10th annual Music Monday concert and webcast

NAC Main Lobby (Foyer)

NAC Main Lobby (Foyer)

[x] Close

Jackie Hawley conducting the NAC Music Monday massed choir at Ottawa City Hall

Michel Dozois

Lucy van Oldenbarneveld

YAO

Servantes

Mark Friedman

Fred Cattroll

Susan Rupp

Fred Cattroll

David Goldblatt

Fred Cattroll

Timothy McCoy

Fred Cattroll

Hilda Cowie

Fred Cattroll

NAC Production

Approximately 1 hour with no intermission.

Join the National Arts Centre in celebrating the 10th anniversary of Canada's Music Monday! The NAC in partnership with the Coalition for Music Education in Canada will celebrate Music Monday with a LIVE Showcase Concert and Webcast linking special events in 10 cities across Canada.

The National Arts Centre in partnership with the Coalition for Music Education in Canada will celebrate Music Monday with a live showcase concert and webcast linking special events in 10 cities across Canada. Approximately 450 local students in the NAC Foyer will join hundreds of thousands of children singing across the country in celebration of music education as part of the 10th anniversary of Music Monday at noon on May 5, 2014. 

Hosted by CBC Ottawa anchor Lucy van Oldenbarneveld and young trumpet student Malcolm Horava, the free public event will also feature award-winning Franco-Ontarian artist YAO, flamenco guitarist Servantes, a string quintet of players from the NAC Orchestra, and the Stellae Boreales violin ensemble. MP and singer-songwriter Andrew Cash will be on hand to lend an official stamp on the celebrations.

Ottawa Mayor Jim Watson will proclaim May 5th 2014 to be Music Monday in Ottawa. This marks the 10th year in a row that National Arts Centre will join the Coalition for Music Education along with hundreds of thousands of community members in the National Capital Region and across the country in a nation-wide sing-along which highlights the importance of learning music for young people in Canada.

At approximately 12:45 p.m., Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield will join the webcast along with thousands across the nation in singing the official Music Monday theme song entitled I.S.S. – Is Somebody Singing/Quelqu’un Chante. Commissioned by the Coalition for Music Education and CBC Music, the song was written by Hadfield, former Canadian Commander of the International Space Station, and Ed Robertson of Barenaked Ladies. I.S.S., also the acronym for International Space Station, premiered on CBC Music on February 8, 2013 and was the first space-earth song premiere in history, with Hadfield performing in space and Robertson and the Barenaked Ladies on Earth.

The NAC’s Music Monday massed choir includes children from local elementary schools and youth choirs to perform alongside the Cantiamo Girls Choir, the Cantiamo Training Choir and the Ottawa Children’s Choir under the direction of Jackie Hawley. Participating choirs include: Adrienne Clarkson Elementary School; Avalon Public School; Blossom Park Public School Glee Club; Bridlewood Community Elementary School; Broadview Avenue Public School; Goulbourn Jubilee Juniors; Henry Larsen Public School; Land O'Lakes Public School (from Mountain Grove, ON); Loughborough Public School (from Syndenham, ON); and March Academy.

The NAC’s participation in Music Monday is made possible by support from the Friends of the NAC Orchestra. The NAC is proud to partner with the Coalition for Music Education in Canada for this event. The videoconference connection to the National Arts Centre is made possible by the NAC's distance learning studio, Hexagon.

 

What is Music Monday?

The Coalition for Music Education created Music Monday to:

  • celebrate the importance of music in our lives and especially in our schools, and
  • celebrate the galvanizing power of music and demonstrate how that power is rooted in school music programs.

Music education is a powerful tool for engagement, harmony, creativity and achievement in our young people.  Music Monday is a tangible demonstration of how music programs unite us, shape young lives and contribute to the cultural vitality of Canada.

Music Monday highlights the importance of music education and the need to protect and enhance quality music programs for every child in Canadian schools.

On the first Monday in May, hundreds of thousands of young music makers across Canada will unite in song for the 10th annual Music Monday celebration.  Celebrations will take place at the grassroots community level and a nation-wide Showcase webcast.

