Saint-Saëns Piano Concerto No. 2

Reflection

Being a big fan of French music, I am very happy to have two pieces by French composers on tonight’s program. Gabriel Fauré is not as well known outside of France as his older colleague Camille Saint-Saëns, but his music definitely deserves to be performed much more often, with its beautiful tunes and harmonies, touching moments and abundance of orchestral colour.

In Saint-Saëns’ Piano Concerto No. 2, listeners can hear the neoclassical style in the Bach-style passages of the monumental first movement, and can also be suprised by the unusually jolly, humouristic and witty Finale. The composer and pianist Zygmunt Stojowski even called this concerto “From Bach to Offenbach”!

After the premiere of his Symphony in C minor, Edvard Grieg wrote down on the score that it should be never performed again! Norwegians respected his wish for 113 years but finally, after much consideration, and some disputes, this charming music was performed again and continues to be played. Maybe it will be the first time you hear it, but I believe it won’t be your last!

Reflection

For me, Saint-Saëns’ Concerto No. 2 is a real journey. In fact, we traverse dramatically different, even opposite, universes in the three movements. From Bach to Offenbach conveys this notion of a multifaceted journey very well. The highly lyrical first movement is an expression of late Romanticism. The second movement is as effervescent as a glass of champagne. And the final movement, a real whirlwind, a fantastic ride (wonderfully captured in this quasi-perpetual movement in triplets), is quite dizzying. There’s a sense of shared jubilation that pervades both the musicians and the audience!

And all these universes are infused with elegance “à la française.” A delight!


The NAC Orchestra has performed the Pelléas et Mélisande Suite many times before: the first time in 1977 with Leonard Slatkin conducting, and most recently, in 2017 with David Zinman on the podium.

Mario Bernardi led the NAC Orchestra in their first performance of Saint-Saëns’ Piano Concerto No. 2, given in 1973 with Jean-Paul Sevilla at the piano. The ensemble gave their most recent interpretation of this work in 2013 with Pinchas Zukerman conducting and Inon Barnatan as soloist.

The NAC Orchestra is performing Grieg’s Symphony in C minor for the first time.


Fauré

Suite from Pelléas et Mélisande

Born in Pamiers, France May 12, 1845
Died in Paris, November 4, 1924

Maurice Maeterlinck’s finely-wrought Symbolist drama, Pelléas et Mélisande, set in the mists of time, was first performed in Paris on May 17, 1893. In the audience that night was Claude Debussy, who was struck by the play’s musical possibilities, and almost immediately began work on his opera set to Maeterlinck’s text. “An opera in search of a composer” was Edward Lockspeiser’s description of the play.

Five years later, the famous actress Mrs. Patrick Campbell commissioned Fauré to write some incidental music for a production in London in English. (Debussy had been asked but declined.) Fauré had little time to fulfill this commission – less than six weeks. But he managed, drawing upon “earlier” pieces, and by assigning orchestration to a Conservatoire pupil, Charles Koechlin. The complete set of incidental music consisted of nine separate pieces. Although Debussy’s opera was finished at this time, it was not performed until 1902, leaving Fauré’s score as the first music inspired by Maeterlinck’s drama to be heard in public.

Fauré’s delicate, pastel-coloured music admirably evokes the veiled atmosphere and mood of Maeterlinck’s play, a world of “people with strange names [who] move like ghosts across the stage, mysterious to us and not less mysterious to one another” (Arthur Symons). Fauré captures the flavour of this world perfectly, with music that is pensive and lyrical. Several ideas are heard in the Suite, including Golaud (Mélisande’s first lover), announced by a distant horn call in the Prélude, those associated with spinning (La Fileuse); the lovers’ one moment of joy (Sicilienne); the doomed Mélisande.

– Program notes by Robert Markow

Saint-Saëns

Piano Concerto No. 2

Born in Paris, October 9, 1835
Died in Algiers, December 16, 1921

The Second Piano Concerto is Saint‑Saëns’ earliest work still in the active repertoire. It serves as a perfect example of the composer’s polish, neat formal proportions, clarity of texture and classic elegance of style. The story of how the work came to be written is an interesting one. Saint‑Saëns and the pianist-composer Anton Rubinstein had met in 1858 and had been close friends ever since, often playing piano duets together and sometimes performing in concert with Saint‑Saëns on the podium and Rubinstein at the piano. One day in 1868, Rubinstein commented that for all his appearances in Paris as a soloist, he had never conducted there. So he and Saint‑Saëns exchanged hats, so to speak, and just three weeks later, on December 13, Rubinstein mounted the podium at the Salle Pleyel to conduct the concerto Saint‑Saëns had written in the interim (it took just 17 days!).

