September 21, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Hélène Grimaud © Mozart Silvestrov

Grimaud Plays Schumann

with the NAC Orchestra

2021-10-07 20:00 2021-10-07 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Grimaud Plays Schumann

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29166

NAC Livestream

Opening with the musical equivalent of a soft caress, Robert Schumann’s romantic Symphony No. 4, is by turns tender, dramatic, and joyful. Tinged with tension and ambiguity, this lovely symphony questions and reveals, reflecting humanity in every bar. Then, celebrated French pianist Hélène Grimaud makes her long-awaited return to Southam Hall to perform Schumann’s Piano Concerto. Truly a renaissance woman, Hélène understands the mind of Schumann like few...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, October 7, 2021
8 PM EDT
NAC Livestream
Hélène Grimaud © Mozart Silvestrov
Music Classical music
  • R. Schumann Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120
  • R. Schumann Concerto in A minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 54

NAC Livestream

Opening with the musical equivalent of a soft caress, Robert Schumann’s romantic Symphony No. 4, is by turns tender, dramatic, and joyful. Tinged with tension and ambiguity, this lovely symphony questions and reveals, reflecting humanity in every bar.

Then, celebrated French pianist Hélène Grimaud makes her long-awaited return to Southam Hall to perform Schumann’s Piano Concerto. Truly a renaissance woman, Hélène understands the mind of Schumann like few artists, illuminating the music with her all-embracing interpretation of the great composer’s work. 

This Concerto is without a doubt a confession of love to Schumann’s soon-to-be wife Clara, who was an accomplished composer one of the great pianists of her time. Until 1840, Robert Schumann had written exclusively for the piano, but in a letter to Robert, Clara wrote “Don’t take it amiss if I tell you I’ve been seized by the desire to encourage you to write for orchestra. Your imagination and your spirit are too great for the weak piano.” 

 Want more? Listen to NACO’s recording of Clara Schumann’s Piano Concert with Gabriela Montero here.

Livestream available in Canada only.

Performance is approximately 90 minutes with no intermission.

Hélène Grimaud © Mozart Silvestrov
Menu

Grimaud joue Schumann

avec l'Orchestre du CNA

Musique Musique classique
  • l'Orchestre du CNA

  7 - 28 oct 2021   90 minutes sans entracte.

R. Schumann Symphonie no 4 en ré mineur, op. 120 R. Schumann Concerto pour piano et orchestre en la mineur, op. 54

S’ouvrant par l’équivalent musical d’une douce caresse, la romantique Symphonie no 4 de Robert Schumann est tour à tour tendre, dramatique et joyeuse. Teintée de tension et d’ambiguïté, cette charmante symphonie interroge et révèle, chaque mesure empreinte d’humanité.

Par la suite, la pianiste française acclamée Hélène Grimaud fera son retour tant attendu à la Salle Southam pour interpréter le Concerto pour piano de Schumann. Véritable artiste touche-à-tout, Hélène Grimaud comprend la pensée de Schumann comme peu de musiciens savent le faire. Elle fait resplendir la musique avec son interprétation universelle de l’œuvre du grand compositeur.

Ce Concerto est sans l’ombre d’un doute une déclaration d’amour de Robert Schumann à Clara, sa future épouse, compositrice accomplie et parmi les meilleures pianistes de son époque. Jusqu’en 1840, Robert Schumann compose exclusivement pour le piano. Dans une lettre qu’elle lui adresse, Clara écrit : « Ne le prend pas mal si je te dis que j’ai été animée du désir de t’encourager à composer des œuvres pour orchestre. Ton imagination et ton caractère sont trop puissants pour le simple piano. »

Vous en voulez plus? Écoutez l’enregistrement du Concerto pour piano de Clara Schumann par l’Orchestre du CNA avec Gabriela Montero ici.

La diffusion en direct est offerte au Canada seulement.

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu