Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown

Truth In Our Time - Toronto

NAC Orchestra 2022 Tour

2022-03-30 20:00 2022-03-30 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Truth In Our Time - Toronto

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29945

In-person event

*WORLD PREMIERE: NAC Orchestra commission of Philip Glass on the theme of Truth In Our Time in tribute to Canadian journalist Peter Jennings.  NACO is back on tour! Under the direction of Alexander Shelley, and featuring violin soloist Blake Pouliot, NACO presents the world premiere of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13, a work commissioned by the Orchestra on the theme of Truth in Our Time. Celebrate with us and be a part of this exhilarating orchestral experience...

Read more

Roy Thomson Hall,Toronto
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
8 PM EST
Roy Thomson Hall Toronto
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
Special Events Music Classical music Masterworks Singer/Songwriter
  • Nicole Lizée Zeiss After Dark: SESQUIE for Canada’s 150th
  • Shostakovich Symphony No. 9
  • Korngold Concerto in D Major, Opus 35, for Violin and Orchestra (Blake Pouliot, soloist)
  • Philip Glass Symphony No. 13*

In-person event

*WORLD PREMIERE: NAC Orchestra commission of Philip Glass on the theme of Truth In Our Time in tribute to Canadian journalist Peter Jennings. 

NACO is back on tour! Under the direction of Alexander Shelley, and featuring violin soloist Blake Pouliot, NACO presents the world premiere of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13, a work commissioned by the Orchestra on the theme of Truth in Our Time. Celebrate with us and be a part of this exhilarating orchestral experience with performances at Roy Thomson Hall in Toronto, Carnegie Hall in New York, and finally, bringing it back home to Southam Hall at the National Arts Centre!

The world premiere of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13, is a moving tribute to Canadian journalist Peter Jennings. Mr. Jennings was not only a highly respected news anchor for ABC News, he was also a trustee of Carnegie Hall during his years in New York City, the founding director of the American chapter of the Friends of the NAC Orchestra, and served as a lifelong champion of Canadian artists generally.

This invigorating concert program opens with Nicole Lizée’s beautifully profound Zeiss After Dark, which evokes the cinematographic effect of the Zeiss lens, used to film intimate scenes lit only by candles. The piece will lead the audience to the program’s theme through a contemplation of perspectives and filters. Her piece will be followed by two works that speak to the idea of freedom of speech and the political implications of its disruption. 

We are delighted that Blake Pouliot, the brilliant, young Canadian violinist, will be our soloist playing Erich Korngold’s Violin Concerto in D Major, Opus 35 for Violin and Orchestra in our program at Roy Thomson Hall in Toronto. Korngold fled to the United States during World War II, where he stood staunchly against oppression and became an influential composer for Hollywood films. 

Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 9 was expected by Stalin to be a grand work celebrating his regime, but instead the composer took a subversive, satirical approach, delivering a spirited work filled with humor rather than heroism, and this disruptive message commended the work to obscurity for the rest of Stalin’s life.

The final piece on our program, specifically composed by Philip Glass to speak to the notion of Truth in Our Time, serves as the culmination to a truly thought-provoking evening. Be among the first to witness the premiere of Philip Glass's latest composition - we'll see you on the road!

 
A note from Alexander Shelley, Music Director, NACO:
"We chose the Korngold concerto because it speaks to the theme Truth in Our Time, as do all the compositions we will be playing on the tour. We will open with Canadian composer Nicole Lizée’s Zeiss After Dark, followed by Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 9, and of course the North American premiere of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 13. We hope to share a compelling, engaging and memorable concert that reflects on global challenges such as truth and freedom of speech."
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown

La vérité à l’ère moderne - Toronto

Tournée 2022 de l'Orchestre du CNA

2022-03-30 20:00 2022-03-30 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : La vérité à l’ère moderne - Toronto

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29945

Événement en personne

*PREMIÈRE MONDIALE : Commande de l’Orchestre du CNA à Philip Glass sur le thème La vérité à l’ère moderne en hommage au journaliste canadien Peter Jennings. L’OCNA repart en tournée! Ce printemps, l’Orchestre du CNA, sous la direction d’Alexander Shelley, est ravi de présenter la première de la stupéfiante Symphonie no 13 de Philip Glass dans le cadre de la Tournée de...

