Alberta Ballet

The Nutcracker

2018-11-28 19:00 2018-12-02 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Alberta Ballet

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/18665

Fabulous Sugar Plum Parties! Join us one hour before the show for crafts, activities for the kids, and more! As the lights dim and the familiar strains of Tchaikovsky’s enchanting music float up from the orchestra, you smile and remember why the holidays just wouldn’t be the holidays without The Nutcracker. Find yourself transported to a dazzling fairytale world where Klara and her beloved Nutcracker battle the Rat King, and where a sleigh ride through a land of glistening...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
November 28 - December 2, 2018

≈ 2 hours · With intermission

It’s such an honour to bring to Ottawa a vast world of dance, shaped by some of the most gifted and innovative artists working across a broad spectrum of styles and influences. As we continue to search out the best and brightest dance companies to present to you, our wonderfully receptive and enthusiastic audience, we invite you to explore the new and the familiar on this extraordinary journey of life in motion!

I love Alberta Ballet’s The Nutcracker. The company’s beautiful depiction of this timeless story masterfully combines magic and delight with authentic turn-of-the-century opulence. For so many people, The Nutcracker is a first dance experience that evolves into a life-long love affair with the art form – grandparents, kids and many friends in between maintain this special event as a beloved holiday ritual. Enjoy! 
 

FUN FACTS! 

In 2018, Alberta Ballet celebrates the 10th anniversary of choreographer Edmund Stripe’s The Nutcracker. 

Pyotr Tchaikovsky was the first major composer to use the celesta (invented in 1886) in a work for full symphony orchestra. Listen for it in the Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy.

Nearly 100 young local dancers take part in The Nutcracker production, which is often their first performing experience.

Message from Jean Grand-Maître

The Nutcracker is a magnificent tradition, a crescendo moment in a ballet company’s season. 

The Nutcracker is a moment of pause for communities to celebrate art, tradition and some very beautiful ballet. This is true of Alberta Ballet’s production, choreographed by Edmund Stripe. The sets and costumes, designed by Emmy-award winner Zach Brown, create a purely magical staging. Inspired opulence meets historical authenticity in this turn-of-the-century Russian setting. The set of Act I is modelled after Tchaikovsky’s own St. Petersburg drawing room! 

But truly, at the heart of the joy in returning to this production each year is the connection it has with children. In the audience, there are children who are seeing ballet for the first time. And on stage, local dance students live a dream-like thrill of performing on stage alongside professionals. 

We’re well aware of the inspiring spark of this magical event. Many of our dancers identify The Nutcracker as the production that introduced them to ballet. 

A warm thank you to Merilee Hodgins and Mary Ross for their invaluable support in rehearsing the children’s cast. They have been instrumental in preparing the students for their moment on stage! 

I’d also like to extend a warm thank you to the wonderful team at the National Arts Centre. We’re honoured for this invitation to perform in Ottawa.

We live in a world that marches at a hectic cadence. Today, I welcome you to this moment in the majestic Southam Hall where you can pause with the ones you love. From the Alberta Ballet family to yours, we wish you a joyous holiday season.

Synopsis

Last updated: November 16, 2018

Act I

Our story begins far away in Russia, at the turn of the 19th century. It is Christmas Eve and the Vishinsky family is welcoming guests to a party at their home. Their children, Klara and Nikolai, play ‘Blind Man’s Buff’ with the other young guests at the party. The game ends with Klara catching Nikolai. Presents are distributed and Klara and Nikolai lead the children in a boisterous dance. The parents, in turn, dance a courtly quadrille.

Suddenly, there is an interruption. It is the arrival of Drosselmeyer, Klara’s godfather. He has arrived at the party with tricks and mechanical dolls to entertain the guests. His dolls perform an elaborate play, telling the story of a man who once made a mousetrap that was so successful that it enraged the Rat Tsar. The Rat Tsar took revenge on the man by turning his nephew into a hideous nutcracker. The only way to break the spell was to find someone who would love the nutcracker, not for what he looked like, but for what he was.

