October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Joe, Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault © Robert Etcheverry

Jean-Pierre Perreault's Joe

2021-03-17 00:00 2021-03-23 24:00 true 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Jean-Pierre Perreault's Joe

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/28306

Video on-demand

NAC Dance invites you to relive Joe, the iconic contemporary Canadian dance piece by the late Jean-Pierre Perreault. This piece not only pays tribute to one of Canada's greatest choreographers, but also allows the public to discover or rediscover a breathtaking performance that has had a profound impact on contemporary dance. A pivotal work, Joe presents an image of the human condition that is so accurate and so moving that it remains forever imprinted in the memories of those who have...

Read more

Online
March 17 - 23, 2021
Video on-demand
This event has passed
Joe, Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault © Robert Etcheverry
Francophone Dance Contemporary Film

Video on-demand

NAC Dance invites you to relive Joe, the iconic contemporary Canadian dance piece by the late Jean-Pierre Perreault. This piece not only pays tribute to one of Canada's greatest choreographers, but also allows the public to discover or rediscover a breathtaking performance that has had a profound impact on contemporary dance.

A pivotal work, Joe presents an image of the human condition that is so accurate and so moving that it remains forever imprinted in the memories of those who have experienced it.

To the sound of 32 pairs of work boots obsessively pounding the floor, 32 dancers, dressed in long coats and hats, move in a compact mass from which individuals occasionally attempt to free themselves to escape a preordained destiny.

One of the most influential and respected contemporary dance artists in Canada, choreographer, painter and set designer Jean-Pierre Perreault (1947–2002) created works whose significant influence both at home and abroad has contributed to the growth of dance artists and audiences.


Detailed program

Pre-show (3 minutes)

Introduction of the work Joe. Produced by Filigrane Archives.

Film (54 minutes)

Webcast of a video recording of the piece Joe (premiered in 1984), produced in 1995 by Bernard Picard for Radio-Canada.

Post-show (15 minutes)

Documentary on Joe. Produced by Filigrane Archives.

Enjoy this archival video in its vintage resolution, which is already 26 years old. The technology may have aged a little, but Joe hasn't!

This Digidance webcast is an initiative of DanceHouse (Vancouver), Danse Danse (Montreal), Harbourfront Centre (Toronto) and the National Arts Centre (Ottawa) in collaboration with the Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault. Thank you to Radio-Canada Archives.

Note: Once you have purchased your access to the film, the link to watch will be available from 12:01 AM (Eastern Standard Time) on March 17 to 11:45 PM (Eastern Standard Time) on March 23. You can view the film as many times as you wish with your link.


Consider donating to the National Arts Centre as it continues to support Canadian artists. Tickets have a $35 (Engaged) or $85 (Supporter) donation option. Thank you!

This digital presentation is approximately 70 minutes.

video:
Joe, Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault © Robert Etcheverry
Joe, Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault © Robert Etcheverry
Joe, Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault © Robert Etcheverry
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
Joe, Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault © Robert Etcheverry

Joe de Jean-Pierre Perreault

2021-03-17 00:00 2021-03-23 24:00 true 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Joe de Jean-Pierre Perreault

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/28306

Vidéo sur demande

Danse CNA vous invite à revivre Joe, l’œuvre-culte de la danse contemporaine canadienne du regretté Jean-Pierre Perreault. Cette pièce non seulement rend hommage à l’un des plus grands chorégraphes d’ici, mais permet au public de voir ou même de revoir un spectacle époustouflant qui a profondément marqué la danse contemporaine. Œuvre-phare, Joe propose une image si juste et si bouleversante de la...

Read more

En ligne
17 - 23 mars 2021
Vidéo sur demande
Cet événement est passé
Joe, Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault © Robert Etcheverry
Francophone Danse contemporaine Cinéma

Vidéo sur demande

Danse CNA vous invite à revivre Joe, l’œuvre-culte de la danse contemporaine canadienne du regretté Jean-Pierre Perreault. Cette pièce non seulement rend hommage à l’un des plus grands chorégraphes d’ici, mais permet au public de voir ou même de revoir un spectacle époustouflant qui a profondément marqué la danse contemporaine.

Œuvre-phare, Joe propose une image si juste et si bouleversante de la condition humaine qu’elle demeure à jamais inscrite dans la mémoire de ceux qui l’ont vue. 

Au son de 32 paires de bottes de travail martelant le sol avec obsession, 32 danseurs, vêtus de longs manteaux et de chapeaux, se déplacent en une masse compacte, dont parfois des individus tentent de se libérer pour échapper à un destin tracé d’avance.

L'un des créateurs les plus influents et les plus respectés de la danse contemporaine au Canada, le chorégraphe, peintre et scénographe Jean-Pierre Perreault (1947-2002) a conçu des œuvres dont l’important rayonnement ici et à l’international a contribué à l’élargissement du public de la danse.


Programme détaillé

Pré-spectacle (3 minutes)

Présentation de l'œuvre Joe. Produit par Filigrane Archives.

Film (54 minutes)

Cette webdiffusion d’une captation de la pièce Joe (créée en 1983), réalisée en 1995 par Bernard Picard pour Radio-Canada.

Post-spectacle (15 minutes)

Documentaire sur Joe. Produit par Filigrane Archives.

Vous pourrez apprécier cette archive vidéo dans sa résolution vintage qui date de 26 ans déjà. Si la technologie a quelque peu vieilli, Joe, lui, ne vieillit pas.

Cette webdiffusion Digidanse est une initiative de DanceHouse (Vancouver), Danse Danse (Montréal), Centre national des Arts (Ottawa), Harbourfront Centre (Toronto) en collaboration avec la Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault. Merci à Radio-Canada Archives. 

À noter : Une fois que vous aurez sécurisé l’accès au film, le lien de visionnement sera disponible dès 12 h 01 (Heure Standard de l'Est) le 17 mars jusqu’à 23 h 45 (Heure Standard de l'Est) le 23 mars. Vous pourrez visionner le film autant de fois que vous le désirez au cours de cette période.


Nous vous invitons à faire un don au Centre national des Arts alors que nous continuons d’appuyer les artistes canadiens. Les billets ont une option de don de 35 $ (engagé) ou de 85 $ (passionné). Merci!

Cette présentation en ligne dure environ 70 minutes.

video:
Joe, Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault © Robert Etcheverry
Joe, Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault © Robert Etcheverry
Joe, Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault © Robert Etcheverry
Menu