Handel’s Messiah

Handel’s Messiah is certainly one of the most popular choral works of all times. The magnificent music by Handel is as divine as it is earthy and direct, and very characteristic of the genius of the great German composer. There are many legends and anecdotes regarding this oratorio, which exists in several versions. All these versions were authorized by the composer, proving that Handel was a practical man, a man of theatre, who was always able to make the best out of his available “ingredients.”


The NAC Orchestra first performed Messiah in December 1970 led by Mario Bernardi with soloists Pauline Tinsley (soprano), Maureen Forrester (mezzo-soprano), Seth McCoy (tenor) and Donald Bell (bass-baritone). The Orchestra has performed it almost every December since then.


Handel

Messiah, HWV 56

GEORGE FRIDERIC HANDEL
Born in Halle, February 23, 1685
Died in London, April 14, 1759

“Handel’s Messiah is more than a piece of music; it is a monument of Western civilization which has, across the two and a half centuries since it was written, acquired the status of a myth.” These words of the British critic and historian Nicholas Kenyon suitably summarize the view of Messiah in the West, for few works in the entire history of music have engendered such widespread appeal through inspirational beauty. If “the characterizing trait of all authentic masterpieces is their capacity for infinite self-renewal,” as critic Lawrence Gilman once observed, then Messiah rests securely fixed as a gleaming star in the firmament of masterpieces. Surely it represents the single best-known and most often performed example of oratorio.

Messiah’s continuing overwhelming popularity, which extends back to Handel’s own time, would have surprised its creator. He regarded himself first and foremost as a dramatic composer, which meant a writer of operas, and it is chiefly for opera that he would expect to be remembered today. For over two decades, Handel was lionized as the greatest of English composers (despite his German birth and Italian training), and Londoners flocked to see his forty-plus operas produced between 1711 (the year of his arrival in London) and the late 1730s. But the fickle public grew tired of opera, and by the mid-thirties it was finished as a popular draw. Something new was needed to attract the public, something perhaps uniquely English.

Handel rose to the occasion by creating the English oratorio, beginning with Esther in 1732 and continuing over the next quarter century with 22 more. These works used English (not Italian) texts, and drew their subject matter mostly from Old Testament stories, with which the English particularly identified. The oratorio as Handel fashioned it was essentially an unstaged drama employing all the same musico-dramatic ingredients of opera: recitative, arioso, aria, solo ensemble, chorus, and dramatic characterizations, but without the trappings of sets, costumes and physical movement. Additionally, the role of the chorus was raised to far greater importance in oratorio.

The idea for Messiah (Handel’s autograph manuscript bears no article) came from Charles Jennens, a musical amateur and something of a literary figure, with whom Handel had worked on other choral works. Drawing nearly all his texts from Old Testament sources (principally the Authorized English Bible of 1611), Jennens fashioned a meditative framework in which the whole of Christ’s life and work is laid out: the prophecies of His coming, His birth and the subsequent rejoicing, His life, the Passion, Resurrection and hope for His Second Coming.

The first performance of Messiah took place on April 13, 1742 at Neale’s Music Hall in Dublin. It was a stunning success, but subsequent performances in London during the next few years met with cool reception. Then, in 1750, it caught on, and from that year its popularity never slackened. Handel died nine years later, eight days after his last public appearance at a Messiah performance. But Messiah continued to live, to grow, in fact, to assume monstrous proportions.

The concept of Messiah as musical myth, as something larger than life, took hold at the first great Handel Commemoration in 1784, where the chorus numbered 275, the largest choral force ever assembled for a single performance to date (most performances in Handel’s lifetime employed a chorus of about twenty), and an orchestra of 250 assisted. The inflation continued throughout the nineteenth century. In 1843, the Musical Examiner asked, “Who ever heard of a choir too large for Handel?” Apparently few had, for in 1857, Boston’s Handel and Haydn Society gave a performance with somewhere between 600 and 700 voices. Two years later, at the Great Handel Commemoration Festival marking the centenary of the composer’s death, we find a chorus of 2,765 and an orchestra of 460. For Boston’s Grand National Celebration of Peace in 1869, the “Hallelujah Chorus” was performed by a staggering force of 10,000 voices and 500 instrumentalists.

