Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald

Hofesh Shechter Company

Double Murder (Clowns/The Fix)

2022-11-09 19:30 2022-11-10 21:05 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Hofesh Shechter Company

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30551

In-person event

Having repeatedly dazzled NAC audiences with his unique and exciting vocabulary, Hofesh Shechter, one of the world’s most celebrated choreographers, returns with a double bill that is the stuff of genius. Incorporating elements of folklore, theatre, ballet and contemporary dance, this Double Murder brilliantly blends order and chaos in a gripping emotional journey. The first half, Clowns—which was produced as a film and broadcast by the BBC to great acclaim—, is a...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
November 9 - 10, 2022
7:30 pm
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Tom Visser
Double Murder – The Fix © Tom Visser
Dance Contemporary
“You leave refreshed, alive and a little changed.” Richard Maguire, The Reviews Hub
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 1 hour 35 minutes · With intermission
  • Loud noises

Canadian Premiere

Having repeatedly dazzled NAC audiences with his unique and exciting vocabulary, Hofesh Shechter, one of the world’s most celebrated choreographers, returns with a double bill that is the stuff of genius. Incorporating elements of folklore, theatre, ballet and contemporary dance, this Double Murder brilliantly blends order and chaos in a gripping emotional journey.

The first half, Clowns—which was produced as a film and broadcast by the BBC to great acclaim—, is a delightful blend of raw physicality and meticulous detail. Like a black comedy, Clowns denounces our collective insensitivity to violence. A fierce energy emanates from the group of performers in symbiosis, in an often furious dance tinged with a cynical yet current vision of the world.

As an antidote, The Fix brings a more tender and fragile energy to the stage. The work explores the sweetness of human relationships, marked by joy or melancholy: an appeal for compassion to mitigate the violence of everyday life exposed in the first half of the program. Here, slower sequences offer contemplative moments of incredible power.

The musical score, also composed by Shechter, is a perfect complement to the movement. Atmospheric, almost cinematic, it conveys a strength that transcends the stage. Stunningly beautiful, Double Murder reveals Shechter’s unique mastery in its most complete form.

---

Double Murder is produced by Hofesh Shechter Company.

Commissioned by Sadler’s Wells, Théâtre de la Ville Paris, Brighton Dome & Brighton Festival, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg. Co-commissioned by Shanghai International Dance Center Theater (SIDCT), Hong Kong – New Vision Arts Festival, National Performing Arts Center, by Taiwan R.O.C. – National Taichung Theater, Festival d’Avignon, Danse Danse Montréal, Scène Nationale d’Albi, Torinodanza Festival / Teatro Stabile di Torino - Teatro Nazionale, Marche Teatro / Inteatro Festival, Opéra de Dijon and HOME Manchester. Developed in part at Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity.

Double Murder is supported by the International Music and Art Foundation.

Hofesh Shechter Company benefits from the support of BNP Paribas Foundation for the development of its projects and is supported using public funding through Arts Council England.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Nov 7
Nov 8
Nov 9
  • 7:30pm
Nov 10
  • 7:30pm
Nov 11
Nov 12
Nov 13
video: Double Murder by Hofesh Shechter Company
Double Murder by Hofesh Shechter Company
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Tom Visser
Double Murder – The Fix © Tom Visser
  • Choreography • Music Hofesh Shechter
  • The Fix Lighting Design,
    Tom Visser

    Costume Design,
    Peter Todd

    Additional music:
    Le Roi Renaud (instrumental version): Composed by Pierre Bensusan (Sacem, Paris, France), Album: Pierre Bensusan #2 (Dadgad Music – DM1002) The Sun: Performed by Kim Jung Mi. Written by Shin Joong Hyun (KOMCA) Published by Shin Joong Hyun MVD (KOMCA). Courtesy of Light in the Attic Records. The sun: Courtesy of Light in the Attic Records.
  • Clowns Lighting Design,
    Lee Curran

    Additional Lighting Design, Richard Godin

    Based on costume designs for Clowns, Christina Cunningham

    Additional music:
    Can Can: Composed by Jacques Offenbach Published by BMG Rights Management (UK) Limited, a BMG Company © Used with permission. All rights reserved.
Menu

Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald

Hofesh Shechter Company

Double Murder (Clowns/The Fix)

2022-11-09 19:30 2022-11-10 21:05 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Hofesh Shechter Company

