Britten War Requiem

Reflection

Lest we forget. 

How do we constructively commemorate the cataclysmic events of the Great War? How do we use these days, 100 years after armistice, to remember the unimaginable sacrifice of families and communities on all sides? How do we state, unequivocally, that their sacrifice was not in vain? 

These questions remain a central part of the process of commemoration and each of us must find our own answers. With our performance of Britten’s poignant, haunting War Requiem, dedicated to the memory not only of those who fell in the Great War, but to the victims of all war, we will remember in our own way. 

Central to this performance, and to a week of remembrance through music, is the visit of Germany’s National Youth Orchestra. This is an ensemble close to my heart, an ensemble that represents values of inclusivity, openness, internationalism, discourse and generosity. These musicians represent the best of our youth today, 100 years on, and the promise of our future – engaged, aware, passionate and dedicated. I am proud that they will be sitting side-by-side with Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra, only a few feet away from the National War Memorial, in a gesture of solidarity and optimism. 

I hope that the words of the Requiem Mass, intertwined with the poetry of Wilfred Owen, performed by these two great orchestras from these two liberal, caring countries will serve as a worthy and fitting tribute to our modern ideals, forged in the darkest moments of last century.

Lest we forget.


In Memoriam: Two Brothers

Both Col. J. Ewart Osborne, D.S.O. and his older brother, Col. Henry Campbell Osborne, C.M.G., C.B.E., served Canada during World War I – one in battle, the other as part of the High Command (not in battle). Henry Osborne spent much of the war in London and Ottawa whilst his younger brother, Ewart, fought with his regiment, the 48th Highlanders of Toronto. Ewart was captured in April 1915 at the Second Battle of Ypres and spent four years as a prisoner of war in German prison camps east of Dresden.

Post-war, Henry Osborne became the first Canadian Secretary of the Imperial (now Commonwealth) War Graves Commission, overseeing the creation of cemeteries near the battlefields for Canadian fallen and instrumental in the construction of the Vimy Memorial. Ewart was released to his family waiting in Britain. Perhaps suffering some form of post-traumatic stress disorder (a malady not identified in those days), he refused at first to return to Canada. Only later did he come home.

The universal aftermath for all Canadian and German families touched by the war was the same – loss and change. This performance of Benjamin Britten’s War Requiem, and especially the participation of musicians from both Canada and Germany, is a tribute to everyone affected by the travesty of war.

_____
This concert is dedicated to the memory of Col. J. Ewart Osborne, D.S.O. and Col. Henry Campbell Osborne, C.M.G., C.B.E. The NAC wishes to thank Sarah Jennings and Ian Johns for their generous support of this performance.


Britten

War Requiem

Born in Lowestoft, Suffolk, November 22, 1913
Died in Aldeburgh, December 4, 1976

On Memorial Day, May 30, 1982 in Coventry, England, Pope John Paul II  proclaimed that “today, the scale and the horror of modern warfare, whether nuclear or not, makes it totally unacceptable as a means of settling differences between nations. War should belong to the tragic past, to history; it should find no place on humanity’s agenda for the future.”

Unfortunately, the Pope’s words are still frighteningly relevant in 2018, making a performance of Britten’s War Requiem as potent and meaningful today as the occasion for which it was composed. That occasion was in 1962 to celebrate the consecration of the new Saint Michael’s Cathedral in Coventry. Twenty-two years earlier, on the night of November 14–15, 1940, the Germans had bombed the city in an eleven-hour air raid that left over a thousand people wounded or dead, and destroyed the city centre, including the 14th-century Cathedral. England’s most celebrated composer, and a confirmed pacifist, was commissioned to write an appropriate work for the celebration. It turned out to be the Requiem of the century, on a scale with those of Mozart’s in the 18th century and Verdi’s in the 19th. 

The first performance was given on Memorial Day, 1962. Meredith Davies conducted the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra while Britten led the twelve-member chamber orchestra (the Melos Ensemble). A separate conductor for the chamber orchestra is not really necessary, but Britten was in poor health and unable to lead the full forces of the Requiem, so he was assigned this subsidiary role. Also participating were the Coventry Festival Chorus, the boys’ choir of Holy Trinity, Leamington, and of Holy Trinity, Stratford. 

