|
Cello

Timothy McCoy

Timothy McCoy started playing the cello at the age of six in Sudbury, Ontario, where he enrolled as a Suzuki student at Cambrian College, under the tutelage of Sylvia Thelen and Metro Kozak. Timothy’s family moved to Ottawa on Canada Day the year he turned eight; he remembers being enormously impressed with the parliamentary fireworks display his first night in a new city – so he stayed. Since that time, he has spent a great deal of his life at the National Arts Centre. His first Ottawa teacher was NACO Assistant Principal Cellist Marian Heller. When Ms. Heller relocated to New York City to accept a position in the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, Timothy continued his studies with NAC Orchestra cellist Rosalind Sartori.

As a youngster, Timothy McCoy received intensive vocal training as a member of the Men and Boys’ Choir at St. Matthew’s Anglican Church in the Glebe (Ottawa). Appointed Head Chorister under Brian Law, he was a frequent treble soloist and sang the Pie Jesu in a performance of the FauréRequiem. As a boy, he also appeared at the National Arts Centre in performances of Britten’s War Requiem, Elgar’s Dream of Gerontius, and sang from the pit in the ballet score for Mendelssohn’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. He managed to squeak in an appearance as a somewhat tall and hairy opera fairy in the NAC production of Britten’s rendering of A Midsummer Night’s Dream before his treble career abruptly came to an end.

A graduate of Indiana University, Mr. McCoy studied cello with Gary Hoffman and Janos Starker, and chamber repertoire with Menahem Pressler, James Buswell and George Janzer. He has studied the orchestral repertoire with the principal cellists of several of America’s leading orchestras, including Stephen Geber, Desmond Hoebig and Ron Leonard. He has also performed in masterclasses held by Aldo Parisot, Tsyoshi Tsutsumi, Raya Garbousova and Yehuda Hanani and has audited classes with Josef Gingold, Gyorgy Sebok, Frank Miller and Lynn Harrell.

Mr. McCoy has studied and performed at numerous summer programmes, including several seasons at the Banff Centre (where he began as a student in the Gifted Youth Programme), the National Music Camp (Interlochen, Michigan), the Brott Summer Festival (Hamilton, ON) and Festival of the Sound (Parry Sound, ON). He has held titled chairs with the National Youth Orchestra of Canada, the National Repertory Orchestra (Colorado) and the National Orchestral Institute (Maryland). He was a finalist at the Stulberg International String Competition and participated in the Third American Cello Congress convened in Bloomington, Indiana. During college, Mr. McCoy was under contract for two seasons to the Owensboro Symphony Orchestra (Kentucky) and performed with regional orchestras throughout Indiana.

Mr. McCoy spent his early professional years in Toronto as an active freelance cellist. They were formative times… He landed his first gig the second day after he arrived in town when he was asked to perform solo Bach Suites for John Steinberg’s 10th Anniversary Tea Party at the Rainbow Room, a tony Rosedale hair salon – he gained a free haircut and a pocketful of cash from the deal. After that, it was a stint with the Emperor Quartet, including a frosty autumn backyard wedding in Oakville for the filming of a CBS television pilot, Almost Grown. He claims to have performed string quartets atop every decent skyscraper in Toronto’s downtown core. He has played chamber music for Mila Mulroney and Nancy Reagan at a G7 Economic Summit as well as for prominent Canadian politicians and many of Europe’s heads-of-state. He was there for the rainy opening of SkyDome with Oscar Peterson and the Toronto Symphony. Mr. McCoy has performed with the Roy Thomson Hall Orchestra as well as with the celebrated Elmer Iseler Singers at the St. Lawrence Centre, and participated in a Krzysztof Penderecki world premiere with the composer at the helm. He has shared coffee and donuts with studio musicians at taping sessions for the legendary Tommy Hunter Show and, fresh out of college, he was a regular performer in the pit orchestra for Les Misérables at the Royal Alexandra Theatre. He also enjoyed performing with Toronto contemporary ensembles such as Robert Aitken’s New Music Concerts and the Esprit Orchestra, led by Alex Pauk.

