period, which included the first set of Slavonic Dances, the three Rhapsodies, and the Czech Suite. The music draws its inspiration from the Slavonic land and people to which the composer felt so closely attached. No actual folk tunes are quoted, but the rhythms, the spirit, melodic shapes, blend of major and minor tonalities, metrical irregularities, and details of scoring all contribute to a typically Czech sound and atmosphere. The formative influences of the Czech land and people are expressed in Otakar Šourek’s comments on the first two movements:

“The first movement… would seem to open up before us the sunny Czech countryside in which everything is blossoming, singing, fragrant and full of happy, contented fulfillment. The lyric and expressive melodiousness of the themes, the rhythmic vitality, the purity and gaiety of the harmonic colouring, the bustling animation of the imitation and the lively alternations of mood, from the softest whisperings to the most splendid dynamic climaxes, all vibrate in the full daylight of Czech life and feeling.

“The second movement has the quality of a softly yearning nocturne and of an ardently passionate intermezzo. Its mood evokes the poetic magic of a warm summer night and perhaps the dialogue of two simple souls sharing with each other the sweet bliss of mutual passion which fills their hearts with happy ecstasy, while, from a distance, the muted sound of village music falls upon their ears.”

The third movement could almost have been drawn from one of the sets of Slavonic Dances. It is a furiant, a whirling, fiery national dance with a characteristic rhythmic pattern of changing beats (two beats three times, then three beats twice). The Trio section suggests the slower sousedská, another national dance, in which the piccolo is used for the only time in the symphony to gently humorous rustic effect.

The Finale boasts no fewer than four distinct themes, all incorporated into a well-proportioned sonata design of considerable breadth. Unlike many finale movements in 19th-century symphonies, momentum never flags. The music’s high spirits and exuberant rhythmic energy carry the symphony steadily toward a glorious conclusion.

– Program note by Robert Markow


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 12 février 2021.

Oundjian dirige Dvořák

Orchestre du CNA

Réflexion

Ayant grandi en Angleterre, mes oreilles ont naturellement été imprégnées de musique britannique lorsque j’étais écolier : Vaughan Williams, Britten et Elgar en particulier. Le Concerto pour violoncelle d’Elgar se situe dans une classe à part. Magnifiée par les irrésistibles interprétations, à l’époque, de Jacqueline du Pré, qui a grandi à quelques rues de chez moi dans la petite ville de Purley, l’œuvre représente un moment-charnière de l’histoire de l’Angleterre et de la musique anglaise. Écrite dans le contexte dévastateur de la Première Guerre mondiale, elle évoque à chaque note, de façon saisissante, ce qu’était la vie en ces temps tragiques, et un profond besoin de guérison spirituelle. On y entend Elgar au sommet de son art, et l’œuvre restera à jamais l’un des sommets absolus du répertoire musical.

Après avoir quitté l’Angleterre, j’ai eu la chance d’entendre du Pré en trio à plusieurs occasions aux côtés d’un jeune phénomène du nom de Pinchas Zukerman. En fait, c’est lui qui, alors qu’il n’avait que 26 ans, après avoir donné une classe de maître à Brighton, a convaincu mon père de m’envoyer étudier à New York. Il lui a promis de m’aider à m’épanouir et il a tenu sa promesse au centuple. Je ne pourrai jamais assez l’en remercier, mais au moins, je peux partager cette histoire avec vous!

Réflexion

Je garde un souvenir très vif d’un enregistrement du Concerto pour violoncelle d’Elgar joué par Jacqueline du Pré que j’ai entendu tout jeune et qui m’a littéralement subjugué, comme il avait envoûté le monde entier. Peut-être, inconsciemment, à cause de l’ombre gigantesque projetée par mon illustre devancière, je n’ai pas osé m’attaquer à cette œuvre avant l’âge de vingt ans. Fort heureusement, ça m’a donné le temps de comprendre que la clé pour appréhender ce formidable pilier du répertoire pour violoncelle est d’aborder chaque note comme faisant partie intégrante de l’architecture de ce monument musical.