The Concerto opens with an elaborate piano solo – a free-form, fantasia-like passage that shows Saint‑Saëns’ debt to Bach’s organ music. After the initial orchestral statement, the piano presents a lyrical theme that Saint‑Saëns lifted from a Tantum ergo for voice and organ by a former pupil of his, Gabriel Fauré. The pianist Alfred Cortot said that Fauré, “with absolute sincerity, congratulated himself on the honour his master had done him by using his theme.” Glittering cascades of notes, thundering octaves, and dazzling passage work are used to great effect. In a surprise gesture, the opening material returns at the end of the movement, but now in hushed, subdued tones with “a poetic quality of something remembered from the depths of the past.”

The scherzo trips along gaily, light as a feather in the best tradition of Mendelssohn, except for the jaunty second theme that brings images of dancing horses to some minds.

The third movement employs the furious tarantella rhythm in a whirlwind tour de force. Everything points to a master craftsman. To quote Cortot again, “the music displays neat and even brilliant rhythms, more intelligence than sensibility, more verve than feelings.” The concerto ends in a blaze of fiery virtuosity.

– Program notes by Robert Markow

Grieg

Symphony in C minor

Born in Bergen, June 15, 1843
Died in Bergen, September 4, 1907

Edvard Grieg is one of the best-known names in classical music, but his only symphony is one of the least-known in the repertoire of those by famous composers. It is a full-length (30 minutes-plus), four-movement, richly melodic, coherent work in conventional format. “In the C minor symphony we are face to face with a go-ahead young man set on a successful international career,” wrote the Norwegian musicologist Finn Benestad. So why don’t we hear it more often?

One reason is that Grieg himself suppressed it, and as a result it has remained on the outer fringes of the repertoire. Grieg was just twenty when he wrote his symphony. Following studies in Leipzig from 1858 to 1862 (Norway had no advanced music schools at the time), Grieg returned briefly to his natal city of Bergen, then went to Copenhagen in search of musical stimulus and employment. There he met Denmark’s most famous composer of the nineteenth century, Niels Gade (another Scandinavian whose eight symphonies are rarely heard today), who encouraged him to write a symphony. Grieg took Gade literally, and produced what we have today. It was his first completed orchestral work. When he showed it to Gade in May 1864, it won the Dane’s high approval, and on June 4 the symphony, minus its first movement, was performed at the Tivoli Gardens. The symphony in whole or in part, was subsequently performed in Copenhagen, Christiania (present-day Oslo) and Bergen. Grieg arranged the two inner movements for piano four hands and had them published as Two Symphonic Pieces, Op. 14.

But then Grieg had second thoughts about the worth of his symphony. He wrote to his publisher that it belonged “to a bygone Schumann period” of his life, and on the score’s title page he inscribed the words “Must never be performed.” After his death it became the property of the Bergen Public Library, where it was available for consultation but not for performance. It took much persuasion and legal wrangling before the library allowed Grieg’s admonition to be overturned. The symphony was finally heard again on May 30, 1981, played by the Bergen Symphony Orchestra, an orchestra Grieg himself had conducted between 1880 to 1882.

Another reason we don’t hear this symphony very often might be that we normally think of Grieg as a miniaturist rather than in terms of large-scale, multi-movement works. His only compositions  of this latter type are a piano concerto, a string quartet, a cello sonata, a piano sonata, and three violin sonatas; of these, only the concerto is heard with any regularity. There have been at least eight recordings of the symphony over the past almost 40 years, but few live performances. Tonight’s audience is therefore privileged to hear one of those rare events.

The symphony opens with a series of sharply articulated chords, then launches into the sweeping first theme stated initially in the violas and clarinets (an unusual but effective choice of instruments for this role). The triplet figure embedded in this theme will have far-reaching consequences throughout the movement. The contrasting second theme is a long-breathed, lyrical idea presented first by violins and cellos in octaves, then repeated by clarinet and bassoon. The development section of this standard sonata-form movement makes much use of the aforementioned triplet figure.

The slow movement, in A-flat major, is the symphony’s emotional core, its dreamy romanticism and  orchestral writing highly reminiscent of Schumann (a composer Grieg surely heard in Leipzig). It is laid out in a simple rondo form: a principal theme alternating with two contrasting ideas (ABACA).