As a musician on the Quebec scene, Mr. McCoy’s activities have included touring Spain and Morocco with Bernard Labadie and Les Violons du Roy and a five-season tenure as cellist with l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec. He has performed for live radio broadcasts from the Palais Montcalm with l’Orchestre de chambre de Radio-Canada à Québec; toured traditional Quebecois folksongs in the environs of Quebec City with his friend, the late violinist, Marc Gagnon and the Ensemble Arabesque; and collaborated as principal cellist on many choral events in Quebec, including the Festival des Musiques Sacrées de Québec. He has recorded with French chansonnier, Serge Lama and as a solo artist with the folk singer-songwriter, Connie Kaldor.

Timothy McCoy became a member of the National Arts Centre Orchestra at the beginning of the 2003-2004 season, after playing regularly in the orchestra for the previous three seasons.

In Ottawa, Mr. McCoy has been a member of Thirteen Strings and has performed at the Ottawa International Chamber Music Festival and on the NAC Music for a Sunday Afternoon series at the National Gallery of Canada. He has collaborated with pianists Angela Hewitt and Anton Kuerti. He has workshopped new compositions in the Canadian Music Centre’s New Music Reading Sessions at the NAC’s Fourth Stage and performed with the NACO New Music Ensemble, conducted by Oliver Knussen. His chamber performances have been broadcast on the national networks of CBC Radio and the Societé Radio-Canada. Mr. McCoy has served on the jury for the NACO Bursary and has been invited to adjudicate music festivals in Ottawa and Hamilton.

A versatile freelance artist, Mr. McCoy has performed at Bluesfest with Smokey Robinson; at the NAC with Diana Krall and Holly Cole; at the Corel Centre with Sarah Brightman; and at the Casino du Lac Leamy with Frank Sinatra Jr. He has appeared on the Canada Day stage for the midday CBC-TV show from Parliament Hill and has performed chamber music for numerous official ceremonies at Rideau Hall. He is Company Manager for Ottawa Music Company, a collective of local musicians that has collaborated in choral concerts with ensembles such as the Ottawa Choral Society, the Cathedral Choir of Men and Boys at Christ Church Cathedral, and the Ottawa Bach Choir.

Mr. McCoy has coached school and community youth orchestras both in Ottawa and while on tour with the NACO in Calgary, AB and the Saguenay, QC. He has been invited by Prof. Paul Marleyn to coach his cello students at the University of Ottawa and enjoys teaching a few regular students of his own.

Mr. McCoy performs on a rare copy (c. 1984) of a Carlo Giuseppe Testore cello; a gorgeous instrument made in New York for George Ricci by celebrated Argentinian luthier, Horacio Piñeiro.

Menu

|
violoncelle

Timothy McCoy

Timothy McCoy a commencé à jouer du violoncelle à six ans à Sudbury, en Ontario, où il était inscrit comme élève Suzuki au Cambrian College sous la tutelle de Sylvia Thelen et de Metro Kozak. Sa famille a déménagé à Ottawa le jour de la Fête du Canada, l’année de ses huit ans; il se souvient d’avoir été vivement impressionné par les feux d’artifice sur les édifices du Parlement à son premier soir dans sa nouvelle ville, qui est devenue dès lors sa ville d’adoption. Depuis, il a passé une bonne partie de sa vie au Centre national des Arts. Son premier professeur à Ottawa a été Marian Heller, alors violoncelle solo adjoint de l’OCNA. Quand Mme Heller a déménagé à New York pour accepter un poste avec le Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, il a poursuivi sa formation auprès d’une autre violoncelliste de l’Orchestre du CNA, Rosalind Sartori.

Dans son enfance, Timothy McCoy a reçu une formation vocale intensive comme membre du Men and Boys’ Choir de l’église anglicane St. Matthew’s, dans le quartier du Glebe d’Ottawa. Nommé choriste principal sous la direction de Brian Law, il agissait souvent comme soprano solo et a déjà interprété le « Pie Jesu » dans le Requiem de Fauré. Tout jeune encore, il est aussi apparu au Centre national des Arts dans le War Requiem de Britten et Dream of Gerontius d’Elgar, en plus de chanter depuis la fosse d’orchestre dans la partition pour ballet A Midsummer Night’s Dream de Mendelssohn. Après une ultime apparition où il personnifiait une fée d’opéra plutôt costaude et velue dans une production du CNA d’A Midsummer Night’s Dream de Britten, sa carrière de soprano a connu une fin abrupte.

Diplômé de l’Université de l’Indiana, M. McCoy a étudié le violoncelle auprès de Gary Hoffman et de Janos Starker, et le répertoire de chambre sous la conduite de Menahem Pressler, James Buswell et George Janzer. Il a étudié le répertoire orchestral auprès des violoncelles solo de plusieurs orchestres de premier plan aux États-Unis, notamment Stephen Geber, Desmond Hoebig et Ron Leonard. Il s’est aussi produit dans des ateliers de maître animés par Aldo Parisot, Tsyoshi Tsutsumi, Raya Garbousova et Yehuda Hanani, et il a assisté comme auditeur libre à des classes de Josef Gingold, Gyorgy Sebok, Frank Miller et Lynn Harrell.

Il a participé, comme étudiant et comme interprète, à de nombreux programmes estivaux, passant plusieurs étés au Banff Centre (où il a commencé comme élève dans le cadre du Gifted Youth Programme) ainsi qu’au National Music Camp (Interlochen, Michigan), au Brott Summer Festival (Hamilton, Ontario) et au Festival of the Sound (Parry Sound, Ontario). Il a occupé des postes importants avec l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada, le National Repertory Orchestra (Colorado) et le National Orchestral Institute (Maryland). Finaliste au Concours international de cordes Stulberg, il a aussi pris part au troisième congrès des violoncellistes des États-Unis à Bloomington, dans l’Indiana. Pendant ses années de collège, il a été engagé pour deux saisons au sein de l’Orchestre symphonique d’Owensboro (Kentucky) et s’est produit avec des orchestres régionaux partout en Indiana.

M. McCoy a amorcé sa carrière professionnelle à Toronto comme violoncelliste indépendant. Ce furent des années de formation… Il a obtenu son premier engagement le lendemain de son arrivée en ville, quand il a été invité à interpréter les Suites pour violoncelle seul de Bach pour la 10e édition annuelle du Tea Party de John Steinberg au Rainbow Room, un chic salon de coiffure situé dans le quartier Rosedale – il y a gagné une coupe de cheveux gratuite en plus d’un généreux cachet. Il s’est ensuite joint à l’Emperor Quartet, avec lequel il s’est notamment produit dans le cadre d’un mariage dans une arrière-cour d’Oakville, par une journée glaciale d’automne, pour le tournage du pilote de l’émission Almost Grown de la chaîne télévisée CBSIl affirme avoir joué des quatuors à cordes au sommet de tous les gratte-ciel dignes de ce nom du centre-ville de Toronto. Il a joué de la musique de chambre pour Mila Mulroney et Nancy Reagan dans le cadre d’un Sommet économique du G7, ainsi que pour des politiciens canadiens de premier plan et de nombreux chefs d’État européens. Il a participé aux cérémonies d’ouverture du SkyDome de Toronto, par un temps pluvieux, aux côtés d’Oscar Peterson et de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto. Il s’est produit avec le Roy Thomson Hall Orchestra de même qu’avec les célèbres Elmer Iseler Singers au St. Lawrence Centre, et il a pris part à la création mondiale d’une œuvre de Krzysztof Penderecki dirigée par le compositeur lui-même. Il a fait partie des musiciens de studio engagés pour des séances d’enregistrement du légendaire Tommy Hunter Show et, encore frais émoulu du collège, il se retrouvait régulièrement dans la fosse d’orchestre pour prendre part aux représentations de la comédie musicale Les Misérables au Royal Alexandra Theatre. Il a aussi eu le plaisir de collaborer avec des ensembles contemporains de Toronto comme les New Music Concerts de Robert Aitken et l’Esprit Orchestra dirigé par Alex Pauk.

