Victoria Hunt

Copper Promises: Hinemihi Haka

I am profoundly moved and grateful for the opportunity to assemble these three Indigenous contemporary dance artists as part of our Face 2 Face series this year. Lara, Victoria and Jacob each explore deeply moving and personal stories in distinctive and remarkable ways.  

For Windigo, Montreal-based Lara Kramer conducted research at her grandmother’s home in northwestern Ontario’s Lac Seul Reserve. This visceral duet offers a raw and unflinching look at the suffering and destruction that results from violence against Indigenous peoples, as she confronts the deep traumas that permeate these histories. We’re proud to be one of many Canadian co-producers of Windigo.

Victoria Hunt’s Copper Promises – Hinemihi Haka – delves into her Māorian roots and the powerful story of the ceremonial meeting house and female ancestor Hinemihi. This solo is a journey of reconnection with one’s traditions and culture as told through movement, sound score and projections. 

And, Jacob Boehme’s Blood on the Dance Floor is a courageous and inspiring work that speaks about his own experience as a gay Aboriginal living with HIV. Drawing on the practices of his Narangga and Kaurna background, Boehme uses theatre, dance, ceremony and storytelling to weave this touching and powerful tale. 

Thank you for joining us to experience these immersive works, and Life in Motion.

Word from Victoria Hunt

I am the house and the house is me. I dance the history of the house and she reveals my history.

There are multiple ways to tell the story of Hinemihi – it’s a story of origins, a story of traumatic events, and it’s a story of colonial violence. It’s also my story. Copper Promises carries with it an aspiration to articulate how knowledge oscillates in the physical form of a living body – a woman’s body; a descendant along ontological lines, and a direct descendant of the Marae.

The Spirit of Hinemihi
Tarawera mountain with sunset morphologies, lake behavior and glistening silica terraces, beautifully deadly. Through the mist, my head starts to oscillate small, loose head, neck and shoulders; underneath body, eyes wrap behind, grotesque and extraordinary. Dog headed warriors, lake of phantom predictions.

Acts of Transgression
Three million for the Goddess of Death; three million for a carved house lintel; three million for my pelvis; looted, sold on the black market, caught in a separation… a frozen marriage.

Ancestral House – Ancestral Body
I dance the house and the house is dancing me.

Pull in down, dismantle it, record, document, store it safely – REPATRIATE. In the end it’s a collection of wood. And when wood rots, no more house.

The Spirit of the People
Body abandoned by spirit. Lifting out of the bones, flesh and skin like thin streams of smoke, floating into the atmosphere. A husk remains. Becoming a person lost and searching for loved ones. Thick ash and mud cling to you, drawing you down. A mother with children buried in crushing weight. The most awful sound of silence… being urged by unknown forces towards Te Arai.


Copper Promises: Hinemihi Haka

“Hunt has a powerful presence and the fierce haka is a strong contrast with the serene composure of [their] final walk forward. This final move is one of deep reverence, [their] connection with [their] heritage is profound and the final image is a true coup de theatre.”
– Julia Cotton, Sydney Morning Herald

Copper Promises: Hinemihi Haka is a solo dance work embodying the cultural and physical journey of Hinemihi – a female ancestor and ceremonial meetinghouse connected with Hunt’s iwi, Te Arawa and hapu, Ngāti Hinemihi.

In 2003, Victoria went to Aotearoa and met their relations for the first time. They were taken to Tarawera mountain and lake and introduced to tribal stories and ceremonial practices.

They heard the story of the volcanic eruption in 1886 displacing their ancestors from their land. Hinemihi – the carved ancestral meetinghouse where many survivors had gathered to shelter from the eruption – was left there until they could return. Assumed abandoned, Hinemihi was ‘acquired’ by the Earl of Onslow and transported to his home in Surrey, England. She remains there to this day, under the care of the National Trust UK.

Hinemihi was constructed by sublime cultural tradition, but she was sold. She was seemingly unmovable; and yet she moved. The house was made under a scheme of traditions as a collective spirit of a people, but then became part of a property in a foreign land. The gardener in Surrey, England, is detached from an insightful relationship with Hinemihi, and yet sees her more than any of her descendants.