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30551

Événement en personne

Après avoir ébloui les publics du CNA à plusieurs reprises avec son vocabulaire singulier et stimulant, Hofesh Shechter, l’un des chorégraphes les plus célébrés à travers le monde, revient avec un programme double qui rase le génie. Incorporant des éléments de folklore, de théâtre, de ballet et de danse contemporaine, ce Double Murder manie ordre et chaos avec brio, le temps d’un grand...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
9 - 10 novembre 2022
19 h 30
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Tom Visser
Double Murder – The Fix © Tom Visser
Danse Contemporaine
«Des moments d’intensité physique extraordinaires. L’œuvre Clowns, nouvellement retravaillée, vibre d’une énergie anarchique et sarcastique.» Isaac Ouro-Gnao, The Stage
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 1 heure 35 minutes · Avec entracte
  • Bruits forts

Première canadienne

Après avoir ébloui les publics du CNA à plusieurs reprises avec son vocabulaire singulier et stimulant, Hofesh Shechter, l’un des chorégraphes les plus célébrés à travers le monde, revient avec un programme double qui rase le génie. Incorporant des éléments de folklore, de théâtre, de ballet et de danse contemporaine, ce Double Murder manie ordre et chaos avec brio, le temps d’un grand périple émotionnel.

La première partie, Clowns — qui a d’ailleurs fait l’objet d’un film à succès de la BBC —, est un heureux mélange de physicalité brute et de détails minutieux. Comme une comédie noire, Clowns dénonce notre insensibilisation collective à la violence. Une énergie se dégage du groupe d’interprètes en symbiose, dans une danse souvent furieuse teintée d’une vision cynique et pourtant actuelle du monde.

Pensée comme un antidote en contrepartie, The Fix propose un univers plus tendre et fragile. L’oeuvre explore la douceur des relations humaines, empreintes de joie ou de mélancolie : une apologie de la compassion pour atténuer la violence du quotidien, exposée dans la première partie. Ici, des moments de lenteurs offrent des instants contemplatifs d’une puissance inouïe.

Également composée par Shechter, la trame musicale accompagne parfaitement le mouvement. Atmosphérique, presque cinématographique, elle communique à elle seule une force qui transcende la scène. D’une beauté renversante, Double Murder révèle la maestria unique de Shechter dans sa forme la plus totale.

---

Double Murder est une production de la Compagnie Hofesh Shechter.

Commande du Sadler’s Wells, le Théâtre de la Ville, Paris, le Festival Brighton Dome & Brighton Festival et les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg. Commande conjointe du Shanghai International Dance Center Theater (SIDCT), du Festival d’arts New Vision de Hong Kong, du National Taichung Theater du National Performing Arts Center de Taïwan, R.O.C., du Festival d’Avignon, de Danse Danse Montréal, de la Scène Nationale d’Albi, du Festival Torinodanza/Teatro Stabile de Turin – Théâtre national, du Festival Inteatro du Marche Teatro, de l’Opéra de Dijon et du HOME Manchester. Œuvre créée en partie au Centre des arts de Banff.

Double Murder bénéficie du soutien de l’International Music and Art Foundation.

La compagnie Hofesh Shechter est soutenue par la Fondation BNP Paribas pour la réalisation de ses projets et reçoit des fonds publics par l’intermédiaire du Arts Council England.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
nov 7
nov 8
nov 9
  • 19 h 30
nov 10
  • 19 h 30
nov 11
nov 12
nov 13
video: Double Murder par Hofesh Shechter Company
Double Murder par Hofesh Shechter Company
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – Clowns © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Todd MacDonald
Double Murder – The Fix © Tom Visser
Double Murder – The Fix © Tom Visser
  • Chorégraphie et musique Hofesh Shechter
  • The Fix Conception des éclairages,
    Tom Visser

    Conception des costumes,
    Peter Todd,

    Musique supplémentaire:
    Can Can: composé par Jacques Offenbach. Publié par BMG Rights Management (UK) Limited, a BMG Company © Utilisé avec autorisation. Tous les droits réservés.
  • Clowns Conception des éclairages,
    Lee Curran

    Conception d'éclairage supplémentaire,
    Richard Godin

    D'après les créations de costumes pour Clowns,
    Christina Cunningham

    Musique supplémentaire:
    Le Roi Renaud (version instrumentale): composé par Pierre Bensusan (Sacem, Paris, France), Album: Pierre Bensusan #2 (Dadgad Music – DM1002) The Sun: Publié par Shin Joong Hyun MVD (KOMCA). Gracieuseté de Light in the Attic Records The Sun: Performé par Kim Jung Mi. Composé par Shin Joong Hyun (KOMCA).
Menu