Verdi Requiem

And so we pick up in September where we left off in June: with orchestra and voices in symbiotic, compelling expression of the human condition. Where Mozart’s comic Marriage of Figaro, one of the greatest operas ever written, concluded our 2018/2019 program, we begin this season’s journey with what has often been described as Verdi’s ‘greatest opera’, his Requiem Mass. Dedicated to the writer Alessandro Manzoni, whom Verdi deeply admired, it is a work that brings the Mass for the Dead to life with a blistering drama only ever matched by Mozart’s incomplete Requiem. The power of this masterpiece remains undimmed today, 145 years after its premiere, and it is my hope that this curtain raiser will prove as inspiring, moving and passionate as the season to come. On behalf of the entire NAC Orchestra family, a warm welcome back to Southam Hall and here’s to unforgettable moments together!


The NAC Orchestra’s first performance of Verdi’s Requiem took place in 1998 under the direction of Helmuth Rilling, with Alessandra Marc, Jard van Nes, Gerald Gray and Simon Estes as soloists. The Orchestra’s most recent interpretation of this work, presented in 2012 with Pinchas Zukerman on the podium, featured the singers Adrianne Pieczonka, Measha Brueggergosman. Anita Krause, James Valenti and Eric Owens.


Verdi

Requiem

Born in Le Roncole, October 10, 1813
Died in Milan, January 27, 1901

Verdi’s Requiem stands at the very pinnacle of the sacred choral repertoire for its passionate sincerity, expressive intensity and dramatic – at times even theatrical – power. Only one Requiem before it (that of Berlioz) and one after (Britten’s War Requiem) can match Verdi’s in scope and grandeur.

The history of Verdi’s Requiem is bound up in the deaths of two of Italy’s greatest cultural heroes, the composer Gioachino Rossini and the writer Alessandro Manzoni. Rossini died in 1868, a living legend even forty years after he had written his final opera. To honour his memory, Verdi conceived the idea of asking a dozen composers each to contribute a section of a composite Mass to be performed in Bologna on the first anniversary of his death (November 13). Verdi’s own contribution would be the concluding Libera me.

Why Bologna? Because this was the city where Rossini had grown up, studied and produced his first opera. The city council approved the plan, the composers (important then but none of whom is even a faintly recognized name today) were assigned their parts, and soloists were booked. But as the performance date approached, it became increasingly apparent that the orchestra and chorus of the Teatro Comunale were not going to offer their services gratis as everyone else involved had agreed to do, and the whole plan disintegrated. Verdi was bitterly disappointed. The music was collected and deposited in the archives of the publishing firm of Ricordi. Nothing more was heard of it until over a century later, when its first performance in modern times was conducted in 1988 by Helmut Rilling in Stuttgart.

Verdi’s Libera me lay quietly forgotten for several years while the composer involved himself with Aida and other matters. Enter a figure named Alberto Mazzucato – composer, critic, professor at the Milan Conservatory, and one of the members of the Rossini commemoration committee. Having seen Verdi’s Libera me at Ricordi’s, he was moved to write the composer: “You, my dear maestro, have written the most beautiful, the most magnificent, the most colossally poetic page one can imagine. Nothing more perfect has been done so far; nothing beyond it can ever be done.” This effusive praise, to which Verdi replied in equally complimentary terms, was apparently the catalyst that stirred Verdi to contemplate writing an entire Requiem himself. He had already begun when the news reached him of the death of the revered novelist and poet Alessandro Manzoni on May 22, 1873.

Manzoni, born in 1785, was the leader of the Italian romantic school and his country’s greatest literary figure of the nineteenth century. Manzoni also, like Verdi, was one of Italy’s leading public figures in the struggle for Italian independence and unification. Both of these great artists were widely regarded as symbols of the new Italy. Both were elected to the first Italian parliament in 1861. It was only fitting that Verdi would die 28 years later at the same age as Manzoni, 88.

