© Illustration Pony

Un. Deux. Trois.

Mani Soleymanlou’s great cycle of identity

2022-09-29 19:00 2022-10-01 23:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Un. Deux. Trois.

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30554

In-person event

Forty solitudes. Forty outstretched hands. Forty lives to amplify the voice of today’s Canada. A show that tackles all this, without speeches or placards, without rhetoric or empty phrases. To transcend the sum of each of us and celebrate what’s left of us.  The secret is out: Mani Soleymanlou loves numbers. The repertoire of his company, Orange Noyée, is full of them. After presenting plays ranging from the solo Un to the podcast Probablement Onze—by way of...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Sep 29 - Oct 1, 2022
This event has passed
© Illustration Pony
© Ulysse del Drago
© Agathe Poupeney
© Valerie Remise
© Valerie Remise
© Agathe Poupeney
“Putting the I at the service of the WE”
  • In-person event
  • Français
  • Ages 14+
  • ≈ 4 hours 30 minutes · With intermission
NAC Co-production

Forty solitudes. Forty outstretched hands. Forty lives to amplify the voice of today’s Canada. A show that tackles all this, without speeches or placards, without rhetoric or empty phrases. To transcend the sum of each of us and celebrate what’s left of us. 

The secret is out: Mani Soleymanlou loves numbers. The repertoire of his company, Orange Noyée, is full of them. After presenting plays ranging from the solo Un to the podcast Probablement Onze—by way of Zero—he returns to Un. Deux. Trois., his great symphony of identity. 

Un was born of a question. Deux was born of an encounter. Trois was born of a wild idea: filling 40 empty chairs with performers from different backgrounds. Giving them free rein to orchestrate a choral, poignant and festive work. These committed and engaging voices have the power to build bridges across the widening gulfs, creating a collective intimacy that is more necessary than ever.

Will we be able to come together under the maple leaf flag?

The question is fraught. We’ll have to awaken our courage and tackle it head on. To revisit our heritage and question what we will pass on in our turn. To give resonance to a multi-accented language. To move forward together and find ourselves in a crowd, side by side, at the end of a global pandemic. To overcome clichés, so that strangers are no longer faceless, to fight radicalism and intolerance. To dream, to dare, to hope. Finally. 

After opening in Ottawa, the show will tour to eight other Canadian cities: Sudbury, Toronto, Montréal, Québec, Caraquet, Moncton, Vancouver and Winnipeg. 


Un. Deux. Trois. is supported by the National Creation Fund, the NAC Foundation, The Cole Foundation, le Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, le Conseil des arts de Montréal, and Power Corporation of Canada. Un. Deux. Trois. is also made possible thanks to the support from The Jenepher Hooper Fund for Theatre at the National Arts Centre Foundation, established as a result of a generous gift from the estate of Jenepher Margaret Hooper. 

*All performances include two 20-minute intermissions.

Artists

  • Written and directed by Mani Soleymanlou
  • Written and directed by Mani Soleymanlou, with the participation of the performers
  • With Caroline Bélisle, Florence Brunet, Jean Marc Dalpé, Ziad Ek, Marie-Ève Fontaine, Israël Gamache, Nadia Girard Eddahia, Cory Haas, France Huot, Moriana Kachmarsky, John Gislain Kibaga, Anna-Laure Koop, Jean-Christophe Leblanc, Lionel Lehouillier, Danielle Le Saux-Farmer, Carla Mezquita Honhon, Meilie Ng, Dillon Orr, Anaïs Pellin, France Perras, Dominique Pétin, Chloé Petit, Eric Plamondon, Marco Poulin, Caroline Raynaud, Gabriel Robichaud, Marie-Madeleine Sarr, Emmanuel Schwartz, Mani Soleymanlou, Manon St-Jules, Ines Talbi, Elkahna Talbi, Chloé Thériault, Jean-Charles Weka, Anais West and Xavier Yuvens
  • Assistant director and stage manager Jean Gaudreau
  • Lighting Erwann Bernard and Martin Sirois
  • Sound design Larsen Lupin
  • Co-director, UN and outside observer, DEUX Alice Ronfard
  • Technical directors Audrey Janelle and Chantal Labonté
  • Tour manager Charlotte Ménard
  • Production coordinator Laëtitia Fabaron
  • Executive producer Xavier Inchauspé
  • Associate producer Vanessa Beaupré
  • Script Sophie Gemme et Chloé Gagné Dion
  • Developed by Orange Noyée
  • Production partners NAC French Theatre, Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario, Théâtre français de Toronto, DUCEPPE, Théâtre du Trident, théâtre l’Escaouette, Théâtre populaire d’Acadie, Théâtre la Seizième and Théâtre Cercle Molière
  • Support Un. Deux. Trois. is supported by the National Creation Fund, the NAC Foundation, The Cole Foundation, le Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, le Conseil des arts de Montréal, and Power Corporation of Canada. Un. Deux. Trois. is also made possible thanks to the support from The Jenepher Hooper Fund for Theatre at the National Arts Centre Foundation, established as a result of a generous gift from the estate of Jenepher Margaret Hooper.

© Illustration Pony

Un. Deux. Trois.

La fresque identitaire de Mani Soleymanlou

2022-09-29 19:00 2022-10-01 23:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Un. Deux. Trois.