  • Hundreds of concerts take place in schools and communities from coast to coast by students, teachers, and music-makers. 
  • The official Music Monday song (2013/2014) - “I.S.S. (Is Somebody Singing)” was commissioned by the Coalition and CBCMusic, and written by Chris Hadfield – the first Canadian Commander of the International Space Station – and Ed Robertson of The Barenaked Ladies.

Visit MusicMonday.ca for additional details about Music Monday and the 10th anniversary Showcase Webcast!

Videos

  • Chris Hadfield Invitation, Music Monday 2014

  • 10th Music Monday @CanadasNAC - 5 May 2014

  • NAC Music Monday 2012 - Massed Choir & Rideau Lakes Brass Quintet

  • NAC Music Monday 2012 - Jackie Hawley

Credits

  • Lucy van Oldenbarneveld co-host
  • Malcolm Horava co-host
  • NAC Music Monday massed choir
  • Jackie Hawley choir director
  • YAO musician/poet
  • Servantes flamenco guitar
  • Andrew Cash MP and singer/songwriter
  • NAC Orchestra chamber ensemble:
  • Mark Friedman violin
  • Susan Rupp violin
  • David Goldblatt viola
  • Timothy McCoy cello
  • Hilda Cowie double bass
  • Stellae Boreales (Ottawa Suzuki Strings) violin ensemble
  • Laura Hawley piano

Artist Links

Menu

10e Lundi en musique – concert et webémission

Cet événement est passé
Jackie Hawley dirige le choeur du Lundi en musique du CNA à l'hôtel de ville d'Ottawa, © Michel Dozois
Famille Musique

Production du CNA

Joignez-vous au Centre national des Arts pour la 10e édition annuelle du Lundi en musique du Canada! Le CNA, en partenariat avec la Coalition pour l’éducation en musique du Canada, proposera pour l’occasion un concert LIVE et une webémission qui reliera en direct plusieurs événements tenus simultanément dans 10 villes canadiennes.

Le Centre national des Arts, en partenariat avec la Coalition pour l'éducation en musique au Canada, célébrera le Lundi en Musique avec un concert démonstration en direct et une webdiffusion établissant une connexion avec des événements spéciaux dans dix villes des diverses régions du Canada. Environ 450 élèves de la région réunis dans le Foyer du CNA uniront leurs voix à celles de milliers de jeunes de tout le pays pour célébrer l'éducation musicale, à l'occasion du 10e anniversaire du Lundi en Musique, à midi, le 5 mai 2014. 

Cet événement public et gratuit, animé par Lucy van Oldenbarneveld, chef d'antenne de la chaîne CBC Ottawa, et le jeune trompettiste Malcolm Horava, accueillera également YAO, artiste franco-ontarien couronné de prix, le guitariste flamenco Servantes, un quintette à cordes formé de musiciens de l'Orchestre du CNA, et l'ensemble de violons Stellae Boreales. Andrew Cash, le député-chanteur, sera aussi sur place pour donner aux festivités un caractère officiel.

Le maire d'Ottawa Jim Watson lira la proclamation officielle faisant du 5 mai 2014 le Lundi en Musique à Ottawa. Pour la 10e année consécutive, le Centre national des Arts s'associe à la Coalition pour l'éducation en musique au Canada et à des centaines de milliers de personnes de la région de la capitale nationale et de partout au pays pour chanter en chœur et souligner l'importance de l'apprentissage musical chez les jeunes au Canada.

Vers 12 h 45, l'astronaute canadien Chris Hadfield prendra part à la webdiffusion et s'associera aux milliers de personnes de tout le pays pour chanter « I.S.S. – Is Somebody Singing/Quelqu’un Chante », la chanson officielle du Lundi en Musique. Commandée par la Coalition pour l'éducation en musique et CBC Music, cette chanson a été composée par Chris Hadfield, l'ancien commandant canadien de la Station spatiale internationale, et Ed Robertson du groupe Barenaked Ladies. Cette chanson, dont le titre « I.S.S. » correspond au sigle du nom anglais de la Station spatiale internationale (International Space Station), a été créée sur les ondes de CBC Music le 8 février 2013. C’était la première fois de l’histoire qu’une chanson était ainsi créée à la fois dans l’espace et sur Terre – le commandant Hadfield l’interprétant à bord de la Station spatiale internationale et Ed Robertson et les Barenaked Ladies la chantant sur Terre.

Pour ce concert présenté par le CNA à l'occasion du Lundi en Musique, un grand rassemblement choral réunissant les élèves et les enseignants de plusieurs écoles élémentaires et des chorales de jeunes de la région se joindra aux ensembles Cantiamo Girls Choir, Cantiamo Training Choir et au Chœur d’enfants d’Ottawa placés sous la direction de Jackie Hawley. Les chorales participantes proviennent des établissements suivants : école élémentaire Adrienne Clarkson; école publique Avalon; école publique Blossom Park - Glee Club; école élémentaire communautaire Bridlewood; école publique Broadview Avenue; Goulbourn Jubilee Juniors; école publique Henry Larsen; école publique Land O'Lakes (de Mountain Grove, ON); école publique Loughborough (de Syndenham, ON); et March Academy.

La participation du CNA au Lundi en Musique est rendue possible grâce au soutien des Amis de l'Orchestre du CNA. Le CNA est fier de s'associer à la Coalition pour l'éducation en musique au Canada à l'occasion de cet événement. Hexagone, le studio de téléenseignement du CNA fournit les moyens techniques qui permettent la connexion par vidéoconférence au Centre national des Arts.

Qu’est-ce que le Lundi en musique?

La Coalition pour l’éducation en musique du Canada a créé le Lundi en musique dans le but de :

  • souligner l’importance de la musique dans nos vies, et spécialement dans nos écoles; et  
  • célébrer le pouvoir rassembleur de la musique au pays, et démontrer combien ce pouvoir est ancré dans les programmes de musique scolaires. 

L’éducation musicale est un puissant outil permettant de susciter l’intérêt des jeunes et de les amener à se réaliser, dans une approche harmonieuse et créative. Le Lundi en musique est une manifestation tangible du pouvoir qu’a la musique de nous unir, de façonner l’existence des jeunes et de contribuer à la vitalité culturelle du Canada.

Cette journée souligne l’importance de l’éducation musicale et la nécessité de protéger et d’étoffer les programmes d’enseignement de la musique dans les écoles canadiennes.

Le premier lundi de mai, des centaines de milliers de jeunes de partout au Canada uniront leurs voix à l’occasion de la 10e édition annuelle du Lundi en musique. Les célébrations se tiendront au sein même des collectivités et seront soulignées par une webémission nationale.

  • Des centaines de concerts réunissant élèves, enseignants et musiciens auront lieu dans des écoles et au sein de collectivités d’un océan à l’autre.
  • La chanson-thème du Lundi en musique (2013-2014), « Quelqu’un chante », commandée par la Coalition et CBCMusic, a été composée par Chris Hadfield, premier commandant canadien de la Station spatiale internationale, et Ed Robertson, du groupe The Barenaked Ladies.

Visitez le Lundienmusique.ca pour tout savoir sur le Lundi en musique et sur la webémission du 10anniversaire de l’événement.

Durée approximative de 1 h sans entracte.

video: Invitation, Chris Hadfield - Lundi en musique 2014
Invitation, Chris Hadfield - Lundi en musique 2014
video: 10e Lundi en musique du CNA - 5 mai 2014
10e Lundi en musique du CNA - 5 mai 2014
video: Lundi en musique du CNA, 2012 - Choeur et Quintette de cuivres Rideau Lakes
Lundi en musique du CNA, 2012 - Choeur et Quintette de cuivres Rideau Lakes
video: Lundi en musique du CNA, 2012 - Jackie Hawley
Lundi en musique du CNA, 2012 - Jackie Hawley
Jackie Hawley dirige le choeur du Lundi en musique du CNA à l'hôtel de ville d'Ottawa, © Michel Dozois
Lucy van Oldenbarneveld
YAO
Servantes
Mark Friedman © Fred Cattroll
Susan Rupp © Fred Cattroll
David Goldblatt © Fred Cattroll
Timothy McCoy © Fred Cattroll
Hilda Cowie © Fred Cattroll

Artistes

Menu