Verdi immediately resolved to complete his Requiem and dedicate it to the memory of Manzoni. He proposed to the mayor that the first anniversary of the death of Manzoni be marked by the premiere of his Requiem, all expenses to be borne by the City of Milan. All came to pass as scheduled, without the bickering that attended the Rossini fiasco five years earlier. The venue chosen was the thirteenth-century, Lombard-Gothic style Church of St. Mark’s, and the event was such a triumph that three additional performances had to be scheduled at La Scala.

The Requiem opens in a mood of hushed mystery, “as if with a reverent, head-bowing gesture” (James Hepokoski). A normal Mass would begin with the Kyrie, but this being a Requiem Mass, it is introduced by the Introit consisting of the antiphon “Requiem aeternam dona eis” (Eternal rest grant them) and the psalm “Te decet hymnus” (A hymn becometh Thee), the latter sung a cappella (without instrumental accompaniment). The solo voices make their successive entries in the Kyrie, where the tempo quickens and the mood brightens for the prayer for mercy.

The Dies irae is by far the longest section of the Requiem. In its opening pages Verdi pulls out all the stops, unleashing the full power of his large orchestra and chorus in its portrayal of the terrors of Judgment Day. In those “downward chromatic phrases of the opening verse the whole universe seems to slide to ruin,” writes Dyneley Hussey. In eight further sub-sections, the peoples’ hopes, fears, and pleas for salvation are portrayed by the various soloists in moods ranging from hushed awe to terrified outbursts. Twice more the electrifying opening verse returns. The frightening power and visceral impact of this music caused some of the Requiem’s early critics to complain that it was too operatic, too theatrical, not dignified or ecclesiastical enough. For these critics, the noted New York critic Lawrence Gilman had the answer: “Are not the words themselves dramatic, lurid, theatrical enough, in all conscience? Are the basic conceptions that underlie the text: the thoughts, visions, prayers of the believer – are these reserved and sober and austere? The thought of the Judgment Day, when the graves shall give up their dead, when the heavens shall be rolled together like a scroll and the world becomes ashes; the thought of the trumpets of the Resurrection; the thought of the horror of the everlasting darkness, of the fiery lake, of the agonies of damnation; the thought of universal lamentation, supplication, dread: what music could be too dramatic, lurid, vehement, theatrical to come within speaking distance of such appalling conceptions?”

The Offertorio is more intimate in character, at times taking on a chamber music quality. It omits the chorus but spotlights all four soloists, both individually and as an ensemble. It is laid out in an arch form, ABCBA. The outer sections are set to a gently rocking rhythm that develops from the opening solo cello lines. Verdi withholds the timbre of the bright soprano voice until the appropriate pictorial moment: at the words “sed signifer sanctus Michael…,” where St. Michael will bring the souls of the faithful from the maws of hell to the holy light that God promised to Abraham and his seed. At the mention of “Abraham and his seed,” the music quickens and enters the “B” section of the arch to a brief canonic treatment of the initial motif, thus suggesting the progeny generated by Abraham. The central Hostias is music of quiet radiance and inner peace, introduced by the tenor dolcissimo (very sweetly).

The Sanctus is short but spirited, and contains the only truly joyous music in the Requiem, a fugue sung by double chorus (in eight parts). Near the end of this contrapuntal tour de force Verdi adds a spine-tingling effect in the form of a run up and down the chromatic scale, played fortissimo by every single instrument from tuba to piccolo.

The Agnus Dei is, by contrast, the essence of simplicity. The opening for solo soprano and mezzo singing quietly and dolcissimo in octaves is as memorable in its own way as was the terrifying outburst that opened the Dies irae. Francis Toye calls it music of “mystical beauty.” This thirteen-bar duet is then repeated in five different ways, each time to different scoring: chorus and orchestra in unison and octaves in the first; the two soloists (now in the minor mode) accompanied by woodwinds and violas in the second; chorus and orchestra in a harmonization in the third (only six measures long); the soloists and three flutes in the fourth; soloists, chorus and orchestra in another harmonization for the fifth.

The Lux aeterna opens with a shimmering background of violins divided into six parts, against which the mezzo quietly intones the prayer for perpetual light. The bass makes the same plea, but in solemn tones to the tread of a funeral march. After two more repetitions (including one for a cappella solo trio), Verdi introduces some felicitous woodwind writing that brings to mind the delicacy of scoring in the evening scene on the Nile in Aida (opening of Act III).