Britten intended that the three vocal soloists represent three countries that had suffered grievous losses in World War II – England, Germany, Russia. Tenor Peter Pears represented England, baritone Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau represented Germany, and soprano Galina Vishnevskaya was to have represented Russia, but the country’s Ministry of Culture refused to allow her to travel. Heather Harper replaced her for the premiere, though Vishnevskaya was eventually allowed to travel to England for the recording made shortly thereafter. Such was the impact of the event in Coventry that subsequent performances were quickly given in Berlin, Dresden, Vienna, Leningrad, Tokyo and North America. The Canadian premiere went to the Toronto Symphony and the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir conducted by Walter Susskind on November 10, 1964. The two-LP set, released in January 1963 with Britten conducting, sold upwards of 200,000 copies, an almost unbelievable figure for a serious classical release.

The most distinctive feature of Britten’s War Requiem is the interpolation into the traditional Catholic mass of poems by England’s finest poet on the subject of war, Wilfred Owen (1893–1918). Owen was killed in the trenches of France on November 4, 1918, just one week before armistice was declared. The posthumous publication of his 24 Poems in 1920 brought to the world’s attention Owen’s talent, his keen sense of detail, and his ability to express with metrical freedom the immediacy of life on the front. These poems speak powerfully, painfully at times, of the senselessness, the cruelty, the despair, the anguish, the futility, the destructiveness, and sheer horror of war. Britten selected nine of these poems and wove them into the fabric of the liturgical texts. The result was the jarring yet highly effective juxtaposition of the lofty but impersonal Catholic mass with the raw, in-your-face immediacy of the poems. In a sense, Britten’s work became “in many ways a Requiem not really for the dead, nor even for the living, but rather a Requiem for the dying,” wrote Rev. Charles J. Matonti in Choral Journal (October 1983). 

Britten’s work can be seen as existing on three planes (surely a reference to the Holy Trinity), each identified by the forces involved. On one level are the full orchestra, mixed chorus and solo soprano, who present sacred scripture – the text of the Latin Requiem Mass in a formal expression of mourning and the plea for deliverance. On a second plane are the two male soloists who sing with the chamber orchestra; they present the settings of Owen’s poems, symbolizing humanity. On the third plane are the boys’ choir and organ, offering a remote, ethereal vision of calm and peace. Ideally the boys’ choir is placed somewhere offstage, an element unto itself, beyond either sacred or secular. 
 

REQUIEM AETERNAM

Requiem aeternam – A strange, ghostly aura hovers over the opening pages. Distant bells toll. The orchestra struggles forward, as if portraying the tortured, dragging footsteps of the wounded and dying. 

Te decet hymnus – In striking contrast, the boys’ choir interrupts to chant a Psalm verse – a vision of purity and heavenly peace with the promise of deliverance. But it doesn’t last. Full orchestra and chorus pull us back to the world of ceremonial grief.

“What passing bells” – The first of Owen’s poems suddenly springs to life. The tenor, accompanied by the chamber orchestra, sings of the thousands of wasted youth “who die like cattle.” The movement ends with the full chorus, in hushed tones, accompanied only by those haunting bells, singing the Kyrie eleison. The harmonic instability that marks this passage (much use of the tritone) is resolved only in the final chord, sung at the very threshold of audibility.
 

DIES IRAE

Dies irae / Tuba mirum – The Dies irae is the thirteenth-century Latin poem that graphically describes the terrible Day of Judgment about to arrive and the fear of miserable sinners standing before their judge. Most composers depict this scene as a spectacular vision of damnation; Britten does so against a background of trench warfare. Brass fanfares echo around the hall, answering each other from near and far. 

“Bugles sang” – Subdued versions of the brass fanfares, now in the chamber orchestra, accompany the baritone in Owen’s satirical poem about terrified young soldiers hearing bugles “singing” on the eve of battle.

Liber scriptus / Quid sum miser / Rex tremandae – To harsh, forceful phrases, the solo soprano announces that each sinner’s deeds are known and recorded, to which the chorus responds in a quiet plea for guidance. The soprano returns in urgent, terrified pleas for salvation.

“Out there” – For this friendly dialogue for two soldiers, Britten marks in the score that it is to be played “fast and gay,” but the reality of war is anything but gay, and there is nothing “friendly” about the Death these two soldiers expect soon to encounter. The irony is unsettling, even macabre.