Now the pendulum has swung again in the opposite direction. Over the past several decades,  modern scholarship has emphasized the relative paucity of performing forces in Handel’s day, and there have been numerous recordings and live performances that adhere to one or another versions of a score that Handel used.  However, it is appropriate to remind ourselves at this point that there is no such thing as an “authentic” Messiah. Nor can we speak of a “definitive” version or a “complete” version. Right from the date of completion of the score in September 1741, until Handel’s death 18 years later, the composer constantly revised, altered and modified Messiah in accordance with the exigencies of individual performances. These changes took the form of transposing numbers to suit the range of the vocal soloists, omitting numbers entirely if they proved too difficult, abridging them if time were a factor, rearranging them for reasons of pacing, inserting additional material, inflating the choir, incorporating extra orchestral instruments, and so forth, much as a Broadway show today is subjected to the same process.

Like other Handel oratorios, Messiah is divided into three parts. Part I tells of the coming of Christ as related in Old Testament prophecies. His birth is announced, again in Old Testament scripture (“For unto us a Child is born”), and an angel tells shepherds in the fields the good tidings. Peace on earth and the redemption of humankind are at hand.

Part II speaks of the Passion, Resurrection (again, almost entirely through Old Testament prophecy) and the spread of the gospel. The great vision of Christ’s triumph and glory is revealed in the concluding “Hallelujah Chorus” to words from the book of Revelation.

The theme of Part III is announced by the soprano’s words, “My Redeemer liveth… and shall stand at the latter day upon the earth” – an expression of faith in redemption and rebirth symbolized in the view of Christ’s Second Coming. Messiah’s final vision, in a setting of unsurpassed musical grandeur, is that of Christ, the Lamb of God, sitting on the throne in all eternity.

In conclusion, the words of former Cleveland Orchestra annotator Klaus G. Roy provide a fitting commentary on Messiah’s near-mythic role in our lives: “Handel’s Messiah seems to be, like nature itself, unchangeable yet ever-changing. It has been produced in versions almost too numerous to count, in abridgements, in expansions, in contemporary dress both stylish and styleless, in auditoriums acoustically perfect or ludicrously inappropriate, in little churches and in vast cathedrals. It has put up with presentations that observed the letter and lost the spirit and with many more that somehow found the spirit without observing more than a minimum of the letter. To some it has represented religion personified; to others, religious art, and to yet others, art. For some it has been made hateful by distortion, by overuse, by sheer boredom. For others it has been the one art work the regular ‘consumption’ of which was their primary contact with great music. And for still others who had avoided hearing it until – in their view – conditions were likely to be right, it has proved revelatory. All these things, and more, Messiah has been and continues to be. It takes a work of extraordinary substance to exert such perennial power over humankind.”

By Robert Markow

Chorus

Choristers from:
Cantata Singers of Ottawa (CSO)
Capital Chamber Choir (CCC)
Ewashko Singers (ES)

Rehearsal Pianist: Claire Stevens
Chorus Manager: Andi Murphy

Soprano
Donna Ager (ES)
Kristi Aruja (CSO)
Rosemary Cairns Way (ES)
Nadine Dawson (CSO)
Valerie Douglas (CSO)
Maura Forrest (CCC)
Deirdre Garcia (CSO)
Jennie Glassco (CCC)
Cait Hurcomb (CCC)
Sharon Keenan-Hayes (CSO)
Allison Kennedy (ES)
Sumin Lee (CCC)
Erica Loughlin (CSO)
Ilene McKenna (ES)
Jessyca Morgan (CSO)
Colleen Morris (CSO)
Christine Muggeridge (ES)
Sophia Nickel (CSO)
Cathy Patton (CSO)
Julie Payette
Aude Pull (CCC)
Kristina Roudiy (CSO)
Hannah Searson (CCC)
Mackenzie Stone (CCC)
Nicole Van Oosten (CCC)
Anna von Holtzendorff (CSO)

Alto
Barbara Ackison (CSO)
Wanda Allard (ES)
Pat Beckett (CCC)
Trish Brooks (CSO)
Judy Brush (CSO)
Elizabeth Burbidge (ES)
Vickie Classen Iles (CSO)
Janet Cover (CSO)
Nichole Ekkert-Vine (CSO)
Ellie Glantz (CCC)
Carolyn Greve (CCC)
Rachel Hotte (ES)
Pein-Pein Huang (CSO)
Eileen Johnson (CSO)
Caroline Johnston (ES)
Grace Mann (CSO)
Janessa Mann (CCC)
Jessica McClay (CCC)
Andi Murphy (CSO)
Reba Sigler (ES)
Topp Tolson (ES)
Caren Weinstein (ES)
Diana Zahab (ES)
Mary Zborowski (ES)