The solo soprano, silent throughout the Lux aeterna, suddenly springs to the fore at the beginning of the Libera me. In terrified tones that might well have come from an operatic recitative, she implores the Deity for salvation from the agonies of hell. From this point on, the movement serves as a summary of the entire Requiem, revisiting or recalling various parts of the enormous edifice: a literal reprise of the opening of the Dies irae, a return to the music of solemn mystery that opened the entire Requiem, now scored for solo soprano and a cappella choir; a fugue set to the rhythm and to a melodic inversion of the Sanctus; and other references to the past. This is not, incidentally, exactly the same Libera me Verdi composed for the aborted Rossini commemoration five years earlier; it has been somewhat revised, mostly in matters of scoring. The Requiem closes with the chorus intoning a final supplication for deliverance, now in an almost inaudible whisper that seems to disappear into the farthest reaches of the cosmos.

The emotional impact and expressive power of Verdi’s Requiem have stimulated innumerable paeans of praise. Here is what Herbert Elwell wrote in the Cleveland Plain Dealer in 1953: “One comes away with an impression like the mighty sweep and grandeur of Michelangelo in the Sistine Chapel, or the flying pennants and golden lions of San Marco in Venice. There is an outpouring of the spirit in this work that defies description. It leaves one weak and unstrung by the tremendous current of its inspiration.”

– Program notes by Robert Markow

Chorus

Choristers from: 
Cantata Singers of Ottawa (CSO)
Ottawa Choral Society

Rehearsal Pianists: 
Frédéric Lacroix
Scott Richardson

Rehearsal Soloists:
Lynlee Wolstencroft, soprano
Carole Portelance, mezzo-soprano
Philip Klaassen, tenor
Ryan Hofman, baritone

________
Soprano

Carol Anderson OCS
Kristi Aruja CSO
Sandra Bason OCS
Stephanie Brassard OCS
Loretta Cassidy OCS
Sheilah Craven OCS
Heather Crowther *
Renée Dahn OCS
Valeria Dimitrova OCS
Kathy Dobbin OCS
Valerie Douglas CSO
Janet Doyle OCS
Carol Fahie OCS
Jane Flook OCS
Janet Fraser OCS
Rachel Gagnon OCS
Deirdre Garcia CSO
Beth Granger OCS
Christy Harris OCS
Natasha Harwood CSO
Julie Henderson OCS
Susan Hodgson *
Susan Joss OCS
Floralove Katz OCS
Sharon Keenan-Hayes CSO
Alison Lamont OCS
Lucie Laneville CSO
Anna Lehn OCS
Joyce Lundberg OCS
Pat MacDonald OCS
Mary Martel-Cantelon OCS
Margaret McCoy OCS
Jessyca Morgan CSO
Colleen Morris CSO
Shailla Nargundkar OCS
Derry Neufeld OCS
Cathy Patton CSO
Nancy Savage OCS
Susan Scott OCS
Jane Sly OCS
Kachusa Szeto *
Ellen Tsai *
Veronique Vonderau *
Uyen Vu OCS
Lynlee Wolstencroft */**
Jean Wylie *
Hiroko Yokota-Adachi CSO
Karen Zarrouki *