Copper Promises interweaves the journey of Hinemihi with Hunt’s own experience – of finding family, of reconnecting with culture, and of learning from land, ancestors and peers. Using a unique vocabulary of detailed movement, viscerally realized imagery and sensation, Hunt and collaborating artists create a world of rupture and foreboding, of resilience and joy.

Copper Promises is a protest, a pilgrimage and a lament.

- - - - -
Copper Promises: Hinemihi Haka is supported by the Australian Government through the Australia Council for the Arts, its arts funding and advisory body; auspiced by Performance Space.

Originally produced with financial support from the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body; the NSW Government through Arts NSW; Critical Path and Performance Space. Developed with assistance from Fiona Winning (original producer and dramaturge), Performance Space; Department of Performance Studies (University of Sydney); Creative Practice Lab (UNSW); Queen Street Studio; Artful Management; and Ausdance NSW.


Menu

Victoria Hunt

Copper Promises: Hinemihi Haka

Je suis très émue et reconnaissante d’avoir la chance d’accueillir trois artistes de danse contemporaine autochtones dans le cadre de cette édition de Face à Face. Lara, Victoria et Jacob proposent une exploration unique et remarquable de récits éminemment personnels et émouvants.

Pour son duo viscéral Windigo, Lara Kramer puise son inspiration chez sa grand-mère, dans la Première Nation de Lac Seul, dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario. La chorégraphe de Montréal met au jour, sans fard ni complaisance, les vestiges dévastateurs d’un passé porteur de violence envers les peuples autochtones. Nous sommes fiers de figurer parmi les nombreux coproducteurs canadiens de Windigo.  

Dans Copper Promises: Hinemihi Haka, Victoria Hunt explore son héritage māori et l’histoire marquante de son ancêtre Hinemihi, dont le nom est aussi celui d’un lieu de cérémonie māori. Son solo se veut un retour aux sources, à la culture et aux traditions, évoqué en mouvements, en sons et en images. 

Et le courageux et inspirant Blood on the Dance Floor de Jacob Boehme relate son expérience comme Aborigène atteint du VIH. S’inspirant de pratiques des nations Narungga et Kaurna, dont il est issu, Jacob raconte cette histoire à la fois puissante et touchante à travers le théâtre, la danse, la cérémonie et le conte. 

Merci d’explorer avec nous ces œuvres immersives, et la vie en mouvement.

Mot de Victoria Hunt

Je suis la maison et la maison est moi. Je danse l’histoire de la maison et ma propre histoire s’y révèle.

On peut raconter l’histoire d’Hinemihi de bien des façons – c’est un récit des origines, le compte-rendu d’événements traumatisants et une histoire de violence coloniale. C’est aussi mon histoire. Copper Promises traduit un désir de faire apparaître les oscillations de la connaissance en les incarnant dans un corps vivant – un corps de femme, héritier d’une longue lignée ontologique et descendant direct des bâtisseurs de marae (lieux sacrés māori).

L’esprit d’Hinemihi
Le mont Tarawera, avec ses morphologies crépusculaires, son caractère lacustre et ses éclatantes terrasses de silice, superbement mortelles. À travers la brume, ma tête se met à osciller légèrement, tête, nuque et épaules relâchées; l’en-dessous du corps, les yeux retournés, grotesque et extraordinaire. Des guerriers à tête de chien, un lac de prédictions spectrales.

Actes de transgression
Trois millions pour la déesse de la Mort; trois millions pour le linteau sculpté d’une maison; trois millions pour mon pelvis; pillé, vendu au marché noir, coincé dans une rupture… un mariage figé.

Maison ancestrale – Corps ancestral
Je danse la maison et la maison me danse.

Mettre à terre, démanteler, enregistrer, documenter, entreposer en lieu sûr – RAPATRIER. En fin de compte, c’est un amas de bois. Et quand le bois pourrit, il n’y a plus de maison.