In the play, the young soldier, who is changed into a nutcracker, is helped by a young ballerina who falls in love with him. She defeats the toy Rat Tsar by hitting him on the head with her slipper.

After the play, Drosselmeyer invites Klara to dance with him, mysteriously presenting her with a nutcracker of her own. Nikolai accidentally breaks the nutcracker, but Klara soon forgives him. Drosselmeyer fixes the nutcracker, and Klara and the girls play with their dolls, despite some interruption by the boys and a somewhat overexcited grandfather.

Grandfather and Babushka are invited to dance, the parents and children joining in the fun.

The party ends and the guests depart, the parents taking their weary children with them. Drosselmeyer also appears to leave the party. Klara looks around searching frantically for her nutcracker. But it is nowhere to be seen and Babushka packs Nikolai and Klara off to bed.

Later that night, Klara returns downstairs to the parlour to search for her nutcracker. The town hall clock strikes midnight and at once she is surrounded by mice. Suddenly, Drosselmeyer appears and sends the mice to sleep. He explains to Klara that it was actually he who was being portrayed in the play earlier that evening and it was he who had built the mousetrap that had angered the Rat Tsar. The Rat Tsar, in revenge, had transformed his nephew, Karl, into a nutcracker, the very nutcracker that Klara was now holding!

With Klara’s promise to love the nutcracker, Drosselmeyer employs his magic, causing the room to grow and themselves to shrink. The nutcracker now reappears, life-size to the now tiny Klara and Drosselmeyer. An army of soldiers stream out of the fort to engage in a battle with the cossack rats that have gathered on the other side of the parlour. With the nutcracker leading the soldiers, a fierce battle ensues and eventually the Rat Tsar himself appears. With his powerful magic, he attempts to attack Drosselmeyer, but the nutcracker intervenes to save his uncle.

Klara remembers the play that Drosselmeyer had presented in the parlour that evening and how the ballerina defeated the Rat Tsar by hitting him on the head with her shoe. She strikes the Rat Tsar on the head, distracting him long enough for the nutcracker to attack him with his own sceptre.

The Rat Tsar is mortally wounded and the nutcracker collapses in pain at the feet of Klara and Drosselmeyer. Drosselmeyer realizes that his plans, and his magic, are still not enough to transform his nephew. Klara and Drosselmeyer sense that their surroundings are changing and as Klara seeks help, she encounters wolves that she thinks are there to devour her precious nutcracker. However, the wolves are the attendants of the Snow Tsarina who appears in her sleigh. She instructs Drosselmeyer to stand the nutcracker up and with a wave of her hand, casts a spell that transforms the nutcracker back into Karl. It takes a moment or two for Karl to realize that he is human again. Once he does, he embraces Drosselmeyer and Klara, and thanks the Snow Tsarina for her life-restoring spell.

The Snow Tsarina summons her Snow Princesses and as Klara and Karl frolic in the snow, she guides them towards a mysterious palace far away in the distance.
 

Act II

The Snow Tsarina leads the sleigh to the gates of the Palace of the Sugar Plum Fairy. There they are greeted by the Palace Pages and are introduced to the Sugar Plum Fairy and her Cavalier. The Sugar Plum Fairy introduces guests from all over the world and one by one they dance for Klara and Karl in celebration. There are dancers from Spain, Arabia, China and Russia. Klara and Karl dance and are then entertained by the Palace Pages and the Waltz of the Flowers. The celebrations continue with the Sugar Plum Fairy and her Cavalier dancing for their honoured guests, concluding in a rousing finale.
 

Epilogue

Very early the next morning, Klara answers a knock at the front door. It is Drosselmeyer. He bids her good morning and, from under his cape, produces a nutcracker. A young man, who seems strangely familiar to Klara enters, and as he and Drosselmeyer depart together, Klara begins to wonder whether it was all a dream after all.