Alto
Barbara Ackison CSO
Joan Auden *
Nicole Bélecque *
Ruth Belyea OCS
Frances Berkman OCS
Tracey Brethour *
Trish Brooks CSO
Jennifer Brown OCS
Judy Brush CSO
Frances Buckley OCS
Lisa Callahan OCS
Maureen Carpenter OCS
Sue Chapman OCS
Jackie Clark *
Vickie Classen Iles CSO
Barbara Collins OCS
Barbara Colton OCS
Janet Cover CSO
Jennifer Davis OCS
Margaret Fritz *
Mary Beth Garneau OCS
Mary Gordon CSO
Adele Graf OCS
Carolyn Greve *
Tara Hall *
Lisa Hans OCS
Catherine Helferty *
Paula Helmer OCS
Lisanne Hendelman OCS
Jennifer Hicks OCS
Sharon Hiebert OCS
Pein-Pein Huang CSO
Maureen Hutchinson OCS
Patricia Jackson OCS
Eileen Johnson CSO
Katharine Kirkwood *
Margot Lange *
Grace Mann CSO
Lois Marion OCS
Beth Martin OCS
Nora McBean OCS
Kathryn McCarthy OCS
Andi Murphy CSO
Chantal Phan OCS
Carole Portalance */**
Eileen Reardon OCS
Heather Reid OCS
Peggy Robinson *
Nesta Scott OCS
Elizabeth Shore OCS
Sally Sinclair OCS
Heidi Sprung OCS
Claire Thompson OCS
Danielle Tremblay OCS

Tenor
Vicken Avrikian OCS
Gary Boyd CSO
Noah Bragança OCS
Diane Chevrier OCS
Tim Coonen OCS
Neil Crawford CSO
Kim Current OCS
Marc de La Durantaye *
Charles Donnelly OCS
John Goldsmith OCS
Bill Graham OCS
Toby Greenbaum OCS
Jim Howse OCS
Ross Jewell CSO
Philip Klaassen* */**
Roy Lidstone OCS
Louis Majeau OCS
Alf Mallin OCS
Karl Mann CSO
Michel Marinier OCS
Simon McMillan OCS
John Moffat OCS
Mark Munday *
David Palframan OCS
Sue Postlethwaite OCS
Martin Presenza OCS
Charles Pryce *
Peter Robb *
Kent Siebrasse OCS
JF Tardif *

________
Bass
Paul Badertscher OCS
George Bailey OCS
Ron Bell *
Chris Berry OCS
Terry Brynaert *
Roger Butt OCS
Sholto Cole OCS
Mark Dumbrique CSO
Andrew Hodgson CSO
Ryan Hofman */**
Greg Huyer CSO
Peter Janzen OCS
Björn Johansson CSO
Gary King OCS
Doug MacDonald OCS
Ian MacMillan OCS
Christopher Mallory CSO
J.P. McElhone, CSO
Craig McIntyre OCS
Peter McRae CSO
Gerald Oakham OCS
Bruce Pettipas *
Andrew Rodger OCS
Mathieu Roussel-Lewis OCS
Mathieu Roy OCS
Daniel Savoie CSO
Glen Seeds CSO
Mark Silver OCS
Gavriel Swayze OCS
Tim Thompson OCS
Rodney Williamson *
John Young CSO

* Guest chorister  |  ** Rehearsal Soloist


Menu

Le Requiem de Verdi

Nous voici de retour en septembre, à reprendre les choses là où nous les avions laissées en juin : un orchestre et des voix unis dans une exploration fascinante de la condition humaine. La saison 2018–2019 s’est conclue sur une note comique avec Les Noces de Figaro, un des plus grands opéras de tous les temps. La nouvelle s’ouvre sur le Requiem de Verdi, souvent décrit comme le plus grand « opéra » de ce compositeur. Dédiée à l’écrivain Alessandro Manzoni, que Verdi admirait profondément, cette messe pour le repos des morts brûle d’une émotion qui ne trouve son égale que dans le requiem inachevé de Mozart. Ce chef-d’œuvre n’a rien perdu de sa force 145 ans après sa création, et j’espère que ce concert sera tout aussi inspirant, émouvant et passionné que la saison qu’il ouvre. En notre nom à tous à l’Orchestre du CNA, bon retour à la Salle Southam et au plaisir de vivre des moments inoubliables avec vous!


La première prestation du Requiem de Verdi par l’Orchestre du CNA a eu lieu en 1998 sous la baguette d’Helmuth Rilling avec les solistes Alessandra Marc, Jard van Nes, Gerald Gray et Simon Estes. La plus récente interprétation, donnée en 2012 avec Pinchas Zukerman au pupitre, mettait en vedette les solistes Adrianne Pieczonka, Measha Brueggergosman, Anita Krause, James Valenti et Eric Owens.


