September 21, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
© Théâtre populaire d'Acadie

Savèches, une fragmentation contemporaine en trois mouvements

2021-12-01 20:00 2021-12-04 21:05 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Savèches, une fragmentation contemporaine en trois mouvements

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29188

In-person event

Drifting through constellations of information, images and inanities, our contemporary brains let themselves be swallowed up by luminous screens, like nocturnal insects. With Savèches, Théâtre populaire d’Acadie brings to the stage the luminous words of poet Jonathan Roy, as bright and captivating as a flame. “Savèche” is an Acadian word for a type of moth that is irresistibly attracted to light, just as modern humans are to the constant...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
December 1 - 4, 2021

December 2021

  1. Dec 1 2021
    Wednesday

    8:00pm

  2. Dec 2 2021
    Thursday

    8:00pm

  3. Dec 3 2021
    Friday

    8:00pm

  4. Dec 4 2021
    Saturday

    4:00pm

Close
© Théâtre populaire d'Acadie
Like moths to the light

In-person event

Drifting through constellations of information, images and inanities, our contemporary brains let themselves be swallowed up by luminous screens, like nocturnal insects. With Savèches, Théâtre populaire d’Acadie brings to the stage the luminous words of poet Jonathan Roy, as bright and captivating as a flame.

“Savèche” is an Acadian word for a type of moth that is irresistibly attracted to light, just as modern humans are to the constant agitation of the virtual world. Jonathan Roy has made it the central metaphor of his second collection of poetry, which draws on computer terminology, the lived experience of Generation Y, classic literature, and popular culture.

The fragmentation takes place in three movements: “Des phares au creux des paumes” (“Headlights in the palm of your hand”) addresses the overabundance of data that engulfs us; “Partir de nuit sans mettre ses hautes” (“Leaving at night without turning on your high beams”) tells how we hit the road in a search for self; and “Chenous est une galerie toujours allumée” (“At our place, the porch light is always on”) is about coming home to anchor ourselves in the territory and reconnect with the humans who live there.

The texts, most of which were created during poetry evenings, return to the stage in their most complete form, delivered by the poet himself and by actor Matthieu Girard, who is like his alter ego, an extension of himself. To envelop the words of this young writer taking a fresh look at modern-day Acadia, director Allain Roy makes extraordinarily effective use of lighting.

Performance is approximately 75 minutes with no intermission.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Nov 29
Nov 30
Dec 1
  • 8:00pm
Dec 2
  • 8:00pm
Dec 3
  • 8:00pm
Dec 4
  • 4:00pm
Dec 5
© Théâtre populaire d'Acadie
  • With Jonathan Roy and Matthieu Girard
  • Set, costumes and props Claudie Landry
  • Lighting Stéphane Ménigot
  • Soundscape Pascal Lejeune, assisted by Jonathan Sonier
  • Movement dramaturg Monique Léger
  • Produced by Théâtre populaire d’Acadie
  • Coproducer NAC French Theatre
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 21 septembre 2021.
© Théâtre populaire d'Acadie

Savèches, une fragmentation contemporaine en trois mouvements

2021-12-01 20:00 2021-12-04 21:05 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Savèches, une fragmentation contemporaine en trois mouvements

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29188

Événement en personne

Voguant dans des constellations d’informations, d’images et d’inepties, nos cerveaux contemporains se laissent avaler par les écrans lumineux, comme des insectes nocturnes. Avec Savèches, le Théâtre populaire d’Acadie porte sur scène les mots torchères du poète Jonathan Roy, aussi vifs et envoûtants qu’une flamme. « Savèche » est un mot acadien qui désigne un papillon de nuit,...

Read more

Studio Azrieli,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
1 - 4 décembre 2021

décembre 2021

  1. déc 1 2021
    mercredi

    20 h 00

  2. déc 2 2021
    jeudi

    20 h 00

  3. déc 3 2021
    vendredi

    20 h 00

  4. déc 4 2021
    samedi

    16 h 00

Fermer
© Théâtre populaire d'Acadie
Comme des papillons vers la lumière

Événement en personne

Voguant dans des constellations d’informations, d’images et d’inepties, nos cerveaux contemporains se laissent avaler par les écrans lumineux, comme des insectes nocturnes. Avec Savèches, le Théâtre populaire d’Acadie porte sur scène les mots torchères du poète Jonathan Roy, aussi vifs et envoûtants qu’une flamme.

« Savèche » est un mot acadien qui désigne un papillon de nuit, attiré irrémédiablement par la lumière, comme l’homme moderne par l’agitation perpétuelle du monde virtuel. Jonathan Roy en a fait la métaphore centrale de son deuxième recueil de poésie, qui puise au vocabulaire informatique, aux réalités de la génération Y, aux classiques de la littérature et à la culture populaire.

La fragmentation se fait en trois mouvements : « Des phares au creux des paumes » écume la surabondance de données qui nous avalent, « Partir de nuit sans mettre ses hautes » raconte comment on prend la route pour aller se chercher ailleurs et « Chenous est une galerie toujours allumée » parle de revenir chez soi, pour s’ancrer dans le territoire et reconnecter avec les humains qui l’habitent.

Les textes, nés pour la plupart lors de soirées de poésie, reviennent à la scène dans leur forme la plus aboutie, portés par l’auteur lui-même et par le comédien Matthieu Girard, qui est comme son alter ego, un prolongement de lui-même. Pour envelopper la parole de ce jeune auteur qui porte un regard neuf sur l’Acadie d’aujourd’hui, Allain Roy, qui en signe la mise en scène, accorde une grande place au travail de la lumière.

Durée approximative de 75 minutes sans entracte.

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
nov 29
nov 30
déc 1
  • 20 h 00
déc 2
  • 20 h 00
déc 3
  • 20 h 00
déc 4
  • 16 h 00
déc 5
© Théâtre populaire d'Acadie
  • Interprétation Jonathan Roy et Matthieu Girard
  • Décor, costumes et accessoires Claudie Landry
  • Lumière Stéphane Ménigot
  • Environnement sonore Pascal Lejeune, assisté de Jonathan Sonier
  • Dramaturgie du mouvement Monique Léger
  • Production Théâtre populaire d’Acadie
  • Coproduction Théâtre français du CNA
Menu