Company Dancers

Kira Anderson
Eli Barnes
Brittany Broussard
John Canfield
Jason Cao
Gabrielle Chenard
Tanya Chumak
Zacharie Dun 
Melissa Eguchi
Alexandra Gibson
Jennifer Gibson
Garrett Groat
Hanya Gutierrez
Scotto Hamed-Ramos
Seira Iwamoto
 

Mariko Kondo
Alan Ma
Kelley McKinlay
Reilley McKinlay
Sayuri Nakanii
Taryn Nowels
Hikaru Osakabe
Allison Perhach
Liam Reid
Kuu Sakuragi
Yoshiya Sakurai
Luna Sasaki
William Sheriff Jr.
Heather Thomas
​Laura Vande Zande

Alberta Ballet Trainees

Victoria Mary Finlay Robinson, Shiori Otsu, Erika Hara, Braden Falusi, Guiherme Ventura, Alexander Bishop

Ottawa Students

Mice

Aurora Allaby-Déziel
Morgan Arbuthnot
Lucia Betnaza
Payton Carter
Alexander Craig-Browne
Isabelle Cummings
Béatrice de Grandpré-Champagne
Valentina El Haibi
Maxine Farha
Annabelle Hardy
Ashley Hash
Ava Holyome
Anne-Sophie Jollez
Katarina Kuiack
Béatrice Landry
Alice Lavrenova
Rielle Lefèvre-Hembroff
Capri Masferrer
Audrina Peebles
Natalie Quarrington
Anna Ross
Evelyn Thompson

Party Children

Ivy Benoy
Sasha Burrell
Claire Campbell
Benjamin Craig-Browne
Romy Delisle-Sanscartier
Charlie Devine
Tyler Fletcher
Henry Gallant
Naomi Gascho
Sophie Goulet
Scarlett Hash
Maïka Lalonde
Elizabeth Lifshin
Ella Machacek
Rowan Mee
Madeleine Mennie
Mia Pincombe
Lauren Shaikh
Iain Twigg
Aisha Winfield-Khan

Rats

Olivia Davis
Bianca de Belle
Émélie Garneau
Sophia Golshaeian
Eden Haley
Briana Hersey
Mackenzie Houle
Hannah Kreft
Camille Lafleur
Svea Larsson
Caroline LeFrançois
Myranda MacPherson
Janna Matoussova
Lauren McCabe
Annabelle Mennie
Catherine Ollivier
Clara Shales

Soldiers

Brooklyn Baker
Eloïse Bauer-Beazer
Emily Gratton
Annaleise Kanstrup
Natasha Kleman
Andrea Kobetic
Gabrièle Lavoie
Mikhail Lavrenov
Sophie Legault
Hailey Leggett
Sasha Mee
Mackenzie Mulvihill
Clara Poirier
Liliane Slauenwhite-Rochefort
Olivia Taylor
Clare Wilgosh
Kahya Yamada

Palace Pages

Abby Breadner
Grace Chamberland
Piper Davies
Angie Di Iorio
Sofia Di Marco
Toby Finney
Iris Fisher
Téla Green
Élysée Labrosse
Alexa Lacasse
Ella Langis
Elodie Ménard
Frida Pohl
Anaïs Sanscartier
Emily Tavares
Zoë Walters
Zara Winfield-Khan

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Alberta Ballet

Casse-Noisette

C’est pour moi un privilège d’accueillir à Ottawa des artistes talentueux et inventifs du monde de la danse qui s’inspirent de sources variées et embrassent toute une gamme de styles différents. Nous sommes constamment à l’affût des compagnies les plus brillantes et innovantes pour les présenter à notre public si réceptif et enthousiaste. Nous vous invitons à explorer l’inconnu et le familier dans ce voyage extraordinaire au cœur de la vie en mouvement!

J’adore le Casse-Noisette de l’Alberta Ballet. La compagnie dépeint ce classique intemporel avec brio, charme, magie et une opulence digne du tournant du siècle. Ce spectacle est pour plusieurs une première escapade dans le monde de la danse, qui se transforme ensuite en véritable passion pour cette forme d’art et, souvent, en tradition des Fêtes à laquelle prennent part grands-parents, enfants et amis. Bon spectacle! 
 