Tenor
Gary Boyd (CSO)
Cameron Climie (CCC)
Christian Damus (CCC)
Dorian Gerdes (CSO)
Louis Jacques (CCC)
Ross Jewell (CSO)
Mann Karl (CSO)
Philip Klaassen (ES)
David Lafranchise (ES)
Grayson Nesbitt (ES)
Demetry Prezelj (ES)
Aaron Shenkman (CSO)
Aidan Shenkman (CSO)

Bass
Wallace Beaton (CSO)
Mike Bulthuis (CSO)
Phillip Burness (CCC)
Grant Cameron (ES)
Erik de Vries (ES)
Mark Dumbrique (CSO)
Alain Franchomme (ES)
Andrew Hodgson (CSO)
Greg Huyer (CSO)
Björn Johansson (CSO)
Nathan Maclean-Max (CCC)
Christopher Mallory (CCC)
Kevin Marimbu (ES)
J.P. McElhone (CSO)
Ronan Pouliquen (ES)
Peter Reilly-Roe (CSO)
Stephen Slessor (ES)
Madox Terrell (CCC)
Mike Vanier (CSO)
Paul Whiteley (CCC)
John Young (CSO)


Menu

Le Messie de Haendel

Le Messie de Haendel est incontestablement l’une des œuvres chorales les plus populaires de tous les temps. La superbe musique de Haendel est aussi divine que temporelle et immédiate, et tout à fait caractéristique du génie de ce grand compositeur allemand. Les légendes et les anecdotes abondent au sujet de cet oratorio, dont il existe plusieurs versions. Toutes ces versions ont été agréées par le compositeur, ce qui démontre que Haendel était avant tout pragmatique, en homme de théâtre qui savait toujours tirer le meilleur parti des « ingrédients » dont il disposait.

C’est en décembre 1970 que l’Orchestre du CNA a interprété pour la première fois le Messie, sous la direction de Mario Bernardi, avec les solistes Pauline Tinsley (soprano), Maureen Forrester (mezzo-soprano), Seth McCoy (ténor) et Donald Bell (baryton-basse). Depuis, l’Orchestre l’a pratiquement mis à l’affiche chaque année, en décembre.

Haendel

Le Messie, HWV 56

GEORGE FRIDERIC HAENDEL
Halle, 23 février 1685
Londres, 14 avril 1759

« Le Messie de Haendel est plus qu’une œuvre musicale, c’est un monument de la civilisation occidentale qui, deux siècles et demi après avoir été composé, est aujourd’hui un véritable mythe. » C’est dans ces termes que le critique et historien britannique Nicholas Kenyon résume fort à propos la place du Messie dans le monde occidental, car, dans toute l’histoire de la musique, peu d’œuvres ont suscité un attrait aussi universel en raison de leur inspirante beauté. Si, comme l’affirme le critique Lawrence Gilman, « la caractéristique de tous les véritables chefs-d’œuvre est leur capacité à se renouveler à l’infini », Le Messie est assuré de demeurer une étoile brillante au firmament des chefs-d’œuvre. C’est sans conteste l’oratorio le plus connu et le plus souvent interprété.

La popularité irrésistible et continue du Messie, qui remonte à l’époque même de Haendel, aurait surpris son créateur. En effet, ce dernier envisageait son rôle d’abord et avant tout comme celui de compositeur dramatique, c’est-à-dire de créateur d’opéras, et c’est surtout en cette qualité qu’il pensait atteindre la postérité. Pendant plus de deux décennies, Haendel fut adulé et compté au nombre des plus grands compositeurs anglais (malgré le fait qu’il était né en Allemagne et avait été formé en Italie); les Londoniens se rendirent en masse écouter la quarantaine d’opéras qu’il produisit entre 1711 (année de son arrivée à Londres) et la fin des années 1730. Mais le public inconstant se lassa de l’opéra qui, vers le milieu des années 1730, cessa d’attirer les foules. Il fallait quelque chose de nouveau et de typiquement anglais pour intéresser les auditoires.

Haendel se montra à la hauteur de la tâche en créant l’oratorio anglais, présentant Esther, première œuvre du genre, en 1732, puis 22 autres au cours des 25 années qui suivirent. Composées sur des paroles en anglais (et non un livret italien), ces œuvres avaient pour thèmes des épisodes principalement tirés de l’Ancien Testament, que les Anglais connaissaient bien. L’oratorio, tel que Haendel le façonna, était essentiellement une œuvre dramatique employant les mêmes ingrédients musicaux et dramatiques que l’opéra – récitatif, arioso, aria, ensemble soliste, chœur et personnages –, mais mettant de côté les éléments de mise en scène que sont le décor, les costumes et le jeu des acteurs. Les chœurs gagnent en outre en importance dans l’oratorio.