La première fois que j’ai joué « l’Elgar » (ainsi que nous le surnommons entre violoncellistes) en public, j’étais complètement vidé à la fin – physiquement, émotionnellement et spirituellement. La seule façon de rendre pleinement justice à cette musique, comme interprète, est de s’investir corps et âme dans les notes pour leur donner vie; comme le disait mon ancien maître Yuli Turovsky, « jouez chaque concert comme s’il devait être le dernier ». J’espère que vous serez touchés par l’émotion brute de ce chef-d’œuvre aussi profondément que je l’ai été à ma première écoute.


L'Orchestre du CNA interprète la pièce Within Her Arms d’Anna Clyne pour la première fois.

La première prestation du Concerto pour violoncelle d’Elgar livrée par l’Orchestre du CNA, en 1973, a eu lieu sous la baguette de Mario Bernardi avec la soliste Zara Nelsova. Pour la plus récente interprétation du concerto, donnée en 2015, Alexander Shelley dirigeait l’ensemble et Johannes Moser était violoncelle solo.

En 1980, Mario Bernardi a dirigé l’Orchestre du CNA dans sa première prestation de la Symphonie no 6 de Dvořák. En 2016, Nikolaj Znaider était à la tête de l’ensemble pour sa plus récente interprétation de l’œuvre.


Anna Clyne

Within Her Arms

Née à Londres, le 9 mars 1980

Née à Londres, Anna Clyne est une compositrice de musique acoustique et électroacoustique finaliste aux GRAMMY. Dépeinte comme « une compositrice aux talents hors du commun et aux méthodes inusitées » dans un portrait publié par le New York Times, et saluée dans Time Out New York pour son « éblouissante inventivité », elle collabore fréquemment avec des chorégraphes, des artistes visuels, des cinéastes et des musiciens d’avant-garde.

L’automne dernier, l’Orchestre de chambre écossais et Pekka Kuusisto ont créé sa pièce Sound and Fury à Édimbourg. Parmi les plus récentes créations de Clyne, mentionnons aussi son concerto pour violoncelle intitulé DANCE, inspiré des enseignements de Rûmî et créé par Inbal Segev au festival de musique contemporaine Cabrillo 2019 sous la baguette de Cristian Măcelaru; et Snake and Ladder, une œuvre pour saxophone et instruments électroniques créée par Jess Gillam au festival de musique de Cheltenham 2019. En juillet 2019, elle a écrit des morceaux et arrangé la musique de l’album Marble Index de Nico pour The Nico Project, une œuvre théâtrale présentée par le Festival international de Manchester.

Anna Clyne a œuvré comme compositrice en résidence pour les orchestres symphoniques de Chicago, Baltimore et Berkeley, et pour l’Orchestre national d’Île-de-France. Pour toute la saison 2020–2021, elle est compositrice associée auprès de l’Orchestre de chambre écossais, qui lui a commandé une série d’œuvres répartie sur trois ans. Sa musique est publiée en exclusivité par Boosey & Hawkes.

- - -

Within Her Arms

Œuvre pour ensemble de cordes, Within Her Arms a été créée par l’Orchestre philharmonique de Los Angeles sous la direction d’Esa-Pekka Salonen en 2009.

Voici ce qu’en dit la compositrice :

Within Her Arms est une musique dédiée à ma mère, avec tout mon amour.

La terre te tiendra serrée dans ses bras, toi que j’aime—

Pour que demain tu sois changée en fleurs—

Cette fleur qui sourit en silence dans ce pré du matin—

Ce matin tu ne pleureras plus, toi que j’aime—

Car nous avons franchi une nuit trop profonde.

Ce matin, oui, ce matin je m’agenouille dans l’herbe tendre—

Et je remarque ta présence.

Fleurs qui me parlent en silence.

Le message d’amour et de compréhension s’est bel et bien rendu.

—Thich Nhat Hanh
(traduction française : Pascale Cormier)

Reproduit avec l’aimable autorisation de Boosey & Hawkes.

