Chineke! © Joe Swift
Chineke! © Joe Swift
Special Events Music Classical music Piano
  • SAMUEL COLERIDGE-TAYLOR Ballade for Orchestra
  • Stewart Goodyear Callaloo – A Caribbean Suite for Piano and Orchestra
  • Brahms, Johannes Symphony No. 2

When Chi-chi Nwanoku, double bass virtuoso and professor at the Royal Academy  of Music, set out to assemble an orchestra made up of  superb classical musicians who were also people of colour, she had no idea where to begin or if such a group even existed. But they do and she did, and the result is the incomparable Chineke! Orchestra (CHIN-neck-ay), comprising Black and visible minority  classical musicians representing 35 nationalities.

In their highly anticipated Canadian debut, Chineke! Orchestra performs with Canada’s own Stewart Goodyear, composer and piano superstar. The vibrant and exciting Callaloo is the fulfillment of Goodyear’s dream to compose a work that marries the music of the classical and Calypso worlds.

With conductor Kevin John Edusei, one of today’s most sought-after talents, Chineke! Orchestra also performs Brahms’s pastoral Symphony No. 2, the most cheerful of Brahms’s mature works and his own personal favourite, and Samuel Coleridge-Taylor’s stunningly beautiful Ballade for Orchestra .

Chineke! Orchestra’s only Canadian date will come hot on the heels of their debut at Walt Disney Hall (Los Angeles), San Francisco Symphony Hall, and the Kennedy Center (Washington).

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission

video:
video:
Chineke! © Joe Swift
Stewart Goodyear
Kevin John Edusei © Marco Borggreve
Chineke! © Eric Richmond
© Ntando Brown
© Ntando Brown

Artists

Menu

50% de rabais sur les abonnements - 2 jours seulement - Ne manquez pas ça! (Compte à rebours :
)
Chineke! © Joe Swift
Chineke! © Joe Swift
Événements spéciaux Musique Musique classique Piano
  • SAMUEL COLERIDGE-TAYLOR Ballade pour orchestre
  • Stewart Goodyear Callaloo – Une suite caribéenne pour piano et orchestre
  • Brahms, Johannes Symphonie no 2

Lorsque Chi-chi Nwanoku, contrebasse virtuose et professeure à l’Académie royale de musique, s’est mise en tête de créer un orchestre formé de grands musiciens classiques qui étaient aussi des personnes de couleur, elle ne savait pas par où commencer ni si ce genre d’ensemble existait déjà. C’est maintenant le cas, et le résultat en est un orchestre incomparable, nommé Chineke! (prononcé CHIN-neck-ay), composé de musiciens classiques noirs et issus de minorités visibles de 35 nationalités différentes.

À l’occasion d’une première canadienne très attendue, Chineke! se produit avec Stewart Goodyear, compositeur et célèbre pianiste canadien. Sa vibrante et captivante suite Callaloo représente la concrétisation d’un rêve, celui de créer une composition alliant musique classique et rythmes calypsos.

L’Orchestre Chineke! interprétera aussi la magnifique Ballade pour orchestre de Samuel Coleridge-Taylor et la Symphonie no 2 de Brahms sous la direction de Kevin John Edusei, l’un des chefs d’orchestre les plus recherchés à l’heure actuelle. Cette symphonie pastorale est l’une des œuvres de maturité de Brahms les plus gaies, et sa préférée parmi ses œuvres du genre.

Ce concert présenté à la Salle Southam est la seule escale de Chineke! au Canada, suivant de près ses débuts au Walt Disney Hall (Los Angeles), au San Francisco Symphony Hall et au Kennedy Center de Washington.

Durée approximative de 2 heurs avec entracte

video:
video:
Chineke! © Joe Swift
Stewart Goodyear
Kevin John Edusei © Marco Borggreve
Chineke! © Eric Richmond
© Ntando Brown
© Ntando Brown

Artistes

Menu