Recordare – The gentle, comforting voices of the female chorus make another plea, directly to Jesus, for salvation.

Confutatis – In striking contrast, the male chorus intrudes to the accompaniment of angry snaps from the low brass. 

“Be slowly lifted up” – The baritone describes the “long black arm” of an artillery gun slowly rising, towering over the landscape. Painfully dissonant chords, to be played fortississimo, mark the end of each phrase of the text. Harsh tattoos from the timpani underscore the senseless brutality of the scene. Recurrences of the brass fanfares that announced the Dies irae eventually bring a full refrain of this passage in all its awful terror.

Lacrimosa / “Move him” – When the Dies irae shudders to a stop, the chorus and solo soprano begin their lament of tears and mourning. For the only time in the Requiem, words of the Latin Mass and of Owen’s English poems are heard as a single unit: phrases of the Latin liturgy alternate with phrases of Owen, the former in music of sorrow and solace, the latter in terms of bitter, inexpressible grief as a soldier pitifully, hopelessly, attempts to keep a comrade alive by moving him into the warmth of the sun.

Pie Jesu – The long Dies irae movement – the longest in the Mass – comes to a quiet end with a short passage for the a cappella chorus praying for eternal rest. As in the ending of the first movement, distant bells punctuate the phrases of the chorus, and the final chord fades into inaudibility.

OFFERTORIUM

Domine Jesu Christe – The tremendous tension and anxiety of the Dies irae are dispelled by the cool, distant sound of the boys’ choir, not heard for over half an hour, appealing for deliverance for the faithful from the fate of hell.

Sed signifier / Quam olim Abrahae / “So Abram rose” – A brief prelude (Sed signifier) leads into a lively fugue (Quam olim Abrahae). The chorus proclaims that St. Michael will lead the faithful into the path of light as promised to Abraham and his seed. Tenor and baritone in turn begin to relate the biblical story of Abraham preparing to sacrifice his son Isaac as God commanded. But matters take a horrible, wrong turn in Owen’s poem: instead of substituting a ram for his son, Abraham kills him, along with “half the seed of Europe, one by one” – a potent metaphor for the mindless slaughter of youth in the war. 

Hostias / Quam olim Abrahae – The bitter irony continues as the boys’ choir recalls the promise of salvation while tenor and baritone repeatedly interject reminders about “half the seed of Europe” being sacrificed. In hushed tones, the full chorus returns with a last reminder about God’s promise to Abraham.

SANCTUS

Sanctus / Pleni sunt – To an accompaniment of shimmering, clanging percussion, the soprano sings the text of the Sanctus. The chorus responds in a free elaboration of the Pleni sunt, building to an enormous climax. 

Hosanna in excelsis / Benedictus / Hosanna – Blazing fanfares from the brass and joyous Hosannas from the chorus temporarily take us far from the reality of war and suffering. The solo soprano’s Benedictus and choral responses lend a more intimate, subdued tone to the proceedings. 

“After the blast of lightning” – Suddenly we are back in the theatre of war for the grimmest, most despairing and nihilistic of Owen’s poems.

AGNUS DEI

“One ever hangs” / Agnus Dei – In music of sublime simplicity and haunting beauty, solo tenor and chamber orchestra alternate with the full orchestra and chorus, the former delivering Owen’s poem about the contrast between those who encourage war and those who actually fight, the latter reiterating the prayer for eternal rest. The seamless line of the two alternating strands serves as a potent metaphor fusing the personal and the liturgical.

LIBERA ME

Libera me / Dies illa, dies irae – Beginning almost inaudibly as a muffled tread, the music builds slowly, inexorably, with ever-increasing urgency and terror, to the War Requiem’s loudest moment – one of the most horrendous, cataclysmic, terrifying outbursts ever unleashed from a concert stage. 

“Strange meeting” – When the dust settles, we hear the last of Owen’s poems, a doomsday scenario delivered in a mood so numb with grief and spiritual desolation as to defy description. 

In paradisum – In a gesture of reconciliation, for the first and only time in the War Requiem, all the forces are combined. Both choirs, both orchestras, and the three soloists conjure up visions of entry into Paradise. The last words, “Requiescant in pace, Amen,” go to the full chorus alone, but it is a restless, uneasy peace. The spectre of future wars remains… 

November 9, 2018: The NAC Orchestra is performing Benjamin Britten’s War Requiem for the first time.