Read more

Roy Thomson Hall
mercredi 30 mars 2022
20 h HNE
Roy Thomson Hall
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
Événements spéciaux Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Auteur-compositeur-interprète
  • Nicole Lizée Zeiss After Dark : projet SESQUIE pour le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération
  • Chostakovitch Symphonie no 9
  • Korngold Concerto pour violon et orchestre en ré majeur, opus 35 (Blake Pouliot, soliste)
  • Philip Glass Symphonie n° 13*

Événement en personne

*PREMIÈRE MONDIALE : Commande de l’Orchestre du CNA à Philip Glass sur le thème La vérité à l’ère moderne en hommage au journaliste canadien Peter Jennings.

L’OCNA repart en tournée! Ce printemps, l’Orchestre du CNA, sous la direction d’Alexander Shelley, est ravi de présenter la première de la stupéfiante Symphonie no 13 de Philip Glass dans le cadre de la Tournée de l’Orchestre du CNA 2022. Venez célébrer avec nous et participer à cette expérience orchestrale exaltante avec des représentations au Roy Thomson Hall de Toronto, au Carnegie Hall à New York et, enfin, à la salle Southam du Centre national des Arts!

C’est dans le cadre de ce concert aura lieu la première mondiale d’une nouvelle œuvre de Philip Glass, sa Symphonie no 13, commandée par l’Orchestre sur le thème de la vérité à l'ère moderne et écrite à la mémoire du journaliste canadien Peter Jennings. Ce dernier a non seulement été le très réputé chef d’antenne du réseau ABC, il a aussi siégé au conseil d’administration de Carnegie Hall alors qu’il vivait à New York, a fondé le chapitre américain des Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA et a été, toute sa vie durant, un grand champion des artistes du Canada. 

Le coup d’envoi de ce concert vivifiant est donné avec la profonde Zeiss After Dark de Nicole Lizée, qui évoque l’effet cinématographique des lentilles Zeiss, utilisées pour filmer des scènes intimes à la lueur des chandelles. L’œuvre guidera les auditoires au cœur du thème de la soirée par l’entremise d’une réflexion sur les perspectives et les filtres. Suivront ensuite deux œuvres dont la genèse est liée à la liberté d’expression et à la composante politique des atteintes à celle-ci.

Nous sommes ravis que Blake Pouliot, jeune et brillant violoniste canadien, soit notre soliste au Roy Thomson Hall de Toronto. Il interprètera le Concerto pour violon et orchestre en ré majeur, opus 35 d’Erich Korngold. Après avoir trouvé refuge aux États-Unis durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, Korngold s’éleva contre l’oppression et devint un compositeur influent à Hollywood. Son Concerto pour violon est une réponse victorieuse à la chute du régime nazi, qui marqua aussi le retour de sa propre musique dans les salles de concert.

Staline s’attendait à ce que la neuvième symphonie de Chostakovitch fasse l’apologie de son régime, mais le compositeur opta pour une approche subversive et satirique, signant une œuvre remplie d’humour plutôt que d’héroïsme. Ce message perturbateur la fit tomber dans l’oubli jusqu’à la mort de Staline.

Le programme se clôt sur une œuvre de Philip Glass portant sur le thème de la vérité. Ce sera le point culminant d’une soirée aussi stimulante pour les interprètes que pour le public. Soyez parmi les premiers à assister à la première de la nouvelle œuvre de Philip Glass - au plaisir de vous retrouver sur la route!

Un mot de Alexander Shelley, directeur musical de l’OCNA :
« Nos solistes interprèteront avec nous le Concerto pour violon d’Erich Korngold. Cette œuvre, comme les autres au programme, est reliée au thème de la vérité à l’ère moderne. Le concert s’ouvrira sur Zeiss After Dark de la compositrice canadienne Nicole Lizée, suivi de la Symphonie no 9 de Dmitri Chostakovitch; il se terminera évidemment sur la première américaine de la Symphonie no 13 de Philip Glass. Nous espérons offrir un concert captivant et mémorable qui reflète des enjeux mondiaux comme la vérité et la liberté d’expression. »  
Alexander Shelley © Dwayne Brown
Menu