May 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

ILBIJERRI Theatre Company

Blood on the Dance Floor

I am profoundly moved and grateful for the opportunity to assemble these three Indigenous contemporary dance artists as part of our Face 2 Face series this year. Lara, Victoria and Jacob each explore deeply moving and personal stories in distinctive and remarkable ways.  

For Windigo, Montreal-based Lara Kramer conducted research at her grandmother’s home in northwestern Ontario’s Lac Seul Reserve. This visceral duet offers a raw and unflinching look at the suffering and destruction that results from violence against Indigenous peoples, as she confronts the deep traumas that permeate these histories. We’re proud to be one of many Canadian co-producers of Windigo.

Victoria Hunt’s Copper Promises – Hinemihi Haka – delves into her Māorian roots and the powerful story of the ceremonial meeting house and female ancestor Hinemihi. This solo is a journey of reconnection with one’s traditions and culture as told through movement, sound score and projections. 

And, Jacob Boehme’s Blood on the Dance Floor is a courageous and inspiring work that speaks about his own experience as a gay Aboriginal living with HIV. Drawing on the practices of his Narangga and Kaurna background, Boehme uses theatre, dance, ceremony and storytelling to weave this touching and powerful tale. 

Thank you for joining us to experience these immersive works, and Life in Motion.

Word from Jacob Boehme

Why this story now? After 30 years of dealing with the global epidemic of HIV, the experiences of stigma, discrimination and silence around the HIV virus are just as present today, and are still being felt by people living with and affected by HIV/ AIDS.

By sharing my personal story, unapologetically, of being Blak, gay and poz, Blood on the Dance Floor is an opportunity to create a space for our mob to have a voice in the dialogue around HIV. A conversation at a table we have not been invited to in this country (Australia), which has so far been led by, and reserved for, gay white men.

Our mob (Australian First Nations people) have been dealing with HIV right from the early days, back in the 80s, mostly silently and with shame. And we are now seeing a spike in detection rates here in the state of Victoria, particularly among Indigenous women and IV drug users in our community. Now, more than ever, we need to take our seat at that table, our silence broken and our voices heard.


Blood on the Dance Floor

We hold memories in our blood. It connects us. It defines us.

Blood on the Dance Floor explores the legacies and memories of our bloodlines, our need for community, and what blood means to each of us – questioning how this most precious fluid unites and divides us.

A choreographer, dancer and writer from the Narangga and Kaurna nations of South Australia, Jacob Boehme was diagnosed with HIV in 1998. In search of answers, he reached out to his ancestors. Through a powerful blend of theatre, image, text and choreography, Boehme pays homage to their ceremonies whilst dissecting the politics of gay, Blak and poz identities.

Blood on the Dance Floor is an unapologetic, passionate and visceral narrative that traverses time, space and characters. A story of our need to love and be loved, Boehme’s striking monologue reveals our secret identities and our deepest fears, seeking to invoke ancestral lineage in a contemporary quest for courage and hope.

- - - - -
Produced by ILBIJERRI Theatre Company.

ILBIJJERRI Theatre Company has been assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body.

ILBIJERRI Theatre Company

ILBIJERRI is one of Australia’s leading theatre companies creating innovative works by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists.

Our productions have toured to critical acclaim across Australia and the world. We challenge and excite our audiences with contemporary stories about what it means to be First Nations in Australia today.

Established in 1990, ILBIJERRI is the longest running First Nations theatre company in Australia. Our creative processes aim to support First Nations artists and communities to have a powerful voice in determining the future of Australia.


Menu

ILBIJERRI Theatre Company

Blood on the Dance Floor

Je suis très émue et reconnaissante d’avoir la chance d’accueillir trois artistes de danse contemporaine autochtones dans le cadre de cette édition de Face à Face. Lara, Victoria et Jacob proposent une exploration unique et remarquable de récits éminemment personnels et émouvants.

Pour son duo viscéral Windigo, Lara Kramer puise son inspiration chez sa grand-mère, dans la Première Nation de Lac Seul, dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario. La chorégraphe de Montréal met au jour, sans fard ni complaisance, les vestiges dévastateurs d’un passé porteur de violence envers les peuples autochtones. Nous sommes fiers de figurer parmi les nombreux coproducteurs canadiens de Windigo.  