L’esprit du peuple
Le corps, déserté par l’esprit, jaillissant des os, de la chair et de la peau, tel de fins rubans de fumée, en suspension dans l’air. Une écorce demeure. Devenir une personne égarée, à la recherche des êtres qui lui sont chers. L’épaisse couche de cendre et de boue s’accroche à vous, vous tirant vers le bas. Une mère et ses enfants ensevelis sous le poids écrasant. Le plus effroyable silence… être précipité par des forces inconnues vers Te Arai.


Copper Promises: Hinemihi Haka

« [Victoria] Hunt a une forte présence sur scène, et l’intensité de la danse haka contraste vivement avec la sérénité de la marche finale. Cette conclusion est empreinte d’un profond recueillement, d’un lien fort avec son héritage, et la dernière image du spectacle est un authentique coup de théâtre. »
– Julia Cotton, Sydney Morning Herald

Copper Promises: Hinemihi Haka est un solo de danse qui incarne le parcours culturel et les pérégrinations d’Hinemihi – l’une des ancêtres de Victoria Hunt, dont le nom est aussi celui d’un lieu de cérémonie māori lié à son héritage Te Arawa (iwi) et Ngāti Hinemihi (hapu).

En 2003, Victoria Hunt se rend en Aotearoa (le nom māori de la Nouvelle-Zélande), et y rencontre des membres de sa famille pour la première fois. Ils l’emmènent au mont Tarawera et au lac du même nom, où Hunt est initiée aux traditions tribales et aux pratiques cérémonielles.

Hunt y apprend l’histoire de l’éruption volcanique de 1886, qui avait chassé ses ancêtres de leur territoire et les avait poussés, ultimement, à abandonner Hinemihi, une maison de rassemblement en bois sculpté dans laquelle de nombreux survivants avaient trouvé refuge lors de l’éruption. Laissée à l’abandon, Hinemihi avait alors été acquise par le comte d’Onslow et transportée à son lieu de résidence dans le Surrey, en Angleterre. Elle s’y trouve toujours, sous la protection du National Trust UK.

Construite selon de sublimes traditions culturelles, Hinemihi a été vendue. Elle paraissait inamovible et, pourtant, elle a été déplacée. Sa construction est le fruit d’un faisceau de traditions exprimant l’esprit collectif d’un peuple, mais cette maison a ensuite été intégrée à une propriété privée dans un pays étranger. Le jardinier anglais du Surrey n’a aucun lien significatif avec Hinemihi, mais il peut néanmoins la voir plus souvent que n’importe lequel des descendants de ses bâtisseurs.

Copper Promises entremêle le parcours d’Hinemihi à celui de Victoria Hunt – parcours qui l’a mené à retrouver sa famille, renouer avec sa culture et apprendre de la terre, de ses ancêtres et de ses pairs. À partir d’un langage gestuel singulier et précis, d’une iconographie et de sensations viscérales, l’artiste et ses collaborateurs créent un univers marqué par la fracture et l’appréhension, mais aussi fait de résilience et de joie.

Copper Promises tient à la fois de la protestation, du pèlerinage et de la complainte.

- - - - -
Le spectacle Copper Promises: Hinemihi Haka bénéficie du soutien du gouvernement australien par l’entremise du Conseil des Arts de l’Australie, de son fonds pour les arts et de son comité consultatif; il a été créé avec l’appui de Performance Space.

Ce spectacle a été initialement produit grâce au soutien des partenaires suivants : le gouvernement australien par l’entremise du Conseil des Arts de l’Australie, de son fonds pour les arts et de son comité consultatif; le gouvernement de Nouvelles-Galles du Sud (NGS) par l’entremise de Arts NGS; Critical Path et Performance Space. Il a été créé en collaboration avec : Fiona Winning, dramaturge et productrice originale, Performance Space; le Département des Arts du spectacle de l’Université de Sydney; le Creative Practice Lab de l’UNGS; le Queen Street Studio; Artful Management et Ausdance NGS.


Menu