Requiem

Le Roncole, 10 octobre 1813
Milan, 27 janvier 1901

Le Requiem de Verdi se hisse sans conteste au sommet du répertoire des œuvres chorales sacrées, avec sa sincérité passionnée, mais aussi son intensité expressive et dramatique – voire, par moments, théâtrale. Un seul requiem avant celui-ci (soit celui de Berlioz) et un autre créé plus tard (le War Requiem de Britten) peuvent prétendre atteindre l’ampleur et la majesté de celui de Verdi.

La genèse du Requiem de Verdi est indissociablement liée à la mort de deux des plus grands noms de la culture italienne, soit le compositeur Gioachino Rossini et l’écrivain Alessandro Manzoni. Rossini mourut en 1868. Il était alors une légende vivante, même 40 ans après avoir composé son dernier opéra. Pour honorer sa mémoire, Verdi eut l’idée de demander à une douzaine des compositeurs les plus en vue de créer chacun une section d’une messe qui serait jouée à Bologne le jour du premier anniversaire de la mort du compositeur, le 13 novembre 1869. La contribution de Verdi serait son Libera me, présenté en finale de la messe.

Pourquoi Bologne? Parce que c’était la ville où Rossini était né, avait fait ses études et produit son premier opéra. Le conseil municipal avait approuvé le projet, les compositeurs (importants à l’époque, mais dont plus un seul n’est désormais connu) avaient reçu leur commande et les solistes avaient été réservés. Mais à mesure qu’approchait la date du concert, il devenait de plus en plus clair que l’orchestre et le chœur du Teatro Comunale n’offriraient pas gratuitement leurs services (comme les autres avaient accepté de le faire). Aussi le projet échoua-t-il, à la grande déception de Verdi. Les partitions furent rassemblées et déposées aux archives de la maison d’édition Ricordi. Ce n’est que plus d’un siècle plus tard, en 1988, que la Messa per Rossini fut sortie des oubliettes; le chef d’orchestre Helmuth Rilling en dirigea la première interprétation, à Stuttgart.

Le Libera me de Verdi fut donc oublié pendant plusieurs années pendant que le compositeur vaquait à d’autres projets, y compris Aïda. Un jour, Alberto Mazzucato, un compositeur, critique et professeur au Conservatoire de Milan – qui était également membre du comité de commémoration de la mémoire de Rossini –, vit le Libera me de Verdi chez Ricordi. Il écrivit alors au compositeur : « Mon cher maestro, vous avez composé la plus belle, la plus magnifique, la plus colossalement poétique des partitions que l’on puisse imaginer. Rien de plus parfait n’a jamais été fait, et rien de tel ne le sera plus jamais. » Ces éloges bien sentis, auxquels Verdi rendit la pareille, furent, semble-t-il, le catalyseur qui poussa celui-ci à composer lui aussi un requiem. Il l’avait déjà amorcé, d’ailleurs, lorsqu’il apprit la nouvelle de la mort du romancier et poète bien-aimé Alessandro Manzoni, le 22 mai 1873.

Né en 1785, Manzoni était à la tête de l’école romantique italienne et l’un des plus grands écrivains italiens du XIXe siècle. Manzoni, comme Verdi, était aussi l’une des personnalités les plus connues de la lutte pour l’indépendance et l’unification du pays. Ces deux grands artistes étaient devenus des symboles de la nouvelle Italie. Les deux furent élus au premier Parlement italien en 1861. Il était approprié que Verdi eût le même âge que son compatriote au moment de son décès 28 ans plus tard, soit 88 ans.

En apprenant la mort de Manzoni, Verdi se décida à compléter son Requiem et à le dédier à la mémoire de l’écrivain. Il proposa au maire de Milan de souligner le premier anniversaire de la mort de Manzoni par la première de son Requiem – toutes dépenses acquittées par la ville. Contrairement au fiasco des cérémonies entourant le premier anniversaire de la mort de Rossini cinq ans auparavant, cette nouvelle initiative se déroula sans anicroche. C’est dans l’église Saint-Marc, de style gothique lombard du XIIIe siècle, qu’eut lieu la première de l’œuvre. Ce fut un triomphe – trois représentations supplémentaires durent être ajoutées au théâtre La Scala.

