The Aerophone

Interactive symphony

2024-02-17 11:00 2024-02-18 17:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: The Aerophone

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/35750

In-person event

Picture a makeshift piano keyboard and an array of old tape recorders. The ingenious mechanism that links all this together is just waiting for you to set it in motion. So take control of this bizarre machine with its tapes and motors, and compose a mind-blowing score!  Chain reaction: You press a key on the keyboard, a tape recorder starts up, and the first note of an amazing symphony rings out! From samples of orchestral instruments, played by members of the NAC Orchestra, to...

Read more

Al Zaibak Lantern Room,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
February 17 - 18, 2024
This event has passed
An illustration featuring three aerophone machines interconnected with pink squiggles. Surrounding them are illustrated bubbles and stars, creating a whimsical and enchanting scene.
Family programming Music Electronic Children Festival events
“The World’s Most Useless Machine ™ © Inc.”
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • Ages 5+
  • ≈ Continuous · No intermission

Picture a makeshift piano keyboard and an array of old tape recorders. The ingenious mechanism that links all this together is just waiting for you to set it in motion. So take control of this bizarre machine with its tapes and motors, and compose a mind-blowing score! 

Chain reaction: You press a key on the keyboard, a tape recorder starts up, and the first note of an amazing symphony rings out! From samples of orchestral instruments, played by members of the NAC Orchestra, to other vibrant sounds, The Aerophone’s range is so vast that you won’t always know what wind you’re dealing with. 

Sprung from the mischievous imagination of artist Pierre-Luc Clément and his creative sidekicks, in homage to the famous Mellotron, The Aerophone also pokes fun at our society’s hyper-efficiency. Why else build a whole machine for the sake of something so seemingly pointless as sharpening our senses and tapping into our limitless capacity for wonder? 

Without words ● Ages 5+ ● Free 

Opening hours: 
Saturday 17 February, 11AM to 5:30PM 
Sunday 18 February, 10:30AM to 5PM

video:
Illustration représentant trois machines aérophones reliées entre elles par des gribouillis roses. Autour d'elles, des bulles et des étoiles illustrées créent une scène fantaisiste et enchanteresse.

L’aérophone

Symphonie interactive

2024-02-17 11:00 2024-02-18 17:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : L’aérophone

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/35750

Événement en personne

Imagine un clavier de piano traficoté et un appareillage de vieux enregistreurs à bandes magnétiques. Le mécanisme savant qui relie le tout n’attend que toi pour se mettre en mouvement. Alors, prends les commandes de cette drôle de machine à rubans et à moteurs, pour inventer une partition décoiffante!   Réaction en chaîne : tu actionnes une touche du clavier, le ruban d’un magnéto se met en marche, et...

Read more

Salle de la lanterne Al Zaibak ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
17 - 18 fév 2024
Cet événement est passé
Illustration représentant trois machines aérophones reliées entre elles par des gribouillis roses. Autour d'elles, des bulles et des étoiles illustrées créent une scène fantaisiste et enchanteresse.
Famille Musique Électronique Enfance Festival
«La machine la plus inutile du monde ™ © inc.»
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • 5 ans et plus
  • ≈ En continu · Sans entracte

Imagine un clavier de piano traficoté et un appareillage de vieux enregistreurs à bandes magnétiques. Le mécanisme savant qui relie le tout n’attend que toi pour se mettre en mouvement. Alors, prends les commandes de cette drôle de machine à rubans et à moteurs, pour inventer une partition décoiffante!  

Réaction en chaîne : tu actionnes une touche du clavier, le ruban d’un magnéto se met en marche, et c’est là que retentit la première note d’une symphonie étonnante! Entre échantillonnages d’instruments d’orchestre, joués par des membres de l'Orchestre du CNA, et autres sonorités vibrantes, la gamme que propose L’aérophone est large, au point de ne plus toujours savoir à quel vent tu as affaire.  

Tout droit sorti de l’imaginaire facétieux de l’artiste Pierre-Luc Clément et de ses acolytes, en hommage au célèbre Mellotron, L’aérophone est aussi un pied de nez à l’hyper-efficacité dans nos sociétés. Sinon pourquoi fabriquer toute une machine au profit d’une entreprise autrement nécessaire : celle d’aviver nos sens et notre ineffable faculté d’émerveillement… 

Sans paroles ● 5 ans et + ● Gratuit

Heures d’ouverture : 
Samedi 17 février, 11h à 17h30 
Dimanche 18 février, 10h30 à 17h 

video: