Pierre Kwenders © Neil Mota
"Pierre Kwenders released a whimsical album that he's paired with a live show that's magnificent and visually stunning." Noisey

Afro-Canadian singer/songwriter Pierre Kwenders’ music is a response to a world that so often asks people who fit comfortably in multiple boxes to pick only one. While Pierre’s music ranges from icy R&B to futuristic hip-hop, his style is rooted in Congolese rumba, the ubiquitous sound of The Democratic Republic of Congo.

With his new full-length album, out on September 2017, Pierre looks to build on the success of his debut. Produced entirely by Seattle-based Fly Guy Dai (aka Tendai Maraire of Shabazz Palaces), this new album pivots from Bantou's housey thump to something more instrumental, incorporating strong African influence and old-school West Coast hip-hop vibes into Kwenders unique recipe. 
 

Pierre Kwenders’ concert has been moved to January 20 in the Fourth Stage. Ticketholders can bring their tickets to the new concert date or contact the NAC Box Office 613-947-7000 x 620 for a refund or exchange until September 24 at 9 pm.

 

video: Woods of Solitude
Woods of Solitude
Pierre Kwenders © Neil Mota
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA pendant le défilé du père Noël
Pierre Kwenders © Neil Mota

La musique de l’auteur-compositeur-interprète afro-canadien Pierre Kwenders fait l’éloge d’une pluralité des genres musicaux bien assumée et évolue au sein de plusieurs sphères. Il chante et rappe également en cinq langues, ce qui lui donne une liberté artistique sur le plan lyrique et esthétique que la plupart des artistes n’ont pas.

Son nouvel album - à paraître en septembre 2017 - a été entièrement réalisé par Fly Guy Dai (aussi connu sous le nom de Tendai Maraire du groupe Shabazz Palaces). Sur cet album, il délaisse le son ​up-tempo du Dernier Empereur Bantou pour quelque chose de plus instrumental, en incorporant une forte influence africaine et une vibe hip-hop old-school de la côte Ouest à la recette unique de Pierre Kwenders. 
 

Le concert de Pierre Kwenders a été reporté au 20 janvier, à la Quatrième Salle. Les billets achetés jusqu’à présent sont toujours valides et pourront être utilisés à cette nouvelle date. Pour échanger vos billets ou obtenir un remboursement, veuillez communiquer avec la Billetterie du CNA au 613 947-7000, poste 620, d’ici 21 h le 24 septembre.

video: Woods of Solitude
Woods of Solitude
Pierre Kwenders © Neil Mota
Menu