Le Requiem s’ouvre dans une atmosphère de mystère et de silence, « comme si l’on baissait la tête d’un geste révérencieux » (James Hepokoski). La messe s’ouvre habituellement avec le Kyrie, mais la messe des morts débute plutôt par l’Introït, qui comprend l’antienne « Requiem aeternam dona eis » (Accordez-leur le repos éternel) et le psaume « Te decet hymnus » chanté a cappella (sans accompagnement instrumental). Les voix des solistes font leur entrée successive dans le Kyrie; le rythme s’accélère ensuite et la pièce s’allège en une prière de miséricorde.

Le Dies irae est de loin la section la plus longue de l’œuvre. Dans ses pages d’ouverture, Verdi fait déferler le plein pouvoir de l’orchestre et du chœur dans le tableau terrifiant qu’il peint du Jugement dernier. Dans « les phrases chromatiques descendantes de l’ouverture, on dirait que c’est l’univers au complet qui glisse vers la ruine », écrivait à ce propos Dyneley Hussey. Dans les huit sous-sections suivantes, les espoirs, les craintes et les prières de salut sont portées par les divers solistes dans des atmosphères qui vont de l’admiration tranquille aux sorties terrifiantes. À deux autres reprises, les électrisants vers d’ouverture reviennent nous foudroyer. La frayeur et l’impact viscéral qu’inspire cette musique ont poussé certains des premiers critiques du Requiem à se plaindre que la pièce était trop opératique, trop théâtrale, et qu’au contraire, elle n’était pas suffisamment digne et ecclésiastique. À ces évaluations, le critique new-yorkais Lawrence Gilman répondit : « En toute conscience, les mots du Dies irae ne sont-ils pas en soi suffisamment dramatiques, lugubres et théâtraux? Les concepts qui sous-tendent le texte – les pensées, les visions, les prières du croyant – sont-ils d’une réserve sobre et austère? Il en va ainsi de la seule pensée du Jugement dernier : les morts s’affranchissant de leurs tombeaux, les cieux s’enroulant sur eux tels des parchemins et la terre n’étant plus que cendre, les trompettes de la Résurrection qui retentissent, la terreur à l’idée de la noirceur éternelle, du lac de feu des enfers, des agonies de la damnation, des lamentations et des supplications universelles… quelle musique pourrait s’avérer trop dramatique, lugubre, véhémente ou théâtrale pour représenter de telles visions d’épouvante? »

L’Offertoire est de caractère plus intime et s’apparente parfois à la musique de chambre. Omettant le chœur, il met plutôt l’accent sur quatre solistes, qui chantent tantôt en solo, tantôt à l’unisson. Ce mouvement épouse la forme ABCBA. Les sections extérieures sont bercées par un rythme qui se développe dès les notes d’ouverture du violoncelle solo. Verdi attend, pour libérer la voix claire de la soprano, le moment approprié – soit les mots « sed signifer sanctus Michael », lorsque saint Michel guide les âmes des fidèles des portes de l’enfer vers la lumière divine promise par Dieu à Abraham et à ses descendants. Dès la mention d’Abraham, la cadence s’accélère et on passe à la section B, où l’on a droit à un bref traitement canonique du motif initial, qui fait allusion à la progéniture d’Abraham. Le Hostias central est une musique d’un éclat tranquille et de paix intérieure, introduite par un ténor dont les notes sont agréablement entonnées dolcissimo.

Le Sanctus est bref, mais plein de fougue, et contient le seul passage véritablement gai du Requiem. Il s’agit d’une fugue chantée par un double chœur (huit voix). Vers la fin de ce tour de force en contrepoint, Verdi ajoute un effet saisissant de montées et de descentes de la gamme chromatique, jouées fortissimo par chaque instrument, du tuba au piccolo.