Program notes by Robert Markow


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Le War Requiem de Britten

Réflexion

N’oublions jamais. 

Comment commémorer de façon constructive les événements cataclysmiques de la Grande Guerre? Comment tirer parti de ces journées, 100 ans après l’Armistice, pour se souvenir du massacre inconcevable de familles et de collectivités dans tous les camps? Comment affirmer, sans équivoque, que leur sacrifice n’a pas été vain? 

Ces questions restent capitales dans le processus de commémoration, et il appartient à chacun d’y apporter ses propres réponses. En interprétant le poignant et obsédant War Requiem de Britten, dédié à la mémoire des victimes non seulement de la Première Guerre mondiale, mais de toutes les guerres, nous évoquons le passé à notre manière. 

L’un des faits saillants de ce concert, et de cette semaine du souvenir par la musique, est la visite de l’Orchestre national des jeunes d’Allemagne. C’est un ensemble cher à mon cœur, qui incarne des valeurs d’inclusion, d’ouverture, d’internationalisme, de dialogue et de générosité. Ces musiciens représentent le meilleur de notre jeunesse actuelle, 100 ans plus tard, et la promesse d’un avenir engagé, conscient, passionné et dévoué. Je suis fier de les voir prendre place aux côtés de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada, à quelques mètres à peine du Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada, dans un élan de solidarité et d’optimisme. 

J’espère que les mots, alliés à la poésie de Wilfred Owen, de la messe de requiem interprétée par ces deux grands orchestres de deux pays libéraux et humains apparaîtront comme un hommage digne et approprié à nos idéaux modernes, forgés aux heures les plus sombres du dernier siècle.

N’oublions jamais.

À la mémoire de deux frères

Le colonel J. Ewart Osborne, O.S.D., et son frère aîné, le colonel Henry Campbell Osborne, C.M.G., C.B.E., ont tous deux servi le Canada durant la Première Guerre mondiale : le premier sur les champs de bataille, et le second au sein du haut commandement. Henry a passé une bonne partie de la guerre à Londres et à Ottawa, tandis que son cadet a combattu avec son régiment, le 48th Highlanders de Toronto. Ewart a été capturé en avril 1915 lors de la deuxième bataille d’Ypres. Il a passé quatre ans dans les camps de prisonniers allemands à l’est de Dresde.

Après la guerre, Henry, devenu premier secrétaire pour le Canada de la Commission des sépultures de guerre de l’Empire (maintenant du Commonwealth), a supervisé la création de cimetières près des champs de bataille où des soldats canadiens ont perdu la vie et a joué un rôle central dans la construction du Mémorial national du Canada à Vimy. À la suite de sa libération, Ewart a, quant à lui, retrouvé sa famille, qui l’attendait en Grande-Bretagne. Souffrant probablement d’une forme de stress post-traumatique (qu’on ne connaissait pas encore à l’époque), il a d’abord refusé de rentrer au Canada, pour se raviser plus tard.

En Allemagne comme au Canada, les familles ont été universellement touchées par la guerre, subissant pertes et changements. Cette prestation du War Requiem de Benjamin Britten, qui a la particularité d’unir des musiciens du Canada et de l’Allemagne, est un hommage à ceux qui ont souffert de la guerre.

_____
Concert à la mémoire du colonel J. Ewart Osborne, O.S.D. et du colonel Henry Campbell Osborne, C.M.G., C.B.E.. Le CNA remercie chaleureusement Sarah Jennings et Ian Johns pour leur généreux soutien de cet événement.

Britten

War Requiem

Lowestoft, Suffolk, 22 novembre 1913
Aldeburgh, 4 décembre 1976

Le 30 mai 1982, à Coventry, en Angleterre, à l’occasion du Memorial Day, le pape Jean‑Paul II déclarait : « Aujourd’hui, l’ampleur et l’horreur de la guerre moderne, nucléaire ou non, la rendent totalement inacceptable pour régler les différends entre les nations. La guerre devrait appartenir au passé tragique, à l’histoire ; elle ne devrait pas faire partie des projets de l’humanité. »

