Kodo

Kodo One Earth Tour 2019: Evolution

This event has passed
Music
“Kodo combines theater, dance — and thumping music — to showcase its unique art form.” Andrew Gilbert The Boston Globe, March 13, 2011

Kodo brings the pulse and power to Evolution, an intense and innovative musical production created to mark the internationally renowned drum group’s 35th anniversary. 

Effusing zeal and vitality, Evolution is percussion like you’ve never seen or heard before.  With a rousing physical performance by the Kodo drummers, the massive Japanese taiko drums seem to come alive on stage.  Evolution promises to deliver an exhilarating whirl of energy and a new dimension of performance experience.

Kodo, Japanese for heartbeat, are Masters of the taiko, a traditional Japanese drum with limitless rhythmic possibilities. In 35 years, they have given more than 6,000 performances worldwide and have been featured in the 2002 FIFA World Cup anthem.

video:

Artists

View all artists ›
  • Artistic Director Tamasaburo Bando
  • Performers Mitsuru Ishizuka, Kenta Nakagome, Eri Uchida, Yuta Sumiyoshi, Jun Jidai, Ryoma Tsurumi, Kengo Watanabe, Ryotaro Leo Ikenaga, Hayato Otsuka, Tomoe Miura, Mizuki Yoneyama, Issei Kohira, Yuta Kimura, Yuki Hirata, Chihiro Watanabe, Taiyo Onoda
Menu

Kodo

Kodo One Earth Tour 2019: Evolution

Musique
Kodo met théâtre, danse — et rythmes percutants — au service d’une forme d’art unique. Andrew Gilbert The Boston Globe, March 13, 2011

Kodo donne rythme et puissance à Evolution, une production musicale intense et novatrice, créée pour marquer le 35e anniversaire du groupe de percussion de renommée internationale.

Exsudant ferveur et vitalité, Evolution redéfinit le concept même de percussion, du jamais vu ni entendu! Grâce à la prestation physique débridée des « enfants du tambour », les imposants taiko, tambours japonais, semblent prendre vie sur scène. Evolution promet un tourbillon électrisant d’énergie et introduit une nouvelle dimension à l’expérience musicale.

Les musiciens de « Kodo », terme qui peut aussi signifier « battements de cœur », sont des maîtres du kaido, le traditionnel tambour japonais dont les possibilités rythmiques sont illimitées. En 35 ans, ils ont donné plus de 6 000 spectacles dans le monde entier, notamment lors de la Coupe du monde de la FIFA en 2002, où ils ont fait partie de l’ensemble qui a interprété l’hymne officiel.

video:

Artistes

En savoir plus ›
  • Directeur artistique Tamasaburo Bando
  • Interprètes Mitsuru Ishizuka, Kenta Nakagome, Eri Uchida, Yuta Sumiyoshi, Jun Jidai, Ryoma Tsurumi, Kengo Watanabe, Ryotaro Leo Ikenaga, Hayato Otsuka, Tomoe Miura, Mizuki Yoneyama, Issei Kohira, Yuta Kimura, Yuki Hirata, Chihiro Watanabe, Taiyo Onoda
Menu