L’Agnus Dei, au contraire, est l’essence même de la simplicité. Le solo des soprano et mezzo en ouverture est interprété en douceur et les octaves sont aussi mémorables, à leur façon, que les sorties terrifiantes qui ouvraient le Dies irae. Francis Toye dit de cette musique qu’elle possède une « beauté mystique ». Ce duo de treize mesures est repris de cinq façons différentes, faisant l’objet, chaque fois, d’une orchestration différente : dans la première, le chœur et l’orchestre sont à l’unisson; dans la deuxième, deux solistes (à présent dans des accords mineurs) sont accompagnés de bois et d’altos; dans la troisième (qui ne fait que six mesures), le chœur et l’orchestre sont en harmonie; dans la quatrième, les solistes et trois flûtes sont à l’honneur; et enfin, dans la cinquième, les solistes, le chœur et l’orchestre offrent une nouvelle harmonisation.

Le Lux aeterna s’ouvre sur un fond de violons scintillants en six parties, contre lequel la mezzo-soprano entonne doucement une prière de lumière perpétuelle. La basse reprend cette même prière, mais sur un ton plus solennel et suivant le rythme d’une marche funéraire. Après deux autres répétitions (dont une pour trio solo a cappella), Verdi introduit une partition pour bois presque divine, qui rappelle la délicatesse de la composition de la scène de soirée sur le Nil dans Aïda (ouverture de l’Acte III).

La soprano, muette pendant le Lux aeterna, prend soudainement toute la place en un solo qui ouvre le Libera me. Dans des tons terrifiants qui pourraient très bien être tirés d’un récitatif opératique, elle implore Dieu pour le salut, loin des agonies de l’enfer. À partir de cet instant, le mouvement résume l’ensemble de l’œuvre, faisant écho aux différentes parties de ce gigantesque édifice : il s’agit d’une reprise littérale de l’ouverture du Dies irae, d’un retour sur la musique d’une mystérieuse solennité qui ouvre le Requiem, mais ici adapté pour un solo de soprano et un chœur a cappella. Puis viennent une fugue au rythme soutenu et à la mélodie inversée du Sanctus, et des rappels d’autres passages de l’œuvre. Fait à noter, ce Libera me n’est pas exactement celui que Verdi avait composé pour les célébrations en l’honneur de Rossini cinq ans auparavant; en effet, le mouvement a été quelque peu révisé, notamment sur le plan de l’orchestration. Le Requiem se termine avec le chœur qui entonne une dernière supplication de délivrance, dans un chuchotement presque inaudible qui semble se dissiper dans les derniers recoins du cosmos.

L’impact émotionnel et le pouvoir d’expression du Requiem de Verdi ont suscité d’innombrables éloges. Voici ce qu’en écrivait Herbert Elwell, du Plain Dealer de Cleveland, en 1953 : « On en retient une impression de grandeur comparable à celle de Michel-Ange et de sa Chapelle Sixtine, ou des fanions et des lions d’or de la Basilique Saint-Marc de Venise. On assiste à un véritable déversement de l’esprit dans cette œuvre, qui défie toute description, qui nous fait perdre contenance devant cet énorme courant d’inspiration. »

– Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Chœur

Choristes des chœurs :
Cantata Singers of Ottawa (CSO)
Société chorale d’Ottawa (OCS)

Pianistes de répétition :
Frédéric Lacroix
Scott Richardson

Solistes de répétition :
Lynlee Wolstencroft, soprano
Carole Portelance, mezzo-soprano
Philip Klaassen, ténor
Ryan Hofman, baryton