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30554

Événement en personne

Quarante solitudes. Quarante mains tendues. Quarante vies pour mettre le Canada d’aujourd’hui en porte-voix. Un spectacle pour oser tout cela, sans discours ni pancarte, sans rhétorique ni phrases creuses. Pour transcender la somme de chacun, et célébrer ce qui reste de nous.  Ce n’est plus un secret : Mani Soleymanlou aime les chiffres. La théâtrographie de sa compagnie Orange Noyée en est pleine. Après avoir...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
29 septembre - 1 octobre 2022
© Illustration Pony
© Ulysse del Drago
© Agathe Poupeney
© Valerie Remise
© Valerie Remise
© Agathe Poupeney
«Pour que le JE soit au service du NOUS  »
  • Événement en personne
  • Français
  • 14 ans et plus
  • ≈ 4 heures 30 minutes · Avec entracte

Quarante solitudes. Quarante mains tendues. Quarante vies pour mettre le Canada d’aujourd’hui en porte-voix. Un spectacle pour oser tout cela, sans discours ni pancarte, sans rhétorique ni phrases creuses. Pour transcender la somme de chacun, et célébrer ce qui reste de nous. 

Ce n’est plus un secret : Mani Soleymanlou aime les chiffres. La théâtrographie de sa compagnie Orange Noyée en est pleine. Après avoir présenté des pièces allant du solo Un au balado Probablement Onze – et être passé par Zéro –, il revient à Un. Deux. Trois., sa grande symphonie identitaire. 

Un est né d’une question. Deux est né d’une rencontre. Trois est né d’une folie. Celle de remplir quarante chaises vides avec des interprètes venu·e·s de différents horizons. De leur laisser la parole pour orchestrer une œuvre chorale, poignante et festive. Ces voix engagées et engageantes ont le pouvoir de construire des ponts au-dessus des gouffres qui se creusent, en créant une intimité collective plus nécessaire que jamais. 

Saurons-nous nous unir sous l’unifolié?

La question est périlleuse. Il faudra réveiller son courage et la prendre à bras-le-corps. Pour revisiter notre héritage et interroger ce que nous léguerons à notre tour. Pour faire résonner une langue aux nombreux accents. Pour avancer ensemble et se retrouver nombreux, côte à côte, au sortir d’une pandémie mondiale. Pour déborder des clichés, pour que l’étranger ne soit plus sans visage, pour combattre le radicalisme, l’intolérance. Pour se rêver, s’oser, s’espérer. Enfin. 

Le spectacle naîtra à Ottawa, puis traversera le Canada pour être présenté sur huit autres scènes : Sudbury, Toronto, Montréal, Québec, Caraquet, Moncton, Vancouver et Winnipeg.


Un. Deux. Trois. est soutenu par le Fonds national de création du CNA, la Fondation du CNA, la Fondation Cole, le Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, le Conseil des Arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts de Montréal et Power Corporation du Canada. Un. Deux.Trois. est aussi rendu possible grâce au généreux soutien du Fonds Jenepher Hooper pour le théâtre de la Fondation du Centre national des Arts, fruit d’un important don de la succession de Jenepher Margaret Hooper.

*Toutes les représentations incluent deux entractes de 20 minutes.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
sep 26
sep 27
sep 28
sep 29
  • 19 h 00
sep 30
  • 19 h 00
oct 1
  • 13 h 30 Matinée
oct 2
© Illustration Pony
© Ulysse del Drago
© Agathe Poupeney
© Valerie Remise
© Valerie Remise
© Agathe Poupeney
  • Texte et mise en scène Mani Soleymanlou avec la collaboration des interprètes
  • Avec Caroline Bélisle, Florence Brunet, Jean Marc Dalpé, Ziad Ek, Marie-Ève Fontaine, Israël Gamache, Nadia Girard Eddahia, Cory Haas, France Huot, Moriana Kachmarsky, John Gislain Kibaga, Anna-Laure Koop, Jean-Christophe Leblanc, Lionel Lehouillier, Danielle Le Saux-Farmer, Carla Mezquita Honhon, Meilie Ng, Dillon Orr, Anaïs Pellin, France Perras, Dominique Pétin, Chloé Petit, Eric Plamondon, Marco Poulin, Caroline Raynaud, Gabriel Robichaud, Marie-Madeleine Sarr, Emmanuel Schwartz, Mani Soleymanlou, Manon St-Jules, Ines Talbi, Elkahna Talbi, Chloé Thériault, Jean-Charles Weka, Anais West et Xavier Yuvens
  • Assistance à la mise en scène et régie Jean Gaudreau
  • Lumière  Erwann Bernard et Martin Sirois
  • Conception sonore  Larsen Lupin
  • Co-mise en scène de UN et regard extérieur sur DEUX Alice Ronfard
  • Direction technique Audrey Janelle et Chantal Labonté
  • Direction de tournée Charlotte Ménard
  • Coordination de production Laëtitia Fabaron
  • Production exécutive Xavier Inchauspé
  • Production déléguée Vanessa Beaupré
  • Scriptes Sophie Gemme et Chloé Gagné Dion
  • Une création de  Orange Noyée
  • Partenaires de production  Théâtre français du CNA, Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario, Théâtre français de Toronto, DUCEPPE, Théâtre du Trident, théâtre l’Escaouette, Théâtre populaire d’Acadie, Théâtre la Seizième et Théâtre Cercle Molière
  • Soutien Un. Deux. Trois. est soutenu par le Fonds national de création du CNA, la Fondation du CNA, la Fondation Cole, le Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, le Conseil des Arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts de Montréal et Power Corporation du Canada. Un. Deux.Trois. est aussi rendu possible grâce au généreux soutien du Fonds Jenepher Hooper pour le théâtre de la Fondation du Centre national des Arts, fruit d’un important don de la succession de Jenepher Margaret Hooper.
Menu