QUELQUES FAITS INTÉRESSANTS : 

L’Alberta Ballet célèbre en 2018 le 10e anniversaire du Casse-Noisette du chorégraphe Edmund Stripe. 

Petr Ilitch Tchaïkovski est le premier grand compositeur à utiliser le célesta (inventé en 1886) dans une œuvre pour orchestre symphonique. Vous pourrez l’entendre pendant la danse de la Fée Dragée.

Près de 100 jeunes danseurs se produisent dans Casse-Noisette – une première prestation pour nombre d’entre eux. 

Mot de Jean Grand-Maître

Casse-Noisette est une merveilleuse tradition, un moment fort de la saison pour une compagnie de ballet. 

Casse-Noisette marque un moment où les collectivités prennent le temps de célébrer l’art, la tradition et le ballet à son meilleur. C’est le cas de la production de l’Alberta Ballet, chorégraphiée par Edmund Stripe. Les décors et costumes de Zach Brown, lauréat d’un prix Emmy, relèvent de la magie pure. La richesse d’inspiration s’allie à l’authenticité dans ce cadre russe du tournant du siècle. Le décor de l’Acte I est même inspiré du salon de Tchaïkovski à Saint‑Pétersbourg!

Mais à vrai dire, la joie de renouer avec cette production chaque année tient surtout au lien qu’elle établit avec les enfants : dans l’auditoire, des enfants assistent à un ballet pour la première fois, et sur scène, des élèves de danse locaux vivent un rêve en se produisant sur scène aux côtés de danseurs professionnels.

Nous sommes tout à fait conscients du caractère inspirant de cet événement magique. Pour beaucoup de nos danseurs Casse‑Noisette est l’œuvre qui les a initiés au ballet. 

Nous remercions chaleureusement Merilee Hodgins et Mary Ross pour l’aide inestimable qu’elles nous ont apportée dans le cadre des répétitions avec les enfants. Elles ont grandement contribué à préparer les enfants pour leur apparition sur scène!

Nous tenons aussi à remercier la formidable équipe du Centre national des Arts. Nous sommes honorés par cette invitation à nous produire à Ottawa.

Nous vivons dans un monde frénétique. Il me fait plaisir de vous accueillir, aujourd’hui, dans la majestueuse enceinte de la Salle Southam, où vous pouvez ainsi prendre un temps d’arrêt avec vos êtres chers. La famille de l’Alberta Ballet vous souhaite, ainsi qu’à vos proches, un temps des Fêtes rempli de joie.

Synopsis

Premier acte 

L’histoire commence dans un pays lointain, la Russie, au tournant du XIXe siècle. C’est la veille de Noël et la famille Vishinski accueille des invités à la maison. Les enfants Klara et Nikolaï jouent à colin-maillard avec les autres enfants invités à la fête. Le jeu s’achève lorsque Klara attrape Nikolaï. On distribue les cadeaux et Klara et Nikolaï entraînent les enfants dans une bruyante sarabande. À leur tour, les parents dansent un élégant quadrille.

Soudain, tout s’arrête, à l’arrivée de Drosselmeyer, le parrain de Klara. Il a apporté toutes sortes de jeux et d’automates pour distraire les invités. Ses pantins exécutent une pièce complexe racontant l’histoire d’un homme qui avait fabriqué un jour une souricière si efficace qu’il s’attira les foudres du Tsar des rats. Ce dernier voulut se venger en transformant le neveu de l’inventeur en un vilain casse-noisette. Le seul moyen de conjurer le sort était de trouver quelqu’un qui aimerait le casse-noisette, non pas pour son apparence, mais pour ce qu’il était.

Dans la pièce, le jeune soldat changé en casse-noisette reçoit l’aide d’une jeune ballerine qui tombe amoureuse de lui. Elle vainc le Tsar des rats en lui donnant un coup de chausson sur la tête.