Dans Copper Promises: Hinemihi Haka, Victoria Hunt explore son héritage māori et l’histoire marquante de son ancêtre Hinemihi, dont le nom est aussi celui d’un lieu de cérémonie māori. Son solo se veut un retour aux sources, à la culture et aux traditions, évoqué en mouvements, en sons et en images. 

Et le courageux et inspirant Blood on the Dance Floor de Jacob Boehme relate son expérience comme Aborigène atteint du VIH. S’inspirant de pratiques des nations Narungga et Kaurna, dont il est issu, Jacob raconte cette histoire à la fois puissante et touchante à travers le théâtre, la danse, la cérémonie et le conte. 

Merci d’explorer avec nous ces œuvres immersives, et la vie en mouvement.

Mot de Jacob Boehme

Pourquoi raconter cette histoire aujourd’hui? Trente ans après l’éclosion de l’épidémie mondiale de sida, la discrimination, la stigmatisation et le silence entourant la séropositivité sont toujours d’actualité en 2019 et continuent d’affecter les personnes qui vivent avec le VIH/sida. 

Blood on the Dance Floor fait connaître, sans pudeur et sans honte, mon histoire personnelle en tant qu’homme « blak », gai et « poz ». Le spectacle permet de créer un espace où notre communauté peut s’exprimer dans le cadre du dialogue sur le VIH, alors même que cette conversation a été menée, jusqu’à maintenant dans mon pays (l’Australie), par des hommes gais blancs, et réservée à eux seuls. 

Notre communauté (les Premiers Peuples d’Australie) est confrontée au VIH depuis le début de l’épidémie, dans les années 1980, un drame qu’elle vit essentiellement dans le silence et la honte. Et nous assistons actuellement à une montée en flèche des taux de dépistage, dans l’État de Victoria, notamment parmi les femmes indigènes et les utilisateurs de drogues injectables de notre communauté. Aujourd’hui, plus que jamais, il est indispensable que nous prenions place à la table des discussions, que nous brisions le silence et que nos voix soient entendues.


Blood on the Dance Floor

Notre sang est chargé de souvenirs. Il nous relie. Il nous définit.

Blood on the Dance Floor se penche sur l’héritage et le souvenir de nos lignées familiales, notre besoin d’appartenir à une communauté, et le sens que revêt le sang pour chacun de nous, en s’interrogeant sur la manière dont ce précieux fluide nous unit et nous divise à la fois.

Chorégraphe, danseur et auteur issu des nations Narungga et Kaurna d’Australie-Méridionale, Jacob Boehme a reçu un diagnostic de séropositivité en 1998. En quête de réponses, il s’est tourné vers ses ancêtres. Dans un puissant mélange de théâtre, d’images, de texte et de chorégraphie, il rend hommage à leurs cérémonies tout en analysant la politique des identités homosexuelle, « blak » et « poz ».

Blood on the Dance Floor est un récit fougueux, viscéral et pleinement assumé qui transcende le temps, l’espace et les personnages. Évoquant notre besoin d’aimer et d’être aimé, le saisissant monologue de Jacob Boehme met au jour nos identités secrètes et nos peurs les plus enfouies, cherchant à évoquer nos lignées ancestrales dans une quête bien contemporaine de courage et d’espoir.

- - - - -
Une production d’ILBIJERRI Theatre Company.

L’ILBIJJERRI Theatre Company bénéficie du soutien du gouvernement australien par l’entremise de l’Australia Council, ses programmes de financement des arts et ses conseillers en la matière.

ILBIJERRI Theatre Company

L’une des compagnies théâtrales les plus en vue en Australie, ILBIJERRI, est vouée à la création d’œuvres novatrices d’artistes aborigènes et indigènes du détroit de Torrès.

Nos productions ont tourné en Australie et dans le monde, s’attirant les éloges de la critique. Nous inspirons et stimulons nos auditoires avec des récits contemporains qui rendent compte de la situation d’aujourd’hui des Premières Nations en Australie.

Fondée en 1990, ILBIJERRI est la plus ancienne compagnie théâtrale des Premières Nations toujours en activité en Australie. Notre démarche créatrice vise à aider les artistes et les collectivités des Premières Nations à s’exprimer d’une voix forte pour orienter l’avenir de l’Australie.


Menu