_________
Soprano
Carol Anderson OCS
Kristi Aruja CSO
Sandra Bason OCS
Stephanie Brassard OCS
Loretta Cassidy OCS
Sheilah Craven OCS
Heather Crowther *
Renée Dahn OCS
Valeria Dimitrova OCS
Kathy Dobbin OCS
Valerie Douglas CSO
Janet Doyle OCS
Carol Fahie OCS
Jane Flook OCS
Janet Fraser OCS
Rachel Gagnon OCS
Deirdre Garcia CSO
Beth Granger OCS
Christy Harris OCS
Natasha Harwood CSO
Julie Henderson OCS
Susan Hodgson *
Susan Joss OCS
Floralove Katz OCS
Sharon Keenan-Hayes CSO
Alison Lamont OCS
Lucie Laneville CSO
Anna Lehn OCS
Joyce Lundberg OCS
Pat MacDonald OCS
Mary Martel-Cantelon OCS
Margaret McCoy OCS
Jessyca Morgan CSO
Colleen Morris CSO
Shailla Nargundkar OCS
Derry Neufeld OCS
Cathy Patton CSO
Nancy Savage OCS
Susan Scott OCS
Jane Sly OCS
Kachusa Szeto *
Ellen Tsai *
Veronique Vonderau *
Uyen Vu OCS
Lynlee Wolstencroft */**
Jean Wylie *
Hiroko Yokota-Adachi CSO
Karen Zarrouki *

Alto
Barbara Ackison CSO
Joan Auden *
Nicole Bélecque *
Ruth Belyea OCS
Frances Berkman OCS
Tracey Brethour *
Trish Brooks CSO
Jennifer Brown OCS
Judy Brush CSO
Frances Buckley OCS
Lisa Callahan OCS
Maureen Carpenter OCS
Sue Chapman OCS
Jackie Clark *
Vickie Classen Iles CSO
Barbara Collins OCS
Barbara Colton OCS
Janet Cover CSO
Jennifer Davis OCS
Margaret Fritz *
Mary Beth Garneau OCS
Mary Gordon CSO
Adele Graf OCS
Carolyn Greve *
Tara Hall *
Lisa Hans OCS
Catherine Helferty *
Paula Helmer OCS
Lisanne Hendelman OCS
Jennifer Hicks OCS
Sharon Hiebert OCS
Pein-Pein Huang CSO
Maureen Hutchinson OCS
Patricia Jackson OCS
Eileen Johnson CSO
Katharine Kirkwood *
Margot Lange *
Grace Mann CSO
Lois Marion OCS
Beth Martin OCS
Nora McBean OCS
Kathryn McCarthy OCS
Andi Murphy CSO
Chantal Phan OCS
Carole Portalance */**
Eileen Reardon OCS
Heather Reid OCS
Peggy Robinson *
Nesta Scott OCS
Elizabeth Shore OCS
Sally Sinclair OCS
Heidi Sprung OCS
Claire Thompson OCS
Danielle Tremblay OCS

Ténor
Vicken Avrikian OCS
Gary Boyd CSO
Noah Bragança OCS
Diane Chevrier OCS
Tim Coonen OCS
Neil Crawford CSO
Kim Current OCS
Marc de La Durantaye *
Charles Donnelly OCS
John Goldsmith OCS
Bill Graham OCS
Toby Greenbaum OCS
Jim Howse OCS
Ross Jewell CSO
Philip Klaassen* */**
Roy Lidstone OCS
Louis Majeau OCS
Alf Mallin OCS
Karl Mann CSO
Michel Marinier OCS
Simon McMillan OCS
John Moffat OCS
Mark Munday *
David Palframan OCS
Sue Postlethwaite OCS
Martin Presenza OCS
Charles Pryce *
Peter Robb *
Kent Siebrasse OCS
JF Tardif *

________
Basse
Paul Badertscher OCS
George Bailey OCS
Ron Bell *
Chris Berry OCS
Terry Brynaert *
Roger Butt OCS
Sholto Cole OCS
Mark Dumbrique CSO
Andrew Hodgson CSO
Ryan Hofman */**
Greg Huyer CSO
Peter Janzen OCS
Björn Johansson CSO
Gary King OCS
Doug MacDonald OCS
Ian MacMillan OCS
Christopher Mallory CSO
J.P. McElhone, CSO
Craig McIntyre OCS
Peter McRae CSO
Gerald Oakham OCS
Bruce Pettipas *
Andrew Rodger OCS
Mathieu Roussel-Lewis OCS
Mathieu Roy OCS
Daniel Savoie CSO
Glen Seeds CSO
Mark Silver OCS
Gavriel Swayze OCS
Tim Thompson OCS
Rodney Williamson *
John Young CSO

* Choriste invité·e  |  ** Soliste de répétition


Menu