Emie R. Roussel Trio

NAC Fourth Stage

NAC Fourth Stage

[x] Close

NAC Presentation

Born and raised on Montreal’s South Shore and now living in Rimouski, pianist Emie Rioux Roussel is known for her solid yet nuanced compositions. She began classical piano lessons at age five, then studied jazz with her father, jazz pianist Martin Roussel, and with Lorraine Desmarais, and obtained a diploma (first class honours) in jazz piano performance. In 2011 she completed her BA in jazz piano performance at the University of Montreal, where she studied under Luc Beaugrand.

Emie R. Roussel burst onto Quebec’s live music scene in 2007, and has shared the stage with such leading talents as Terry Clarke, Mike Gauthier, Éric Lagacé, Alex Bellegarde, Dave Watts, Michel Berthiaume and Norman Lachapelle.

In 2010 she founded the Emie R. Roussel Trio and released two original albums, Temps inégal (2010) and Transit (2013). With Nicolas Bédard on double bass and Dominic Cloutier on drums, the Trio is a prime example of Quebec’s contemporary jazz sound: resolutely young, rhythm-based, and infused with straightforward rock and pop harmonies. The Emie R. Roussel Trio received a special mention from the jury of the 2013 TD Grand Jazz Award at the Montreal International Jazz Festival, and won the People’s Choice award at the 28th annual Festi Jazz International de Rimouski.

In 2011 Emie joined the faculty of the Jazz-Pop program at the Cégep de Rimouski as a teacher and accompanist, and in 2014 she was named one of Radio-Canada’s “Discoveries of the Year.”


  • Emie R Roussel Trio - Promo album Quantum

  • Emie R. Roussel - Révélation Radio-Canada

Artist Links

The Slaight Family Foundation

The NAC Foundation is grateful to The Slaight Family Foundation for their support of emerging artists.

Cet événement est passé
Musique Artistes canadiens

Présentation du CNA

Native de la Rive-Sud de Montréal et Rimouskoise d’adoption, la pianiste Emie Rioux-Roussel compose des mélodies puissantes et sensibles. Son parcours pianistique débute à l’âge de 5 ans. Elle est guidée par son père, le pianiste jazz Martin Roussel puis par Lorraine Desmarais avant d’obtenir son diplôme en interprétation piano jazz avec  une bourse de très grande distinction. En 2011, elle complète son baccalauréat en interprétation piano jazz avec M. Luc Beaugrand à l’Université de Montréal.

Emie R. Roussel est active sur la scène musicale depuis 2007. Elle a eu la chance de partager la scène avec des musiciens de renoms comme Terry Clarke, Mike Gauthier, Éric Lagacé, Alex Bellegarde, Dave Watts, Michel Berthiaume et Norman Lachapelle.

En 2010, elle fonde le Emie R. Roussel Trio et signe deux albums originaux : Temps inégal (2010) et Transit (2013). Avec Nicolas Bédard à la contrebasse et Dominic Cloutier à la batterie, le Trio s’inscrit dans la nouvelle lignée du jazz québécois : un jazz éminemment jeune, axé sur le rythme, mais qui opère aussi un retour à des harmonies plus simples, influencées par le rock et la pop. Le Emie R. Roussel Trio a reçu une mention spéciale du jury du Grand Prix de jazz TD 2013 du Festival international de jazz de Montréal et a remporté le Prix Coup de coeur du public au 28e Festi jazz international de Rimouski.

Depuis 2011, Emie est enseignante et accompagnatrice au Programme Jazz-pop du Cégep de Rimouski. Emie est une des artistes des Révélations Radio-Canada 2014.

video: Emie R Roussel Trio - Promo album Quantum
Emie R Roussel Trio - Promo album Quantum
video: Emie R. Roussel - Révélation Radio-Canada
Emie R. Roussel - Révélation Radio-Canada
Menu