This event has passed
Calypso Rose

Pre-show Calypso Party!

Steel drums, Calypso DJs, and more heat-up the NAC’s Canal Foyer before the legendary Calypso Rose and Kobo Town take the stage!

Join us at 6:30pm as we take in the gorgeous Steel Pan playing of musician Eddie Alleyne, and take in the best Soca and Calypso from beloved Ottawa party-maker, DJ Massive Vibes.

6:30-7:45 pm
NAC Canal Foyer
FREE!

Calypso Rose is the undisputed queen of Calypso music, reigning for more than 40 years. Originally from Trinidad & Tobago, Calypso Rose has enjoyed a long and celebrated career as the matriarch of the genre from which she takes her name.
 
In 1978 the "Calypso King" competition had to be renamed "Calypso Monarch" in her honour as the first female winner. She has also received the International Award of Caribbean Music and the award for “Most Outstanding Woman" by the National Action Committee for Women in Trinidad and Tobago.

Rose's latest album, Far From Home, in which she collaborates with French singer Manu Chao, achieved massive success, hitting the top of the charts upon its release and received the French GRAMMY Award (Victoires de la Musique) for World Album of the Year.

Having produced 30 albums and composed 800 songs, she lives today in Queens, New York City.

|

Founded and fronted by émigré Trinidadian songwriter Drew Gonsalves, Kobo Town’s music has been variously described as “an intoxicating blend of lilting calypsonian wit, dancehall reggae and trombone-heavy brass” (Guardian) and a “unique, transnational composite of rhythm, poetry and activist journalism.”(Exclaim!) From their home in Toronto, the JUNO-nominated group has brought their distinct calypso-inspired sound to audiences across the world, from Port-of-Spain to Paris and from Montreal to Malaysia. 

video: Calypso Rose - Far From Home
Calypso Rose - Far From Home
video: Kobo Town - Mr. Monday
Kobo Town - Mr. Monday
Calypso Rose
Calypso Rose
Calypso Rose
Kobo Town © Paul Wright
Menu

Calypso Rose

Fête calypso d’avant-spectacle!

De la musique calypso et des tambours métalliques réchaufferont le Foyer du canal du CNA avant que la légendaire Calypso Rose et Kobo Town montent sur scène!

Joignez-vous à nous dès 18 h 30 pour apprécier le jeu fabuleux de tambour métallique d’Eddie Alleyne, et la meilleure musique soca et calypso de DJ Massive Vibes, très apprécié à Ottawa pour son animation de fêtes et d’événements.

18 h 30 – 19 h 45
Foyer du canal du CNA
GRATUIT!
 

Calypso Rose est la reine incontestée du Calypso depuis maintenant plus de 40 ans. Originaire de Trinité-et-Tobago, elle poursuit une longue et prodigieuse carrière au sommet du genre auquel elle doit son nom.

En 1978, elle est devenue la première lauréate du concours Calypso King, renommé Calypso Monarch en son honneur. Elle s’est aussi vu décerner le Prix international de musique caribéenne et le Prix de la  femme s’étant le plus distinguée du National Action Committee for Women de Trinité-et-Tobago.

Son dernier album, Far From Home, pour lequel elle s’est associé au chanteur français Manu Chao, a pris la tête des palmarès dès son lancement et lui a valu le prix du Meilleur album de l’année aux Victoires de la Musique (équivalent français des Grammys) dans la catégorie musique du monde.

Calypso Rose compte plus de 30 albums et 800 chansons originales à son actif. Elle vit à Queens, New York.

Fondé et mené par l’auteur-compositeur d’origine trinidadienne Drew Gonsalves, Kobo Town propose de la musique décrite comme « un mélange intoxicant d’esprit calypso, de reggae dansant et de cuivres au trombone bien présent » (The Guardian), et comme « un composite unique et transnational de rythme, de poésie et de journalisme activiste » (Exclaim!). Le groupe de Toronto, qui a obtenu une nomination aux prix JUNO, a joué sa musique d’inspiration calypso au son unique à des auditoires de partout au monde, de Port-d’Espagne à Paris en passant par Montréal et la Malaisie.

video: Calypso Rose - Far From Home
Calypso Rose - Far From Home
video: Kobo Town - Mr. Monday
Kobo Town - Mr. Monday
Calypso Rose
Calypso Rose
Calypso Rose
Kobo Town © Paul Wright
Menu