Les mots du pape restent terriblement pertinents de nos jours, hélas, ce qui rend une prestation du War Requiem de Britten aussi forte et chargée de sens en 2018 qu’à l’occasion pour laquelle elle a été composée, la reconstruction de la cathédrale Saint-Michel à Coventry en 1962. Vingt-deux ans plus tôt, dans la nuit du 14 au 15 novembre 1940, les Allemands avaient bombardé la ville au cours d’un raid aérien, d’une durée de on heures, qui avait fait un millier de morts et blessés, et détruit le cœur de la cité, dont la cathédrale du XIVe siècle. On a fait appel au compositeur le plus célèbre d’Angleterre, Britten, un pacifiste convaincu, pour écrire une œuvre pour la cérémonie. Il en a résulté le Requiem du XXe siècle, qui rivalise en importance avec ceux de Mozart au XVIIIe siècle et de Verdi au XIXe

La première création de l’œuvre eut lieu le 30 mai 1962. Meredith Davies dirigeait l’Orchestre symphonique de la ville de Birmingham, tandis que l’Ensemble Melos était sous la conduite du compositeur lui-même. L’orchestre de chambre de 12 musiciens n’avait pas réellement besoin d’un chef d’orchestre distinct pour exécuter le War Requiem, mais la mauvaise santé de Britten ne lui permettait pas de diriger les effectifs considérables requis par son oeuvre, aussi lui avait-on confié ce rôle secondaire. Le Coventry Festival Chorus, le chœur des garçons de l’église de la Sainte‑Trinité de Leamington et celui de l’église de la Sainte‑Trinité de Stratford ont également pris part à la création. 

Britten avait prévu que les trois chanteurs solistes représentent trois pays qui avaient subi de lourdes pertes pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, soient l’Angleterre, l’Allemagne et l’URSS. Le ténor Peter Pears représentait l’Angleterre, le baryton Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, l’Allemagne; la soprano Galina Vichnevskaïa devait chanter au nom de l’URSS, mais le ministère de la Culture de ce pays refusa de l’autoriser à voyager. Cette dernière fut donc remplacée par Heather Harper pour la première prestation, mais put se rendre en Angleterre peu après pour l’enregistrement de l’œuvre. Le concert de Coventry connut un tel retentissement qu’il fut bientôt suivi de présentations à Berlin, Dresde, Vienne, Leningrad et Tokyo, ainsi qu’en Amérique du Nord. C’est à l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto et au Chœur Mendelssohn de Toronto, sous la conduite de Walter Susskind, que revint l’honneur d’en donner la première canadienne, le 10 novembre 1964. L’album double lancé en 1963, avec Britten à la direction d’orchestre, s’est écoulé à plus de 200 000 exemplaires, un exploit renversant pour un enregistrement de musique classique.

La principale caractéristique du War Requiem de Britten est qu’il associe au cérémonial du Requiem catholique romain la poésie de Wilfred Owen (1893–1918), le plus grand poète anglais de la Première Guerre mondiale. Owen trouva la mort dans les tranchées de France le 4 novembre 1918, une semaine avant l’Armistice. La publication posthume de ses 24 Poems, en 1920, a révélé au monde le talent d’Owen, son sens aigu du détail, et son habileté à évoquer, en vers libres, la réalité toute crue de la vie au front. Douloureux par moments, ces poèmes décrivent avec force l’absurdité, la cruauté, la misère, l’angoisse, la futilité, la dévastation et l’horreur de la guerre. Britten a sélectionné neuf de ces poèmes et les a insérés dans la trame des textes liturgiques. Le résultat est une juxtaposition discordante, et néanmoins d’une redoutable efficacité, de la grandeur quelque peu impersonnelle de la messe catholique et de la représentation sans fard des poèmes de guerre. L’œuvre de Britten est devenue « à maints égards, un Requiem non tant pour les morts, ni même pour les vivants, mais plutôt pour les agonisants », selon le révérend Charles J. Matonti (Choral Journal, octobre 1983). 

