BJM (Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal)

Dance Me

I can’t think of a better send off into the summer than with BJM – Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal’s Dance Me, inspired by and featuring the work of the incomparable Leonard Cohen, Montreal’s beloved musical hero.

Dance Me has garnered such great attention and audience response since its premiere, touring to 45 cities in 10 countries on three continents, and even appearing on the big screen. I’m very excited that NAC Dance is able to present a return engagement of this remarkable work for those who missed it the first time around, and those who wish to see it again!

As the company’s most ambitious project to date, the program features the interwoven visions of three internationally-recognized choreographers, under the guiding hand of Director Éric Jean, exploring a range of 15 Cohen songs from early to late in his career. The result is a fitting homage to Cohen’s great art, and a stunning example of the power and beauty of dance.

NAC Dance is honoured to bring you these performances on the traditional, unceded territory of the Algonquin Nation, and we gratefully acknowledge them as past, present, and future stewards of this land.

Enjoy!

Word from the Artistic Director

Time passes, new creations emerge

In more than two decades with BJM, the Dance Me evening, inspired by the massive talent of Leonard Cohen and the artists of the company, is definitely the production that is most personal to me.

How rewarding it is to return to Ottawa with this unifying dance work, which has now been presented in 45 cities and 10 countries on three continents.

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank all the people involved in this production, especially Eric Jean, the show’s writer and director and above all, my faithful comrade in arms.

On behalf of the entire BJM team, I leave you with the words of Mr. Cohen:

We are so privileged to be able to gather in moments like this,

When so much of the world is plunged in darkness and chaos.

There is a crack in everything.

That’s how the light gets in.

Bon voyage, and enjoy the evening.


Dance Me

Dance Me is an exclusive creation inspired by the rich and profound work of Montreal-based poet, artist and songwriter, Leonard Cohen.

Approved by Leonard Cohen during his lifetime, and under the artistic direction of Louis Robitaille and the strong and bold dramaturgy of Eric Jean, this riveting homage to the famed poet-singer-songwriter evokes the grand cycles of existence in five seasons, as described in Cohen’s deeply reflective music and poems.

Three internationally renowned choreographers were entrusted with putting movement to Cohen’s legendary songs: Andonis Foniadakis, Annabelle Lopez Ochoa and Ihsan Rustem. Their powerful and profound choreographic world reflective of Cohen’s singular work is brought to life by 14 BJM performing artists.

Surrounded by a team of celebrated designers, Dance Me combines scenic, visual, musical, dramaturgical and choreographic writing to pay tribute to Montreal’s greatest ambassador. Dance, music, lighting, scenography and videography all come together in this unforgettable show, for which BJM has been granted exclusive dance rights for five years.

List of songs

Suzanne (1967) – So Long, Marianne (1967) – Famous Blue Raincoat (1971) – Lover, Lover, Lover (1974) – Hallelujah (1984) – First We Take Manhattan (1988) – Tower of Song (1988) – Everybody Knows (2001) – Here It Is (2001) – Dance Me to the End of Love (live in London, 2009) – Boogie Street (live in London, 2009) – Nevermind (2014) – Steer Your Way (2016) – It Seemed the Better Way (2016) – String Reprise / Treaty (2016) – A Thousand Kisses Deep (poem)

Credits: Dance Me

World Premiere: December 5. 2017, Danse Danse, Montréal

Ideation: Louis Robitaille

Dramaturgy and Stage Direction: Eric Jean

Choreography: Andonis Foniadakis, Annabelle Lopez Ochoa, Ihsan Rustem 

Principal Dancers: Céline Cassone, Yosmell Calderón
and dancers of the BJM company

Music Direction: Martin Léon 

Music Conception : Alexis Dumais

Scenography and Prop Conception: Pierre-Etienne Locas

Creation Technical Direction: Alexandre Brunet

Lighting Design and Production: Cédric Delorme-Bouchard, Simon Beetschen 

Video Design: HUB Studio – Gonzalo Soldi, Thomas Payette, Jeremy Fassio

Costume Design: Philippe Dubuc 

Costume Production: Anne-Marie Veevaete 

Assistance Stage Direction: Elsa Posnic

Sound Engineer: Guy Fortin

We would like to thank Judy Bronfman for the support given to the creation of the show.


Menu

50% de rabais sur les abonnements - 2 jours seulement - Ne manquez pas ça! (Compte à rebours :
)

BJM (Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal)

Dance Me

Je ne peux imaginer une meilleure manière de célébrer l’été qu’assister au spectacle Dance Me des BJM – Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal, inspiré d’une figure emblématique de la musique montréalaise, l’incomparable Leonard Cohen, et mettant son œuvre à l’honneur.