The third movement is marked Intermezzo but it is a scherzo in all but name. Here, for the first and only time in the symphony, we hear strong suggestions of the Norwegian folkdance element that was shortly to become such an important element of Grieg’s compositional makeup. The stormy C-minor opening and closing material is contrasted with a gentle, woodwind-dominated central episode.

The joyous finale opens with the fleetness we associate with Mendelssohn (another composer whose music Grieg more than likely encountered in Leipzig), but later its propulsive power sounds more akin to Beethoven. The key is C major, and the astute musical aficionado is by now wondering if Grieg might deliberately have fashioned the entire symphony’s key scheme after Beethoven’s Fifth. There are also fanfares for horns and trumpets, just as Beethoven had done in his finale. The symphony hurtles along to a glorious, triumphant conclusion.

– Program notes by Robert Markow


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.

Le Concerto pour piano no 2 de Saint-Saëns

Réflexion

Étant un grand amateur de musique française, je me réjouis de compter deux pièces de compositeurs français au programme de ce soir. Gabriel Fauré n’est pas aussi célèbre hors de France que son aîné Camille Saint-Saëns, mais sa musique mérite assurément d’être jouée plus souvent, pour la beauté de ses mélodies et de ses harmonies, ses passages touchants et le foisonnement de ses couleurs orchestrales.

Dans le Concerto pour piano no 2 de Saint-Saëns, on reconnaît le style néoclassique dans les passages du monumental premier mouvement écrits dans le style de Bach, mais on peut aussi se laisser surprendre par le finale étonnamment enjoué, plein d’humour et d’esprit. Le compositeur et pianiste Zygmunt Stojowski a d’ailleurs résumé ce concerto en une formule lapidaire : « De Bach à Offenbach! »

Après la création de sa Symphonie en do mineur, Edvard Grieg a écrit sur la partition qu’elle ne devait jamais plus être exécutée! Les Norvégiens ont respecté ce vœu pendant 113 ans, mais finalement, après mûre réflexion et quelques disputes, cette musique remplie de charme a été jouée à nouveau et continue de l’être. Vous l’entendrez peut-être ici pour la première fois, mais je ne crois pas que ce sera la dernière!

Réflexion

Pour moi, le Deuxième concerto de Saint-Saëns est un vrai voyage. En effet, nous traversons, à travers les trois mouvements, des univers absolument différents, voire opposés. « De Bach à Offenbach » exprime bien cette idée d’un voyage à multiples facettes. Le premier mouvement, tout en lyrisme, est une expression du romantisme tardif. Le deuxième est aussi pétillant qu’une coupe de champagne, et dans le mouvement final, un réel tourbillon, une chevauchée fantastique (qu’exprime à merveille ce mouvement quasi perpétuel en triolets) nous fait tourner la tête. Il y a un sentiment de jubilation commune qui envahit et les musiciens et le public!

Et tous ces univers toujours marqués par l’élégance « à la française ». Un régal!

L'Orchestre du CNA a interprété à plusieurs reprises la suite complète tirée de la musique de scène de Pelléas et Mélisande de Fauré. Leonard Slatkin dirigeait l'ensemble en 1977, lors de sa première prestation, tandis que David Zinman a fait de même en 2017 pour la plus récente.

Mario Bernardi dirigeait l’Orchestre du CNA lors de sa première prestation du Concerto pour piano no 2 de Saint-Saëns, livrée en 1973 avec Jean-Paul Sevilla au piano. L’ensemble en a donné sa plus récente interprétation en 2013, cette fois avec Pinchas Zukerman au pupitre et Inon Barnatan au piano.

L’Orchestre du CNA interprète la Symphonie en do mineur de Grieg pour la première fois.

Fauré

Suite tirée de la musique de scène de Pelléas et Mélisande

Pamiers, France, 12 mai 1845
Paris, 4 novembre 1924

Pelléas et Mélisande, délicat drame symboliste de Maurice Maeterlinck dont l’action se déroule hors du temps, fut créé à Paris le 17 mai 1893. Dans le public se trouvait ce soir-là Claude Debussy qui, frappé par les possibilités musicales de l’œuvre, se mit presque aussitôt en frais de composer un opéra à partir du texte de Maeterlinck. Edward Lockspeiser décrivit alors la pièce comme « un opéra en quête de compositeur ».