On peut considérer que l’œuvre de Britten s’articule sur trois plans (sans doute en référence à la sainte Trinité), correspondant chacun aux effectifs mis à contribution. Le premier groupe est formé par l’orchestre entier, le chœur mixte et la soprano soliste, qui présentent les saintes Écritures, le texte de la messe de Requiem en latin, expression codifiée du deuil et prière de délivrance. Le second regroupe les deux chanteurs solistes masculins accompagnés par l’orchestre de chambre; ils interprètent les poèmes d’Owen mis en musique, symbole d’humanité. Enfin, le troisième groupe est composé du chœur de garçons et de l’orgue, offrant une vision lointaine, éthérée, de tranquillité et de paix; idéalement, le chœur de garçons est placé à l’écart de la scène, pour constituer un élément à part entière transcendant sacré et profane. 
 

REQUIEM AETERNAM

Requiem aeternam – Un halo insolite, fantomatique, pèse sur l’ouverture de l’œuvre : des cloches sonnent au loin; l’orchestre semble avancer avec difficulté, comme pour évoquer les pas douloureux, titubants, des blessés et des agonisants. 

Te decet hymnus – Le chœur de garçons offre un contraste saisissant en s’interposant pour entonner un verset de psaume – une vision de la pureté et de la paix céleste avec la promesse d’une délivrance. Mais le répit est de courte durée. Le tutti orchestral et le chœur nous replongent bientôt dans le rite du deuil.

« Quel glas sonnera » – Le premier des poèmes d’Owen surgit tout à coup. Le ténor, accompagné par l’orchestre de chambre, évoque les milliers de jeunes gens qui « meurent comme du bétail ». Le mouvement s’achève avec le chœur entier, accompagné par ces cloches obsédantes, qui reprend sur un ton étouffé le Kyrie eleison. L’instabilité harmonique qui caractérise ce passage (faisant un usage abondant du triton) ne se résout que dans l’accord final, à peine audible.

DIES IRAE

Dies irae / Tuba mirum – Le Dies irae est un poème latin du XIIIe siècle décrivant crûment la terrible arrivée du Jugement Dernier, et la crainte des misérables pécheurs qui se tiennent devant leur juge. La plupart des compositeurs décrivent cette scène comme une vision spectaculaire de la damnation; Britten l’évoque sur fond de guerre de tranchées. Des fanfares de cuivres se répercutent et se répondent à travers la salle.

« Les clairons sonnaient » – Des versions étouffées des fanfares de cuivres, émanant cette fois de l’orchestre de chambre, accompagnent le baryton dans le poème satirique d’Owen qui évoque la terreur de jeunes soldats entendant les clairons « chanter » avant la bataille.

Liber scriptus / Quid sum miser / Rex tremandae – Sur des phrases criardes et violentes, la soprano annonce que les actions de chaque pécheur sont connues et répertoriées, ce à quoi le chœur répond par une humble prière demandant qu’on l’éclaire. La soprano revient avec une requête de salut urgente et terrifiée.

« Là-bas » – Pour ce dialogue amical entre deux soldats, Britten indique sur la partition que ce passage doit être joué « rapidement et joyeusement »; mais la réalité de la guerre n’a rien de joyeux, et la Mort que ces deux soldats s’apprêtent à rencontrer est tout sauf « amicale ». L’ironie est troublante, voire macabre.

Recordare – Les voix douces et réconfortantes du chœur féminin formulent une autre prière de salut, adressée directement à Jésus Christ.

Confutatis – sur une pétarade furieuse des cuivres graves, le chœur masculin fait irruption et offre un contraste saisissant. 

« Lève-toi lentement » – Le baryton décrit le « long bras noir » d’une pièce d’artillerie s’élevant lentement, dominant le paysage. Des accords douloureusement dissonants, qui doivent être joués fortississimo, ponctuent chaque phrase du texte. Le rude martèlement militaire des timbales met en relief la brutalité aveugle de la scène. Les fanfares de cuivres, qui avaient annoncé le Dies irae, complètent ce passage dans toute son épouvante.

Lacrimosa / « Amenez-le doucement » – Quand le Dies irae prend fin en un soubresaut, le chœur et la soprano entament leur lamentation d’affliction et de deuil. C’est le seul passage de tout le Requiem dans lequel les mots de la messe en latin se mêlent à ceux de la poésie anglaise d’Owen : les phrases de la liturgie latine alternent avec les vers d’Owen, les premières sur une musique de chagrin et de consolation, les seconds exprimant une tristesse indicible, remplie d’amertume, alors qu’un soldat pitoyable tente désespérément de maintenir en vie un camarade blessé, en le traînant dans la chaleur du soleil.