Après la pièce, Drosselmeyer invite Klara à danser avec lui. Étrangement, il lui offre un casse-noisette. Nikolaï brise accidentellement le casse-noisette, mais Klara le lui pardonne immédiatement. Drosselmeyer répare le casse-noisette et Klara se met à jouer à la poupée avec les autres filles. Elles sont interrompues de temps à autre par les garçons et par un grand-père quelque peu surexcité.

Grand-père et Babouchka sont invités à danser; les parents et les enfants les accompagnent.

La fête s’achève et les invités prennent congé. Les parents emmènent avec eux leurs enfants fatigués. Drosselmeyer semble être parti lui aussi. Klara cherche partout son casse-noisette, mais ne le trouve pas. Babouchka conduit Nikolaï et Klara au lit.

Pendant la nuit, Klara redescend dans le salon pour chercher son casse-noisette. Tandis que l’horloge de l’hôtel de ville sonne minuit, Klara est encerclée par une foule de souris. Drosselmeyer apparaît soudain et renvoie les souris se coucher. Il explique à Klara que c’était lui, le personnage dont parlait la pièce présentée au cours de la soirée. C’est lui qui a construit la souricière qui a rendu furieux le Tsar des rats. Et c’est son neveu Karl qui a été transformé en casse-noisette, le Casse-Noisette que Klara tient actuellement dans ses bras!

Klara ayant promis d’aimer le casse-noisette, Drosselmeyer a recours à ses pouvoirs de magicien pour modifier les dimensions des lieux : la pièce devient immense et eux, tout petits. Le casse-noisette réapparaît, mais cette fois, il est très grand par rapport à Klara et Drosselmeyer. Une armée de soldats quitte le fort pour livrer bataille aux rats cosaques qui se sont rassemblés de l’autre côté du salon. Avec Casse-Noisette à leur tête, les soldats livrent une féroce bataille et le Tsar des rats lui-même apparaît. Mettant en œuvre ses puissants pouvoirs magiques, il essaye d’attaquer Drosselmeyer, mais Casse-Noisette intervient pour sauver son oncle.

Klara se souvient que dans la pièce présentée par Drosselmeyer au salon la veille, la ballerine avait neutralisé le Tsar des rats en lui donnant un coup de chausson de danse sur la tête. Elle donne un coup sur la tête du Tsar des rats qui, étourdi pendant quelques instants, ne voit pas Casse-Noisette qui vient l’attaquer avec son propre sceptre.

Le Tsar des rats est mortellement atteint et Casse-Noisette, écrasé de douleur, s’effondre aux pieds de Klara et de Drosselmeyer. Ce dernier comprend que sa stratégie et ses pouvoirs magiques ne suffisent pas à redonner à son neveu son apparence d’antan.

Klara et Drosselmeyer se rendent compte que leur environnement est en train de changer et lorsque Klara part chercher de l’aide, elle rencontre des loups qui, pense-t-elle, sont à la recherche de son précieux Casse-Noisette pour le dévorer. Ce n’est pas du tout ça : les loups sont les serviteurs de la Tsarine des neiges qui arrive sur son traîneau. La Tsarine demande à Drosselmeyer de lever le Casse-Noisette et, d’un geste de la main, lance un sortilège qui lui redonne l’apparence de Karl. Ce dernier reprend ses esprits et réalise au bout de quelques instants qu’il est redevenu humain. Une fois revenu à lui, il embrasse Drosselmeyer et Klara et remercie la Tsarine des neiges de l’avoir délivré de son sortilège.

La Tsarine des neiges fait venir les princesses des neiges et tandis que Klara et Karl s’amusent dans la neige, elle les guide vers un mystérieux palais perdu dans le lointain.
 

Deuxième acte

Le traîneau de la Tsarine des neiges se dirige vers les grilles du palais de la fée Dragée. Les pages du palais accueillent la Tsarine et ses amis et leur présentent la fée Dragée et son cavalier. Cette dernière est entourée d’invités provenant du monde entier qui dansent à tour de rôle en l’honneur de Klara et de Karl. Il y a des danseurs d’Espagne, d’Arabie, de Chine et de Russie. Klara et Karl dansent et sont divertis par les pages du palais et la valse des fleurs. Par la suite, la fée Dragée et son cavalier dansent pour leurs invités d’honneur et les festivités s’achèvent sur un brillant finale.
 

