Traffic disruptions - Canada Day weekend
Return © Matthew Murphy

Dance Theatre of Harlem

Mixed Repertoire

2014-05-21 20:00 2014-05-21 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Dance Theatre of Harlem

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/5482

A newly invigorated Dance Theatre of Harlem returns to the NAC with a dynamic evening of high-octane works, including Contested Space (choreography by Donald Byrd), When Love (Helen Pickett), Dancing on the Front Porch of Heaven (Ulysses Dove), and Return, Robert Garland’s rousing piece to the music of James Brown and Aretha Franklin. Hewing to their mantra of “passion, power and perfection,” the 44-year-old company – with a truly multiracial artistic profile – is...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Wednesday, May 21, 2014
8 PM EDT
This event has passed
Return © Matthew Murphy
Anthony Savoy and Stephanie Williams in Return © Matthew Murphy
Contested Space © Rachel Neville
Jehbreal Jackson and Ashley Murphy in When Love © Matthew Murphy
Return © Matthew Murphy
Return © Rachel Neville
Dance
“Dance Theatre of Harlem’s present ensemble is as breathtaking as it was during the company’s 1969 opening season ... the company broadens and deepens our sense of classical ballet.”” Rita Kohn, NUVO (Indianapolis)

A newly invigorated Dance Theatre of Harlem returns to the NAC with a dynamic evening of high-octane works, including Contested Space (choreography by Donald Byrd), When Love (Helen Pickett), Dancing on the Front Porch of Heaven (Ulysses Dove), and Return, Robert Garland’s rousing piece to the music of James Brown and Aretha Franklin. Hewing to their mantra of “passion, power and perfection,” the 44-year-old company – with a truly multiracial artistic profile – is again a major force in contemporary dance. With graceful and vigorous performances noted for their “verve, technical proficiency, and theatrical flair,” DTH consistently garners critical acclaim.

video:
Return © Matthew Murphy
Anthony Savoy and Stephanie Williams in Return © Matthew Murphy
Contested Space © Rachel Neville
Jehbreal Jackson and Ashley Murphy in When Love © Matthew Murphy
Return © Matthew Murphy
Return © Rachel Neville
Menu

Return © Matthew Murphy

Dance Theatre of Harlem

Répertoire mixte

2014-05-21 20:00 2014-05-21 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Dance Theatre of Harlem

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/5482

Un Dance Theatre of Harlem revigoré revient au CNA avec un dynamique programme formé de pièces explosives : Contested Space (chorégraphie de Donald Byrd), When Love (Helen Pickett), Dancing on the Front Porch of Heaven (Ulysses Dove) et Return, entraînante pièce de Robert Garland sur des musiques de James Brown et d’Aretha Franklin. Fidèle à sa devise « passion, puissance et perfection », la compagnie de 44 ans au...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mercredi 21 mai 2014
20 h HAE
Cet événement est passé
Return © Matthew Murphy
Anthony Savoy et Stephanie Williams dans Return © Matthew Murphy
Contested Space © Rachel Neville
Jehbreal Jackson et Ashley Murphy dans When Love © Matthew Murphy
Return © Matthew Murphy
Return © Rachel Neville
Danse
« L’actuelle composition du Dance Theatre of Harlem est aussi stupéfiante que celle qui a marqué la saison inaugurale de la troupe en 1969 (...) la compagnie étend et approfondit notre compréhension du ballet classique. » Rita Kohn, NUVO (Indianapolis)

Un Dance Theatre of Harlem revigoré revient au CNA avec un dynamique programme formé de pièces explosives : Contested Space (chorégraphie de Donald Byrd), When Love (Helen Pickett), Dancing on the Front Porch of Heaven (Ulysses Dove) et Return, entraînante pièce de Robert Garland sur des musiques de James Brown et d’Aretha Franklin. Fidèle à sa devise « passion, puissance et perfection », la compagnie de 44 ans au profil artistique résolument multiracial retrouve sa place au rang des phares de la danse contemporaine. Avec ses gracieuses et vigoureuses prestations alliant « verve, technique remarquable et sens du théâtre », le DTH accumule les éloges de la critique.

video:
Return © Matthew Murphy
Anthony Savoy et Stephanie Williams dans Return © Matthew Murphy
Contested Space © Rachel Neville
Jehbreal Jackson et Ashley Murphy dans When Love © Matthew Murphy
Return © Matthew Murphy
Return © Rachel Neville
Menu