Cinq ans plus tard, la célèbre actrice Mrs. Patrick Campbell commanda à Fauré de la musique de scène pour accompagner une production du drame en langue anglaise présentée à Londres (sollicité, Debussy avait décliné l’offre). Fauré ne disposait que de peu de temps pour répondre à cette demande – moins de six semaines. Il s’acquitta néanmoins de la tâche en remaniant des pièces qu’il avait écrites précédemment, et en confiant l’orchestration à l’un de ses élèves du Conservatoire, Charles Koechlin. La musique de scène comporte en tout neuf pièces distinctes. Bien qu’en 1898, l’opéra de Debussy ait été achevé, il n’a été créé qu’en 1902, ce qui fait de la partition de Fauré la première œuvre musicale inspirée du drame de Maeterlinck à avoir été jouée en public.

L’élégante musique aux tons pastel de Fauré évoque admirablement l’ambiance vaporeuse de la pièce de Maeterlinck, un monde peuplé de « personnages aux noms étranges [qui] se meuvent comme des fantômes sur la scène, mystérieux à nos yeux et non moins mystérieux les uns pour les autres » (Arthur Symons). Fauré recrée parfaitement l’aura particulière de ce monde dans sa suite méditative et lyrique. Plusieurs idées y sont combinées, dont celles associées à Golaud (premier amoureux de Mélisande), annoncé par un appel de cor lointain (Prélude), au rouet (Fileuse), au seul moment de joie des amoureux (Sicilienne) et au sort de l'héroïne (La mort de Mélisande).

– Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Saint-Saëns

Concerto pour piano no 2

Paris, 9 octobre 1835
Alger, 16 décembre 1921

Le Concerto pour piano no 2 est l’œuvre la plus précoce de Saint‑Saëns à demeurer au répertoire orchestral actif. Il illustre à merveille, par ses proportions formelles nettes, la clarté de sa texture et l’élégance classique de son style, la facture impeccable du compositeur. La genèse de cette œuvre vaut la peine d’être racontée. Saint‑Saëns et le pianiste compositeur Anton Rubinstein étaient demeurés grands amis après leur rencontre en 1858, jouant souvent du piano en duo et se produisant parfois en concert avec Saint-Saëns au pupitre et Rubinstein au piano. En 1868, Rubinstein fit un jour observer à son ami que, bien qu’il se soit produit souvent à Paris en tant que soliste, il n’avait jamais eu l’occasion de diriger un orchestre. C’est ainsi que les deux compères décidèrent d’inverser leur rôle et que, trois semaines plus tard seulement, Rubinstein montait au podium de la salle Pleyel pour diriger le concerto que Saint-Saëns avait écrit pour lui (en seulement 17 jours!).

Le concerto débute avec un complexe solo pour piano – un passage de forme libre, une sorte de fantaisie – qui révèle toute l’influence que la musique pour orgue de Bach a eue sur Saint‑Saëns. Après le premier énoncé orchestral, le piano propose un thème lyrique emprunté à un Tantum ergo pour voix et orgue de Gabriel Fauré, ancien élève du compositeur; le pianiste Alfred Cortot raconte d’ailleurs que celui-ci était ravi de l’honneur que lui faisait son maître en empruntant l’un de ses propres thèmes. Brillantes cascades de notes, octaves tonitruantes et passages éblouissants caractérisent cet andante, qui nous réserve une surprise : le matériau d’ouverture revient à la fin du mouvement, mais cette fois dans des tonalités feutrées et discrètes, tels « des souvenirs remontant poétiquement des profondeurs du passé » (Cortot).

Le scherzo caracole gaiement, léger comme une plume dans la meilleure tradition de Mendelssohn, à l’exception d’un deuxième thème guilleret évoquant, pour certains auditeurs, des chevaux qui dansent.

Le troisième mouvement a recours au rythme furieux de la tarentelle dans un tour de force tourbillonnant. C’est l’œuvre d’un maître compositeur, dont « la musique propose des rythmes nets et même brillants, plus d’intelligence que de sensibilité, plus de verve que de sentiments », pour citer de nouveau Cortot. Le concerto s’achève dans un élan fougueux de virtuosité.

– Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Edvard Grieg

Symphonie en do mineur

Bergen, Norvège, 15 juin 1843
Bergen, 4 septembre 1907

Edvard Grieg est bien connu des amateurs de musique classique, mais son unique symphonie l’est beaucoup moins. C’est une œuvre de longue durée (son exécution dure plus de 30 minutes), richement mélodique, cohérente, dans une forme convenue. « Dans la Symphonie en do mineur, on fait la rencontre d’un jeune homme en plein élan, à l’aube d’une fructueuse carrière internationale », écrit le musicologue norvégien Finn Benestad. Pourquoi donc ne l’entend-on pas plus souvent?