L’idée du Messie provient de Charles Jennens, mélomane et figure du monde littéraire avec lequel Haendel avait collaboré à d’autres œuvres chorales. Tirant presque tous ses textes de l’Ancien Testament (principalement de la King James Bible de 1611), Jennens composa un canevas méditatif évoquant toute la vie et l’œuvre du Christ : les prophéties de Sa venue; Sa naissance et l’allégresse qui l’a accompagnée; des épisodes de Sa vie; la Passion; la Résurrection; et l’espoir de Son retour.

La création du Messie connut un succès retentissant, le 13 avril 1742 au Neale’s Music Hall de Dublin, mais les représentations données à Londres dans les années suivantes reçurent un accueil mitigé. En 1750, l’œuvre prit son essor et sa popularité ne s’est jamais démentie depuis. Haendel mourut neuf ans plus tard, huit jours après être apparu pour la dernière fois en public au cours, justement, d’une prestation du Messie. Mais l’œuvre continua de vivre, de se développer, prenant même des proportions colossales.

Le Messie est devenu un mythe musical plus grand que nature à l’occasion de la première grande commémoration tenue en l’honneur de Haendel en 1784; on avait alors réuni un chœur de 275 voix, le plus grand jamais assemblé jusqu’alors pour un seul concert (du vivant de Haendel, on se contentait d’un chœur d’une vingtaine de personnes), auquel un orchestre de 250 musiciens venait prêter main-forte. Cette inflation des exécutants s’est poursuivie tout au long du XIXe siècle. « Qui a déjà entendu un chœur trop grand pour Haendel? », demandait le Musical Examiner en 1843. Apparemment peu de gens, puisqu’en 1857, la Haendel and Haydn Society de Boston donna une représentation réunissant entre 600 et 700 choristes. Deux ans plus tard, le Messie fut donné avec un chœur de 2 765 voix et un orchestre de 460 musiciens dans le cadre d’un grand festival célébrant le centenaire de la mort du compositeur. Pendant le Jubilé national de la paix à Boston, en 1869, le chœur de l’« Alléluia » fut exécuté par un ensemble de 10 000 choristes et 500 instrumentistes!

De nos jours, on assiste au retour du balancier. Depuis une vingtaine d’années, les musicologues soulignent les dimensions relativement modestes des ensembles de l’époque de Haendel, et on compte de nombreux enregistrements et représentations en public se fondant sur l’une des partitions dont se servait le compositeur. Il faut cependant rappeler que l’on ne peut parler de version « authentique », « définitive » ou « complète » du Messie. En effet, entre le moment où il mit la dernière main à la partition, en septembre 1741, et sa mort 18 ans plus tard, Haendel révisa et modifia constamment son œuvre afin de l’adapter aux exigences des diverses représentations. Ces changements consistaient à transposer certains airs pour les adapter à la tessiture des solistes; à supprimer certains morceaux s’avérant trop difficiles; à les réduire s’ils étaient trop longs; à les modifier pour changer le rythme; à ajouter du matériau supplémentaire; à élargir le chœur; à ajouter des parties pour des instruments d’orchestre, etc. Les spectacles présentés à Broadway de nos jours subissent un sort semblable.

À l’instar des autres oratorios de Haendel, le Messie comprend trois parties. La première relate la venue du Christ, telle que la rapportent les prophéties de l’Ancien Testament. Sa naissance y est annoncée (« Chantons l’Enfant qui vient de naître »), puis un ange apporte la Bonne Nouvelle à des bergers. La paix sur terre et la rédemption de l’humanité sont proches.

La deuxième partie évoque la Passion, la Résurrection et l’annonce de la Bonne Nouvelle, faisant, de nouveau, presque uniquement appel aux prophéties de l’Ancien Testament. La grande vision du retour glorieux et triomphal du Christ, tirée de l’Apocalypse, nous est donnée dans l’« Alléluia » final.

Le thème de la troisième partie, une expression de foi dans la rédemption et une renaissance symbolisée par le retour du Christ, est énoncé par ces mots que le compositeur a mis dans la bouche de la soprano : « Mon Sauveur est vivant et Il reviendra au jour du Jugement dernier pour nous juger ». Le Messie se termine sur une musique d’une majesté sans précédent avec l’image du Christ, Agneau de Dieu, assis sur son trône pour l’éternité.

