Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
Kolonien © Olaf Grind

Kolonien

2022-08-11 20:00 2022-08-11 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Kolonien

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30888

In-person event

Kolonien is a four-member family band from Sweden, reinventing their roots with rich vocal harmonies, and fierce melodies and rhythms. Fiddle-star Anna Möller and her cousins; brothers Arvid and Erik Rask on guitar and bass, together with their neighbour and percussionist Mischa Grind all grew up with traditional folk music deeply embedded in their families.  Their musical journey started in their teens, when they left their countryside home to travel around Sweden as protest singers...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, August 11, 2022
8 PM EDT
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Music Pop World music Folk
  • In-person event

Kolonien is a four-member family band from Sweden, reinventing their roots with rich vocal harmonies, and fierce melodies and rhythms. Fiddle-star Anna Möller and her cousins; brothers Arvid and Erik Rask on guitar and bass, together with their neighbour and percussionist Mischa Grind all grew up with traditional folk music deeply embedded in their families. 

Their musical journey started in their teens, when they left their countryside home to travel around Sweden as protest singers in the Swedish Green movement, but it was on a trip to Zanzibar 2010 that they decided to start a band and to write their own music.

Kolonien’s music and inspirations are deeply rooted in the Swedish folk tradition as well as the natural environment and progressive philosophies of the alternative-lifestyle community where they were raised. With a sound that blends acoustic roots music with anthemic, sing-along pop, Kolonien has a fresh, appealing sound that brings multiple musical worlds together. 

Come and celebrate Kolonien’s new album Till Skogen released in April 2022!


Kolonien is presented as part of Nordic Bridges, a year-long cultural initiative led by Harbourfront Centre in Toronto and supported by the Nordic Council of Ministers.

video: KOLONIEN - LÄMNAR STADEN
KOLONIEN - LÄMNAR STADEN
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Menu

Kolonien © Olaf Grind

Kolonien

2022-08-11 20:00 2022-08-11 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Kolonien

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30888

Événement en personne

Kolonien est un quatuor familial suédois qui réinvente ses racines par ses riches harmonies vocales et ses mélodies et rythmes enlevants. La violoniste Anna Möller, ses cousins — les frères Arvid et Erik Rask à la guitare et à la basse — ainsi que leur voisin et percussionniste Mischa Grind ont tous grandi au sein de familles où la musique folk traditionnelle était très importante.  Leur parcours musical a...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 11 août 2022
20 h HAE
Cet événement est passé
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Musique Pop Musique globale Folk
  • Événement en personne

Kolonien est un quatuor familial suédois qui réinvente ses racines par ses riches harmonies vocales et ses mélodies et rythmes enlevants. La violoniste Anna Möller, ses cousins — les frères Arvid et Erik Rask à la guitare et à la basse — ainsi que leur voisin et percussionniste Mischa Grind ont tous grandi au sein de familles où la musique folk traditionnelle était très importante. 

Leur parcours musical a commencé à l’adolescence, quand ils ont quitté leur campagne natale pour sillonner le pays en chantant pour le mouvement écologique suédois. C’est lors d’un voyage au Zanzibar en 2010 qu’ils ont décidé de fonder un groupe et de composer leur propre musique.  

Ancrés dans la plus pure tradition folk suédoise, les membres du groupe puisent leur inspiration dans la nature et les valeurs progressistes transmises pendant leur enfance au sein d’une communauté alternative. Entre musique roots acoustique et mélodies pop entêtantes, Kolonien nous entraîne dans un univers sonore pétillant et plein de fraicheur, à la croisée des genres. 


Kolonien est présenté dans le cadre de Nordic Bridges, une initiative culturelle d'un an, menée par le Centre Harbourfront de Toronto et soutenue par le Conseil nordique des ministres. Pour en savoir plus, visitez NordicBridges.ca (en anglais).

video: KOLONIEN - LÄMNAR STADEN
KOLONIEN - LÄMNAR STADEN
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Kolonien © Olaf Grind
Menu