ConneXXions 2014

Broadband videoconference event

Royal College of Music  |  London, United Kingdom

Royal College of Music  |  London, United Kingdom

Approximately 1.5 hours with no intermission.

Watch the live broadcast from the Royal College of Music (London) and the National Arts Centre’s 4th Stage here. Event times are: 10:00-11:30 in Ottawa (EDT) | 14:00-15:30 in London (GMT)

NAC New Media and Music Education, in partnership with the Royal College of Music and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra’s First World War “Behind the Lines” program, will produce an intercontinental connected music education event. The broadband videoconference program, ConneXXions 2014, is one of three international creation projects to take place during the NAC Orchestra’s UK Tour that will feature a live, high-definition exchange between Canadian and British music students of the Colonel By Secondary School Senior Band of Ottawa and students of the Brent Youth Concert Band in London. The theme of this creative musical exchange will be a response to the First World War.

In advance of performing for each other on October 28th, the students will explore the music of the Great War and such composers as England’s Sir Edward William Elgar and Canada’s Sir Ernest MacMillan. Working with musical animateur Tim Steiner in London and composer Abigail Richardson in Ottawa, the students will create their own compositions and perform for each other as part of this project. 

Internationally renowned Scottish virtuoso percussionist and composer, Dame Evelyn Glennie, will perform a new composition for snare drum duo composed by Bertram Wee of the Royal College of Music and performed with fellow student Stefan Beckett. Ms. Glennie will also speak on the power of music to encourage, heal, and promote resilience.

We are grateful that Mrs. Laureen Harper, wife of Canada’s Prime Minister Stephen Harper, will host this event.

ConneXXions will feature live performances by the young musicians (both of repertoire and their new war-inspired compositions), short discussions, Q&As, and speeches (by the guest of honour, war specialists, young people and composers) interspersed with these artistic performances.

The young people will be participating in parallel composition projects in Ottawa and London to devise new pieces inspired by the themes of the tour which are: remembrance, creativity during adversity, resilience, courage, identity. These all contribute to a fantastically curated commemorative tour which will aim to honour the outbreak of the First World War, and Canada's significant role in it.


  • Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  • NAC Orchestra
  • Dame Evelyn Glennie percussion & guest of honour
  • Geneviève Cimon moderator
  • Ruth Currie moderator
  • Brent Youth Concert Band with Paul Fensom, director
  • Tim Steiner composer
  • Laureen Harper host
  • Colonel By Secondary School Senior Band with Terrence Porter, director
  • Douglas Sturdevant moderator
  • Abigail Richardson composer

Tous les spectacles et événements sont annulés jusqu’au lundi 27 avril 2020
Royal College of Music, Londres

ConneXXions 2014

Vidéoconférence à large bande

Cet événement est passé
Musique Outreach

Suivez l’événement diffusé en direct du Royal College of Music (Londres) et de la Quatrième Salle du CNA. Heures de diffusion : 10 h-11 h 30 à Ottawa (HAE) | 14 h-15 h 30 à Londres (UTC)

Les équipes des Nouveaux médias et de l’Éducation musicale du CNA, en partenariat avec le Royal College of Music et le programme « Behind the Lines » du Royal Philharmonic Orchestra de Londres, produisent un événement musical éducatif reliant virtuellement des jeunes du Canada et du Royaume-Uni. Appelé ConneXXions 2014, ce programme de vidéoconférence à haute définition sur large bande est l’un des trois projets internationaux de création à se tenir dans le cadre de la tournée de l’Orchestre du CNA au R.-U. Il s’agit d’un échange en temps réel entre des élèves du Colonel By Secondary School Senior Band (à Ottawa) et du Brent Youth Concert Band (à Londres). Cet échange apportera une réponse « musicale » à cette page de notre histoire que constitue la Première Guerre mondiale. 

Avant de se produire les uns pour les autres le 28 octobre, les élèves vont explorer la musique de la Grande Guerre et l’œuvre de compositeurs comme Sir Edward William Elgar d’Angleterre et Sir Ernest MacMillan du Canada. Avec l’animateur musical Tim Steiner à Londres et la compositrice canadienne Abigail Richardson à Ottawa,ils vont composer chacun de leur côté leurs propres œuvres qu’ils joueront pour l’autre ensemble musical lors de l’événement.

La percussionniste virtuose et compositrice écossaise de renommée mondiale Dame Evelyn Glennie agira comme invitée spéciale. Mme Glennie parlera du pouvoir qu’a la musique d’encourager, de guérir et de rendre plus fort. Mme Laureen Harper, l’épouse du premier ministre Stephen Harper, nous fera le grand honneur d’animer l’événement depuis Ottawa.

Le programme ConneXXions comprendra des prestations en direct par les jeunes musiciens (d’œuvres existantes et de leurs propres compositions inspirées de la guerre), de brefs échanges, des séances de questions et des allocutions (par l’invitée d’honneur, des spécialistes de l’histoire des guerre, des jeunes et des compositeurs.

Les élèves prendront part à des projets de composition parallèles à Ottawa et à Londres afin d’esquisser des pièces inspirées des thèmes de la tournée, soit le souvenir, la créativité dans l’adversité, la résilience, le courage et l’identité. Ces activités viennent se greffer à une tournée magnifiquement «orchestrée » visant à souligner le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale et le rôle considérable qu’a joué le Canada dans ce conflit.

Durée approximative de 1.5 heures sans entracte.

Royal College of Music, Londres
Dame Evelyn Glennie © Cambridge Newspapers Ltd.

Artistes

Menu