Elgar

Concerto pour violoncelle en mi mineur, op. 85

Broadheath, près de Worcester, 2 juin 1857
Worcester, 23 février 1934

Concerto pour violoncelle en mi mineur, op. 85

Achevé à l’été 1919, le Concerto pour violoncelle d’Elgar est la dernière œuvre majeure du compositeur. Ce dernier vécut encore 15 ans, mais ne sembla plus trouver l’inspiration de créer après le décès, en 1920, de sa femme qui l’avait tant soutenu, autant dans sa vie professionnelle que personnelle. Sans elle, il se sentait découragé, perdu et plus que jamais mélancolique. En effet, toute sa vie durant, Elgar vécut des épisodes de désespoir, de désillusion, affligé qu’il était d’un complexe d’infériorité – le manque de reconnaissance sociale, la crainte de voir sa musique rester dans l’ombre et tout particulièrement la Grande Guerre nourrirent en lui cette morosité. Dans son Concerto pour violoncelle, il affiche son côté le plus personnel et cette résignation que l’on retrouve chez ceux qui parviennent à l’automne de la vie. Le ton mélancolique et poignant du violoncelle paraît amplifier ces inclinations, accentuées par la retenue du compositeur dans l’utilisation de l’orchestre.

Bien que la première de l’œuvre n’ait pas rencontré un grand succès, le concerto est rapidement devenu la coqueluche des violoncellistes et des publics de partout, et demeure l’une des compositions d’Elgar les plus connues. La création eut lieu le 26 octobre 1919 au Queen’s Hall de Londres; Felix Salmond était soliste et Elgar lui-même dirigeait l’Orchestre symphonique de Londres. Le grand altiste anglais Lionel Tertis (1876–1975) fit une transcription du concerto pour son instrument dix ans plus tard (à l’époque, le répertoire pour altiste solo laissait à désirer).

Le concerto possède quatre mouvements très différents, chacun mettant en lumière des éléments du style inimitable d’Elgar. L’adagio s’ouvre sur un sombre et émouvant passage dans lequel le soliste fait simultanément vibrer les quatre cordes de son instrument. Les altos reprennent alors le thème, qu’ils étirent tranquillement. Le musicologue Michael Kennedy écrit à ce propos : « On sent une lassitude dans cette musique rappelant les feux de bois et les feuilles qui tombent à l’automne. » Les vents lancent un deuxième thème plus radieux.

Vient ensuite le deuxième mouvement, après une pause minuscule. On le reconnaît à l’alternance qu’il présente entre des passages légers de type scherzo à l’écriture nerveuse, et un thème enjoué, plus dense, énoncé avec une habile orchestration. Donald Francis Tovey dit d’ailleurs de ce mouvement qu’il est « espiègle ».

Le troisième mouvement, un adagio, offre le plus saisissant contraste avec celui qui précède. D’une longueur de seulement 60 mesures, il compte néanmoins parmi les pages les plus sublimes d’Elgar. Kennedy le décrit ainsi : « Une lamentation trop profonde pour faire monter les larmes aux yeux, idéale pour le ton le plus soutenu du violoncelle et qui prend fin sur une cadence dominante, comme si la tonalité était trop positive. »

Le finale, de forme rondo, fait entendre un thème principal fanfaron et assuré qui alterne avec des épisodes contrastants. Dans un élan de nostalgie, Elgar ramène le thème aux accords brisés exposé au tout début de l’œuvre par le soliste, mais un ultime retour en force du thème du rondo balaie le souvenir du passé à grand renfort de fioritures.

– Traduit d’après Robert Markow

DVOŘÁK

Symphonie no 6 en rénbsp;majeur, op.nbsp;60

Mühlhausen, Bohême (aujourd’hui Nelahozeves, République tchèque), 8 septembre 1841
Prague, 1er mai 1904

Dvořák ne fut assurément pas le premier compositeur tchèque à écrire des symphonies, mais il demeure certainement le plus important. Tout comme Beethoven, Spohr et Schubert avant lui, il en a écrit neuf. Sa Sixième, comme celle de Beethoven, dénote une affinité spéciale avec la nature par son esprit et son atmosphère, plutôt que par programme (il n’y a pas de sous-titres). D’autre part, plus d’un mélomane y trouve des ressemblances avec la Deuxième de Brahms, que Dvořák avait aimée dès qu’il l’avait entendue peu avant de composer sa Sixième. On retrouve en effet l’influence du maître allemand – qui, jusqu’à sa mort en 1897, resta l’ami dévoué de Dvořák – dans la tonalité en  majeur, les thèmes de caractère et de profil similaires, l’atmosphère pastorale dominante, l’éclat et l’enthousiasme joyeux qui illuminent la partition, le troisième mouvement rappelant une danse ainsi que la structure parallèle du premier mouvement des deux symphonies (même métrique, même brève incursion en mi mineur juste après l’ouverture).

