© Julie Charland
“This re-reading of A Midsummer Night’s Dream is fresh, lively, quite sexy, and most important, hilarious.” Geneviève Bouchard, Le Soleil

Acrobatic dreamers dizzy with desire

A romantic romp in an enchanted forest on a midsummer night. Shakespeare at his most comical, imaginative and agile. A lively and energetic re-telling directed by Olivier Normand, featuring acrobats from the Flip FabriQue circus troupe.

A jealous king, a flighty queen of the fairies, a quartet of lovers on the run, and a troupe of execrable actors cross paths in an enchanted kingdom, where mischievous Puck muddles thought and sparks passion with his love potion. From its Peter Pan-style prologue to its delightfully grotesque conclusion, Shakespeare’s best-loved comedy is dusted off, shaken out and invigorated by Olivier Normand, who uses the acrobatic skills of Flip FabriQue and the music of Josué Beaucage to set a wonderfully dreamlike mood.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

11 Feb

12 Feb

13 Feb

  • 7:30 PM

14 Feb

  • 7:30 PM

15 Feb

  • 7:30 PM

16 Feb

  • 7:30 PM

17 Feb

Duration

Performance is approximately 2 hours and 10 minutes with no intermission.

© Julie Charland
© Stephane Bourgeois
© Stephane Bourgeois
© Stephane Bourgeois

Artists

  • Written by William Shakespeare
  • French translation by Michelle Allen
  • Directed by Olivier Normand
  • Produced by Théâtre du Trident
  • Coproduced by Flip FabriQue
  • Cast Marc Auger, Josué Beaucage, Emmanuel Bédard, Hugues Frenette, Jean-Michel Girouard, Valérie Laroche, Maude Boutin-St-Pierre, André Robillard, Olivier Normand, Jean-Sébastien Ouellette, Mary-Lee Picknell, Émile Pineault, Mathias Reymond and one actor to be confirmed
  • Set design Véronique Bertrand
  • Lighting design Caroline Ross
  • Original music composed and performed by Josué Beaucage
  • Costumes Virginie Leclerc
  • Assistant director Katia Talbot
  • Choreography Alan Lake
Menu

Les événements sur nos scènes et dans nos espaces publics vont de l’avant.
© Julie Charland
« Une relecture du Songe d’une nuit d’été jeune, fringante, plutôt sexy et surtout hilarante. » Geneviève Bouchard, Le Soleil

Des songeurs-acrobates étourdis de désir

Un chassé-croisé amoureux, par une nuit d’été, dans une forêt enchantée. Un Shakespeare bouffon, rocambolesque et athlétique. Une relecture à la fois fringante et pleine de souffle d’Olivier Normand, avec les acrobates de Flip FabriQue.

Un roi jaloux, une reine des fées volage, un carré amoureux en fuite et une troupe de théâtre exécrable se croisent dans un royaume enchanté, où le malicieux Puck étourdit les esprits et déclenche les passions en distribuant un philtre d’amour. Entre un prologue à la Peter Pan et une conclusion délicieusement grotesque, la plus célèbre comédie shakespearienne est dépoussiérée, aérée et vivifiée par Olivier Normand, qui utilise les acrobaties de Flip FabriQue et la musique de Josué Beaucage pour envelopper l’intrigue d’un voile onirique.

video: Le songe d'une nuit d'été, du 13 au 16 février 2019 au Théâtre français du CNA
Le songe d'une nuit d'été, du 13 au 16 février 2019 au Théâtre français du CNA
© Julie Charland
© Stephane Bourgeois
© Stephane Bourgeois
© Stephane Bourgeois

Artistes

  • Texte William Shakespeare
  • Traduction Michelle Allen
  • Mise en scène Olivier Normand
  • Production Théâtre du Trident
  • Coproduction Flip FabriQue
  • Avec Marc Auger, Josué Beaucage, Emmanuel Bédard, Hugues Frenette, Jean-Michel Girouard, Valérie Laroche, Maude Boutin-St-Pierre, André Robillard, Olivier Normand, Jean-Sébastien Ouellette, Mary-Lee Picknell, Émile Pineault, Mathias Reymond et un(e ) interprète à confirmer
  • Scénographie Véronique Bertrand
  • Éclairages Caroline Ross
  • Musique originale et interprétation  Josué Beaucage
  • Costumes Virginie Leclerc
  • Assistance à la mise en scène  Katia Talbot
  • Chorégraphies  Alan Lake
Menu