Pie Jesu – Le long Dies irae – le plus long mouvement de la messe de Requiem – s’achève dans une ambiance apaisée sur un court passage dans lequel le chœur prie a cappella pour le repos éternel des défunts. Comme à la fin du premier mouvement, des cloches lointaines ponctuent les phrases du chœur, et les derniers accords se dissolvent dans le silence.

OFFERTORIUM

Domine Jesu Christe – Les tensions et les angoisses presque insoutenables du Dies irae sont dissipées par le son apaisant et lointain du chœur des garçons, qui s’était fait silencieux depuis plus d’une demi-heure, appelant à la libération des fidèles des affres de l’enfer.

Sed signifier / Quam olim Abrahae / « Et Abraham se leva » – Un court prélude (Sed signifier) débouche sur une fugue enlevée (Quam olim Abrahae). Le chœur proclame que saint Michel guidera les fidèles sur le chemin de la lumière, conformément à la promesse faite à Abraham et à ses descendants. Le ténor et le baryton évoquent le récit biblique d’Abraham qui s’apprête à sacrifier son fils Isaac comme Dieu le lui a ordonné. Mais les événements prennent un tour tragique dans le poème d’Owen : au lieu de substituer un bélier à son fils, Abraham le tue, en même temps qu’il supprime « la moitié du lignage de l’Europe, un par un » – une puissante métaphore du massacre insensé de la jeunesse au cours de la guerre. 

Hostias / Quam olim Abrahae – L’ironie amère se maintient alors que le chœur des garçons rappelle la promesse de salut tandis que le ténor et le baryton évoquent à répétition le sacrifice de « la moitié du lignage de l’Europe ». Sur un ton feutré, le chœur entier réitère une dernière fois la promesse faite par Dieu à Abraham.

SANCTUS

Sanctus / Pleni sunt – La soprano chante le texte du Sanctus accompagnée par des percussions métalliques. Le chœur y répond dans un développement libre du Pleni sunt, jusqu’à atteindre un vertigineux paroxysme. 

Hosanna in excelsis / Benedictus / Hosanna – Les fanfares éclatantes des cuivres et le joyeux Hosanna du chœur permettent d’échapper un instant à la réalité et aux souffrances de la guerre. Le Benedictus de la soprano et les réponses du chœur suggèrent un instant plus intime et apaisant. 

« Après la foudre » – Mais on est replongé tout à coup dans la guerre sur le terrain, pour le plus lugubre, désespérant et nihiliste des poèmes d’Owen.

AGNUS DEI

« On reste toujours là » / Agnus Dei – Sur une musique d’une sublime simplicité et d’une envoûtante beauté, le ténor et l’orchestre de chambre alternent avec l’orchestre entier et le chœur, les premiers entonnant le poème d’Owen qui met en relief le contraste entre ceux qui prêchent la guerre et ceux qui se battent sur le front, tandis que les seconds réitèrent la prière pour le repos éternel des morts. La fluidité avec laquelle alternent les deux groupes agit comme une puissante métaphore unissant l’expérience personnelle et la liturgie.

LIBERA ME

Libera me / Dies illa, dies irae – D’abord assourdie, presque inaudible, la musique gagne peu à peu en volume, lentement, inexorablement, prenant progressivement de l’ampleur, distillant un sentiment toujours plus oppressant d’urgence et de terreur, jusqu’au moment le plus bruyant du War Requiem – l’une des explosions orchestrales les plus effroyables, cataclysmiques et terrifiantes qui aient jamais retenti dans une salle de concert. 

« Étrange rencontre » – Alors que la poussière retombe, on entend le dernier des poèmes d’Owen, un scénario apocalyptique livré sur un ton si accablé de chagrin et de dévastation spirituelle qu’il défie toute description. 

In Paradisum – En un élan de réconciliation, pour la première et seule fois de tout le War Requiem, tous les effectifs sont combinés. Les deux chœurs, les deux orchestres et les trois solistes évoquent des visions d’entrée au Paradis. Les dernières paroles, « Requiescant in pace, Amen », sont confiées au chœur seul, mais la paix invoquée demeure inquiétante et précaire. Le spectre des guerres à venir plane toujours… 

9 novembre 2018 : L’Orchestre du CNA interprète le War Requiem de Benjamin Britten pour la première fois.

Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Menu