Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

Greatness from Darkness

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Music Jazz

The Great Depression was a dark and challenging time that cast a shadow across much of the world during the 1930s. It was during this time that jazz, still very much in its infancy, began to grow up. It became more diverse and sophisticated, and more popular and accepted as it moved from the underground, to the clubs, and eventually to the concert halls.

In this program featuring a fourteen-piece band, we’ll play the great jazz of the Great Depression. With music from the books of Duke Ellington, Fletcher Henderson, Louis Armstrong, Benny Goodman, and many others, we’ll explore how jazz told the tales of the hard times while helping people to lift their spirits and overcome adversity.

The Ottawa Jazz Orchestra brings together many of the capital city region’s finest jazz and symphony musicians to present highly entertaining and education presentations of jazz. For almost fifteen years the orchestra has delivered unique programmes covering the gamut of jazz, earning acclaim from audiences and critics alike. The core of the orchestra’s annual programming is its season of concerts at the National Arts Centre. This concert is part of the orchestra’s fourteenth season.

Tickets $42. Buy the OJO season package and get tickets for all six evening shows for $220 and save $32. Only available for purchase at the NAC Box Office.

video: Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Menu

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

De grandes choses dans la noirceur

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Musique Jazz

La Grande Dépression fut une période sombre et difficile dont l’impact s’est fait sentir un peu partout sur la planète au cours des années 1930. C’est à cette époque que le jazz, qui en était encore à ses balbutiements, s’est mis à grandir. Il est devenu plus varié et sophistiqué, plus populaire et mieux accepté, passant des lieux marginaux aux clubs et, ultimement, aux salles de spectacle.

Dans ce programme, mettant en vedette un orchestre de quatorze musiciens, nous jouerons le jazz de la Grande Dépression. À l’aide de la musique de Duke Ellington, Fletcher Henderson, Louis Armstrong, Benny Goodman, et bien d’autres, nous explorerons comment le jazz a raconté les récits des temps difficiles tout en aidant les gens à garder la tête haute et surmonter l’adversité. 

L’Orchestre de jazz d’Ottawa réunit plusieurs des plus grands musiciens de jazz et de symphonie de la capitale nationale pour des prestations de jazz à la fois éducatives et extrêmement divertissantes. Depuis près de quinze ans, l’orchestre offre des programmes qui couvrent toute la gamme de jazz, s’attirant les éloges tant du public que des critiques. Le cœur de la programmation annuelle de l’orchestre est sans contredit sa saison de concerts au Centre national des Arts. Ce concert s’inscrit dans la quatorzième saison de l’orchestre. 

Billets au coût de 42 $. Procurez-vous le forfait de saison de l’OJO et obtenez des billets pour les six spectacles en soirée au coût de 220 $, une économie de 32 $.

video: Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Menu