October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown

Truth In Our Time - Ottawa

NAC Orchestra 2022 Tour

2022-04-13 20:00 2022-04-14 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Truth In Our Time - Ottawa

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29947

In-person event

*OTTAWA PREMIERE: NAC Orchestra commission of Philip Glass on the theme of Truth In Our Time in tribute to Canadian journalist Peter Jennings.  NACO is back on tour! Under the direction of Alexander Shelley, and featuring violin soloist James Ehnes (Gramophone Artist of the Year 2021), NACO presents the world premiere of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13, a work commissioned by the Orchestra on the theme of Truth in Our Time. Celebrate with us and be a part of...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
April 13 - 14, 2022
8:00 pm
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
Special Events Music Classical music Masterworks
  • Nicole Lizée Zeiss After Dark: SESQUIE for Canada’s 150th
  • Shostakovich Symphony No. 9
  • Korngold Concerto in D Major, Opus 35, for Violin and Orchestra (James Ehnes, soloist)
  • Philip Glass Symphony No. 13*

NAC Premiere

In-person event

*OTTAWA PREMIERE: NAC Orchestra commission of Philip Glass on the theme of Truth In Our Time in tribute to Canadian journalist Peter Jennings. 

NACO is back on tour! Under the direction of Alexander Shelley, and featuring violin soloist James Ehnes (Gramophone Artist of the Year 2021), NACO presents the world premiere of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13, a work commissioned by the Orchestra on the theme of Truth in Our Time. Celebrate with us and be a part of this exhilarating orchestral experience with performances at Roy Thomson Hall in Toronto, Carnegie Hall in New York, and finally, bringing it back home to Southam Hall at the National Arts Centre!

The premiere of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13 is a moving tribute to Canadian journalist Peter Jennings. Mr. Jennings was not only a highly respected news anchor for ABC News, he was also a trustee of Carnegie Hall during his years in New York City, the founding director of the American chapter of the Friends of the NAC Orchestra, and served as a lifelong champion of Canadian artists generally.

 “We are delighted that our soloist will be Canadian violinist and Gramophone 2021 Artist of the Year James Ehnes, with whom the NAC Orchestra has enjoyed an immensely rewarding, even symbiotic relationship for many years, and who will be playing Erich Korngold’s Violin Concerto on our program. We chose the Korngold concerto because it speaks to the theme Truth in Our Time, as do all the compositions we will be playing at Carnegie Hall. We will open with Canadian composer Nicole Lizée’s Zeiss After Dark, followed by Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 9, and of course the U.S. premiere of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13. We hope to share with our friends in New York City a compelling, engaging and memorable concert that reflects on global challenges such as truth and freedom of speech.” 
               - Alexander Shelley, Music Director of the NAC Orchestra
 
 

As noted by Maestro Shelley, the concert will open with Nicole Lizée’s beautifully profound Zeiss After Dark, which evokes the cinematographic effect of the Zeiss lens, used to film intimate scenes lit only by candles. The piece will lead the audience to the program’s theme through a contemplation of perspectives and filters.

Her piece will be followed by two works that speak to the idea of freedom of speech and the political implications of its disruption. Erich Korngold fled to the United States during World War II, where he stood staunchly against oppression and became an influential composer for Hollywood films. Korngold's Concerto in D Major, Opus 35 will be performed by powerhouse violinist James Ehnes.

Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 9 was expected by Stalin to be a grand work celebrating his regime, but instead the composer took a subversive, satirical approach, delivering a spirited work filled with humor rather than heroism, and this disruptive message commended the work to obscurity for the rest of Stalin’s life.

The final piece on the NAC Orchestra’s program was specifically composed by Philip Glass to speak to the notion of Truth in Our Time, and will serve as the culmination to a truly thought-provoking program for musicians and audience alike. Be among the first to witness the premiere of Philip Glass's latest composition - we'll see you on the road! 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Apr 11
Apr 12
Apr 13
  • 8:00pm
Apr 14
  • 8:00pm
Apr 15
Apr 16
Apr 17
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown

La vérité à l’ère moderne - Ottawa

Tournée 2022 de l'Orchestre du CNA

2022-04-13 20:00 2022-04-14 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : La vérité à l’ère moderne - Ottawa

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29947

Événement en personne

*PREMIÈRE À OTTAWA : Commande de l’Orchestre du CNA à Philip Glass sur le thème La vérité à l’ère moderne en hommage au journaliste canadien Peter Jennings. L’OCNA repart en tournée! Ce printemps, l’Orchestre du CNA, sous la direction d’Alexander Shelley et mettant en vedette le violiniste James Ehnes (artiste de l'année 2021 chez Gramophone), est ravi de présenter la...