Sans doute en partie parce que Grieg lui-même avait mis à l’écart sa symphonie, de sorte qu’elle est restée en marge du répertoire. Le compositeur n’avait que 20 ans quand il l’écrivit. Après ses études à Leipzig de 1858 à 1862 (la Norvège n’avait pas d’école supérieure de musique à cette époque), Grieg était brièvement rentré dans sa ville natale de Bergen, avant de se rendre à Copenhague en quête d’inspiration musicale et de travail. Il y fit la connaissance du plus célèbre compositeur danois du XIXe siècle, Niels Gade (autre Scandinave dont les huit symphonies sont rarement jouées de nos jours), qui l’encouragea à écrire une symphonie. Grieg prit Gade au mot et produisit la partition que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. Il s’agissait de sa première œuvre orchestrale achevée. Quand il la présenta à Gade en mai 1864, celui-ci se montra enthousiaste, et l’œuvre, amputée de son premier mouvement, fut jouée le 4 juin aux Jardins de Tivoli. Elle fut ensuite interprétée, en tout ou en partie, à Copenhague, Christiania (aujourd’hui Oslo) et Bergen. Grieg arrangea les deux mouvements intérieurs pour piano à quatre mains et les fit publier sous le titre Deux pièces symphoniques (opus 14).

Grieg nourrissait néanmoins des doutes sur la valeur de sa symphonie. Il écrivit à son éditeur qu’elle appartenait « à une période schumannienne révolue » de son existence, et sur la page de titre de la partition, écrivit les mots : « Ne doit jamais être jouée ». Après sa mort, le document devint propriété de la Bibliothèque municipale de Bergen, où il était disponible uniquement à des fins de consultation. Il fallut déployer des trésors de persuasion et mener bien des batailles judiciaires pour que la bibliothèque consente finalement à lever l’interdit de Grieg. On réentendit finalement la symphonie le 30 mai 1981, interprétée par l’Orchestre symphonique de Bergen, que Grieg lui-même avait dirigé de 1880 à 1882.

Une autre raison pour laquelle on entend si rarement cette symphonie est peut-être liée au fait que Grieg est reconnu d’abord et avant tout comme un miniaturiste, plutôt que l’auteur d’amples compositions comportant plusieurs mouvements. Ses seules œuvres de ce type sont un concerto pour piano, un quatuor à cordes, une sonate pour violoncelle, une sonate pour piano et trois sonates pour violon; de ce nombre, seul le concerto pour piano revient avec une certaine régularité dans les programmes de concert. Au moins huit enregistrements de la symphonie ont été effectués au cours des quarante dernières années, mais elle a été très peu jouée en concert. L’auditoire de ce soir est donc privilégié de pouvoir assister à l’une de ces rares occurrences.

La symphonie s’ouvre sur une série d’accords incisifs, puis entame son ample premier sujet, d’abord exposé par les altos et les clarinettes (un choix d’instruments inusité, mais efficace dans ce cas). Le triolet intégré à ce sujet aura une incidence considérable sur la suite du mouvement. Le second sujet contrasté est une idée majestueuse et lyrique énoncée par les violons et les violoncelles en octaves, puis reprise par la clarinette et le basson. La section de développement de ce mouvement de forme sonate conventionnelle fait un usage abondant du triolet susmentionné.

Le mouvement lent, en la bémol majeur, est le centre affectif de la symphonie; son romantisme onirique et son écriture orchestrale évoquent irrésistiblement Schumann, compositeur dont Grieg avait certainement entendu la musique à Leipzig. Il est de forme rondo simple : un sujet principal alternant avec deux idées contrastées (ABACA).

Intitulé « Intermezzo », le troisième mouvement tient davantage du scherzo. On trouve ici le seul et unique passage de la symphonie empruntant des éléments à une danse folklorique norvégienne, ce qui deviendrait bientôt un aspect essentiel du style de Grieg. Le tumultueux matériau d’ouverture et de fermeture en do mineur contraste avec l’épisode central tout en douceur, dominé par les bois.

L’amorce de l’exubérant finale n’est pas sans rappeler la vivacité d’un Mendelssohn (autre compositeur à la musique duquel Grieg fut vraisemblablement exposé à Leipzig), mais sa force de propulsion subséquente fait davantage songer à Beethoven. La tonalité est en do majeur, et le mélomane averti peut ainsi se demander si Grieg n’a pas volontairement calqué tout le plan tonal de son œuvre sur la Symphonie no 5 de Beethoven. On trouve ici des fanfares de cors et de trompettes, tout comme dans le finale de ce chef-d’œuvre. Et la symphonie fonce à toute allure vers sa glorieuse et triomphale conclusion.

– Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Menu