June 30, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser

Polyphonic Lively

with the NAC Orchestra

2021-04-17 20:00 2021-04-17 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Polyphonic Lively

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/27999

NAC Livestream

The concert opens with the vivacious first movement of UK composer Errollyn Wallen’s Photography (2007). Evoking an energetic dance, the sections of the string orchestra engage in the jubilant exchange of various motives throughout, while pulsating patterns propel the piece forward to its ecstatic conclusion.

 

A Short Piece for Orchestra (1952) is one of American composer Julia Perry’s best known works. During her lifetime, it received acclaimed performances...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, April 17, 2021
8 PM EDT
Livestream
This event has passed
Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser
Music Classical music
  • Errollyn Wallen Photography I.-- (4 mins)
  • JULIA PERRY A Short Piece for Orchestra (8 mins)
  • VAUGHAN- WILLIAMS The House of Life: selections (18 mins)
  • DINUK WIJERATNE Polyphonic Lively (12 mins)

NAC Livestream

The concert opens with the vivacious first movement of UK composer Errollyn Wallen’s Photography (2007). Evoking an energetic dance, the sections of the string orchestra engage in the jubilant exchange of various motives throughout, while pulsating patterns propel the piece forward to its ecstatic conclusion.

A Short Piece for Orchestra (1952) is one of American composer Julia Perry’s best known works. During her lifetime, it received acclaimed performances on both sides of the Atlantic (including in a re-orchestrated version entitled Study for Orchestra for the New York Philharmonic in 1965), and was also recorded in 1969. A Short Piece is in five sections. It opens raucously with a series of angular themes, the vigorous mood of which also returns in the middle. In between are two contrasting segments of more melancholy and haunting feeling, after which the piece wraps up with a bang.

In 1902, Ralph Vaughan Williams set six sonnets from the English poet Dante Gabriel Rossetti’s immense collection of 101 such poems, for voice and piano. Entitled The House of Life, the resulting song cycle is considered to be among the finest examples of English art song composed at the beginning of the 20th century. You’ll hear Joel Allison perform the first four of these songs, in an arrangement he created for voice and string orchestra. According to art historian Karen Yuen, Vaughan Williams was deliberate in not only his choice of poems but also in the order in which he placed them in his cycle, which do not follow Dante’s numbering. She notes that while the poems, taken together, do not tell a story, each one could be regarded as a meditation on understanding the workings of love that builds on the previous song. Musically, the voice’s line imbues the text with an introspective and deliberate quality, with moments, such as in “Love-sight” and “Silent Noon”, when it frees itself through dramatic, declamatory passages. The accompaniment supports with exquisitely shifting harmonies and rich sonorities, and on occasion, evocative word painting, like in “Love’s Minstrels”.

Canadian composer Dinuk Wijeratne’s Polyphonic Lively (2016) draws this concert to an exciting close. The title is the same as to a painting by the Swiss-German artist Paul Klee, which Wijeratne took as inspiration for the piece. As he has written, “I felt compelled to turn these very vivid and evocative words into music. They immediately conjured up high-vibration, high-intensity ‘chatter’.” The work is a kaleidoscope of orchestral timbres (much like the vibrant colours in a Klee painting), while being what Wijeratne describes as “character-driven—through sharp turns and decisive action, its ‘journey’ is simply what the characters make of it. Its musical fabric is a multiplicity of voices, lines, and themes that decide—on a whim—when to coalesce and coexist.”

Performance is approximately 60 minutes with no intermission.

video: NACO Lunch Break: Beethoven's
NACO Lunch Break: Beethoven's "Ich Liebe Dich"
Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.
Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser

Vive polyphonie

avec l'Orchestre du CNA

2021-04-17 20:00 2021-04-17 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Vive polyphonie

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/27999

CNA en direct

Le concert s’ouvre sur le très animé premier mouvement de Photography (2007) de la compositrice britannique Errollyn Wallen. Évoquant une danse énergique, les sections de l’orchestre à cordes se lancent tout du long dans un joyeux échange d’éléments thématiques, tandis que des motifs pulsés propulsent le morceau vers sa rayonnante conclusion.   A Short Piece for Orchestra (1952) est l’une des...