Sur la scène musicale du Québec, M. McCoy a tourné avec Bernard Labadie et Les Violons du Roy, notamment en Espagne et au Maroc, et a œuvré pendant cinq ans comme violoncelliste au sein de l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec. Il a donné des concerts radiodiffusés en direct du Palais Montcalm avec l’Orchestre de chambre de Radio-Canada à Québec, a interprété des chants folkloriques traditionnels québécois en tournée dans la région de Québec avec son ami le regretté violoniste Marc Gagnon et l’Ensemble Arabesque, et a collaboré comme violoncelle solo à de nombreux concerts et festivals de chant choral au Québec, y compris le Festival des musiques sacrées de Québec. Il a enregistré avec le chansonnier français Serge Lama et, comme artiste soliste, avec l’auteure-compositrice et interprète folk Connie Kaldor.

Timothy McCoy est devenu  membre de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts au début de la saison 2003-2004, après avoir joué régulièrement au sein de l’Orchestre pendant les trois saisons précédentes.

À Ottawa, M. McCoy a été membre de l’ensemble Thirteen Strings et s’est produit au Festival international de musique de chambre d’Ottawa ainsi que dans le cadre de la série Musique pour un dimanche après-midi au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada. Il a collaboré avec les pianistes Angela Hewitt et Anton Kuerti. Il a contribué au développement de nouvelles compositions dans le cadre des concerts-ateliers organisés par le Centre de musique canadienne à la Quatrième Salle du CNA, et s’est produit avec l’Ensemble de musique nouvelle de l’OCNA sous la direction d’Oliver Knussen. Ses prestations comme chambriste ont fait l’objet de radiodiffusions sur les réseaux anglais et français de la Societé Radio-Canada/CBC. Il a été membre du jury de la Bourse de l’OCNA et a été invité à assumer des fonctions similaires dans le cadre de festivals présentés à Ottawa et à Hamilton.

Artiste indépendant d’une grande polyvalence, M. McCoy s’est produit au Bluesfest avec Smokey Robinson, au CNA avec Diana Krall et Holly Cole, au Corel Centre avec Sarah Brightman, et au Casino du Lac Leamy avec Frank Sinatra Jr. Il est apparu sur la scène de la Fête du Canada pour l’émission d’après-midi de la Télévision de Radio-Canada/CBC-TV en direct de la colline du Parlement, et il a donné de nombreuses prestations de musique de chambre dans le cadre de cérémonies officielles à Rideau Hall. Il est par ailleurs le directeur administratif de l’Ottawa Music Company, un regroupement de musiciens de la région qui collaborent à des concerts de musique chorale donnés par des ensembles tels que la Société chorale d’Ottawa, le Cathedral Choir of Men and Boys de la cathédrale Christ Church, et l’Ottawa Bach Choir.

M. McCoy a agi comme répétiteur auprès d’orchestres scolaires et communautaires aussi bien à Ottawa qu’en tournée avec l’OCNA à Calgary (Alberta) et dans la région du Saguenay, au Québec. Il a été invité à faire répéter la classe de violoncelle du professeur Paul Marleyn à l’Université d’Ottawa, et il prend grand plaisir à donner des leçons particulières à quelques élèves qu’il suit régulièrement.

M. McCoy joue sur une rare reproduction (v. 1984) d’un violoncelle Carlo Giuseppe Testore; un splendide instrument fabriqué à New York pour George Ricci par le célèbre luthier argentin Horacio Piñeiro.

Menu