Pour conclure, voici les commentaires de Klaus G. Roy, ancien rédacteur des notes de programme de l’Orchestre de Cleveland, sur le rôle quasi mythique que le Messie joue aujourd’hui dans nos vies : « le Messie de Haendel semble être, comme la nature elle-même, à la fois changeant et immuable. Il est pratiquement impossible de retracer toutes les versions dans lesquelles il a été présenté, que ce soit de façon abrégée ou étendue, avec une touche contemporaine plus ou moins réussie, dans des salles à l’acoustique parfaite ou désastreuse, dans de petites églises ou dans d’immenses cathédrales. le Messie a fait l’objet d’interprétations fidèles à la lettre, mais négligeant l’esprit de l’œuvre, et de beaucoup plus nombreuses représentations mettant en valeur l’esprit, mais ne respectant pas très bien la lettre. Pour certains, c’est la religion personnifiée, pour d’autres, c’est un art religieux et pour d’autres encore, simplement de l’art. Certains détestent cette œuvre à cause des déformations qu’elle a subies ou parce qu’elle a été trop entendue et qu’elle provoque tout simplement l’ennui. Pour d’autres, c’est la seule œuvre d’art dont l’audition régulière a été le principal contact avec la grande musique. Enfin, pour ceux qui ont refusé de l’écouter tant que, selon eux, les conditions idéales ne seraient pas réunies, le Messie a été une révélation. Cette œuvre a été et continue d’être tout cela et bien plus. Seule une œuvre d’art de valeur extraordinaire peut exercer un pouvoir aussi durable sur l’humanité. »

Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Chœur

Choristes des chœurs :
Cantata Singers of Ottawa (CSO)
Capital Chamber Choir (CCC)
Ewashko Singers (ES)

Pianiste-répétitrice : Claire Stevens
Gestionnaire des chœurs : Andi Murphy

Soprano
Donna Ager (ES)
Kristi Aruja (CSO)
Rosemary Cairns Way (ES)
Nadine Dawson (CSO)
Valerie Douglas (CSO)
Maura Forrest (CCC)
Deirdre Garcia (CSO)
Jennie Glassco (CCC)
Cait Hurcomb (CCC)
Sharon Keenan-Hayes (CSO)
Allison Kennedy (ES)
Sumin Lee (CCC)
Erica Loughlin (CSO)
Ilene McKenna (ES)
Jessyca Morgan (CSO)
Colleen Morris (CSO)
Christine Muggeridge (ES)
Sophia Nickel (CSO)
Cathy Patton (CSO)
Julie Payette
Aude Pull (CCC)
Kristina Roudiy (CSO)
Hannah Searson (CCC)
Mackenzie Stone (CCC)
Nicole Van Oosten (CCC)
Anna von Holtzendorff (CSO)

Alto
Barbara Ackison (CSO)
Wanda Allard (ES)
Pat Beckett (CCC)
Trish Brooks (CSO)
Judy Brush (CSO)
Elizabeth Burbidge (ES)
Vickie Classen Iles (CSO)
Janet Cover (CSO)
Nichole Ekkert-Vine (CSO)
Ellie Glantz (CCC)
Carolyn Greve (CCC)
Rachel Hotte (ES)
Pein-Pein Huang (CSO)
Eileen Johnson (CSO)
Caroline Johnston (ES)
Grace Mann (CSO)
Janessa Mann (CCC)
Jessica McClay (CCC)
Andi Murphy (CSO)
Reba Sigler (ES)
Topp Tolson (ES)
Caren Weinstein (ES)
Diana Zahab (ES)
Mary Zborowski (ES)

Ténor
Gary Boyd (CSO)
Cameron Climie (CCC)
Christian Damus (CCC)
Dorian Gerdes (CSO)
Louis Jacques (CCC)
Ross Jewell (CSO)
Mann Karl (CSO)
Philip Klaassen (ES)
David Lafranchise (ES)
Grayson Nesbitt (ES)
Demetry Prezelj (ES)
Aaron Shenkman (CSO)
Aidan Shenkman (CSO)

Basse
Wallace Beaton (CSO)
Mike Bulthuis (CSO)
Phillip Burness (CCC)
Grant Cameron (ES)
Erik de Vries (ES)
Mark Dumbrique (CSO)
Alain Franchomme (ES)
Andrew Hodgson (CSO)
Greg Huyer (CSO)
Björn Johansson (CSO)
Nathan Maclean-Max (CCC)
Christopher Mallory (CCC)
Kevin Marimbu (ES)
J.P. McElhone (CSO)
Ronan Pouliquen (ES)
Peter Reilly-Roe (CSO)
Stephen Slessor (ES)
Madox Terrell (CCC)
Mike Vanier (CSO)
Paul Whiteley (CCC)
John Young (CSO)

Menu