Depuis sa première, Dance Me a suscité beaucoup d’intérêt et une réponse enthousiaste de la part du public; le spectacle a tourné dans 45 villes de 10 pays, sur trois continents, et a même été vu à l’écran. Je suis ravie que Danse CNA puisse présenter de nouveau ce spectacle à ceux qui l’ont manqué lors de son dernier passage et à tous ceux qui souhaitent le revoir!

Projet le plus ambitieux des BJM à ce jour, Dance Me allie les visions de trois chorégraphes de réputation internationale qui, guidés par le directeur de la compagnie, Éric Jean, explorent l’univers de Cohen à partir d’une quinzaine de chansons illustrant différentes époques de sa carrière. Le résultat est un magnifique hommage au grand art de Leonard Cohen, et un exemple frappant de la splendeur et de la puissance de la danse.

Danse CNA est fière de vous présenter ces prestations en territoire traditionnel non cédé de la Nation algonquine, en qui nous reconnaissons avec gratitude une gardienne du passé, du présent et de l’avenir de ces
terres.

Bon spectacle!

Mot du directeur artistique

Le temps passe et avec lui les créations

Après plus de deux décennies avec les BJM, la soirée Dance Me, portée par le talent monumental de M. Leonard Cohen et celui des artistes de la compagnie, est sans contredit la production qui m’est la plus personnelle.

Quelle belle récompense que de présenter à nouveau à Ottawa cette œuvre dansée rassembleuse qui, depuis sa création a été présentée dans 45 villes et 10 pays sur trois continents.

Permettez-moi de profiter de ce moment pour remercier toutes les personnes qui ont pris part à cette production et spécialement M. Eric Jean, le dramaturge et metteur en scène du spectacle et surtout mon fidèle compagnon d’armes.

Au nom de toute l’équipe des BJM, je vous laisse sur ces mots de M. Cohen :

We are so privileged to be able to gather in moments like this,

When so much of the world is plunged in darkness and chaos.

There is a crack in everything.

That’s how the light gets in.

Bon voyage et bonne soirée.


Dance Me

Dance Me est une création exclusive inspirée de l’œuvre riche et profonde du poète, artiste et auteur-compositeur d’origine montréalaise, Leonard Cohen.

Approuvé par Cohen de son vivant, sous la direction artistique de Louis Robitaille et la dramaturgie scénique, forte et audacieuse d’Eric Jean, ce spectacle unique prend vie en cinq saisons comme autant de cycles de l’existence tels que les a dépeints Leonard Cohen dans son œuvre.

L’écriture chorégraphique du spectacle a été confiée à trois chorégraphes internationaux : Andonis Foniadakis, Annabelle Lopez Ochoa et Ihsan Rustem, pour créer un univers puissant et profond à l’image de l’œuvre du célèbre poète montréalais, sous l’impulsion lumineuse des 14 artistes-interprètes de la compagnie.

Entourée d’une équipe de concepteurs de renom, Dance Me marie ainsi écritures scénique, visuelle, musicale, dramaturgique et chorégraphique pour rendre hommage au plus grand des ambassadeurs Montréalais. Danse, musique, vidéos et éclairages rythment ce spectacle complet et multidisciplinaire, lequel a reçu les droits exclusifs en danse durant cinq années.

Liste des chansons

Suzanne (1967) – So Long, Marianne (1967) – Famous Blue Raincoat (1971) – Lover, Lover, Lover (1974) – Hallelujah (1984) – First We Take Manhattan (1988) – Tower of Song (1988) – Everybody Knows (2001) – Here It Is (2001) – Dance Me to the End of Love (en direct de Londres, 2009) – Boogie Street (en direct de Londres, 2009) – Nevermind (2014) – Steer Your Way (2016) – It Seemed the Better Way (2016) – String Reprise / Treaty (2016) – A Thousand Kisses Deep (poème)

Crédits : Dance Me

Première mondiale : 5 décembre 2017, Danse Danse, Montréal

Idéation : Louis Robitaille

Dramaturgie et mise en scène : Eric Jean

Chorégraphie : Andonis Foniadakis, Annabelle Lopez Ochoa, Ihsan Rustem 

Interprètes principaux : Céline Cassone, Yosmell Calderón
et les interprètes de la compagnie BJM

Direction musicale : Martin Léon 

Conception musicale : Alexis Dumais

Conception-scénographie et accessoires : Pierre-Etienne Locas

Direction technique de création : Alexandre Brunet

Conception et réalisation des éclairages : Cédric Delorme-Bouchard, Simon Beetschen 

Conception vidéo : HUB Studio – Gonzalo Soldi, Thomas Payette, Jeremy Fassio

Conception des costumes : Philippe Dubuc 

Réalisation des costumes : Anne-Marie Veevaete 

Assistance à la mise en scène : Elsa Posnic

Régie sonore : Guy Fortin

Nous tenons à remercier Judy Bronfman pour son soutien à la création du spectacle.


Menu