Read more

Salle Southam,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
13 - 14 avril 2022
20 h 00
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
Événements spéciaux Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre
  • Nicole Lizée Zeiss After Dark : projet SESQUIE pour le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération
  • Chostakovitch Symphonie no 9
  • Korngold Concerto pour violon et orchestre en ré majeur, opus 35 (James Ehnes, soliste)
  • Philip Glass Symphonie n° 13*

Première au CNA

Événement en personne

*PREMIÈRE À OTTAWA : Commande de l’Orchestre du CNA à Philip Glass sur le thème La vérité à l’ère moderne en hommage au journaliste canadien Peter Jennings.

L’OCNA repart en tournée! Ce printemps, l’Orchestre du CNA, sous la direction d’Alexander Shelley et mettant en vedette le violiniste James Ehnes (artiste de l'année 2021 chez Gramophone), est ravi de présenter la première de la stupéfiante Symphonie no 13 de Philip Glass dans le cadre de la Tournée de l’Orchestre du CNA 2022. Venez célébrer avec nous et participer à cette expérience orchestrale exaltante avec des représentations au Roy Thomson Hall de Toronto, au Carnegie Hall à New York et, enfin, à la salle Southam du Centre national des Arts!

C’est dans le cadre de ce concert aura lieu la première d’une nouvelle œuvre de Philip Glass, sa Symphonie no 13, commandée par l’Orchestre sur le thème de la vérité à l'ère moderne et écrite à la mémoire du journaliste canadien Peter Jennings. Ce dernier a non seulement été le très réputé chef d’antenne du réseau ABC, il a aussi siégé au conseil d’administration de Carnegie Hall alors qu’il vivait à New York, a fondé le chapitre américain des Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA et a été, toute sa vie durant, un grand champion des artistes du Canada. 

 
« Nous sommes ravis de pouvoir compter sur un remarquable soliste invité, le violoniste canadien James Ehnes – sacré Artiste de l’année 2021 par le magazine Gramophone – avec lequel notre ensemble a tissé des liens profondément fructueux et presque symbiotiques depuis de nombreuses années. Il interprétera avec nous le Concerto pour violon d’Erich Korngold. Cette œuvre, comme les autres au programme, est reliée au thème de la vérité à l’ère moderne. Le concert s’ouvrira sur Zeiss After Dark de la compositrice canadienne Nicole Lizée et la Symphonie no 9 de Dmitri Chostakovitch; il se terminera bien sûr sur la première américaine de la Symphonie no 13 de Philip Glass.  Nous espérons offrir aux auditoires new-yorkais un concert captivant et mémorable qui reflète des enjeux mondiaux comme la vérité et de la liberté d’expression. »  
             - Alexander Shelley, directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA
 

Comme le souligne le maestro Shelley, le coup d’envoi de ce concert vivifiant est donné avec la profonde Zeiss After Dark de Nicole Lizée, qui évoque l’effet cinématographique des lentilles Zeiss, utilisées pour filmer des scènes intimes à la lueur des chandelles. L’œuvre guidera les auditoires au cœur du thème de la soirée par l’entremise d’une réflexion sur les perspectives et les filtres. Suivront ensuite deux œuvres dont la genèse est liée à la liberté d’expression et à la composante politique des atteintes à celle-ci.

Suivront ensuite deux œuvres dont la genèse est liée à la liberté d’expression et à la composante politique des atteintes à celle-ci. Après avoir trouvé refuge aux États-Unis durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, Erich Korngold s’éleva contre l’oppression et devint un compositeur influent à Hollywood. Son Concerto pour violon est une réponse victorieuse à la chute du régime nazi, qui marqua aussi le retour de sa propre musique dans les salles de concert.

Staline s’attendait à ce que la Symphonie no 9 de Chostakovitch fasse l’apologie de son régime, mais le compositeur opta pour une approche subversive et satirique, signant une œuvre remplie d’humour plutôt que d’héroïsme. Ce message perturbateur la fit tomber dans l’oubli jusqu’à la mort de Staline.

Le programme se clôt sur une œuvre de Philip Glass portant sur le thème de la vérité à l’ère moderne. Ce sera le point culminant d’une soirée aussi stimulante pour les interprètes que pour le public. Soyez parmi les premiers à assister à la première de la nouvelle œuvre de Philip Glass - au plaisir de vous retrouver sur la route!

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
avr 11
avr 12
avr 13
  • 20 h 00
avr 14
  • 20 h 00
avr 15
avr 16
avr 17
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
Menu