Épilogue

Très tôt, le lendemain matin, quelqu’un frappe à la porte d’entrée et Klara répond. C’est Drosselmeyer. Il lui souhaite le bonjour et, de sous son manteau, fait apparaître un casse-noisette. Un jeune homme, qui semble étrangement familier à Klara entre à son tour, alors que celui-ci s’en va avec Drosselmeyer, Klara commence à se demander si cela n’était pas qu’un rêve après tout.


Danseurs de la compagnie

Kira Anderson
Eli Barnes
Brittany Broussard
John Canfield
Jason Cao
Gabrielle Chenard
Tanya Chumak
Zacharie Dun 
Melissa Eguchi
Alexandra Gibson
Jennifer Gibson
Garrett Groat
Hanya Gutierrez
Scotto Hamed-Ramos
Seira Iwamoto

 

Mariko Kondo
Alan Ma
Kelley McKinlay
Reilley McKinlay
Sayuri Nakanii
Taryn Nowels
Hikaru Osakabe
Allison Perhach
Liam Reid
Kuu Sakuragi
Yoshiya Sakurai
Luna Sasaki
William Sheriff Jr.
Heather Thomas
​Laura Vande Zande

Stagiaires de l’Alberta Ballet

Victoria Mary Finlay Robinson, Shiori Otsu, Erika Hara, Braden Falusi, Guiherme Ventura, Alexander Bishop

Souris

Aurora Allaby-Déziel
Morgan Arbuthnot
Lucia Betnaza
Payton Carter
Alexander Craig-Browne
Isabelle Cummings
Béatrice de Grandpré-Champagne
Valentina El Haibi
Maxine Farha
Annabelle Hardy
Ashley Hash
Ava Holyome
Anne-Sophie Jollez
Katarina Kuiack
Béatrice Landry
Alice Lavrenova
Rielle Lefèvre-Hembroff
Capri Masferrer
Audrina Peebles
Natalie Quarrington
Anna Ross
Evelyn Thompson

Soldats

Brooklyn Baker
Eloïse Bauer-Beazer
Emily Gratton
Annaleise Kanstrup
Natasha Kleman
Andrea Kobetic
Gabrièle Lavoie
Mikhail Lavrenov
Sophie Legault
Hailey Leggett
Sasha Mee
Mackenzie Mulvihill
Clara Poirier
Liliane Slauenwhite-Rochefort
Olivia Taylor
Clare Wilgosh
Kahya Yamada

Jeunes invités

Ivy Benoy
Sasha Burrell
Claire Campbell
Benjamin Craig-Browne
Romy Delisle-Sanscartier
Charlie Devine
Tyler Fletcher
Henry Gallant
Naomi Gascho
Sophie Goulet
Scarlett Hash
Maïka Lalonde
Elizabeth Lifshin
Ella Machacek
Rowan Mee
Madeleine Mennie
Mia Pincombe
Lauren Shaikh
Iain Twigg
Aisha Winfield-Khan

Pages du palais

Abby Breadner
Grace Chamberland
Piper Davies
Angie Di Iorio
Sofia Di Marco
Toby Finney
Iris Fisher
Téla Green
Élysée Labrosse
Alexa Lacasse
Ella Langis
Elodie Ménard
Frida Pohl
Anaïs Sanscartier
Emily Tavares
Zoë Walters
Zara Winfield-Khan

Rats

Olivia Davis
Bianca de Belle
Émélie Garneau
Sophia Golshaeian
Eden Haley
Briana Hersey
Mackenzie Houle
Hannah Kreft
Camille Lafleur
Svea Larsson
Caroline LeFrançois
Myranda MacPherson
Janna Matoussova
Lauren McCabe
Annabelle Mennie
Catherine Ollivier
Clara Shales

Menu