C’est dans la grande amitié qui unissait Dvořák et le chef d’orchestre Hans Richter qu’il faut chercher l’impulsion de cette œuvre. Après avoir connu un grand succès en dirigeant la première viennoise de la troisième Rhapsodie slave de Dvořák, le chef d’orchestre demanda au compositeur d’écrire une symphonie qu’il pourrait créer. Dvořák composa la partition avec une célérité remarquable : en un mois, les esquisses étaient terminées et, un mois plus tard, la partition complète était achevée, si bien qu’en octobre 1880, la symphonie était prête. Richter n’en donna toutefois pas la première exécution. Les intrigues du monde de la musique ont voulu que ce soit Adolf Čech qui dirige la création de l’œuvre à Prague, le 25 mars 1881. La première nord-américaine suivit de près, moins de deux ans plus tard; Theodore Thomas était alors à la barre de la Société philharmonique à l’Académie de musique de New York. La symphonie fut publiée par Simrock – qui était aussi l’éditeur de Brahms – sous le numéro d’opus 1, qu’elle conserva pendant de nombreuses années, soit jusqu’à ce que le cycle complet des neuf symphonies soit publié et la numérotation, revue.

Dvořák a écrit la Sixième en plein cœur de sa période « slave », au cours de laquelle il composa la première série des Danses slaves, les trois Rhapsodies et la Suite tchèque. La musique s’inspire de la terre slave et de ses habitants, auxquels le compositeur se sentait très attaché. Dvořák ne cite pas véritablement de mélodies populaires, mais les rythmes, l’esprit, les formes mélodiques, les mélanges de tonalités de majeure et de mineure, les irrégularités métriques et certains détails de la partition contribuent à créer une sonorité et une atmosphère typiquement tchèques. Otakar Šourek rappelle l’influence du peuple tchèque et de son pays sur les deux premiers mouvements de la symphonie :

Le premier mouvement « semble évoquer la campagne tchèque ensoleillée, où tout dans la nature fleurit, chante et répand le doux parfum du bonheur et de la satisfaction. Les thèmes lyriques et mélodieusement expressifs, la vitalité rythmique, la pureté et la gaieté des couleurs harmoniques, l’animation que créent les passages en imitation et l’alternance vive des atmosphères, passant des chuchotements les plus doux aux paroxysmes les plus exubérants, illustrent clairement la vie et les sentiments du peuple tchèque. »

« Le deuxième mouvement a les traits d’un doux et ardent nocturne et d’un intermezzo passionné. Son atmosphère évoque la magie poétique d’une chaude soirée d’été et peut-être le dialogue de deux âmes simples partageant de doux moments d’intimité, tandis que leur cœur déborde de passion et de bonheur et qu’au loin résonnent les échos d’une musique de réjouissances villageoises. »

Le troisième mouvement semble s’inspirer des Danses slaves. C’est un furiant, la danse nationale endiablée et tourbillonnante dont la figure rythmique et caractéristique est une alternance des temps (trois fois deux temps, puis deux fois trois temps). La section en trio rappelle la sousedská, autre danse nationale plus lente, dans laquelle le piccolo intervient pour la seule fois de la symphonie, créant un effet campagnard et humoristique.

Le finale contient pas moins de quatre thèmes différents, tous intégrés dans une ample structure de forme sonate très bien proportionnée. Il ne perd jamais son élan, contrairement à ce qui se passe dans beaucoup d’autres symphonies du XIXe siècle. L’énergie joyeuse, exubérante et rythmée de la musique porte irrésistiblement la symphonie vers sa glorieuse conclusion.

– Traduit d’après Robert Markow


Menu