Read more

Salle Southam,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 17 avril 2021
20 h HAE
Diffusion en direct
Cet événement est passé
Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser
Musique Musique classique
  • Errollyn Wallen Photography I.-- (4 minutes)
  • JULIA PERRY A Short Piece for Orchestra (8 minutes)
  • VAUGHAN- WILLIAMS The House of Life: selections (18 minutes)
  • DINUK WIJERATNE Polyphonic Lively (12 minutes)

CNA en direct

Le concert s’ouvre sur le très animé premier mouvement de Photography (2007) de la compositrice britannique Errollyn Wallen. Évoquant une danse énergique, les sections de l’orchestre à cordes se lancent tout du long dans un joyeux échange d’éléments thématiques, tandis que des motifs pulsés propulsent le morceau vers sa rayonnante conclusion.

A Short Piece for Orchestra (1952) est l’une des œuvres les plus connues de la compositrice américaine Julia Perry. De son vivant, cette œuvre a été jouée avec succès des deux côtés de l’Atlantique (dont une version réorchestrée pour l’Orchestre philharmonique de New York en 1965, intitulée Étude pour orchestre), et elle a été enregistrée en 1969. A Short Piece s’articule en cinq sections. Elle s’amorce bruyamment avec une série de thèmes incisifs, dont le climat dynamique réapparaît au milieu de la pièce. Dans l’intervalle, on trouve deux segments à l’ambiance plus mélancolique et envoûtante, après quoi l’œuvre s’achève en apothéose.

En 1902, Ralph Vaughan Williams a choisi six des 101 sonnets du grand poète anglais Dante Gabriel Rossetti et les a mis en musique pour voix et piano. Intitulé The House of Life, le cycle de mélodies qui en a résulté est considéré comme l’un des plus brillants exemples de l’art de la mélodie anglaise du début du XXe siècle. Vous entendrez Joel Allison interpréter quatre de ces mélodies, dans un arrangement qu’il a lui-même créé pour voix et orchestre à cordes. Selon l’historienne de l’art Karen Yuen, Vaughan Williams a fait montre de minutie non seulement dans le choix des poèmes, mais également en ce qui concerne l’ordre dans lequel il les a placés dans son cycle, lequel ne suit pas la numérotation de Rossetti. Elle souligne que même si les poèmes, pris ensemble, ne racontent pas une histoire, chacun d’eux peut être considéré comme une méditation sur la mécanique amoureuse, chaque mélodie prenant le relais de la précédente. Musicalement, la ligne vocale imprègne le texte d’une qualité introspective et méditative, se libérant par moments, comme dans « Love-sight » et « Silent Noon », dans des envolées dramatiques et déclamatoires. L’accompagnement soutient le chant avec des harmonies délicieusement changeantes et de riches sonorités, et occasionnellement par une illustration évocatrice des mots, comme dans « Love’s Minstrels ».

Polyphonic Lively (2016) du compositeur canadien Dinuk Wijeratne amène le concert à son exaltante conclusion. Le titre est emprunté à un tableau du peintre suisse allemand Paul Klee, dont le compositeur s’est inspiré pour écrire cette pièce. Ainsi qu’il le note, « je me suis senti irrésistiblement tenu de traduire en musique cette expression si vive et évocatrice. Elle a immédiatement évoqué pour moi un « bourdonnement » vibrant et intense. » L’œuvre est un kaléidoscope de timbres orchestraux (à l’exemple des couleurs dynamiques des tableaux de Klee), tout en étant, ainsi que le souligne M. Wijeratne, « propulsée par les personnages – au fil de virages brusques et d’actions décisives, son ‟parcours” se résume à ce qu’en font les personnages. Son tissu musical est fait d’une multiplicité de voix, de lignes et de thèmes qui décident, au gré de leurs humeurs, à quels moments se fondre et coexister. »

Durée approximative de 60 minutes sans entracte.

video: Pause-midi : Ich Liebe Dich de Beethoven
Pause-midi : Ich Liebe Dich de Beethoven
Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser
Menu