September 27, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
© Jonathan Lorange

White Out

2022-04-06 20:00 2022-04-09 21:15 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: White Out

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/25539

In-person event

Performed in French   In a hotel room by the sea, where stories and bodies intertwine, White Out navigates the fine line between reality and dream. Through an evocative blend of lighting, sounds and language, the company L’eau du bain creates an enveloping universe that probes the landscape of intimacy. The expression “white out” refers to the loss of reference points that occurs under certain atmospheric and climatic conditions—not unlike the way you...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
April 6 - 9, 2022

April 2022

  1. Apr 6 2022
    Wednesday

    8:00pm

  2. Apr 7 2022
    Thursday

    8:00pm

  3. Apr 8 2022
    Friday

    8:00pm

  4. Apr 9 2022
    Saturday

    4:00pm

Close
© Jonathan Lorange
A landscape play in a white room

In-person event

Performed in French

In a hotel room by the sea, where stories and bodies intertwine, White Out navigates the fine line between reality and dream. Through an evocative blend of lighting, sounds and language, the company L’eau du bain creates an enveloping universe that probes the landscape of intimacy.

The expression “white out” refers to the loss of reference points that occurs under certain atmospheric and climatic conditions—not unlike the way you feel in the midst of heartbreak. In an installation inspired by the room overlooking the dark sea that is the setting for Marguerite Duras’ novel La maladie de la mort, a woman has taken refuge. The place has recorded all the dramas that have taken place there, and plays them back in random order. Through a storm that galvanizes the senses and mutates as the dialogue unfolds, we can make out a bed, sheets, silhouettes of children. A space between two worlds where the whiteness outside also evokes the emptiness inside.

The mixed-media works of L’eau du bain combine light, sound, text and performance to create universes that challenge the audience’s perceptions. Founded by Anne-Marie Ouellet, Thomas Sinou and Nancy Bussières, the company continues the exploration begun with Impatience, created with teenagers, and Nous voilà rendus, created with seniors. A version of White Out adapted for ages 6 to 11 is also offered in French Theatre’s season of plays for young audiences, under the title La chambre des enfants.

Performance is approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes with no intermission.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Apr 4
Apr 5
Apr 6
  • 8:00pm
Apr 7
  • 8:00pm
Apr 8
  • 8:00pm
Apr 9
  • 4:00pm
Apr 10
© Jonathan Lorange
© Jonathan Lorange
© Jonathan Lorange
© Jonathan Lorange
  • Written and directed by Anne-Marie Ouellet
  • Sound Thomas Sinou
  • Lighting Nancy Bussières
  • With With Anne-Marie Ouellet and a cast of children
  • Sets Simon Guilbault
  • Props and costumes Karine Galarneau
  • Dramaturgs Émilie Martz-Kuhn
  • Assistant director Guillaume Saindon
  • Production director Cynthia Bouchard-Gosselin
  • Produced by L’eau du bain
  • Developed with support from NAC National Creation Fund, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, the University of Ottawa Theatre Department, and Hexagram–UQAM
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
© Jonathan Lorange

White Out

2022-04-06 20:00 2022-04-09 21:15 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : White Out

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/25539

Événement en personne

Spectacle présenté en français   Dans une chambre d’hôtel en bord de mer, où les récits et les corps se lovent, White Out navigue sur la mince ligne entre le réel et le rêve. En alliant les éclairages, les sons et les mots pour créer un univers enveloppant, la compagnie L’eau du bain creuse les territoires de l’intime. L’expression White Out renvoie à la perte de repères qui survient...

Read more

Studio Azrieli,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
6 - 9 avril 2022

avril 2022

  1. avr 6 2022
    mercredi

    20 h 00

  2. avr 7 2022
    jeudi

    20 h 00

  3. avr 8 2022
    vendredi

    20 h 00

  4. avr 9 2022
    samedi

    16 h 00

Fermer
© Jonathan Lorange
Pièce-paysage en chambre blanche

Événement en personne

Spectacle présenté en français

Dans une chambre d’hôtel en bord de mer, où les récits et les corps se lovent, White Out navigue sur la mince ligne entre le réel et le rêve. En alliant les éclairages, les sons et les mots pour créer un univers enveloppant, la compagnie L’eau du bain creuse les territoires de l’intime.

L’expression White Out renvoie à la perte de repères qui survient lors de certaines conditions atmosphériques et climatiques. Un état proche de celui qu’on ressent en plein désespoir amoureux. Dans une installation inspirée de la chambre face à la mer noire dans laquelle se déroule le roman La maladie de la mort de Marguerite Duras, une femme s’est réfugiée. Le lieu a enregistré tous les drames qui s’y sont déroulés et les rejoue dans le désordre. À travers une tempête qui galvanise les sens et qui se transforme au fil des mots, on distingue un lit, des draps, des silhouettes d’enfants. Un espace entre deux mondes où le blanc du dehors évoque aussi le vide du dedans. 

Les œuvres métissées de L’eau du bain amalgament la lumière, l’environnement sonore, le texte et la performance pour créer des univers qui bousculent les perceptions des spectateurs. Fondée par Anne-Marie Ouellet, Thomas Sinou et Nancy Bussières, la compagnie poursuit l’exploration amorcée avec Impatience, élaborée avec des adolescents, et Nous voilà rendus, créée avec des personnes âgées. Une version adaptée de White Out pour les 6 à 11 ans est aussi offerte dans le volet Enfance sous le titre La chambre des enfants.

Durée approximative de 1 heure et 15 minutes sans entracte.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
avr 4
avr 5
avr 6
  • 20 h 00
avr 7
  • 20 h 00
avr 8
  • 20 h 00
avr 9
  • 16 h 00
avr 10
© Jonathan Lorange
© Jonathan Lorange
© Jonathan Lorange
© Jonathan Lorange
  • Texte et mise en scène Anne-Marie Ouellet
  • Son Thomas Sinou
  • Lumière Nancy Bussières
  • Interprétation Anne-Marie Ouellet, entourée d’enfants
  • Scénographie Simon Guilbault
  • Accessoires et costumes Karine Galarneau
  • Dramaturgie Émilie Martz-Kuhn
  • Assistance à la mise en scène Guillaume Saindon
  • Direction de production Cynthia Bouchard-Gosselin
  • Production L’eau du bain
  • Développé avec le soutien de Fonds national de création du CNA, du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Département de théâtre de l’Université d’Ottawa et d’Hexagram-UQAM
Menu